Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on February 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 12, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 6 of the claim “snugly filling” is believed to be in error for -snugly fitting-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 3, the limitation including comprising “multiple ones” of said exchangeable bur or file guides is unclear. It is noted that a single “exchangeable bur or file guide” is claimed, therefore it is unclear is the “multiple ones” include the claimed exchangeable bur or file guide or are in addition to it. It is suggested that the applicant amend the independent claim to claim -at least one exchangeable bur or file guide- and then claim 3 to claim that -the at least one exchangeable bur or file guide comprises a plurality of exchangeable bur or file guides- to clarify what is being claimed.
Further with respect to claim 4, the liamtion multiple exchangeable bur or files guies are “two or more of: a first…, a second…, a third…, or a fourth…” is unclear. As to if only the third and fourth exchangeable bur guides are required, it is unclear how there are third and fourth guide without a first or second. It is suggested that the applicant amend the claim to remove the first, second, third, and fourth limitations. Such that the claim would include limitations along the lines of -the plurality of exchange bur or files guides comprise at least two of the following: an exchangeable bur or file guide whose channel is a tubular channel…, an exchangeable bur or file guide whose channel is an elongated slot…- and so one.
With respect to claim 8, the limitation “and optionally by the second arm” is unclear. It is noted that it is not clear if the limitation is required. It is noted that for examination purposes, the limitation is being interpreted as not being required to be taught by the prior art, however, the applicant should amend the claim to clarify what is being claimed.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second arm" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (KR 100852572) in view of Samrano (2018/0042696).
With respect to claim 1, Ho teaches a dental guidance assembly comprising a rigid arcuate base 110/120 configured to snugly fit over a dental arch of a specific human subject (see paragraph starting on page 4 through page 5 of the translation, such that the base is configured to fit the shape of the teeth of the patient), a hinge 260 fixedly mountable relative to said rigid arcuate base (see fig. 4, paragraph starting on page 6 through page 7 of translation, such that hinge is mounted to the base through the plate 270), an arm 250 having a proximal side and a distal side (such that element 240 is connect to the distal side of the arm), said arm being pivotally connectable at its proximal side to said hinge, and configured to support, at its distal side (i.e. with element 240), a dental rotary handpiece 230/280/220, and a bur or file guide 112 comprising a channel that is configured to guide a bur or a file 210 mounted on the dental rotary handpiece along a preplanned treatment path in a treated tooth of the dental arch of the specific human subject (see paragraph starting on page 10 through page 11 of the translation, such that the guide hole is manufactured depending on the tooth condition and the procedure), however, does not specifically teach the bur or file guide is an exchangeable bur or file guide configured to snugly fit in the rigid arcuate base.
Samrano teaches a dental guidance assembly comprising a rigid arcuate base 102 configured to snugly fit over a dental arch of a specific human subject (see par. 89), an exchangeable bur or file guide 500a/500b (see pars. 97, 135) configured to snugly fit in the rigid arcuate base (see fig. 4 showing it being snugly fit within the opening 210 of the base), the bur or file guide comprising a channel that is configured to guide a bur or a file mounted on a dental rotary handpiece along a preplanned treatment path in a treated tooth of the dental arch of the specific human subject (see par.132). It is noted that Samrano teaches that several different guides may need to be used one after another until the complete tooth is reshaped according to the treatment plan (see pars. 135-137). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the integral bur or file guide taught by Ho with the exchangeable bur or file guide taught by Samrano in order to use a single guide to complete the entire reshaping of the tooth while providing accurate reshaping. Such that by changing the guiding bore, the controlled drill would be prevented from veering off course. While the drill of Ho is controlled, the advantage of having the guide being the same shape as the desired drill movements is provided such that each different step, i.e. different angle, of the guided drill can be ensured that it is proper.
Ho/Samrano teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Ho further teaching with respect to claim 2, a rigid reinforcement frame 270 configured to snugly fit over said ridge arcuate base (see fig. 4, such that it is snugly fit over portion 120 of the base, it is attached by screws and therefore is a snug fit), wherein the hinge 260 is fixedly mountable on said rigid reinforcement frame (see fig. 3).
Ho/Samrano teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Samrano further teaching with respect to claim 3, comprising multiple ones of said exchange bur or file guide (see pars. 97, 135, such that at least two 500a/500b are shown).
Ho/Samrano teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Samrano further teaching with respect to claim 4, wherein the multiple exchangeable bur or file guides are two or more of an exchangeable bur whose channel is an elongated slot configured to limit motion of the bur to circumferential cutting of a crown of the treated tooth and an exchangeable bur guide whose channel is a wide tubular channel configured to limit motion of the bur to removal of an upper layer of the crown of the treated tooth (see pars. 135-137, such that depending on the portion of the tooth to be removed, it is capable of limiting movement as claimed when only an upper portion is desired to be removed on a stage, such as a first stage removes a lower portion at one angle and the second stage removes an upper portion at a second different angle).
Ho/Samrano teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Ho further teaching with respect to claim 5, wherein the arm further comprises a dental rotary handpiece interface 240 at its distal side, the interface configured to interface with a head of a dental rotary handpiece (see fig. 3, such that it interfaces with the head through handle element 230).
Ho/Samrano teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Samrano further teaching with respect to claim 7, wherein the rigid arcuate base includes a void 210 where a tooth to be treated is to be located when the rigid arcuate base is fit over the dental arch, and the exchangeable bur or file guide is configured to snugly fit in said void (see fig. 4 showing the guide within the bore).
Ho/Samrano teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Ho further a method for using the dental guidance assembly of claim 1 comprising fixedly mounting the hinge relative to the rigid arcuate base (see paragraph starting on page 10 through page 11 of the translation), pivotally connecting said arm, at its proximal side to said hinge (see fig. 3 such that the arm 250 is pivotally connected), snugly fitting the rigid arcuate base over the dental arch of the specific human subject, the base comprising a channel (see paragraph starting on page 10 through page 11 of the translation), and while the dental rotary handpiece is supported by the arm, guiding the bur of the file in the channel to treat the tooth along the preplanned treatment path (see paragraph starting on page 10 through page 11 of the translation). Ho teaches the method as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach snugly fitting the said exchangeable bur or file guide in said rigid arcuate base.
Samrano further teaches the method comprising snugly fitting the said exchangeable bur or file guide in said rigid arcuate base (see fig. 4, pars. 96-97). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the method taught by Ho with the step of snugly fitting the guide in the base as taught by Samrano in order to use a single base to assist in the guiding of the cutting of different angles (see detailed explanation above with respect to claim 1).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (KR 100852572) in view of Samrano (2018/0042696) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rosenberg (2,675,615).
Ho/Samrano teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Ho teaching the hinge is a first hinge, the arm is a first art, however, does not specifically teach the dental guidance assembly further comprises a second hinge fixedly mountable relative to the rigid arcuate base, and a second arm having a proximal side and a distal side, the second arm being pivotally connectable at its proximal side to the second hinge and being configured to support, at its distal side, the dental rotary handpiece.
Rosenberg teaches a dental guidance assembly comprising a rigid arcuate base P configured to fit on a dental arch (see fig. 3), a hinge element 3 fixedly mountable relative to the rigid arcuate base (see figs. 1, 3), an arm 1 having a proximal side (side with element 2) and a distal side (side with element 11), the arm being pivotally connectable at its proximal side to the hinge 3, and configured to support, at its distal side, a dental rotary handpiece H.
With respect to claim 6, Rosenberg further teaches wherein the hinge is a first hinge and the arm is a first arm and the dental guidance assembly further comprises a second hinge element 4 fixedly mountable relative to the rigid arcuate base P, and a second arm 17/18 having a proximal side 18 and a distal side 17, the second arm being pivotally connectable at its proximal side to the second hinge 4 (see fig. 8), and being configured to support, at its distal side, the dental rotary handpiece (see fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the single hinge and arm taught by Ho/Samrano to include multiple arms and hinges as taught by Rosenberg since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 VI, B). Further it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the single hinge and arm taught by Ho/Samrano to include multiple arms and hinges as taught by Rosenberg in order to provide the desired adjustability as needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art of Kim teaching an arcuate base with exchangeable bur or files guides.
The prior art of Hajto teaching a base with an arm attached through a hinge.
The prior art of Chen teaching a base with an arm attached through a hinge.
The prior art of Ouyang teaching a base with an arm attached through a hinge.
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 10/21/2026