DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “the fluid channel has a polygonal or elliptical cross-sectional shape” as claimed in claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 15, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behrens et al. (SE 1600316) in view of Johanson (EP 3913268).
Behrens et al. discloses a method of operating a submarine power cable having a plurality of power cores (15a-15c), each including a conductor and an insulation system arranged around the conductor (page 6, lines 19-21); an outer layer (19) arranged around the power cores; a filler profile (1) having an outer circumferential boundary that includes two inner arcs (5, 7), each receiving a portion of a respective one of the two power cores, and an outer arc (3) which is curved towards the outer layer; and a fluid channel (middle chamber 9) arranged inside the filler profile from one end of the cable to an opposite end of the cable, and wherein the fluid channel extends along the entire length of the filler profile, and wherein the fluid channel (middle chamber 9) is arranged centered relative to the two inner arcs (5, 7) and the outer arc (3), the method comprising transporting electricity by means of the power cores (re-claim 12). Behrens et al. also discloses the filler profile being made of a polymeric material (page 5) (re-claim 21).
Behrens et al. does not disclose the insulation system including an inner semiconducting layer arranged around the conductor, an insulation layer arranged around the inner semiconducting layer, and an outer semiconducting layer arranged around the insulation layer; and the method comprising transporting fluid through the fluid channel (re-claim 12).
Although not disclosed in the Behrens et al., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the insulation system of Behrens et al. with an inner semiconducting layer arranged around the conductor, an insulation layer arranged around the inner semiconducting layer, and an outer semiconducting layer arranged around the insulation layer to meet the specific use of the resulting method since such insulation system is well-known in the art.
Johanson discloses a method of operating a submarine power cable comprising transporting fluid through a fluid channel in a filler profile (210) (re- claim 12). Johanson also discloses the fluid being hydrogen gas (re-claim 16). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to not only use the cable of Behrens et al. to transport electricity but also transport hydrogen gas through the fluid channel as well, as taught by Johanson, since hydrogen gas plays a vital role in future energy infrastructure.
Re-claim 15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to choose a suitable pressure for transporting the fluid in the modified method of Behrens et al. since transporting a fluid with a pressure up to 500 mbar is known in the art, and it has been held that when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behrens et al. in view of Johanson et al. as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Gidley (4619323).
Claim 14 additionally recites performing step a) and b) simultaneously. Gidley discloses a method of operating a power cable, the method comprising: a) transporting electricity by means of a plurality of power cores (15) and b) transporting fluid through a fluid channel (11), wherein step a) and b) are performed simultaneously (col. 4, lines 18-20). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teaching of Gidley when operating the modified power cable of Behrens et al. to transport electricity and fluid at the same time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that in Johanson, element 210 is a standalone tube, not a filler profile. Examiner would disagree. Element 210 of Johanson has a profile (circular) and occupies an empty space in the cable. Element 210 is a filler profile.
Applicant argues that Johanson teaches the centre tube 3 is used for transporting hydrogen. There is no disclosure in Johanson to route any fluid through the interior spaces of the profile elements (250, 260). Examiner would disagree. The Office Action (OA) does not state that in Johanson, fluid is transported through profile elements (250, 260). Johanson, in [0039], discloses that the term “umbilical cable” as known in the art, comprises at least one tubular element intended for transportation of hydrogen. Figure 2 of umbilical cable of Johanson comprises a plurality of tubular elements, tubes 3 and 210.
Applicant argues that the filler profiles of Behrens are built from two different materials that are joined together. This makes the fillers less gastight at the interfaces, risking delamination and leakage of hydrogen. Examiner would disagree since such arguments are not supported by the prior art of record.
Applicant states that Behrens discloses the spaces of chamber (9) are designed primarily to keep the power cable’s roundness and for holding optical fibers. Examiner would disagree. Only portions of Behrens’ disclosure mentioning “optical fibers” are in the “Background.” Behrens describes existing cables. Furthermore, Behrens does not criticize, discredit, or discourage transporting hydrogen through the chambers.
Applicant argues that modifying the cable of Behrens to transport hydrogen would render Behrens’ cable unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. Pumping pressurized fluid through Behrens’ chamber would invite catastrophic failure because the chamber is a non-monolithic, multi-material chamber with cornered interfaces concentrates stress and risks severe delamination and gas leakage. However, applicant has not presented any evidence to support such arguments.
In response to applicant's argument that Gidley is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Gidley is in the field of the inventor’s endeavor, electrical cable transmitting both fluid and current.
Applicant states that In re Aller applied only when the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art. There is no disclosed method for which a pressure parameter could be routinely optimized. Examiner would disagree because Behrens and Johanson do teach a method comprising transporting pressurized fluid.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841