DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 15, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friberg et al. (EP 3011374) in view of Johanson (EP 3913268).
Friberg et al. discloses a method of operating a submarine cable ([0006]) having a plurality of power cores (24a-24c), each including a conductor (25a), and an insulation system arranged around the conductor, wherein the insulation system includes an inner semiconducting layer (25b) arranged around the conductor, an insulation layer (25c) arranged around the inner semiconducting layer, and an outer semiconducting layer (25d) arranged around the insulation layer, an outer layer (28) arranged around the plurality of power cores, a filler profile (4) arranged in a space between two of the power cores and the outer layer, wherein the filler profile has an outer circumferential boundary that includes two inner arcs (8, 10), each receiving a portion of a respective one of the two power cores, and an outer arc (6) which is curved towards the outer layer, and a fluid channel (not numbered) arranged inside the filler profile, wherein the fluid channel extends along the entire length of the filler profile from one end of the cable to an opposite end of the cable, the method comprising transporting electricity by means of the power cores (re-claim 12). Friberg et al. also discloses the filler profile being made of a polymeric material ([0034]) (re-claim 21).
Friberg et al. does not disclose the method comprising transporting fluid through the fluid channel (re-claim 12).
Johanson discloses a method of operating a submarine power cable comprising transporting fluid through a fluid channel in a filler profile (210) (re-claim 12). Johanson also discloses the fluid being hydrogen gas (re-claim 16).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to not only use the cable of Friberg et al. to transport electricity but also transport hydrogen gas through the fluid channel as well, as taught by Johanson, since hydrogen gas plays a vital role in future energy infrastructure.
Re-claim 15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to choose a suitable pressure for transporting the fluid in the modified method of Friberg et al. since transporting a fluid with a pressure up to 500 mbar is known in the art, and it has been held that when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friberg et al. in view of Johanson as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Gidley (4619323).
Claim 14 additionally recites performing step a) and b) simultaneously. Gidley discloses a method of operating a power cable, the method comprising: a) transporting electricity by means of a plurality of power cores (15) and b) transporting fluid through a fluid channel (11), wherein step a) and b) are performed simultaneously (col. 4, lines 18-20). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teaching of Gidley when operating the modified power cable of Friberg et al. to transport electricity and fluid at the same time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12 and 21 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841