DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the application filed on 2/7/2024, in which, claims 1-25 are pending. Claims 1, 24, and 25 are independent.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 2/7/2024 are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 2/7/2024 is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 22, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3301983 A1 (hereinafter ‘Wang’).
As regards claim 1, Wang (EP 3301983 A1) discloses: A station apparatus for communication in a wireless network, the apparatus comprising: (a) at least one modem coupled to at least one radio-frequency (RF) circuit, with each RF circuit connected to one or multiple antennas; (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, ¶4, ¶14, i.e., the wireless STA access point with transceiver)
(b) wherein said station (STA) operates in the wireless communications protocol as either an Access Point (AP) STA or a non-AP STA, for communicating with other STAs using a carrier sense multiple access/collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) mechanism, with said STA configured as a separate STA or as a STA within a multiple-link device (MLD); (Wang: Fig. 18, ¶164-¶167, i.e., the STA operating per CSMA/CA protocol)
(c) a processor of said STA; (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, ¶4, ¶14, STA processor)
(d) a non-transitory memory storing instructions executable by the processor for wirelessly communicating with other STAs on a IEEE 802.11 wireless local area network (WLAN); and (Wang: Figs. 1A-4, i.e., STAs operating under 802.11 WLAN protocols)
(e) wherein said instructions, when executed by the processor, perform steps of a wireless communications protocol, comprising: (i) wherein said STA operates in the wireless communications protocol as either an Access Point (AP) STA or a non-AP STA, for communicating physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) with other STAs using a carrier sense multiple access/collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) mechanism; (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 18, ¶4, ¶12-¶16, ¶164-¶167, i.e., STA AP communicating with other STAs or non-STA)
(ii) wherein said STA is an inter-basic service set (BSS) AP capable of performing inter-basic service set (BSS) communication with overlapping BSS (OBSS), and (Wang: ¶4, ¶14-¶16, i.e., STA AP performing BSS-OBSS communication) negotiation and participation in cooperative restricted-target wake time (R-TWT) service periods (SPs) that are overlapped in time and are scheduled on different links or different channels to avoid inter-BSS interference of prioritized traffic that has been scheduled to transmitted during the corresponding R-TWT SPs; and (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., Aps negotiating using R-TWT service periods to avoid interference and picking time/channels for communications)
(iii) wherein the inter-BSS AP, and other inter-BSS APs and STAs on other BSS indicate their support of an inter-BSS cooperative R-TWT by setting a flag which is transmitted to a cooperative BSS. (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶82, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., field 714 is used to indicate the R-TWT setting)
As regards claim 24, Wang (EP 3301983 A1) discloses: A station apparatus for communication in a wireless network, the apparatus comprising: (a) at least one modem coupled to at least one radio-frequency (RF) circuit, with each RF circuit connected to one or multiple antennas; (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, ¶4, ¶14, i.e., the wireless STA access point with transceiver)
(b) wherein said station (STA) operates in the wireless communications protocol as either an Access Point (AP) STA or a non-AP STA, for communicating with other STAs using a carrier sense multiple access/collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) mechanism, with said STA configured as a separate STA or as a STA within a multiple-link device (MLD); (Wang: Fig. 18, ¶164-¶167, i.e., the STA operating per CSMA/CA protocol)
(c) a processor of said STA; (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, ¶4, ¶14, STA processor)
(d) a non-transitory memory storing instructions executable by the processor for wirelessly communicating with other STAs on a IEEE 802.11 wireless local area network (WLAN); and (Wang: Figs. 1A-4, i.e., STAs operating under 802.11 WLAN protocols)
(e) wherein said instructions, when executed by the processor, perform steps of a wireless communications protocol, comprising: (i) wherein said STA operates in the wireless communications protocol as either an Access Point (AP) STA or a non-AP STA, for communicating physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) with other STAs using a carrier sense multiple access/collision avoidance (CSMA/CA) mechanism; (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 18, ¶4, ¶12-¶16, ¶164-¶167, i.e., STA AP communicating with other STAs or non-STA)
(ii) wherein said STA is an inter-basic service set (BSS) AP capable of performing inter-basic service set (BSS) communication with overlapping BSS (OBSS), and (Wang: ¶4, ¶14-¶16, i.e., STA AP performing BSS-OBSS communication) negotiation and participation in cooperative restricted-target wake time (R-TWT) service periods (SPs) that are overlapped in time and are scheduled on different links or different channels to avoid inter-BSS interference of prioritized traffic that has been scheduled to transmitted during the corresponding R-TWT SPs; (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., Aps negotiating using R-TWT service periods to avoid interference and picking time/channels for communications)
(iii) wherein inter-BSS APs exchange information from the cooperative BSS before performing the cooperative R-TWT negotiation; (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶82, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., field 714 is used to indicate the R-TWT setting)
(iv) wherein the inter-BSS AP obtains neighbor report information from one or more OBSS through measurement reports received from the STAs within each BSS, or obtains the information from a management interface, or information from the distribution system (DS); and (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶82, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., receiving the measurement reports from neighbors)
(v) wherein the inter-BSS AP, and other inter-BSS APs and STAs on other BSS indicate their support of an inter-BSS cooperative R-TWT by setting a flag which is transmitted to a cooperative BSS. (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶82, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., field 714 is used to indicate the R-TWT setting)
Claim 25 recites substantially the same features as recited in claim 1 above and is rejected based on the aforementioned rationale.
As regards claim 2, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein inter-BSS APs exchange information from the cooperative BSS before performing the cooperative R-TWT negotiation. (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶82, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., receiving the measurement reports from neighbors)
As regards claim 3, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inter-BSS AP obtains neighbor report information from one or more OBSS through measurement reports received from the STAs within each BSS, or obtains the information from a management interface, or information from the distribution system (DS). (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶82, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., receiving the measurement reports from neighbors)
As regards claim 4, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the neighbor report comprises information on BSSID, primary channel, timing synchronization function (TSF) offset, and beacon interval, for the reported neighbor BSS. (Wang: Figs. 6-14, ¶67-¶86, i.e., various fields are reported by neighbors including BSSID, channel, timing, interval etc)
As regards claim 5, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the inter-BSS AP maintains a list of channel information about neighboring APs; and (Wang: Fig. 4, 14-22, ¶4, ¶192-¶196, ¶203-¶213, i.e., the channel report that’s sent/received between neighbors) wherein the channel information is obtained from a report from a neighboring AP, or a list of channels and associated information is contained in an AP channel report element carried in a beacon frame. (Wang: Fig. 4, 14-22, ¶4, ¶192-¶196, ¶203-¶213, i.e., the channel report that’s sent/received between neighbors in a frame)
As regards claim 6, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the inter-BSS AP exchanges link ID information with the cooperative AP of another BSS by indicating the link ID corresponding to the tuple consisting of operating class, operating channel and BSSID of the AP on that link. (Wang: Figs. 6-14, ¶67-¶86, i.e., various fields are reported by neighbors including BSSID, channel, timing, interval etc)
As regards claim 7, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the inter-BSS AP exchanges TID-to-Link mapping information with the cooperative AP. (Wang: Fig. 10, ¶4, ¶70-¶74, ¶103-¶110 i.e., exchanging TIM (traffic indication map) that contains traffic-channel info)
As regards claim 8, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inter-BSS AP cooperates with inter-BSS APs of other BSS to negotiate R-TWT membership on a channel level. (Wang: Figs. 1A-1B, 5-9, 18, 20, 21A-21D, ¶63, ¶137, ¶152-¶154, ¶164-¶170, ¶172-¶179, i.e., Aps negotiating using R-TWT service periods to avoid interference and picking time/channels for communications)
As regards claim 22, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a restricted TWT schedule Information subfield of the broadcast TWT Information subfield in the TWT element is configured for indicating advertised scheduling. (Wang: Fig. 18)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of US 20250386375 A1 (hereinafter ‘Luo’).
As regards claim 10, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 8. However, Wang does not but in analogous art, Luo (US 20250386375 A1) teaches: wherein the inter-BSS AP performing R-TWT scheduling and an R-TWT requesting STA perform negotiations for an R-TWT SP to operate on a specific channel as indicated in the TWT channel field through exchanging of a R-TWT request frame and a R-TWT response frame. (Luo, Fig. 13-15, ¶6-¶8, ¶143, ¶178-¶195, ¶216, i.e., negotiating R-TWT on specific channels through exchange of control frames)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang to include using control frames to negotiate R-TWT on specific frames as taught by Luo with the motivation to perform fast access point transition (Luo: ¶2)
As regards claim 11, Wang et al combination teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the STA, operating as an inter-BSS AP which transmitted either the R-TWT request frame or the R-TWT response frame, negotiates with an inter-BSS AP from a cooperative BSS to determine if the R-TWT SPs are overlapped in the time domain, in which case different channels are allocated for each of the overlapped inter-BSS R-TWT SPs. (Luo, Fig. 9-10, 13-15, ¶6-¶8, ¶143, ¶178-¶195, ¶216, i.e., negotiating R-TWT on specific channels through exchange of control frames within a time frame)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang to include using control frames to negotiate R-TWT on specific frames as taught by Luo with the motivation to perform fast access point transition (Luo: ¶2)
As regards claim 12, Wang et al combination teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the STA, operating as an inter-BSS AP which transmitted either the R-TWT request frame or the R-TWT response frame, negotiates with an inter-BSS AP from a cooperative BSS to determine if the R-TWT SPs are overlapped in the time domain; (Luo, Fig. 9-10, 13-15, ¶6-¶8, ¶143, ¶178-¶195, ¶216, i.e., negotiating R-TWT on specific channels through exchange of control frames within a time frame) wherein if there is no overlap then the inter-BSS AP sending the R-TWT request frame requests to allocate a whole channel to the R-TWT member STAs of the corresponding negotiated R-TWT SP. (Luo, Fig. 13-15, ¶6-¶8, ¶143, ¶178-¶195, ¶234-¶246, i.e., negotiating R-TWT wherein validity of TID-to-link mapping is maintained)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang to include using control frames to negotiate R-TWT on specific frames as taught by Luo with the motivation to perform fast access point transition (Luo: ¶2)
As regards claim 23, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 22. However, Wang does not but in analogous art, Luo (US 20250386375 A1) teaches: wherein the broadcast TWT Information subfield in the TWT element is set to a unique value indicating an advertised R-TWT schedule for which the STA operating at the R-TWT scheduling AP is expected to cooperate with another R-TWT scheduling AP from the OBSS. (Luo: ¶178-¶194, i.e., RTWT negotiation setting scheduling info field in the broadcast field)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang to negotiating R-TWT wherein RTWT negotiation setting scheduling info field in the broadcast field as taught by Luo with the motivation to perform fast access point transition (Luo: ¶2)
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected. Claim recites allowable subject matter: “wherein to negotiate with inter-BSS APs of other BSS a TWT channel subfield is added in a broadcast TWT parameter set field; wherein the TWT channel subfield is present if the transmitter STA supports the cooperative R-TWT and a switch Link field is not present; otherwise, the TWT channel field is not present” not taught by prior art taken alone or in combination. Claim would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the respective base claims and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected. Claim recites allowable subject matter: “wherein the STA operating as inter-BSS AP cooperates with inter-BSS APs of other BSSs to negotiate R-TWT membership on a link level which does not violate the TID-to-link mapping” not taught by prior art taken alone or in combination. Claim would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the respective base claims and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SYED A ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432