DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07 February 2024 and 12 March 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11, 16, 17, 19-21, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20160337893 (Gheorghiu et al.) in view of “CA Signaling Enhancements for HetNet Type Deployments”, 3GPP DRAFT; R2-120266 CA SIGNALING ENHANCEMENTS FOR HETNET TYPE DEPLOYMENTS, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPENTENCE CENTRE; 650 ROUTE DESLUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG2, NO. Dresden, Germany; 20120206-2012021-, 31 January 2012 (2012-01-31), XP050565352 (INTEL CORPORATION).
Regarding claim 1, Gheorghiu et al. discloses: “a terminal apparatus (FIG. 8: 115-c; [0112]: “FIG. 8 shows a diagram of a system 800 including a UE 115”) comprising: one or more processors (FIG. 8: 805); and one or more memories (FIG. 8:805, 815; [0114]: “UE 115-c may also include a processor 805, and memory 815 (including software) 820”) that store a computer-readable instruction (FIG. 8:820) for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function ([0115]: “The memory 815 may store computer-readable, computer-executable software/firmware code 820 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor 805 to perform various functions described herein (e.g., measurement gaps in carrier aggregation, etc.)”); and the terminal apparatus in a case of communicating using a plurality of component carriers with different frequency bands” ([0004]: “a user equipment (UE) may be configured with multiple component carriers (CCs) in a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration. A UE in a CA configuration may use multiple receivers to communicate on the different CCs”);
However, Gheorghiu et al. does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claim. To that end, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “a notifying unit configured to notify a base station apparatus of information indicating a combination of frequency bands usable by the terminal apparatus (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”) and an obtaining unit configured to obtain, from the base station apparatus, information of a setting for using one or more component carriers corresponding to one or more frequency bands unrestricted by the combination of usable frequency bands” (Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “a UE with two-cell aggregation capability may be configured with four CCs (Celll as PCell plus Cell2, Cell3 and Cell4 as potential SCells) but at a given point up to two carriers can be activated for aggregation”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Gheorghiu et al. with the invention of INTEL CORPORATION in order to provide multiple component carriers (CCs) in a frequency band combination (e.g., see INTEL CORPORATION @ [Proposal 1]),
With respect to claim 16, Gheorghiu et al. discloses: “one or more processors (FIG. 8: 805); and one or more memories (FIG. 8:805, 815; [0114]: “UE 115-c may also include a processor 805, and memory 815 (including software) 820”) that store a computer-readable instruction (FIG. 8:820) for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function ([0115]: “The memory 815 may store computer-readable, computer-executable software/firmware code 820 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor 805 to perform various functions described herein (e.g., measurement gaps in carrier aggregation, etc.)”); and the terminal apparatus communicating using a plurality of component carriers with different frequency bands”([0004]: “a user equipment (UE) may be configured with multiple component carriers (CCs) in a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration. A UE in a CA configuration may use multiple receivers to communicate on the different CCs”).
In addition, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “a notifying unit configured to notify a terminal apparatus of information of a setting for using one or more component carriers corresponding to one or more frequency bands unrestricted by a combination of usable frequency bands (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”); and an obtaining unit configured to obtain information indicating, from among the set one or more component carriers, a component carrier to be activated on a basis of the combination of frequency bands usable by the terminal apparatus” (Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “a UE with two-cell aggregation capability may be configured with four CCs (Celll as PCell plus Cell2, Cell3 and Cell4 as potential SCells) but at a given point up to two carriers can be activated for aggregation”).
With respect to claims 2/17, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “the obtaining unit/notifying unit further obtains/notifies … information relating to the number of component carriers to be activated from the base station apparatus/terminal apparatus” (Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “at a given point up to two carriers can be activated for aggregation”).
Regarding claim 3, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “the obtaining unit further obtains, … information relating to the number of component carriers that cannot be activated together” (Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “a UE with two-cell aggregation capability may be configured with four CCs (Celll as PCell plus Cell2, Cell3 and Cell4 as potential SCells) but at a given point up to two carriers can be activated for aggregation”).
With respect to claims 4/19, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “the obtaining unit/notifying unit further obtains/notifies … information instructing a combination of component carriers that can be activated together” (Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “a UE with two-cell aggregation capability may be configured with four CCs (Celll as PCell plus Cell2, Cell3 and Cell4 as potential SCells)”).
Regarding claim 5, Gheorghiu et al. “discloses: “the computer-readable instruction (FIG. 8:820) causes, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to further function ([0115]: “The memory 815 may store computer-readable, computer-executable software/firmware code 820 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor 805 to perform various functions described herein (e.g., measurement gaps in carrier aggregation, etc.)”).
In addition, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “a setting unit configured to set the one or more component carriers on a basis of the obtained information of a setting (Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “configure more SCells than UE can aggregate anticipating that only a subset
of them are dynamically activated and used for aggregation”); and an activating unit configured to activate a component carrier included in the set one or more component carriers on a basis of the combination of usable frequency bands” (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”).
With respect to claim 6, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “the activating unit activates a component carrier included in the set one or more component carriers on a basis of an instruction from the base station apparatus” (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”).
With respect to claim 20, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “the notifying unit further notifies the terminal apparatus of an instruction indicating whether to activate any component carrier included in the set one or more component carriers” (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”).
Regarding claims 11 and 21, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “a primary component carrier is set for the terminal apparatus and the base station apparatus, and the one or more component carriers correspond to a secondary component carrier candidate” (Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “at a given point up to two carriers can be activated for aggregation”).
Regarding claim 25, Gheorghiu et al. discloses: “a control method executed by a terminal apparatus comprising: in a case of communicating using a plurality of component carriers with different frequency bands” ([0004]: “a user equipment (UE) may be configured with multiple component carriers (CCs) in a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration. A UE in a CA configuration may use multiple receivers to communicate on the different CCs”). and
In addition, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “notifying a base station apparatus of information indicating a combination of frequency bands usable by the terminal apparatus (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”); and obtaining, from the base station apparatus, information of a setting for using one or more component carriers corresponding to one or more frequency bands unrestricted by the combination of usable frequency bands”(Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “a UE with two-cell aggregation capability may be configured with four CCs (Celll as PCell plus Cell2, Cell3 and Cell4 as potential SCells) but at a given point up to two carriers can be activated for aggregation”).
With respect to claim 26, Gheorghiu et al. discloses: “a control method executed by a base station apparatus comprising: “in a case of the terminal apparatus communicating using a plurality of component carriers with different frequency bands” ([0004]: “a user equipment (UE) may be configured with multiple component carriers (CCs) in a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration. A UE in a CA configuration may use multiple receivers to communicate on the different CCs”).
In addition, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “notifying a terminal apparatus of information of a setting for using one or more component carriers corresponding to one or more frequency bands unrestricted by a combination of usable frequency bands (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”); and obtaining information indicating, from among the set one or more component carriers, a component carrier to be activated on a basis of the combination of frequency bands usable by the terminal apparatus” (Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “a UE with two-cell aggregation capability may be configured with four CCs (Celll as PCell plus Cell2, Cell3 and Cell4 as potential SCells)”).
Claims 7, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gheorghiu et al. in view of INTEL CORPORATION and WIPO Publication No WO2016/117985 (Ingale et al).
Claims 7, 8, and 13 are dependent upon claims 6, 7 and 1, respectively. As discussed above, 6, 7 and 1 are disclosed by the combination of Gheorghiu et al. and INTEL CORPORATION. Thus, those limitations 6, 7 and 1 of recited in claims 7, 8 and 13, respectively, are also disclosed the by the combination of Gheorghiu et al. and INTEL CORPORATION.
However, the remaining limitations of the claims are not clearly disclosed by the Gheorghiu et al. and INTEL CORPORATION. To that end regarding claim 7, Ingale et al. further discloses: “the obtaining unit obtains, from the base station apparatus, an index for identifying a combination of component carriers to be activated” ([237]: “SCell Indicator- This field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the SCells with SCellIndex. Status of multiple SCells can be changed”; [239]: “Each bit position of the SCell Indicator indicates whether the one or more added SCell indicated by the SCelllndex through the RRC message is activated or deactivated”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the combination of Gheorghiu et al. and INTEL CORPORATION with the invention of Ingale et al. in order to provide an index identifying activation/deactivation status (e.g., see Ingale et al. @ [237], [239]).
With respect to claim 8, Ingale et al. further discloses: “the obtaining unit obtains an index for indicating a combination of component carriers to be activated via an Radio Resource Control, RRC, message ([239]: “Each bit position of the SCell Indicator indicates whether the one or more added SCell indicated by the SCelllndex through the RRC message is activated or deactivated”), Downlink Control Information, DCI, or a system information block, and obtains an instruction for activating the obtained combination of component carriers via a
Medium Access Control-Control Element, MAC-CE” (Fig. 11: 1110, 1118; [114]: “send (1110) the MAC CE message or Ll indication message to activate one or more configured LTE-U SCell(s)”; [117]: “send the MAC CE message or the Ll indication message to deactivate one or more configured LTE-U SCell(s)”).
Regarding claim 13, Ingale et al. further discloses: “a setting of the one or more component carriers includes an activation period” ([236]: “On period/timer(3-bit) and activation/deactivation of multiple SCells”).
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gheorghiu et al. in view of INTEL CORPORATION, Ingale et al. and US Patent Application Publication No. 20120250578 (Pani et al).
Claims 9 and 22 are dependent upon 8 and 21, respectively. As discussed above, claims 8 and 21 are disclosed by the combination of Gheorghiu et al., INTEL CORPORATION and Ingale et al.
However, the combination of Gheorghiu et al., INTEL CORPORATION and Ingale et al.does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claims. To that end regarding claim 9, Pani et al. discloses: “the obtaining unit obtains, from the base station apparatus, an instruction for deleting information regarding the activated component carriers” ([0079]: “The WTRU may delete the secondary cell reception configuration information and/or release secondary cell reception based on detecting one or more secondary cell release triggers”; [0080]: “An activated secondary cell may be a cell for which the WTRU has configuration information and is actively monitoring for downlink transmissions”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the combination of Gheorghiu et al., INTEL CORPORATION and Ingale et al. with the invention of Pani et al. in order to delete information regarding an activated secondary cell (e.g., see Pani et al. @ [0079], [0080]).
With respect to Claim 22, Pani et al. further discloses: “the notifying unit instructs the terminal apparatus to delete a setting of the one or more component carriers in a case where the primary component carrier is changed” ([0079]: “The WTRU may delete the secondary cell reception configuration information and/or release secondary cell reception based on detecting one or more secondary cell release triggers. Examples of secondary cell release triggers that cause the WTRU to delete secondary cell configuration information and/or release secondary cells in current operation may include the WTRU determining that a cell reselection has been or is being performed”).
Claims 12, 15, 18, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gheorghiu et al. in view of INTEL CORPORATION, and Pani et al.
Claims 12, 15; and 18, 23, 24 are dependent upon 5, 1, and 16, respectively. As discussed above, claims 5, 1 and 16 are disclosed by the combination of Gheorghiu et al. and INTEL CORPORATION.
However, the combination of Gheorghiu et al. and INTEL CORPORATION does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claims. To that end with respect to claim 12, Pani et al. further discloses: “a primary component carrier is set for the terminal apparatus and the base station apparatus, the one or more component carriers correspond to a secondary component carrier candidate ([0080]: “An activated secondary cell may be a cell for which the WTRU has configuration information and is actively monitoring for downlink transmissions”), and the setting unit deletes a setting of the one or more component carrier in a case where the primary component carrier is changed” ([0079]: “The WTRU may delete the secondary cell reception configuration information and/or release secondary cell reception based on detecting one or more secondary cell release triggers. Examples of secondary cell release triggers that cause the WTRU to delete secondary cell configuration information and/or release secondary cells in current operation may include the WTRU determining that a cell reselection has been or is being performed”).
Regarding claims 15, Pani et al. further discloses: “in a case where a component carrier not included in the one or more component carriers is detected, the obtaining unit requests the base station apparatus to add the component carrier as the one or more component carriers” ([0072]: “the WTRU may send the network the PSC or CELL ID of a secondary cell once the WTRU has determined the frequency it will use for multi-cell mode”; “When indicating that it has successfully decoded the SIBs of a secondary cell, the WTRU may also indicate whether it will perform multi-cell operation on that cell. For example, the WTRU may inform the network by including this information in the CELL UPDATE message”).
With respect to claim 18, INTEL CORPORATION further discloses: “the notifying unit further notifies the terminal apparatus of information instructing a combination of component carriers that cannot be activated together” (Figure 2: (a); Pg. 2, [Paragraph [3]: “a UE with two-cell aggregation capability may be configured with four CCs (Celll as PCell plus Cell2, Cell3 and Cell4 as potential SCells)”).
Regarding claim 23, INTEL CORPORATION discloses: “the notifying unit notifies the terminal apparatus of information of a setting of the one or more component carriers including an activation period” (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”).
With respect to claim 24, INTEL CORPORATION further discloses: “the notifying unit notifies the terminal apparatus of information of a setting of the component carrier” (Pg. 2, [Proposal 1]: “CA capable UE may be configured with more CCs, in its supported band combination”).
In addition, Pani et al. discloses: “on a basis of a request to add a component carrier detected by the terminal apparatus as the one or more component carriers, ([0072]: “the WTRU may send the network the PSC or CELL ID of a secondary cell once the WTRU has determined the frequency it will use for multi-cell mode”; “When indicating that it has successfully decoded the SIBs of a secondary cell, the WTRU may also indicate whether it will perform multi-cell operation on that cell. For example, the WTRU may inform the network by including this information in the CELL UPDATE message”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Myron Wyche/ 07 February 2026
Primary Examiner AU2644