DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 9-13 are presented as currently amended claims.
Claims 15-17 are newly presented.
Claim 14 is currently canceled.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants’ definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Continued Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tijink (US 20210020035 A1) in view of Hayashi (US 20100033347A1) (the combination of which is referenced as ‘combination Tijink’ hereinafter). As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 1, Tijink teaches an interaction apparatus, applied to a first roadside device, the interaction apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; (Tijink: ¶ 046; suitable processor connected to the sensor) and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to: (Tijink: ¶ 024; ITS service station may have a memory) obtain first feature information of a traffic participant, (Tijink: ¶ 004; a vehicle 1 on a road 2 perceives an object 3, e.g., another vehicle, by means of an own sensor 4 such as a camera,) wherein the first feature information is for identifying the traffic participant; (Tijink: ¶ 044; any perceived object container 18, here called oc.sub.1, oc.sub.2, . . . , generally oc.sub.n, a local object identifier id, usually assigned by the perceiving ITS-S 26, 27, and one or more sensor data sd.sub.i (i=1, 2, . . . ) on the object 24 with the local object identifier id.sub.n.) (Tijink: ¶ 005; Each perceived object is assigned a local object identifier by the ITS-S) send the first feature information and first local identification information to a server, (Tijink: ¶ 042; aggregated CPM CP.sub.Σ is then broadcast by a transmitter 37 connected to the output of the aggregator 36 so that it can be received by listening ITS-S) wherein the first local identification information indicates a first local identifier of the traffic participant on the first roadside device; and (Tijink: ¶ 041; ITS service station 20 has a receiver 34 with an area of radio coverage 35 to receive the CPMs 31, 32 from the ITS-S) receive first global identification information from the server, wherein the first global identification information indicates a global identifier corresponding to the first local identifier (Tijink: ¶ 060; ITS service station 20, and in particular the aggregator 36, optionally hosts and manages the assignment table 40 in the memory 38, storing an association (assignment) between a global object identifier g-id.sub.n and all local object identifiers id.sub.m,n regarding the same perceived object) wherein the global identifier comprises the first local identifier
To the extent Tijink does not teach or is silent about: and when the first roadside device is not located on a road on which a moving trajectory of the traffic participant is located, skip sending, by the first roadside device, the first feature information of the traffic participant and the first global identification information indicating the global identifier to any roadside device; Hayashi teaches:
and when the first roadside device is not located on a road on which a moving trajectory of the traffic participant is located, (Hayashi: ¶ 031; The vehicle group ID to be set may be different for each intersection)skip sending, by the first roadside device, the first feature information of the traffic participant and the first global identification information indicating the global identifier to any roadside device. (Hayashi: ¶ 035; judging unit 30 verifies the setting information obtained by the information receiver 28 (step S14). If it is determined at step S14 that the setting information is necessary, the judging unit 30 sets a vehicle group ID for the optical communication roadside device 20 based on the setting information (step S16). Next, the processor 32 creates data for transmission containing the vehicle group ID (step S18). Then, the encryption unit 34 encrypts the generated data for transmission (step S20). The information transmitter 36 transmits the encrypted data to vehicles via the vehicle interface unit 24 (step S22). If it is determined at step S14 that the setting information is not necessary, the setting information is discarded (step S24).)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hayashi with the teachings of Tijink because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of reducing the “significant burden [] placed on a network of the vehicle group formation system in individual phases” (Hayashi: ¶ 005).
Regarding claim 2, as detailed above, combination Tijink teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Tijink further teaches:
wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: send first trajectory information, wherein the first trajectory information indicates a trajectory of the traffic participant and the global identifier. (Tijink: ¶ 045; sensor data sd.sub.i on an object 24 perceived by a disseminating ITS-S 26, 27 may contain any data value d.sub.i derived from an output of one or more sensor/s 28, e.g., a distance of the object 24 to the sensor 28, a speed of the object 24, a geo-referenced or map-matched position P.sub.D of the object 24, a heading, angle or path of travel of the object 24,) (Tijink: ¶ 061; Listening ITS-S 25-27 may then use the disseminated global object identifiers g-id.sub.n in their CPMs CP.sub.m to the ITS service station 20, so that matching the data values d.sub.i, d.sub.k or sensor data sd.sub.i, sd.sub.k, respectively, as to the “same” object 24 can be done by looking for the same global object identifier g-id.sub.n.)
Regarding claim 3, as detailed above, combination Tijink teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 2. Tijink further teaches:
wherein the first trajectory information further indicates the first local identifier. (Tijink: ¶¶ 044-045; a CPM 12, 31, 32 or CP.sub.m, respectively, contains—apart from the other data depicted in FIG. 2—in any perceived object container 18, here called oc.sub.1, oc.sub.2, . . . , generally oc.sub.n, a local object identifier id, usually assigned by the perceiving ITS-S 26, 27, and one or more sensor data sd.sub.i (i=1, 2, . . . ) on the object 24 with the local object identifier id.sub.n.[inter alia including] a heading, angle or path of travel of the object)
Regarding claim 4, as detailed above, combination Tijink teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Tijink further teaches:
wherein the global identifier comprises one or more of the following: a road identifier, a road operator identifier, a server identifier, or a sensing network identifier, (Tijink: ¶ 020; respective object positions are either geo-referenced to a common or global coordinate system, e.g., given as absolute geo-coordinates, or map-matched to streets, places, landmarks etc. in a map.)
Regarding claim 5, as detailed above, combination Tijink teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Tijink further teaches:
wherein the first local identifier comprises one or more of the following: a sensing device identifier, a roadside computing unit identifier, an identifier of a pole position in which a roadside device is deployed, or a traffic participant identifier. (Tijink: ¶¶ 006-008; management container 15 containing basic information about the transmitting ITS-S (in the example of FIG. 1: the vehicle 6), such as the station's type (e.g., OBU or RSU) and the station's absolute position; a station data container 16 with further details, such as the dynamic state or map references of the transmitting ITS-S; none, one or more sensor information containers 17 describing the sensory capabilities of the transmitting ITS-S, such as range, aperture and position of the sensor/s . . . detailed information about the perceived objects (here: the vehicle 9) Each perceived object is assigned a local object identifier)
Regarding claim 7, combination Tijink teaches an interaction apparatus, applied to a server, the interaction apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and (Tijink: ¶ 046; suitable processor connected to the sensor) one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to: (Tijink: ¶ 024; ITS service station may have a memory) receive first feature information and first local identification information of a traffic participant from a first roadside device, (Tijink: ¶ 004; a vehicle 1 on a road 2 perceives an object 3, e.g., another vehicle, by means of an own sensor 4 such as a camera,) (Tijink: ¶ 044; any perceived object container 18, here called oc.sub.1, oc.sub.2, . . . , generally oc.sub.n, a local object identifier id, usually assigned by the perceiving ITS-S 26, 27, and one or more sensor data sd.sub.i (i=1, 2, . . . ) on the object 24 with the local object identifier id.sub.n.) wherein the first feature information is for identifying the traffic participant, and the first local identification information indicates a first local identifier of the traffic participant on the first roadside device; and (Tijink: ¶ 005; Each perceived object is assigned a local object identifier by the ITS-S) generate a global identifier, wherein the global identifier comprises the first local identifier (Tijink: ¶ 015-016; which second sensor data either is received via the receiver in a second CPM from a second ITS-S at a second position within the coverage area perceiving the same object or is determined by a sensor of the ITS service station perceiving the same object; and a transmitter connected to the aggregator and configured to broadcast said third sensor data in a third CPM.) (Tijink: Clm. 7; each sensor data includes a local identifier of the object related to said sensor data, wherein the aggregator is configured to assign a global identifier to all local identifiers relating to the same object and to include that global identifier in the third CPM.) send first global identification information to the first roadside device based on the first feature information, (Tijink: ¶ 041; ITS service station 20 has a receiver 34 with an area of radio coverage 35 to receive the CPMs 31, 32 from the ITS-S) (Tijink: ¶ 042; aggregated CPM CP.sub.Σ is then broadcast by a transmitter 37 connected to the output of the aggregator 36 so that it can be received by listening ITS-S) wherein the first global identification information indicates the global identifier corresponding to the first local identifier. (Tijink: ¶ 060; ITS service station 20, and in particular the aggregator 36, optionally hosts and manages the assignment table 40 in the memory 38, storing an association (assignment) between a global object identifier g-id.sub.n and all local object identifiers id.sub.m,n regarding the same perceived object)
To the extent Tijink does not teach or is silent about: and wherein when the first roadside device is not located on a road on which a moving trajectory of the traffic participant is located, the first roadside device skips sending the first feature information of the traffic participant and the first global identification information indicating the global identifier to any roadside device; Hayashi teaches:
and wherein when the first roadside device is not located on a road on which a moving trajectory of the traffic participant is located, (Hayashi: ¶ 031; The vehicle group ID to be set may be different for each intersection) the first roadside device skips sending the first feature information of the traffic participant and the first global identification information indicating the global identifier to any roadside device (Hayashi: ¶ 035; judging unit 30 verifies the setting information obtained by the information receiver 28 (step S14). If it is determined at step S14 that the setting information is necessary, the judging unit 30 sets a vehicle group ID for the optical communication roadside device 20 based on the setting information (step S16). Next, the processor 32 creates data for transmission containing the vehicle group ID (step S18). Then, the encryption unit 34 encrypts the generated data for transmission (step S20). The information transmitter 36 transmits the encrypted data to vehicles via the vehicle interface unit 24 (step S22). If it is determined at step S14 that the setting information is not necessary, the setting information is discarded (step S24).)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hayashi with the teachings of Tijink because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of reducing the “significant burden [] placed on a network of the vehicle group formation system in individual phases” (Hayashi: ¶ 005).
Regarding claim 8, as detailed above, combination Tijink teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 7. Tijink further teaches:
wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: store a correspondence between the global identifier and the first local identifier. (Tijink: ¶ 023; Receiving ITS-S can then use the global object identifiers in, e.g., own CPMs sent to other participants. If the assignment table between local and global identifiers is disseminated from the ITS service station to the receiving ITS-S, too, e.g., within the aggregated CPM or in a separate broadcast message, then receiving ITS-S may more easily match the sensor data on an object from the aggregated CPM with the sensor data on the same object f)
Regarding claim 9, as detailed above, combination Tijink teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 7. Tijink further teaches:
wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: receive second feature information (Tijink: ¶ 018; the first sensor data includes a first data value and a first confidence measure of said first data value and the at least one second sensor data includes a second data value and a second confidence measure of said second data value) and second local identification information of the traffic participant from a second roadside device, wherein the second feature information is for identifying the traffic participant, and a second local identification information indicates the second local identifier of the traffic participant on the second roadside device; and send the global identifier to the second roadside device based on the second feature information, wherein the global identifier corresponds to the second local identifier. (Tijink: ¶ 023; each sensor data includes a local identifier of the object related to said sensor data and the aggregator is configured to assign a global identifier to all local identifiers relating to the same object and to include that global identifier in the third CPM. Receiving ITS-S can then use the global object identifiers in, e.g., own CPMs sent to other participants.) (Tijink: ¶ 060; ITS service station 20, and in particular the aggregator 36, optionally hosts and manages the assignment table 40 in the memory 38, storing an association (assignment) between a global object identifier g-id.sub.n and all local object identifiers id.sub.m,n regarding the same perceived object)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Tijink as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Soryal (US 20200314645 A1). As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 6, as detailed above, combination Tijink teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Tijink further teaches:
wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: send the first feature information (Tijink: ¶ 041; ITS service station 20 has a receiver 34 with an area of radio coverage 35 to receive the CPMs 31, 32 from the ITS-S) and the global identifier a second roadside device (Tijink: ¶ 061; Listening ITS-S 25-27 may then use the disseminated global object identifiers g-id.sub.n in their CPMs CP.sub.m to the ITS service station 20, so that matching the data values d.sub.i, d.sub.k or sensor data sd.sub.i, sd.sub.k, respectively, as to the “same” object 24 can be done by looking for the same global object identifier g-id.sub.n.)
Tijink does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second roadside device is located downstream in a moving direction of the traffic participant relative to the first roadside device; however, Soryal does teach:
wherein the second roadside device is located downstream in a moving direction of the traffic participant relative to the first roadside device (Soryal: ¶ 059; second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can then analyze data (e.g., direction, speed, time of day, historical values, messages from the first node, etc.) associated with the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) at block 504. Based on the analysis performed by the second node (e.g., the RSE 204), the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can predict if the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) will be within a defined distance from a third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at 506. If the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) predicts that the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) will be within the defined distance of the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at a specific time, then the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can forward authentication data and/or encryption keys to the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at block 508 such that the first node can be authenticated with the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) prior to the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) arriving at the defined distance of the third node ().
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Soryal with the teachings of Tijink because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “facilitate[ing] ultra fast communications between vehicles and other nodes.” (Soryal: ¶ 030).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tijink (US 20210020035 A1 ) in view of Soryal (US 20200314645 A1) in view of Hayashi (US 20100033347 A1). As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 10, Tijink teaches an interaction apparatus, applied to a first roadside device, and the interaction apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and (Tijink: ¶ 046; suitable processor connected to the sensor) one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to: (Tijink: ¶ 024; ITS service station may have a memory) obtain first feature information of a first traffic participant, wherein the first feature information is for identifying the first traffic participant; (Tijink: ¶ 004; a vehicle 1 on a road 2 perceives an object 3, e.g., another vehicle, by means of an own sensor 4 such as a camera,) obtain trajectory information of the first traffic participant; (Tijink: ¶ 045; sensor data sd.sub.i on an object 24 perceived by a disseminating ITS-S 26, 27 may contain any data value d.sub.i derived from an output of one or more sensor/s 28, e.g., a distance of the object 24 to the sensor 28, a speed of the object 24, a geo-referenced or map-matched position P.sub.D of the object 24, a heading, angle or path of travel of the object 24,) receive second feature information (Tijink: ¶ 018; the first sensor data includes a first data value and a first confidence measure of said first data value and the at least one second sensor data includes a second data value and a second confidence measure of said second data value) and a global identifier of a second traffic participant from a second roadside device, wherein the second feature information is for identifying the second traffic participant, (Tijink: ¶ 023; each sensor data includes a local identifier of the object related to said sensor data and the aggregator is configured to assign a global identifier to all local identifiers relating to the same object and to include that global identifier in the third CPM. Receiving ITS-S can then use the global object identifiers in, e.g., own CPMs sent to other participants.) (Tijink: ¶ 060; ITS service station 20, and in particular the aggregator 36, optionally hosts and manages the assignment table 40 in the memory 38, storing an association (assignment) between a global object identifier g-id.sub.n and all local object identifiers id.sub.m,n regarding the same perceived object) . . . compare the first feature information with the second feature information, to determine that the first traffic participant and the second traffic participant are a same traffic participant; (Tijink: ¶ 020; the aggregator is configured to determine objects in relation to sensor data to be the same when the objects match in one or more of object positions, speeds, headings, and accelerations, as indicated in the respective CPMs.) (Tijink: ¶ 021; aggregator is configured to determine objects in relation to sensor data to be the same when the objects match at least in object appearance characteristics indicated in the respective CPMs.) and send a trajectory transfer message, wherein the trajectory transfer message comprises the trajectory information and the global identifier (Tijink: ¶ 045; sensor data sd.sub.i on an object 24 perceived by a disseminating ITS-S 26, 27 may contain any data value d.sub.i derived from an output of one or more sensor/s 28, e.g., a distance of the object 24 to the sensor 28, a speed of the object 24, a geo-referenced or map-matched position P.sub.D of the object 24, a heading, angle or path of travel of the object 24,) (Tijink: ¶ 061; Listening ITS-S 25-27 may then use the disseminated global object identifiers g-id.sub.n in their CPMs CP.sub.m to the ITS service station 20, so that matching the data values d.sub.i, d.sub.k or sensor data sd.sub.i, sd.sub.k, respectively, as to the “same” object 24 can be done by looking for the same global object identifier g-id.sub.n.) wherein the global identifier comprises a first local identifier of the first traffic participant on the first roadside device (Tijink: ¶ 015-016; which second sensor data either is received via the receiver in a second CPM from a second ITS-S at a second position within the coverage area perceiving the same object or is determined by a sensor of the ITS service station perceiving the same object; and a transmitter connected to the aggregator and configured to broadcast said third sensor data in a third CPM.) (Tijink: Clm. 7; each sensor data includes a local identifier of the object related to said sensor data, wherein the aggregator is configured to assign a global identifier to all local identifiers relating to the same object and to include that global identifier in the third CPM.)
To the extent Tijink does not explicitly teach: and the second roadside device is located upstream in a moving direction of the first traffic participant relative to the first roadside device; Soryal does teach:
and the second roadside device is located upstream in a moving direction of the first traffic participant relative to the first roadside device; (Soryal: ¶ 059; second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can then analyze data (e.g., direction, speed, time of day, historical values, messages from the first node, etc.) associated with the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) at block 504. Based on the analysis performed by the second node (e.g., the RSE 204), the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can predict if the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) will be within a defined distance from a third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at 506. If the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) predicts that the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) will be within the defined distance of the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at a specific time, then the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can forward authentication data and/or encryption keys to the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at block 508 such that the first node can be authenticated with the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) prior to the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) arriving at the defined distance of the third node ().
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Soryal with the teachings of Tijink because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “facilitate[ing] ultra fast communications between vehicles and other nodes.” (Soryal: ¶ 030).
To the extent Tijink does not teach or is silent about: and when the first roadside device is not located on a road on which a moving trajectory of the first traffic participant is located, skip sending, by the first roadside device, the first feature information of the first traffic participant and information indicating the global identifier to any roadside device; Hayashi teaches:
and when the first roadside device is not located on a road on which a moving trajectory of the first traffic participant is located (Hayashi: ¶ 031; The vehicle group ID to be set may be different for each intersection) skip sending, by the first roadside device, the first feature information of the first traffic participant and information indicating the global identifier to any roadside device. (Hayashi: ¶ 035; judging unit 30 verifies the setting information obtained by the information receiver 28 (step S14). If it is determined at step S14 that the setting information is necessary, the judging unit 30 sets a vehicle group ID for the optical communication roadside device 20 based on the setting information (step S16). Next, the processor 32 creates data for transmission containing the vehicle group ID (step S18). Then, the encryption unit 34 encrypts the generated data for transmission (step S20). The information transmitter 36 transmits the encrypted data to vehicles via the vehicle interface unit 24 (step S22). If it is determined at step S14 that the setting information is not necessary, the setting information is discarded (step S24).)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hayashi with the teachings of Tijink because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of reducing the “significant burden [] placed on a network of the vehicle group formation system in individual phases” (Hayashi: ¶ 005).
Regarding claim 11, as detailed above, combination Tijink in view of Soryal teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 10. Tijink further teaches:
wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: send the feature information (Tijink: ¶ 041; ITS service station 20 has a receiver 34 with an area of radio coverage 35 to receive the CPMs 31, 32 from the ITS-S) and the global identifier to a third roadside device (Tijink: ¶ 061; Listening ITS-S 25-27 may then use the disseminated global object identifiers g-id.sub.n in their CPMs CP.sub.m to the ITS service station 20, so that matching the data values d.sub.i, d.sub.k or sensor data sd.sub.i, sd.sub.k, respectively, as to the “same” object 24 can be done by looking for the same global object identifier g-id.sub.n.) when the first roadside device is located on the road on which the moving trajectory of the first traffic participant is located (Tijink: ¶ 061; Listening ITS-S 25-27 may then use the disseminated global object identifiers g-id.sub.n in their CPMs CP.sub.m to the ITS service station 20, so that matching the data values d.sub.i, d.sub.k or sensor data sd.sub.i, sd.sub.k, respectively, as to the “same” object 24 can be done by looking for the same global object identifier g-id.sub.n.)
Regarding claim 12, as detailed above, combination Tijink in view of Soryal teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 11. Soryal further teaches:
wherein the third roadside device is located downstream in the moving direction of the first traffic participant relative to the first roadside device. (Soryal: ¶ 059; second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can then analyze data (e.g., direction, speed, time of day, historical values, messages from the first node, etc.) associated with the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) at block 504. Based on the analysis performed by the second node (e.g., the RSE 204), the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can predict if the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) will be within a defined distance from a third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at 506. If the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) predicts that the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) will be within the defined distance of the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at a specific time, then the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can forward authentication data and/or encryption keys to the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at block 508 such that the first node can be authenticated with the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) prior to the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) arriving at the defined distance of the third node ()
Regarding claim 13, as detailed above, combination Tijink in view of Soryal teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 11. Soryal further teaches:
wherein the first roadside device is located in a coverage area of a first server, the third roadside device is located in a coverage area of a second server, the first server is different from the second server, and the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: (Soryal: ¶ 032; a first node (e.g., node 1) and a second node (e.g., node 2) can authenticate each other and communicate (e.g., exchange safety messages, etc.). Node 2 can communicate with a third node (e.g., node 3), while, at the moment, node 1 cannot communicate with to node 3. However, if node 1 is moving towards node 2, then the system can predict (via direction, speed, history, traffic congestions, etc.) that node 1 will encounter (be in the wireless range of) node 3 shortly) receive an address and topology information of the third roadside device from the first server; and (Soryal: ¶ 055; the vehicle node 202 can begin communicating the RSE 302 right away because the RSE 204 knew that the RSE 302 was a next probable hub that would be encountered by the vehicle node 202. This information can be generated by measuring the vehicle node's 202 direction and/or speed in addition to street information (e.g., geometry, etc.).) (Soryal: ¶ 058; in some cases nodes can be removed from the list of nodes to send data and/or propagate data to. For instance, if a node is determined to be a faulty node, then this node can be removed for propagation procedures) send the first feature information and the global identifier to the third roadside device based on the address and the topology information of the third roadside device. (Soryal: ¶ 059; second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can then analyze data (e.g., direction, speed, time of day, historical values, messages from the first node, etc.) associated with the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) at block 504. Based on the analysis performed by the second node (e.g., the RSE 204), the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can predict if the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) will be within a defined distance from a third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at 506. If the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) predicts that the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) will be within the defined distance of the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at a specific time, then the second node (e.g., the RSE 204) can forward authentication data and/or encryption keys to the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) at block 508 such that the first node can be authenticated with the third node (e.g., the vehicle node 206) prior to the first node (e.g., the vehicle node 202) arriving at the defined distance of the third node ()
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Tijink as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Li et al. (US 20210204306 A1). As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 15, as detailed above, combination Tijink teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hayashi teaches:
sending, by the first roadside device, the first feature information of the traffic participant and the first global identification information indicating the global identifier to a second roadside device. (Hayashi: ¶ 035; judging unit 30 verifies the setting information obtained by the information receiver 28 (step S14). If it is determined at step S14 that the setting information is necessary, the judging unit 30 sets a vehicle group ID for the optical communication roadside device 20 based on the setting information (step S16). Next, the processor 32 creates data for transmission containing the vehicle group ID (step S18). Then, the encryption unit 34 encrypts the generated data for transmission (step S20). The information transmitter 36 transmits the encrypted data to vehicles via the vehicle interface unit 24 (step S22). If it is determined at step S14 that the setting information is not necessary, the setting information is discarded (step
To the extent Tijink is silent about or does not teach: wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: when the first roadside device is located on the road on which the moving trajectory of the traffic participant is located; Li does teach:
wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: when the first roadside device is located on the road on which the moving trajectory of the traffic participant is located, (Li: ¶ 010; according to the driving direction of the first V2X communication group, the first RSU sends resource occupancy information of the first V2X communication group to the second. RSV, which is in the driving direction and adjacent to the first to make the second RSU remove occupied resource and reallocate communication resource for the first V2X communication group)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Tijink because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “. . . same time-frequency resource [being] reused to improve resource utilization . . . ” when “. . .a distance between vehicle groups in different RSU areas exceeds an interference distance . . .” (Li: ¶ 058).
Regarding claim 16, as detailed above, combination Tijink in view of Li teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 15. Li teaches:
wherein the second roadside device is located downstream in a moving direction of the traffic participant relative to the first roadside device. (Li: ¶ 010; according to the driving direction of the first V2X communication group, the first RSU sends resource occupancy information of the first V2X communication group to the second. RSV, which is in the driving direction and adjacent to the first to make the second RSU remove occupied resource and reallocate communication resource for the first V2X communication group )
Regarding claim 16, as detailed above, combination Tijink in view of Li teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 15. Li teaches:
wherein the first roadside device is located in a coverage area of a first server, the second roadside device is located in a coverage area of a second server, the first server is different from the second server, (Li: Fig. 10; Clm. 14 receive safety wanting information broadcasted by the first V2X communication group using the resource pool, or send the safety warning information to the other RSU within a coverage area of the first RSU, to make the other RSU broadcast the safety warning information within their own coverage.)and the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: receive an address and topology information of the second roadside device from the first server; (Li: ¶ 066; The resource occupancy information can include, but is not limited to resource information occupied by the V2X communication group, identification information of vehicles in the V2X communication group, a vehicle geographical location, a vehicle speed, and information that indicates whether the V2X communication is supported.) and send the first feature information of the traffic participant and the first global identification information indicating the global identifier to the second roadside device based on the address and the topology information of the second roadside device. (Li: ¶ 065; Step S203, according to the driving direction of the first V2X communication, group, the first RSU sends the resource occupancy information of the first V2X communication group to the second RSU, which is in the driving, direction and adjacent to the first RSU. Thus, the second RSU can remove the resource occupancy and reallocate communication resource for the first V2X communication group or the second V2X communication group, when the first V2X communication group drives into a coverage area of the second RSU and has a resource conflict with the second V2X communication group.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed March, 19, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s argument and amendments with respect to the previous applied 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection is persuasive and the rejection is hereby withdrawn. Applicant further argues:
First, the above-cited portions of Soryal appear to describe that if the second node predicts that another node - the first node - will not be in a defined distance of the third node, the second node does not forward information to the third node. See id. However, Soryal has not been shown to teach or suggest that "when the first roadside device is not located on a road on which a moving trajectory of the traffic participant is located, skip sending, by the first roadside device, [information] to any roadside device," as recited in amended Claim 1. (emphasis added). In particular, Soryal's second node has not been shown to determine whether the second node itself "is not located on a road on which a moving trajectory of the traffic participant is located." In other words, Soryal's second node's prediction is not based on any determination regarding the second node's own road location. (Applicant’s Arguments filed Mar., 19, 2026, pg. 9).
Applicant’s arguments above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly applied art Hayashi (US 20100033347A1) teaches at ¶ 031-035 a system in which data is only shared when a group identifier is shared in common. One of the methods in which a group identifier is assigned is through being present in a particular intersection. Consequently, information is only shared when the vehicles are at a common intersection, and person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize being at a common intersection as being on a same road. In other cases, the information is discarded as shown in Figure 3.
Applicant further argues:
Second, Soryal has not been shown to teach or suggest "skip sending, by the first roadside device, the first feature information of the traffic participant and the first global identification information indicating the global identifier to any roadside device," as recited in amended Claim 1. (emphasis added). In particular, the above-cited portions of Soryal describe that the second node does not forward "authentication data and/or encryption keys" - rather than "the first feature information of the traffic participant and the first global identification information" - to the third node. Applicant submits that Tijink has not been shown to remedy these identified deficiencies. Therefore, the cited references have not been shown to disclose each and every feature of amended Claim 1. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and allowance of amended independent Claim 1 and its dependent claims. For similar reasons, Applicant also respectfully requests reconsideration and allowance of amended independent Claims 7 and 10 and their dependent claims. (Applicant’s Arguments filed Mar., 19, 2026, pg. 9).
Applicant’s arguments above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly applied art Hayashi (US 20100033347A1) teaches not forwarding “setting information” which includes an ID number and Retention Limit (Fig. 15) when vehicles do not share a common group identifier which can be set to be shared when at a common intersection. Consequently the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Ali et al. (US 20220177006 A1) which teaches a system in which a vehicle transmits various information to the server 408 for determination of the complexity values of one or more intersections, such as intersections in a present route of the vehicle 400 or a next intersection to be encountered by the vehicle inclusive of a VIN.
/C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663