DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
II. Claims 1-2, 4-9, 13, 14, 17-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingale et al. (US 2021/0235475 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Ingale teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity, comprising: one or more memories and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively (see paragraphs [0011] & [0020]) configured to cause the first network entity to: transmit a system information (SI) provisioning information to a second network entity (see paragraph [0031], The SIB1 can be provided by the network to the UE through dedicated signaling. This reads on the first network entity to: transmit a system information (SI) provisioning information to a second network entity), wherein the SI provisioning information includes a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status of one or more SIBs or a SIB request status of one or more SIBs (see paragraphs [0038] & [0040], The UE acquires the SIB1 and stores the acquired S1B1. The UE can check the information in the SIB1 to determine a setting of a si-Broadcast Status bit associated with a required SIB. This reads on wherein the SI provisioning information includes a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status of one or more SIBs or a SIB request status of one or more SIBs).
Regarding claim 2 Ingale teaches wherein to transmit the SI provisioning information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to transmit the SI provisioning Information based at least in part on a demand system information block (SIB) requested by a user equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0064], The UE can request system information on demand from the network and be provided with that system information. This reads on cause the first network entity to transmit the SI provisioning Information based at least in part on a demand system information block (SIB) requested by a user equipment (UE)).
Regarding claim 4 Ingale teaches wherein the SI provisioning information includes an identity of the first network entity, an identity of the second network entity, a cell identity, time information, a validity period of the information, a confidence level, or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0024], The SIB1 carrying Cell Identity reads on SI provisioning information includes a cell identity).
Regarding claim 5 Ingale teaches the first network entity to transmit the SI provisioning information in a handover request message (see paragraph [0024], During a handover of a UE from a source eNB to a target eNB, the target eNB provides through the dedicated signaling the specific subsets of parameters of the MIB, SIB1, and SIB2 of the target cell in the handover command message to the UE, This reads on the first network entity to transmit the SI provisioning information in a handover request message).
Regarding clam 6 Ingale teaches wherein the first network entity is an information storage node (see paragraphs [0011] & [0104], gNB including memory reads on wherein the first network entity is an information storage node).
Regarding claim 7 Ingale teaches wherein the information storage node is a base station, a core network entity, an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) entity, a gateway, or a cloud server (see paragraph [0104], The gNB reads on wherein the information storage node is a base station).
Regarding claim 8 Ingale teaches wherein to transmit the SI provisioning information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to transmit the SI provisioning Information based at least in part on a trigger (see paragraph [0064], The UE can request system information on demand from the network and be provided with that system information. This reads on cause the first network entity to transmit the SI provisioning Information based at least in part on a trigger).
Regarding claim 9 Ingale teaches wherein the trigger includes an expiration of a periodic timer, a configuration update of the first network entity, a satellite movement, a reception of an SI request from a UE, a cell change of the UE, a start of transmission of SI, or a stoppage of transmission of (see paragraph [0064], The UE can request system information on demand from the network and be provided with that system information. This reads on wherein the trigger includes a reception of an SI request from a UE).
Regarding claim 13 Ingale teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network entity, comprising: one or more memories (130, Fig. 1); and one or more processors (110, Fig. 1), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively (see paragraphs [0052] – [0053] and Fig. 1) configured to cause the second network entity to: receive, from a first network entity, system information (SI) provisioning information (see paragraph [0031], The SIB1 can be provided by the network to the UE through dedicated signaling. This reads on cause the UE to: receive, from a first network entity, system information (SI) provisioning information), wherein the SI provisioning information includes a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status of one or more SIBs or a SIB request status of one or more SIBs (see paragraphs [0038] & [0040], The UE acquires the SIB1 and stores the acquired S1B1. The UE can check the information in the SIB1 to determine a setting of a si-Broadcast Status bit associated with a required SIB. This reads on wherein the SI provisioning information includes a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status of one or more SIBs or a SIB request status of one or more SIBs); and start system information block (SIB) transmission at least based on the SI provisioning information (see paragraphs [0040] – [0041], The UE sends the SI request for the required SIB if the Broadcast Status bit is sent to Not Broadcasting status and the UE is allowed to send SI request. This reads on start system information block (SIB) transmission at least based on the SI provisioning information).
Regarding claim 14 Ingale teaches the second network entity to transmit a SIB broadcasting status of one or more SIBs associated with the first network entity (see paragraph [0040], The UE sends an SI request for a required SIB. The SI request indicating if the siBroadcastStatus bit associated with the required SIB is set to Not Broadcasting status. This reads on the second network entity to transmit a SIB broadcasting status of one or more SIBs associated with the first network entity).
Regarding claim 17 Ingale teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories (130, Fig. 1); and one or more processors (110, Fig. 1), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively (see paragraphs [0052] – [0053] and Fig. 1) configured to cause the UE to: receive, in a message from a second network entity, an indication that the UE is allowed to include a system information block (SIB) request in a first uplink message to a first network entity (see paragraphs [0038] & [0040], The UE acquires the SIB1 from the broadcast from a network entity. The UE sends the SI request if the information in the acquired SIB1 indicates the UE is allowed to send SI request based on network configuration. This reads receive, in a message from a second network entity, an indication that the UE is allowed to include a system information block (SIB) request in a first uplink message to a first network entity); and transmit the SIB request in the first uplink message to the first network entity (see paragraphs [0040] – [0041], The UE sends the SI request for the required SIB if the Broadcast Status bit is sent to Not Broadcasting status and the UE is allowed to send SI request. This reads on transmit the SIB request in the first uplink message to the first network entity).
Regarding clam 18 Ingale teaches receive, from the second network entity, a SIB broadcasting status of one or more SIBs associated with the first network entity, and wherein to transmit the SIB request, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the SIB request based at least in part on the SIB broadcasting status (see paragraphs [0038] & [0040], The UE sends the SI request for the required SIB if, in the acquired and stored SIB1, the si-Broadcast Status bit associated with the requested SIB is set to Not Broadcasting status. This reads on receive, from the second network entity, a SIB broadcasting status of one or more SIBs associated with the first network entity, and wherein to transmit the SIB request, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the SIB request based at least in part on the SIB broadcasting status).
Regarding claim 20 Ingale teaches wherein the message is a handover message (see paragraph [0024], During a handover of the UE the target eNB provides specific subsets of parameters of SIB1 of the targe cell in a handover command message. This reads on wherein the message is a handover message).
Regarding 21 Ingale teaches wherein the SI provisioning information is indicated via a bitmap (see paragraph [0040], the si-BroadcastStatus bit associated with the required SIB reads on wherein the SI provisioning information is indicated via a bitmap).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
III. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale et al. (US 2021/0235475 A1) in view of Fujishiro (US 2019/0253956 A1).
Regarding claim 10 Ingale teaches the apparatus of claim 8 except for wherein the trigger includes reception of a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status or SIB request status (see Ingale, paragraph [0038] and except from a third network entity,
Fujishiro teaches wherein the trigger includes reception of a system information block (SIB) from a third network entity (see paragraph [0065], Updating the on-demand SIB of one gNB (gNB A) may trigger the one gNB (gNB A) to notify another gNB (gNB X) of the on-demand SIB after being updated on the inter-base station interface. This reads on wherein the trigger includes reception of a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status or SIB request status).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make reception of a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status or SIB request status in Ingale adapt to include reception at a third network entity because it would allow for on demand SIB notification at another (neighboring) network entity (see Fujishiro, paragraph [00063]).
Regarding claim 11 Ingale teaches the apparatus of claim 8 except for wherein the trigger includes an update of a cell configuration, a tracking area configuration, a system information block (SIB) configuration, a radio access technology configuration, or a network interface configuration.
Fujishiro teaches wherein trigger includes an update of a cell configuration, a tracking area configuration, a system information block (SIB) configuration, a radio access technology configuration, or a network interface configuration (see paragraphs [0043] – [0044], The UE moves from the cell A of the gNB to the cell B of the gNB. The cell B gNB broadcast SIB information including cell identifier of the cell B and other information. This reads on trigger includes a system information block (SIB) configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Ingale adapt to include wherein the trigger includes an update of a cell configuration, a tracking area configuration, a system information block (SIB) configuration, a radio access technology configuration, or a network interface configuration because it would allow for on demand SIB notification at another (neighboring) network entity (see Fujishiro, paragraph [00063]).
IV. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale et al. (US 2021/0235475 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0361017 A1).
Regarding claim 12 Ingale teaches the apparatus of claim 1 except for receiving a response message from the second network entity.
Liu teaches receiving a response message from the second network entity (see paragraphs [0058] – [0059], The UE feedback the indication information acknowledging reception of SI to the base station. This reads on receiving a response message from the second network entity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Ingale adapt to include receiving a response message from the second network entity because it would allow for improved signaling efficiency (see Liu, paragraph [0059]).
V. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale et al. (US 2021/0235475 A1) in view of Nanda (US 2023/0077812 A1).
Regarding claim 15 Ingale teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a third network entity, comprising: one or more memories (130, Fig. 1); and one or more processors (110, Fig. 1), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively (see paragraphs [0052] – [0053] and Fig. 1) configured to cause the third network entity to: receive, from a first network entity in a first format for a first radio access technology (RAT), system information (SI) provisioning information (see paragraph [0031], The SIB1 can be provided by the network to the UE through dedicated signaling. This reads on cause the UE to: receive, from a first network entity in a first format for a first radio access technology (RAT), system information (SI) provisioning information), wherein the SI provisioning information includes a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status of one or more SIBs or a SIB request status of one or more SIBs (see paragraphs [0038] & [0040], The UE acquires the SIB1 and stores the acquired S1B1. The UE can check the information in the SIB1 to determine a setting of a si-Broadcast Status bit associated with a required SIB. This reads on wherein the SI provisioning information includes a system information block (SIB) broadcasting status of one or more SIBs or a SIB request status of one or more SIBs); and start system information block (SIB) transmission at least based on the SI provisioning information (see paragraphs [0040] – [0041], The UE sends the SI request for the required SIB if the Broadcast Status bit is sent to Not Broadcasting status and the UE is allowed to send SI request. This reads on start system information block (SIB) transmission at least based on the SI provisioning information).
Ingale does not teach translate the SI provisioning information from the first format to a second format for a second RAT of a second network entity; and transmit the SI provisioning information to the second network entity in the second format.
Nanda teaches translate the SI provisioning information from a first format to a second format for a second RAT of a second network entity (see paragraphs [0035] – [0036] & [0060], The network device obtains the neighbor information. The regular SIB data structure is accessed. If a selected neighbor cell is bandwidth reduced (BR) capable, operations map the SIB4 data for the selected cell to the SIB4-BR data structure. The mapping can be applied to multi-RAT systems. This reads on translate the SI provisioning information from the first format to a second format for a second RAT of a second network entity); and transmit the SI provisioning information to the second network entity in the second format (see paragraphs [0043] & [0060], The bandwidth reduced mode neighbor cell data structure is communicated. This reads on transmit the SI provisioning information to the second network entity in the second format).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Ingale adapt to include translate the SI provisioning information from the first format to a second format for a second RAT of a second network entity; and transmit the SI provisioning information to the second network entity in the second format because it would allow for a more efficient transmission of system information during mobility events (see Nanda, abstract and paragraphs [0002] – [0003]).
Regarding claim 16 Nanda teaches map, for one or more system information blocks (SIBs), a SIB broadcasting status of each SIB for the first RAT to a corresponding SIB for the second RAT (see paragraphs [0035] – [0036] & [0060], The network device obtains the neighbor information. The regular SIB data structure is accessed. If a selected neighbor cell is bandwidth reduced (BR) capable, operations map the SIB4 data for the selected cell to the SIB4-BR data structure. The mapping can be applied to multi-RAT systems. This reads on map, for one or more system information blocks (SIBs), a SIB broadcasting status of each SIB for the first RAT to a corresponding SIB for the second RAT).
VI. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale et al. (US 2021/0235475 A1) in view of Tao et al. (US 2021/0153105 A1).
Regarding claim 19 Ingale teaches the apparatus of clam 18 except for the UE to transmit the SIB request in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message.
Tao teaches the UE to transmit the SIB request in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message (see paragraph [0139], The target-cell additional-SI message requested by the UE can be delivered to the UE. The target gNB may use a dedicated message to provide the UE with the requested additional-SI message subsequent to having received the additional-SI request in the RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message. This reads on the UE to transmit the SIB request in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Ingale adapt to include the UE to transmit the SIB request in a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message because the UE SI request in Ingale can be transmitted in an (RRC) reconfiguration complete message in the same way as the SI request in Tao and it would allow for efficient signaling of the SI request.
Response to Arguments
VII. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
VIII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berger et al. Pub. No.: US 2024/0251398 A1 discloses superimposed system information including SIBs transmitted by the network node on demand from UE (see paragraph [0090]).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
October 1, 2026