DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In addressing the new limitation of “each ring of the stent is expandable to a degree proportional to its relative uniform strut length dimension” it must be noted that the new teaching of Brown suggests the concept for the rings of a stent.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this instance the comments against the Venkateswara reference are unconvincing because as mentioned in the prior action and in the rejection below, a modification of the length of struts in a ring is a result effective variable and has predictable results. Discovering the optimum or workable ranges (in this instance length) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. So if a surgeon selecting the optimal diameter dimensions for a stent finds the vessel site in a patient needs different diameters or structural support, both Brown (page 5, lines 5-8) and Venkateswara (page 7, lines 17-25) state finding or choosing the optimal length is an obvious expedient. In response to applicant's argument that the Tongi or Venkateswara references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., hyperboloid shape) are not recited in the rejected claim (1). Although the recitation was in claim 8 (now required), it appeared the limitation was being argued against claim 1 and is not read into the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (WO 96/26689) in view of Venkateswara (WO 00/28922). Please note claim 21 is addressed first and Brown et al. show (Fig. 4) an open cell intracranial stent 10 comprising: a plurality of rings 16 arranged sequentially in a longitudinal direction, each ring comprising a plurality of cells arranged adjacently to each other in a transverse direction generally perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, each cell comprising a pair of struts, each strut in the cell having a first end and an opposing second end, the first ends of the pair of struts joined at a first peak, the second end of each of the pair of struts joined to a second end of one of the pair of struts in a separate, adjacent, one of the plurality of cells in the ring to form a pair of peaks opposing the first peaks, such that the struts and peaks in the ring form a generally sinusoidal configuration, each of the plurality of rings being joined to another one of the plurality of rings at a nodal connection 20, each of the pair of struts in each one of the plurality of cells in each ring having a uniform strut length dimension; and wherein the stent has a pair of opposing ends and the plurality of rings includes a first ring 16a at one of the opposing ends, a second ring, a third ring, a fourth ring, a fifth ring, and a sixth ring 16a at the other of the opposing ends, the uniform strut length dimension of the second 16, third 16, and fourth ring 16 cells having a relative value of uniform strut length dimension less than the cells of the first ring and the sixth ring. Brown et al. states (page 5, lines 4,5) end rings (or as in the claims 1st and 6th rings are longer) have different lengths than central rings or as recited in claims second, third and fourth rings have a uniform length less than the first and sixth rings. Brown et al. also discloses (page 5, lines 5-8) the different lengths for each ring of the stent is expandable to a degree proportional to its relative uniform strut length dimension. However, Brown et al. did not state the uniform strut length dimension of the second, third, and fourth ring cells having a relative value of uniform strut length dimension less than the cells of the fifth ring. Venkateswara teaches (figs. 3,4) a stent in which an adjacent end 28 ring (or as claimed is a 5th ring) to be a length greater than other central rings, i.e. 16-20. Venkateswara further teaches (page 6, lines 13-15) the strut length dimensions of the cells for adjacent rings can be different or a ratio of the end ring value. Venkateswara further teaches (page 7, lines 17-25) any combination of varied length for struts can be arranged for unit cells of the stent and in certain regions to achieve a desired effect. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide at least an adjacent end ring or fifth ring to be greater in length than other central rings as taught by Venkateswara in the stent of Brown et al. such that it provides an end with a more tapering enlargement to match a vessel which flares more pronounced at one end. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (in this instance length) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Thus, finding the optimal length dimension only involves routine skill in the art and both Brown and Venkateswara teach that the length can be longer or shorter in different rings than one another. Thus, one of ordinary skill can select dimension ring lengths such that it match anatomy dimensions and if varied vessel diameters are where the stent is placed, it would be obvious to alter the length for varied expansion capability, see Brown (page 5, lines 5-8) stating size or length plays a role in the vessel site in optimizing its delivery and coverage strength is optimized by length, see Venkateswara (page 7, lines 11-13,23-25). Regarding claim 1, the same explanation for claim 21 can be repeated as the same limitations are present regarding the six rings along the length of the stent and the different comparisons in length for the six rings. However, claim 1 additionally recited the comparative ratios of rings two, three, four, five and six relative to the first ring. As presented above both Brown and Venkateswara did teach different lengths of rings and the central rings being less than an end ring. Specifically Brown did not disclose the uniform strut length dimension of the second ring cells having a relative value of 0.9 times the uniform strut length dimension of the cells of the first ring, the third ring cells having a relative value of 0.85 times the uniform strut length dimension of the cells of the first ring, the fourth ring cells having a relative value of 0.85 times the uniform strut length dimension of the cells of the first ring, the fifth ring cells having a relative value of 1.15 times the uniform strut length dimension of the cells of the first ring, and the sixth ring cells having a relative value of 1.25 times the uniform strut length dimension of the cells of the first ring. Venkateswara teaches that the sixth ring is greater in strut length than the first ring and a fifth ring or adjacent end ring to the sixth (last) ring is also greater in length. Brown can be said to suggest the second, third and fourth are less than the first ring as detailed above. Venkateswara further teaches (page 6, lines 13-15) the strut length
dimensions of the cells for adjacent rings can be different or a ratio of the end ring
value. Venkateswara further teaches (page 7, lines 17-25) any combination of varied
length for struts can be arranged for unit cells of the stent. Thus, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art per the teaching of Venkateswara to modify
length along a stent axis and optimize values such as selecting strut length dimension
of the second ring cells to be a relative value of 0.9 times the uniform strut length
dimension of the cells of the first ring, the third ring cells having a relative value of 0.85
times the uniform strut length dimension of the cells of the first ring, the fourth ring cells
having a relative value of 0.85 times the uniform strut length dimension of the cells of
the first ring, the fifth ring cells having a relative value of 1.15 times the uniform strut
length dimension of the cells of the first ring, and the sixth ring cells having a relative
value of 1.25 times the uniform strut length dimension of the cells of the first ring in the
stent of Brown et al. so that the desired radial strength, longitudinal flexibility or coverage differentiation can be provided, see Venkateswara page 8, lines 2,3. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (in this instance length) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Thus, finding the optimal ratio between lengths only involves routine skill in the art and both Brown and Venkateswara teach that the length can be longer or shorter in different rings than one another. Thus, one of ordinary skill can select ratios such that it match anatomy dimensions and if varied vessel diameters are where the stent is placed, it would be obvious to alter the length for varied expansion capability, see Brown (page 5, lines 5-8) stating size or length plays a role in the vessel site in optimizing its delivery and coverage strength is optimized by length, see Venkateswara (page 7, lines 11-13,23-25).
Claim(s) 2,3,22,23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (WO 96/26689) in view of Venkateswara (WO 00/28922) as applied to claims 1,21 above, and further in view of Owens et al. (9770349). Brown et al. in view of Venkateswara is explained supra. However, Brown et al. as modified by Venkateswara did not disclose each of the struts is coated with a layer comprising a mixture of nanoparticles of an anti-thrombotic medication and a bioabsorbable polymer. Owens et al. teach that a stent be provided with a coating comprising a mixture of nanoparticles of an anti-thrombotic medication and a bioabsorbable polymer. See citations from col. 82, lines 6,7 (claim 1) recites "a stent for insertion into a body, the stent comprising a metal stent having a dealloyed porous surface" also citation "wherein the porous surface is a nanoporous surface" see col. 82, line 13 (claim 2) and also see Col. 82, lines 21,22 (claim 5) reciting "wherein the stent further comprises a biodegradable coating bonded to the porous surface" and also see col. 82, lines 30-49 (claims 8,9) with the recitation of "wherein the nanoporous surface contains at least one therapeutic agent selected from a group consisting of tirofiban" and further see col. 19, lines 10-36 with the citation "the stent may optionally further comprise a polymeric coating bonded to at least a portion of the outer surface of the porous layer the polymeric coating comprises a material selected from a group consisting of a polyanhydride.." therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to provide the stent of Brown et al. as modified with Venkateswara per the teaching of Owens et al. with a coating layer comprising a mixture of nanoparticles of an anti-thrombotic medication and a bioabsorbable polymer so that each of the struts would be coated with a layer comprising a mixture of nanoparticles of an anti- thrombotic medication and a bioabsorbable polymer. The motivation would be to prevent blood clots and reduce the risk of long-term complications. Regarding Claim 23, the modified stent of Brown with Venkateswara discloses the stent of claim 22 per the teaching with Owens. However, Brown in view of Venkateswara fails to explicitly disclose a drug such as an anti-thrombotic medication being Tirofiban and the bioabsorbable polymer is polyanhydride. However, Owens is in the field of stents (abstract) and teaches use of an anti-thrombotic medication including Tirofiban and the bioabsorbable polymer is polyanhydride ("A stent for insertion into a body, the stent comprising a metal stent having a dealloyed porous surface", Claim 1, Col. 82 Lns. 6-7. "wherein the porous surface is a nanoporous surface", Claim 2, Col. 82 Ln. 13. "wherein the stent further comprises a biodegradable coating bonded to the porous surface", Claim 5, Col. 82 Lns. 21-22. "wherein the nanoporous surface contains at least one therapeutic agent selected from a group consisting of: tirofiban", Claims 8-9, Col. 82 Lns. 30-49. "The stent may optionally further comprise a polymeric coating bonded to at least a portion of the outer surface of the porous layer the polymeric coating comprises a material selected from a group consisting of: polyanhydrides", Col. 19 Lns. 10-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the stent of Brown et al. as modified with Venkateswara to include an anti-thrombotic medication such as Tirofiban and use a bioabsorbable polymer such as polyanhydride as taught by Owens. The motivation would be to enhance safety, effectiveness, and long-term outcomes of the stent.
Claim(s) 4,5,24,25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (WO 96/26689) in view of Venkateswara (WO 00/28922) as applied to claims 1,21 above, and further in view of Dehnad et al. (20040088038). Brown et al. in view of Venkateswara is explained supra. However, Brown et al. as modified by
Venkateswara did not disclose the stent defines a plurality of microholes, with the microholes being filled with a radiopaque substance. Regarding claim 24, Dehnad provides a teaching in the same field of endeavor, stents (see abstract) with incorporated microholes of which are filled with a radiopaque substance. Dehnad also shows (Fig. 5) an enlarged view of the microcellular porous metal stent 10 shown in Fig. 4. Dehnad further teach (paragraph 31) that the microholes 30 has disposed therein the radiopaque material 26 that is metallic of which forms a porous fill material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to provide the stent of Brown as modified with Venkateswara with a plurality of microholes that can be filled with a radiopaque material as taught by Dehnad to improve the visibility under imaging and real-time guidance. With respect to claim 25, as mentioned already Dehnad teaches the use of the radiopaque material in a microhole, but further teaches (paragraph 31) the metal can be tantalum. It would have been obvious to select a known radiopaque material such as tantalum as taught by Dehnad to use in the microholes incorporated in the stent of Brown as modified with Venkateswara such that the appropriate visibility marker is provided, since such a modification only involves routine skill in the art. Selection of materials is a result dependent variable based on the imaging modality. Thus, the modification of marker material and microholes provides an improved enhancement and is an obvious expedient to the stent.
Claim(s) 6,7,26,27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (WO 96/26689) in view of Venkateswara (WO 00/28922) as applied to claims 1,21 above, and further in view of Boismier (20160067070). Brown et al. in view of Venkateswara is explained supra. Regarding claim 26, Brown et al. as modified by
Venkateswara did not disclose the struts have a thickness from about 40 microns to about 60 microns. It is noted that Venkateswara teach (page 7, lines 17-25) that the
strut thickness can be optimized to particular dimensions to achieve a desired functional
effect. Boismier teaches (paragraph 29) the dimensions for strut thickness can be
provided to be from about 40 microns to about 60 microns. Please note MPEP 2144.05
states that when there is some overlapping values for ranges, a prima facie case of
obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts overlap. Thus, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a strut thickness for the stent to
be within the range from about 40 microns to about 60 microns as taught by Boismier
for the stent struts of Brown et al. as modified with Venkateswara since finding the
optimal thickness for a stent strut is a result effective variable and only involves routine
skill in the art. Regarding claim 27, Brown et al. as modified by Venkateswara did not
disclose a width at the first peak and a width at each of the second peaks is less than a
width of the struts. It is noted that Venkateswara teach (page 7, lines 17-25) that the
width can be optimized to particular dimensions to achieve a desired functional effect of
a stent. Boismier teaches (paragraph 32 and claim 12) a width at the first peak and a
width at each of the second peaks is less than a width of the struts. Please note MPEP
2144.05 states that when there is some overlapping values for ranges, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts overlap. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a width at the first peak and a width at each of the second peaks is less than a width of the struts as taught by Boismier for the stent struts of Brown et al. as modified with Venkateswara since finding the optimal width for a stent peak is a result effective variable and only involves routine skill in the art in that one of ordinary skill will select the appropriate flexibility that can be a result of the peak widths being less than the strut widths.
Claim(s) 8,28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (WO 96/26689) in view of Venkateswara (WO 00/28922) as applied to claims 1,21 above, and further in view of Lombardi et al. (2004/0015228). Brown et al. in view of Venkateswara is explained supra. However, Brown et al. as modified by Venkateswara did not disclose the stent forms a hyperboloid shape when expanded. Lombardi et al. teach (Fig. 2) a stent 10 forming a hyperboloid shape when expanded, paragraph 40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the stent formation when expanded be in a hyperboloid shape as taught by Lombardi et al. with the stent of Brown et al. as modified by Venkateswara such that it assures anchoring in the vessel due to the geometric shape as is known in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN E PELLEGRINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799