DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 10-19 in the reply filed on February 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 13, 2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The “CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS” should be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11, 13, 15 and 17 are vague and indefinite, because the values after the range are considered to be examples, i.e., read as “for example about…” and it has been held that the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Note that it is unclear if only those values, the ones after the recited range, are to be considered, i.e., not fraction or values not recited in the numerical set and thus the metes and bounds of patent protection desired cannot be ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over any of Luon et al., (hereinafter Luong) in “Graphene/cellulose nanocomposite paper with high electrical and mechanical performances,” and Laaksonen et al., (hereinafter Laaksonen), WO 2013/076372 A1.
With regard to claim 10 Luong and Laaksonen teach nanopapers comprising graphene and cellulose nanofibrils1; see abstract and preparation of reduced graphene oxide/A-NFC composites on page 13992 of Luong, which teach the use Graphene and NFC, corresponding to the claimed nanofibrils, and Abstract, page 2, lines 23-26, page 7, lines 14-19, page 9, lines 11-12, page 9, lines 27-29 and paragraph bridging pages 10 and 11 of Laaksonen.
Regarding to claims 11, Luong discloses thickness of the nanopaper falling within the claimed range; see page 13992 Characterization heading which recites that the thickness is controlled to be about 20 microns.
With regard to claims 15-16, Luong teaches graphene addition between 0.3 wt% to 10 wt% which falls within the range of claim 15, while Laaksonen teaches graphene addition from 0.005 to 50 wt% and in the example discloses from 1 wt% through 29 wt% and figures 1A through 1C shows films, i.e., nanopapers having 1 wt%, 5 wt% and 29 wt%; see paragraph bridging pages 11 and 12, which range falls within the range of claims 15 and 16.
Regarding to claim 19, since the reference teach the same or very similar nanopaper. having the same components, i.e., graphene and nanofibrils at proportions falling within the claimed range, then such property must be inherently the same.
It seems that the references, Luong and Laaksonen, teach all the limitations of the above claims or at the very least the minor modification(s) to obtain the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 12-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Luong and Laaksonen cited above.
Both references have been discussed above. They teach the making of a nanopaper or film including graphene and nanofibrils.
With regard to claim 12, while the references fail to teach thickness of the nanopaper/composite/film in the range of the claims. Luong teaches that the thickness is controlled to be within 20 microns, which indicates that the thickness of the paper can be controlled to desired level and thus making a paper with the claimed thickness range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding to claims 13-14, None of the references teach the lateral dimension of the graphene, but since the graphene of the references seems to be the same, i.e., made in the same way as disclosed in the current specification; compare ¶-[0051] of the specification with the Experimental section, page 13992, of Luong, paragraph bridging pages 11 and 12 of Laaksonen, such dimension would be considered to be the same or at the very least in ranges falling within the claimed range.
With regard to claims 17-18, while the references are silent with regard to the thickness/diameter of the nanofibrils, it is well-known in the art2 that nanofibrils have thickness within the claimed range and thus using nanofibrils having thickness/diameter within such range would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if such known thickness were used in the making of the nanopapers of the cited references, Luong or Laaksonen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Aqueous Exfoliated Graphene by Amphiphilic Cellulose Nanofibrils for Foldable and Moisture-Responsive Nanopaper.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 Note that cellulose nanofibrils (CNF) is also known as, cellulose nanofibers, microfibrillated Cellulose or MFC, nanofibrillated cellulose or NFC, cellulose fibrils, cellulose nanomaterials or CNMs, cellulose nanowhiskers or CNW
2 The examiner takes official notice of this fact and will present evidence if necessary.