DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant has no priority data on file.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 02/08/2024 and 09/27/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solodko et al (US 2013/0262171) in view of Grobbel (US 2023/0237205).
Regarding claim 1, Solodko et al discloses wireless terminal (fig. 1 item 10, handheld unit) that communicates with an access node on a satellite via a service link, the wireless terminal comprising (Handheld unit (wireless terminal) communicates with a computer that relays information, satellite networks utilizing access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service link) could all be utilized to provide communications between handheld units 10 and remote activity managers 7, [0063], lines 3-6):
receiver circuitry configured to receive, from the access node, store and forward (S&F) information comprising (Handheld unit 10 (wireless terminal) communicates with an access points (access node) that relays store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7; thus is seen as handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) is relayed (received) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) from access points (access node), [0063], lines 3-6):
S&F operation mode status indicating that the access node provides S&F service (access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service) relays (provide) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7; thus is seen as system is in a status mode indicating that access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service) relays (provide) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) service, [0063], lines 3-6), and;
access control information, the access control information for the S&F service (remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth, which maintains information on actual customers or sources of referrals to customers and contacts in a contact management or customer relationship management system such as GoldMine to a set of remote locations 2, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3);
processor circuitry (CPU, [0102], line 3) configured, based on the S&F information, to make a decision whether an access attempt is allowed (Based on remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth etc. and GoldMine, allow the information in such system to be viewed on handheld devices 10 by remote agents 3, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3 and [0058], lines 1-3);
Solodko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data.
However, Grobbel specifically teaches concept of wherein the S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data (In order to qualify to the storage medium 100 as an authorized user data recipient 210, user data recipient 210 provides corresponding authentication information A via interface 170 to storage medium 100 and forwards (S&F service) it to authentication unit 130, [0127], lines 4-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Solodko et al with concept of wherein the S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data of Grobbel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data storage system for a host apparatus using an access control device, (Grobbel, [0002], line 2)
Regarding claim 2, Solodko et al discloses wireless terminal (fig. 1 item 10, handheld unit), wherein the S&F information is received in broadcasted system information (Handheld unit 10 (wireless terminal) communicates with an access points (access node) that relays (broadcasts) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7, [0063], lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 3, Solodko et al discloses wireless terminal (fig. 1 item 10, handheld unit), wherein the access control information comprises an indication indicating whether an access attempt for an access category assigned to the S&F service is allowed (Based on remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth etc. and GoldMine, allow the information in such system to be viewed on handheld devices 10 by remote agents 3, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3 and [0058], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Solodko et al discloses wireless node, wherein the decision is further based on whether the S&F service is configured to the wireless termina (Based on remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth etc. and GoldMine, allow the information in such system to be viewed on handheld devices 10 by remote agents 3, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3 and [0058], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Solodko et al discloses wireless node, wherein the decision is further based on whether the S&F operation mode status is indicated in the S&F information (access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service) relays (provide) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7; thus is seen as system is in a status mode indicating that access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service) relays (provide) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) service, [0063], lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 6, Solodko et al discloses wireless terminal (fig. 1 item 10, handheld unit), wherein the wireless terminal further comprises transmitter circuitry that is configured to transmit user data to the access node in a case that the access attempt is allowed (Based on remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth etc. and GoldMine, allow the information in such system to be viewed on handheld devices 10 by remote agents 3, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3 and [0058], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Solodko et al discloses wireless terminal (fig. 1 item 10, handheld unit),
Solodko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the user data is stored in the access node while a feeder link, which connects the access node to a core network, is unavailable and is forwarded to the core network upon or after the feeder link becomes available.
However, Grobbel specifically teaches concept of wherein the user data is stored in the access node while a feeder link, which connects the access node to a core network, is unavailable and is forwarded to the core network upon or after the feeder link becomes available (In order to qualify to the storage medium 100 as an authorized user data recipient 210, user data recipient 210 provides corresponding authentication information A via interface 170 to storage medium 100 and forwards (S&F service) it to authentication unit 130, where authentication of user data recipient 210 or its data read request RR takes place based on the authentication information A while the access (feeder link) to the data storage system 105 is unavailable until authentication information is authenticated; thus is seen as user data recipient 210 provides corresponding authentication information A via interface 170 to storage medium 100 and forwards (S&F service) while the access (feeder link) to the data storage system 105 (access node) is unavailable until authentication information is authenticated, [0127], lines 1-7, [0129], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Solodko et al with concept of wherein the user data is stored in the access node while a feeder link, which connects the access node to a core network, is unavailable and is forwarded to the core network upon or after the feeder link becomes available of Grobbel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data storage system for a host apparatus using an access control device, (Grobbel, [0002], line 2)
Regarding claim 8, Solodko et al discloses access node on a satellite, the access node communicating with a wireless terminal via a service link and with a core network wirelessly via a feeder link, the access node comprising (Handheld unit (wireless terminal) communicates with a computer that relays information, satellite networks utilizing access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service link) could all be utilized to provide communications between handheld units 10 and remote activity managers 7, [0063], lines 3-6):
processor circuitry configured to generate store and forward (S&F) information comprising (Handheld unit 10 (wireless terminal) communicates with an access points (access node) that relays store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7; thus is seen as handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) is relayed (received) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) from access points (access node), [0063], lines 3-6):
S&F operation mode status indicating that the access node provides S&F service (access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service) relays (provide) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7; thus is seen as system is in a status mode indicating that access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service) relays (provide) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) service, [0063], lines 3-6), and;
access control information, the access control information for the S&F service (remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth, which maintains information on actual customers or sources of referrals to customers and contacts in a contact management or customer relationship management system such as GoldMine to a set of remote locations 2, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3);
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit the S&F information to the wireless terminal (Handheld unit 10 (wireless terminal) communicates with an access points (access node) that relays store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7; thus is seen as handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) is relayed (received) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) from access points (access node), [0063], lines 3-6);
S&F information is configured for use by the wireless terminal to make a decision whether an access attempt is allowed for the wireless terminal. (Based on remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth etc. and GoldMine, allow the information in such system to be viewed on handheld devices 10 by remote agents 3, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3 and [0058], lines 1-3), and;
Solodko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data while the feeder link is unavailable for the access node.
However, Grobbel specifically teaches concept of wherein the S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data while the feeder link is unavailable for the access node. (In order to qualify to the storage medium 100 as an authorized user data recipient 210, user data recipient 210 provides corresponding authentication information A via interface 170 to storage medium 100 and forwards (S&F service) it to authentication unit 130, where authentication of user data recipient 210 or its data read request RR takes place based on the authentication information A while the access (feeder link) to the data storage system 105 is unavailable until authentication information is authenticated; thus is seen as user data recipient 210 provides corresponding authentication information A via interface 170 to storage medium 100 and forwards (S&F service) while the access (feeder link) to the data storage system 105 (access node) is unavailable until authentication information is authenticated, [0127], lines 1-7, [0129], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Solodko et al with concept of wherein the S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data while the feeder link is unavailable for the access node of Grobbel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data storage system for a host apparatus using an access control device, (Grobbel, [0002], line 2)
Regarding claim 9, Solodko et al discloses access node, wherein the S&F information is broadcasted in system information (Handheld unit 10 (wireless terminal) communicates with an access points (access node) that relays (broadcasts) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7, [0063], lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 10, Solodko et al discloses access node, wherein the access control information comprises an indication whether an access attempt for an access category assigned to the S&F service is allowed (Based on remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth etc. and GoldMine, allow the information in such system to be viewed on handheld devices 10 by remote agents 3, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3 and [0058], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Solodko et al discloses access node, wherein the access node further comprises receiver circuitry that is configured to receive user data from the wireless terminal in a case that the access attempt is allowed (Based on remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth etc. and GoldMine, allow the information in such system to be viewed on handheld devices 10 by remote agents 3, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3 and [0058], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Solodko et al discloses access node,
Solodko et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the access node further comprises a data storage, and the user data is stored in the data storage while a feeder link, which connects the access node to a core network, is unavailable and is forwarded to the core network upon or after the feeder link becomes available.
However, Grobbel specifically teaches concept of wherein the access node further comprises a data storage, and the user data is stored in the data storage while a feeder link, which connects the access node to a core network, is unavailable and is forwarded to the core network upon or after the feeder link becomes available (In order to qualify to the storage medium 100 as an authorized user data recipient 210, user data recipient 210 provides corresponding authentication information A via interface 170 to storage medium 100 and forwards (S&F service) it to authentication unit 130, where authentication of user data recipient 210 or its data read request RR takes place based on the authentication information A while the access (feeder link) to the data storage system 105 is unavailable until authentication information is authenticated, [0127], lines 1-7, [0129], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Solodko et al with concept of wherein the access node further comprises a data storage, and the user data is stored in the data storage while a feeder link, which connects the access node to a core network, is unavailable and is forwarded to the core network upon or after the feeder link becomes available of Grobbel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data storage system for a host apparatus using an access control device, (Grobbel, [0002], line 2).
Regarding claim 13, Solodko et al discloses method for a wireless terminal that communicates with an access node on a satellite via a service link, the access node being connected wirelessly to a core network via a feeder link, the method comprising (Handheld unit (wireless terminal) communicates with a computer that relays information, satellite networks utilizing access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service link) could all be utilized to provide communications between handheld units 10 and remote activity managers 7, [0063], lines 3-6):
receiving, from the access node, store and forward (S&F) information comprising (Handheld unit 10 (wireless terminal) communicates with an access points (access node) that relays store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7; thus is seen as handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) is relayed (received) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) from access points (access node), [0063], lines 3-6):
S&F operation mode status indicating that the access node provides S&F service (access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service) relays (provide) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) between handheld units 10 ((wireless terminal)) and remote activity managers 7; thus is seen as system is in a status mode indicating that access points (access node) such as those available at Internet cafes or home networks (service) relays (provide) store and forward information (store and forward (S&F) information) service, [0063], lines 3-6), and;
access control information, the access control information for the S&F service (remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth, which maintains information on actual customers or sources of referrals to customers and contacts in a contact management or customer relationship management system such as GoldMine to a set of remote locations 2, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3);
making a decision, based on the S&F information, whether an access attempt is allowed, wherein (Based on remote location 1 stores and providing access (S&F service) information that may include a billing system such as that provided by AthenaHealth etc. and GoldMine, allow the information in such system to be viewed on handheld devices 10 by remote agents 3, [0053], lines 1-4, [0054], lines 1-3 and [0058], lines 1-3);
Solodko et al does not specifically disclose concept of S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data.
However, Grobbel specifically teaches concept of S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data (In order to qualify to the storage medium 100 as an authorized user data recipient 210, user data recipient 210 provides corresponding authentication information A via interface 170 to storage medium 100 and forwards (S&F service) it to authentication unit 130, [0127], lines 4-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Solodko et al with concept of S&F service comprises storing and forwarding of user data of Grobbel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data storage system for a host apparatus using an access control device, (Grobbel, [0002], line 2).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681