DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the mold surface" in lines 3-4; “the stock material” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7, recites the limitation “tuning parameters of the obtained image”, however it is unclear what this means and how any parameters can be tuned after the image is obtained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Held (DE 1 729 168 B, citations based on machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Held discloses a method for manufacturing a composite component (title/abstract) comprising:
obtaining a name plate (abstract; FIG. 1), e.g. an image to be projected from an exterior surface of the component;
forming an injection mold having a relief-like surface, e.g. a negative of the image formed, on a portion of the mold surface (FIG. 1; ¶ 4);
preparing a first surface of a portion of a thin metal foil, e.g. a stock material (FIG. 1-2; ¶ 4);
placing the stock material into the injection mold (FIG. 1-2; ¶¶ 4, 18); and
injecting mold material into the injection mold (FIG. 1-2; ¶¶ 4, 18);
wherein the injection mold causes the mold material to deform the stock material such that the image projects from a second surface of the portion of stock material (FIG. 1-2; ¶¶ 4, 18).
Regarding claim 2, Held discloses the stock material includes a metal (¶ 6).
Regarding claim 5, Held discloses the mold material includes a plastic (¶ 4).
Regarding claim 7, Held discloses tuning parameters of the obtained image (¶ 15).
Regarding claim 9, Held discloses cooling the mold material, wherein an adhesive bonds together the cooled mold material and the stock material to form the component (¶ 9).
Regarding claim 13, Held discloses the stock material is a flat plate (¶ 18).
Regarding claim 14, Held discloses the flat plate is not pre-formed by a stamping process (¶ 18).
Regarding claim 15, Held discloses depressions on an interior surface of the mold form the negative of the image (¶¶ 4, 18).
Regarding claim 16, Held discloses the deforming is caused by pressure from the mold material causing the stock material to be pushed into the depressions (¶¶ 4, 18).
Regarding claim 17, Held discloses applying an adhesive to the first surface (¶ 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 11-12, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held (DE 1 729 168 B) as applied to claim 1 or 2 above, further in view of Meschke et al. (US 10,201,105 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Held does not appear to expressly disclose aluminum.
However, Meschke discloses similar method of forming composite injection molded components (title/abstract) wherein the metal insert is aluminum (4:15+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Held to include the aluminum of Meschke, because such materials are known in the art and could be substituted with expected results.
Regarding claim 4, Held suggests the stock material is a plate having a thickness 2.0 mm or less (abstract, ¶ 6).
Regarding claims 11-12, Meschke discloses the mold material forms at least one surface feature such an engagement feature, a decorative feature, a strengthening feature, or a weight-reducing feature (FIG. 10A-B; 12:46+).
Regarding claim 19-20, Meschke discloses mechanically modifying the first surface by roughening the first surface (FIG. 9A-B; 12:18+).
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held (DE 1 729 168 B) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Winget et al. (US 6,620,371 B1).
Held does not appear to expressly disclose the injection pressure.
However, Winget discloses a similar method of injection molding composite components (title/abstract) at pressures of 50-15k psi (claim 3).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Held to include the pressures of Winget, because such pressures are conventional in the art and could be used to deform the stock material with expected results.
Claim 8 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held (DE 1 729 168 B) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kalair et al. (WO 2024/206420 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Held does not appear to expressly disclose pre-forming the stock material.
However, Kalair discloses a similar method for injection molding composite components (title/abstract) which includes of stamping the aluminum sheet stock material prior to injection molding (¶ 54).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Held to include the stamping of Kalair, in order to provide an overall geometry to the stock material and improve the injection process.
Regarding claim 10, Kalair discloses the component is a decorative automotive component (title/abstract).
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held (DE 1 729 168 B) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Weaver et al. (US 4,965,037 A).
Regarding claim 18, Held does not appear to expressly disclose adding an additive to the injection material, the additive increases the surface energy of the injection material to increase adherence of the injection material to stock material.
However, Weaver discloses a similar process of injection molding composite components (title/abstract) in which the injected material chemically bonds with the insert and also includes chain extender, curing agent, and optional additives which improve the chemical reaction (6:3+, 6:45+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Held to include the materials of Weaver, in order to ensure permanent bonding of the insert to the injected material with expected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kosanvoich, Peter
US 20030122278 A1
MacDonald; Jeffrey D. et al.
US 20070184273 A1
Summerer; Sebastian et al.
US 12583152 B2
T. Loew
US 3654062 A
BARENE D J et al.
US 20190176382 A1
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742