DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prodan (HU194101) in view of Huifeng (CN102872549).
Prodan discloses an inflatable fall protection pad, comprising: a deformable body (1, Figs. 1-3) defining an inflatable three-dimensional volume (Fig. 1), the deformable body having a base wall (underside of 1), an upper wall (upper side of 1), and sidewalls (see adjacent call out 1 and 7 in Fig. 1) spanning the base wall and the upper wall; and a set of roller units (4, Figs. 2 and 3, note that Prodan refers to the roller units in the plural, see pg. 6, line 18 of MT of Prodan) mounted to the base wall along an exterior-facing surface of the base wall (Fig. 2) and wherein one or more regions of the base wall surrounding each roller unit of the set of roller units is deformable (see pg. 6, lines 17-19 of Prodan: “Fig. 3 shows the solution shown in Fig. 2, when the pressure in the base hose 1 is reduced such that the support elements 4 are lowered into the base hose 1 so that the base hose 1 rests on the ground and bears load on the transport body and load”).
Prodan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the set of roller units are arranged in a multi-dimensional array, wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a first dimension of the multi-dimensional array, and wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a second dimension of the multi-dimensional array that is orthogonal to the first dimension.
Huifeng teaches, in the context of inflatable fall protection pads, wherein a set of roller units (8, Fig. 8) are arranged in a multi-dimensional array, wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a first dimension (see the rollers 8 in Fig. 8) of the multi-dimensional array, and wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a second dimension of the multi-dimensional array that is orthogonal to the first dimension (this feature appears to be inherent to Huifeng, that is, the second dimension wheels are necessarily orthogonal to first dimension wheels due to the arrangement of the individual boxes 3 of Huifeng, see MT of Huifeng at [0019]: “The three boxes 3 are connected around to form a box assembly 17” – also note from Fig. 8, that the first dimension roller units 8 would necessarily block from view the roller units 8 of the orthogonal second dimension).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the set of roller units are arranged in a multi-dimensional array, wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a first dimension of the multi-dimensional array, and wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a second dimension of the multi-dimensional array that is orthogonal to the first dimension in the inflatable fall protection pad of Prodan according to the teachings of Huifeng in order to impart structural and aesthetic order to the roller units.
2: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the set of roller units is arranged in three or more rows of the multi-dimensional array in which each row of the three or more rows includes two or more roller units (see Figs. 5, 8 and 9 of Huifeng).
3: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 2, wherein each row of the three or more rows are spaced apart from each other at regular intervals (see Figs. 5, 8 and 9 of Huifeng, note that the arrangement of the square boxes 2 into a 3x3 array produces three or more rows that are spaced apart from each other at regular intervals).
5: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 2, wherein the set of roller units is arranged in three or more columns of the multi-dimensional array in which each column of the three or more columns includes a roller unit of each row of the three or more rows (see Figs. 5, 8 and 9 of Huifeng, note that the arrangement of the square boxes 2 into a 3x3 array produces three or more columns that includes a roller unit of each row of the three or more rows).
6: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein application of a load to the upper wall (load 2, Fig. 1 of Prodan) of the deformable body deforms one or more of said regions of the base wall (Fig. 3) toward a ground surface upon which the set of roller units (4) support the deformable body (see pg. 2, lines 19-23: “when the vehicle is at its destination (for example, in the luggage compartment of an aircraft), lowering the pressure of the base hose will result in a condition that the support members sink into the base hose, i.e. the load will still be in the deformed hose member (members) or compartments, that is, the base hose, and provides sufficient damping of external vibrations, while providing a secure distribution load, thereby providing a secure support)” - thus, when deformable body 1 is at least partially deflated, the container 2, (i.e. the load) applies a load to the upper wall of the deformable body 1 thereby causing the base wall to contact the ground, i.e., the floor of the cargo hold).
7: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 6, wherein one or more of said regions of the base wall is configured to deform toward the ground surface to the extent that at least a portion of the base wall contacts the ground surface when the load is of a predetermined magnitude (note that with reduced air pressure in the deformable body 1, the predetermined magnitude of the load 2 that will cause one or more regions of the base wall of the deformable body to deform toward the ground surface is adjustable).
8: Prodan in view of Huifeng discloses the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 7, wherein contact of the ground surface by a portion of the base wall (see Fig. 3 of Prodan) increases a lateral resistance to movement of the inflatable fall protection pad along the ground surface ( see pg. 2, lines 12-14 of Prodan: “Given that the base hose transfers the load to the base as a load on a large surface (eg in the luggage compartment cover of an airplane or on a car platform, etc.), it also greatly reduces the risk of transport slipping due to the vehicle itself” and pg. 6, lines 17-19 of Prodan: “Fig. 3 shows the solution shown in Fig. 2, when the pressure in the base hose 1 is reduced such that the support elements 4 are lowered into the base hose 1 so that the base hose 1 rests on the ground and bears load on the transport body and load” – note that when the deformable body 1 rests on the ground, lateral resistance to movement is established).
9. Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the base wall is configured to contact a ground surface upon which the set of roller units (4, Fig. 3 of Prodan) support the deformable body upon application of a load of a predetermined magnitude to the upper wall of the deformable body (see pg. 2, lines 19-23 of Prodan: “when the vehicle is at its destination (for example, in the luggage compartment of an aircraft), lowering the pressure of the base hose will result in a condition that the support members sink into the base hose, i.e. the load will still be in the deformed hose member ( members) or compartments, that is, the base hose, and provides sufficient damping of external vibrations, while providing a secure distribution load, thereby providing a secure support” thus, when deformable body 1 is at least partially deflated and a load of predetermined magnitude is applied to the upper wall of the deformable body, i.e., the container 2, at least a portion of the base wall contacts the ground, i.e., the floor of the cargo hold).
10: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 9, wherein the surface area of the base wall that contacts the ground surface increases when the magnitude of the load increases (this feature appears to be inherent to Prodan in view of Huifeng to the extent that forces associated with air travel, e.g., turbulence, would necessarily cause the load to impart greater force to the upper wall and thereby cause greater deformation of the base wall, i.e., increased contact of the surface area of the base wall with the ground surface, see e.g., pg. 2, lines 19-23 of Prodan: “when the vehicle is at its destination (for example, in the luggage compartment of an aircraft), lowering the pressure of the base hose will result in a condition that the support members sink into the base hose, i.e. the load will still be in the deformed hose member ( members) or compartments, that is, the base hose, and provides sufficient damping of external vibrations, while providing a secure distribution load, thereby providing a secure support” also see pg. 6, lines 17-19 of Prodan: “Fig. 3 shows the solution shown in Fig. 2, when the pressure in the base hose 1 is reduced such that the support elements 4 are lowered into the base hose 1 so that the base hose 1 rests on the ground and bears load on the transport body and load”).
11: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 10, wherein contact of the ground surface by a portion of the base wall (see Fig. 3 of Prodan) increases a lateral resistance to movement of the inflatable fall protection pad along the ground surface, and wherein the lateral resistance increases as the surface area of the base wall in contact with the ground surface increases ( see pg. 2, lines 12-14 of Prodan: “Given that the base hose transfers the load to the base as a load on a large surface (eg in the luggage compartment cover of an airplane or on a car platform, etc.), it also greatly reduces the risk of transport slipping due to the vehicle itself” – note that when the deformable body 1 rests on the ground, lateral resistance to movement is established – note further that during turbulence or during taxi to a terminal, increased deformation (due to the dynamic forces on the inflatable body 1) cause additional surface area of the base wall to contact the floor of the cargo hold thereby increasing lateral resistance.
12: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein each roller unit (4, Figs. 2 and 3 of Prodan) of the set of roller units includes: a rigid body (see the portion holding the roller) that interfaces with the exterior-facing surface of the base wall, and one or more rollers rotatably mounted to the rigid body (see the roller).
13: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 12, wherein the one or more rollers of each roller unit of the set of roller units include one or more wheels having a fixed rolling orientation (see MT [0028], where Huifeng specifically recites that the roller 8 may also be a swivel wheel).
15: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 13, wherein the sidewalls taper between the base wall and the upper wall on opposite sides of the deformable body (see the peaks of adjacent lead lines 1 and 4 in Figs. 1, 2, and 8 and note that Huifeng discloses that the deformable body of each base may have different configurations, e.g., tapered); and wherein the opposite sides of the deformable body are parallel to the fixed rolling orientation (see Fig. 8, note that the wheels are oriented in a fixed rolling orientation parallel to the sides of the deformable body 7). Also, see MT [0024]: “The appropriate shape of the container assembly can be selected according to the actual rescue space environment 17”.
16: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the upper wall (17) and the base wall (9-2) have different areas.
17: Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the deformable body includes a plurality of internal baffle walls (adjacent 4 in Huifeng) within the inflatable three-dimensional volume that interface with an interior-facing surface of the base wall (9-1 and 9-2); and wherein each roller unit of the set of roller units is mounted to the base wall at a respective location within a region bounded on at least two opposing sides by baffle walls of the plurality of internal baffle walls that interface with the interior-facing surface of the base wall (see Fig. 8 of Huifeng).
19. Prodan in view of Huifeng disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the exterior-facing surface of the base wall (Fig. 8 of Huifeng, note that the box 17 appears to be made of a different material than the upper wall 7) comprises a different material than an exterior-facing surface of the upper wall (MT [0017]: buffer mesh 7).
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prodan (HU194101) in view of Huifeng (CN102872549) and further in view of Ungar (US1021280).
4: Prodan in view of Huifeng fails to disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 2, wherein each row of the three or more rows are spaced apart from each other at varying intervals. Ungar teaches, in the context of fall protection, wherein each row of the three or more rows (Ungar, Figs. 1-3, 16) are spaced apart from each other at varying intervals (Ungar, Fig. 3, lazy-tong levers 10). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein each row of the three or more rows are spaced apart from each other at varying intervals in the inflatable fall protection pad of Huifeng according to the teachings of Ungar in order to allow “the apparatus to be drawn from place to place” (Ungar, pg. 2, lines 70-73).
20: Prodan in view of Huifeng fails to disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the deformable body is foldable along one or more folding paths that are located along one or more regions of the deformable body that do not have one or more roller units mounted to the base wall. Ungar teaches, in the context of fall protection, wherein a deformable body (1) is foldable along one or more folding paths (Ungar. Fig. 4, 8) that are located along one or more regions of the deformable body that do not have one or more roller units mounted to the base wall. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the deformable body is foldable along one or more folding paths that are located along one or more regions of the deformable body that do not have one or more roller units mounted to the base wall in the inflatable fall protection pad disclosed by Prodan in view of Huifeng according to the teachings of Ungar in order to “provide a support which may be drawn together in order to provide a compact structure when not ii use” (Ungar, pg. 1, line 16-19).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prodan in view of Huifeng (CN102872549) in view of Chen (CN111589008).
14. Prodan in view of Huifeng fails to disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 13, wherein the one or more rollers of each roller unit of the set of roller units includes four wheels arranged in a rectangular configuration. Chen discloses, in the context of fall protection pads, wherein the one or more rollers of each roller unit of the set of roller units includes four wheels arranged in a rectangular configuration (Chen, Fig. 2, MT [0043]: “The base plate 1 is a rectangular plate structure, and four casters are installed on the bottom surface of the base plate 1”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the one or more rollers of each roller unit of the set of roller units includes four wheels arranged in a rectangular configuration in the inflatable fall protection pad disclosed by Huifeng according to the teachings of Chen in order to movably support the roller unit at all four corners.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prodan (HU194101) in view of Huifeng (CN102872549) and further in view of Pierzynski (US9861901).
18: Prodan in view of Huifeng discloses the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein a sidewall of the sidewalls spanning the base wall and the upper wall defines an opening (see Huifeng pipe chamber 9-1 and MT [0019]) by which air is provided to the inflatable three-dimensional volume defined by the deformable body; and wherein the inflatable fall protection pad further comprises a fan assembly interfacing with the opening to inflate the inflatable three-dimensional volume defined by the deformable body (see inflation tube 4-1 in Fig. 4, note that a fan assembly is inherent, specifically, a fan assembly is necessary to provide pressurized air to deliver pressurized air to inflation tube 4-1).
However, Prodan in view of Huifeng fails to disclose wherein the fan assembly includes another set of rollers. Pierzynski teaches, in the context of inflatables, wherein the fan assembly includes another set of rollers (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the fan assembly includes another set of rollers in the inflatable fall protection pad of Prodan in view of Huifeng according to the teachings of Pierzynski in order to render the fan assembly more portable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 10-12 of the Amendment filed 22 June 2026, with respect to the rejection of amended claim 1 under Huifeng in view of Cole have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Prodan in view of Huifeng.
Conclusion
/BAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634