Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because
Line 6, “Tw” should be replaced with –two--.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0016], last line, --to—should be inserted between “due” and “friction”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 12-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Huifeng (CN102872549).
1: An inflatable fall protection pad, comprising: a deformable body (Fig. 8) defining an inflatable three-dimensional volume, the deformable body having a base wall (9-2), an upper wall (7), and sidewalls (4) spanning the base wall and the upper wall; and a set of roller units (8) mounted to the base wall along an exterior-facing surface of the base wall (Fig. 8) the set of roller units (8) arranged in a multi-dimensional array, wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a first dimension (see the rollers 8 in Fig. 8) of the multi-dimensional array, and wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a second dimension of the multi-dimensional array that is orthogonal to the first dimension (this feature appears to be inherent to Huifeng, that is, the second dimension wheels are necessarily orthogonal to first dimension wheels due to the arrangement of the individual boxes 3 of Huifeng, see MT of Huifeng at [0019]: “The three boxes 3 are connected around to form a box assembly 17” – also note from Fig. 8, that the first dimension roller units 8 would necessarily block from view the roller units 8 of the orthogonal second dimension).
Alternatively, to the extent that Huifeng fails to explicitly disclose wherein two or more roller units of the set are spaced apart from each other in a second dimension of the multi-dimensional array that is orthogonal to the first dimension, it nonetheless would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have so arranged the roller units 8 of Huifeng in order to correlate the roller unit distribution of the second dimension to the first dimension roller unit distribution.
2: The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the set of roller units is arranged in three or more rows of the multi-dimensional array in which each row of the three or more rows includes two or more roller units (see Figs. 5, 8 and 9).
3: The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 2, wherein each row of the three or more rows are spaced apart from each other at regular intervals (see Figs. 5, 8 and 9, note that the arrangement of the square boxes 2 into a 3x3 array produces three or more rows that are spaced apart from each other at regular intervals).
5: The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 2, wherein the set of roller units is arranged in three or more columns of the multi-dimensional array in which each column of the three or more columns includes a roller unit of each row of the three or more rows (see Figs. 5, 8 and 9, note that the arrangement of the square boxes 2 into a 3x3 array produces three or more columns that includes a roller unit of each row of the three or more rows).
12: The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein each roller unit (Figs. 8 and 11, 8) of the set of roller units includes: a rigid body (see the portion holding the roller) that interfaces with the exterior-facing surface of the base wall, and one or more rollers rotatably mounted to the rigid body (see the roller).
13: The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 12, wherein the one or more rollers of each roller unit of the set of roller units include one or more wheels having a fixed rolling orientation (see MT [0028], where Huifeng specifically recites that the roller 8 may also be a swivel wheel).
15: The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 13, wherein the sidewalls taper between the base wall and the upper wall on opposite sides of the deformable body (see the peaks of adjacent lead lines 1 and 4 in Figs. 1, 2, and 8 and note that Huifeng discloses that the deformable body of each base may have different configurations, e.g., tapered); and wherein the opposite sides of the deformable body are parallel to the fixed rolling orientation (see Fig. 8, note that the wheels are oriented in a fixed rolling orientation parallel to the sides of the deformable body 7). Also, see MT [0024]: “The appropriate shape of the container assembly can be selected according to the actual rescue space environment 17”.
16: The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the upper wall (17) and the base wall (9-2) have different areas.
17: The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the deformable body includes a plurality of internal baffle walls (adjacent 4) within the inflatable three-dimensional volume that interface with an interior-facing surface of the base wall (9-1 and 9-2); and wherein each roller unit of the set of roller units is mounted to the base wall at a respective location within a region bounded on at least two opposing sides by baffle walls of the plurality of internal baffle walls that interface with the interior-facing surface of the base wall (see Fig. 8).
19. The inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the exterior-facing surface of the base wall (Fig. 8, note that the box 17 appears to be made of a different material than the upper wall 7) comprises a different material than an exterior-facing surface of the upper wall (MT [0017]: buffer mesh 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huifeng (CN102872549) in view of Ungar (US1021280).
4: Huifeng fails to disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 2, wherein each row of the three or more rows are spaced apart from each other at varying intervals. Ungar teaches, in the context of fall protection, wherein each row of the three or more rows (Ungar, Figs. 1-3, 16) are spaced apart from each other at varying intervals (Ungar, Fig. 3, lazy-tong levers 10). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein each row of the three or more rows are spaced apart from each other at varying intervals in the inflatable fall protection pad of Huifeng according to the teachings of Ungar in order to allow “the apparatus to be drawn from place to place” (Ungar, pg. 2, lines 70-73).
20: Huifend fails to disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein the deformable body is foldable along one or more folding paths that are located along one or more regions of the deformable body that do not have one or more roller units mounted to the base wall. Ungar teaches, in the context of fall protection, wherein a deformable body (1) is foldable along one or more folding paths (Ungar. Fig. 4, 8) that are located along one or more regions of the deformable body that do not have one or more roller units mounted to the base wall. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the deformable body is foldable along one or more folding paths that are located along one or more regions of the deformable body that do not have one or more roller units mounted to the base wall in the inflatable fall protection pad disclosed by Huifeng according to the teachings of Ungar in order to “provide a support which may be drawn together in order to provide a compact structure when not ii use” (Ungar, pg. 1, line 16-19).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huifeng (CN102872549) in view of Cole (US3659462).
6: Huifeng discloses a base wall (Huifeng, Fig. 8; 9-2) surrounding each roller unit (8), however, Huifeng fails to disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein one or more regions of the base wall is deformable; and wherein application of a load to the upper wall of the deformable body deforms one or more of said regions of the base wall toward a ground surface upon which the set of roller units support the deformable body. Cole teaches, in the context of energy absorbers, wherein one or more regions (Cole, Figs. 1 and 2; 26, 28, and 48) of the base wall is deformable; and wherein application of a load to the upper wall (Col., Fig. 1; 16 and 18) of the deformable body deforms one or more of said regions of the base wall toward a ground surface upon which the set of roller units support the deformable body (Cole, col. 3, line 8-13: “Sudden downward movement of platform 28 compresses the air at point 46 under platform 28. This air is enclosed and confined by a circumperipheral curtain 48 suspended around the outer edge of platform 28 where it is secured by suitable means such as bolts 50 and molding strip 52”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein one or more regions of the base wall is deformable; and wherein application of a load to the upper wall of the deformable body deforms one or more of said regions of the base wall toward a ground surface upon which the set of roller units support the deformable body in the inflatable fall protection pad disclosed by Huifeng according to the teachings of Cole in order to provide “a buffer arrangement with all parts carefully coordinated in operation” (Cole, col. 3, lines 48-49).
7: Huifeng in view of Cole disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 6, wherein one or more of said regions (Cole, Figs. 1 and 2, 26, 28, and 48) of the base wall is configured to deform toward the ground surface to the extent that at least a portion of the base wall contacts the ground surface when the load is of a predetermined magnitude (Cole, col. 3, lines 15-19: “The lower edge of the fabric curtain is weighted and reinforced by a cable member 56 received in the fold of a wide hem 58. Thus normally the lower edge of the curtain rests upon or lies closely adjacent to the floor surface upon which the vehicle rests”).
8. Huifeng in view of Cole disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 7, wherein contact of the ground surface by a portion of the base wall increases a lateral resistance to movement of the inflatable fall protection pad along the ground surface (this feature is inherent to Huifeng in view of Cole, specifically, see Cole at col. 3, lines 20-26: “It will be apparent that rapid downward movement of platform 28 by displacing the air beneath the vehicle flares this curtain 48 outwardly. This also lifts the curtain and there is some escape of displaced air. Of course the ready return of such air is inhibited by the curtain member and consequently there is a delay in the return of the platform 28 upwardly to its normal position) – note that the inhibited return of air increases the lateral resistance to movement of the inflatable fall protection pad disclosed by Huifeng in view of Cole.
9: Huifeng fails to disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the base wall is configured to contact a ground surface upon which the set of roller units support the deformable body upon application of a load of a predetermined magnitude to the upper wall of the deformable body. Cole teaches, in the context of energy absorbers, wherein at least a portion (Cole, Figs. 1 and 2, 26, 28, and 48) of the base wall is configured to contact a ground surface upon which the set of roller units support the deformable body (Cole, col. 3, lines 15-19: “The lower edge of the fabric curtain is weighted and reinforced by a cable member 56 received in the fold of a wide hem 58. Thus normally the lower edge of the curtain rests upon or lies closely adjacent to the floor surface upon which the vehicle rests”) upon application of a load of a predetermined magnitude to the upper wall of the deformable body (Cole, col. 3, line 8-13: “Sudden downward movement of platform 28 compresses the air at point 46 under platform 28. This air is enclosed and confined by a circumperipheral curtain 48 suspended around the outer edge of platform 28 where it is secured by suitable means such as bolts 50 and molding strip 52”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein at least a portion of the base wall is configured to contact a ground surface upon which the set of roller units support the deformable body upon application of a load of a predetermined magnitude to the upper wall of the deformable body in the inflatable fall protection pad of Huifeng according to the teachings of Cole in order to provide “a buffer arrangement with all parts carefully coordinated in operation” (Cole, col. 3, lines 48-49).
10: Huifeng in view of Cole disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 9, wherein the surface area of the base wall that contacts the ground surface increases when the magnitude of the load increases (see Cole at col. 3, lines 20-26: “It will be apparent that rapid downward movement of platform 28 by displacing the air beneath the vehicle flares this curtain 48 outwardly. This also lifts the curtain and there is some escape of displaced air. Of course the ready return of such air is inhibited by the curtain member and consequently there is a delay in the return of the platform 28 upwardly to its normal position” – note that when the magnitude of the load increases, the greater the displacement downwardly and thus a greater portion of base wall 48 is brought into contact with the ground surface)
11: Huifeng in view of Cole disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 10, wherein contact of the ground surface by a portion of the base wall increases a lateral resistance to movement of the inflatable fall protection pad along the ground surface, and wherein the lateral resistance increases as the surface area of the base wall in contact with the ground surface increases (note that the inhibited return of air increases the lateral resistance to movement of the inflatable fall protection pad disclosed by Huifeng in view of Cole, as noted above with respect to claim 10).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huifeng (CN102872549) in view of Chen (CN111589008).
14. Huifeng fails to disclose the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 13, wherein the one or more rollers of each roller unit of the set of roller units includes four wheels arranged in a rectangular configuration. Chen discloses, in the context of fall protection pads, wherein the one or more rollers of each roller unit of the set of roller units includes four wheels arranged in a rectangular configuration (Chen, Fig. 2, MT [0043]: “The base plate 1 is a rectangular plate structure, and four casters are installed on the bottom surface of the base plate 1”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the one or more rollers of each roller unit of the set of roller units includes four wheels arranged in a rectangular configuration in the inflatable fall protection pad disclosed by Huifeng according to the teachings of Chen in order to movably support the roller unit at all four corners.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huifeng (CN102872549) in view of Pierzynski (US9861901).
18: Huifeng discloses the inflatable fall protection pad of claim 1, wherein a sidewall of the sidewalls spanning the base wall and the upper wall defines an opening (see pipe chamber 9-1 and MT [0019]) by which air is provided to the inflatable three-dimensional volume defined by the deformable body; and wherein the inflatable fall protection pad further comprises a fan assembly interfacing with the opening to inflate the inflatable three-dimensional volume defined by the deformable body (see inflation tube 4-1 in Fig. 4, note that a fan assembly is inherent, specifically, a fan assembly is necessary to provide pressurized air to deliver pressurized air to inflation tube 4-1).
However, Huifeng fails to disclose wherein the fan assembly includes another set of rollers. Pierzynski teaches, in the context of inflatables, wherein the fan assembly includes another set of rollers (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the fan assembly includes another set of rollers in the inflatable fall protection pad of Huifeng according to the teachings of Pierzynski in order to render the fan assembly more portable.
Conclusion
/BAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634