WDETAILED ACTION
The Action is res e present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The Action is responsive to the Application filed 02/07/2024.
Please note claims 1-20 are pending and stand rejected in which claims 1 and 9 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 08/11/2026, 12/30/2025, 09/08/2025, 04/01/2025, 02/11/2025, 08/09/2024, and 06/10/2024 are compliant with 37 CFR 1.97(c) and herein have been considered. Its corresponding PTO-1449 have been electronically signed as attached.
Claim Interpretation
A “patent is invalid for indefiniteness if its claims, read in light of the specification delineating the patent, and the prosecution history, fail to inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention.” Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 134 S.Ct. 2120, 2124, 110 USPQ2d 1688 (2014). The Office does not interpret claims when examining patent applications in the same manner as the courts. The Office construes claims by giving them their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution in an effort to establish a clear record of what the applicant intends to claim. See, MPEP 2173.02 (Determining Whether Claim Language is Definite). Such claim construction during prosecution may effectively result in a lower threshold for ambiguity than a court's determination. Id. However, Applicant has the ability to amend the claims during prosecution to ensure that the meaning of the language is clear and definite prior to issuance or provide a persuasive explanation (with evidence as necessary) that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not consider the claim language unclear. Id. (citing In re Buszard, 504 F.3d 1364, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution “to facilitate sharpening and clarifying the claims at the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For application naming joint inventors, in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-2, 7-10 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
DUGGER et al.: “EXPLAINABLE MACHINE-LEARNING MODELING USING WAVELET PREDICTOR VARIABLE DATA”, (WIPO Patent Application Document WO 2022104357 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2022-05-19 and DATE FILED 2021-11-11, hereafter “DUGGER") in view of
ONG et al.: “ONE OF TESTING SYSTEM AND METHOD USED FOR THE RISK SCORE AND CLASSIFY”, (China Patent Application Document CN 105228508 A, DATE PUBLISHED 2016-01-06 and DATE FILED 2014-03-07, hereafter “ONG ").
As per claim 17, DUGGER teaches a method carried out by a computing platform, the method comprising:
training a model object for a data science model using a machine learning process (See [0049], training a first modeling algorithm, which involves a machine-learning model, to predict a timing of an event in the first time bin based on the training data),
wherein the model object is trained to (i) receive an input data record comprising a set of input variables (See [0071], the set of wavelet predictor variable data is used as input to the timing-prediction model code 130) and (ii) output a score for the input data record (See [0215], the result is a set of parameter values associated with the included wavelets. The set of parameter values is then scored to produce an entity’s original wavelet model output.);
obtaining a set of historical data records (See [0065], the timing-prediction model code 130 can also include program code for computing a timing, within a target window, of an adverse action or other event based on the probabilities from various modeling algorithms that have been trained using the model-development engine 116 and historical predictor data samples 122 and response data samples 126 used as training data.);
generating a set of variable coalitions by randomly sampling from a distribution of the set of input variables (See [0068], samples of predictor variables, response variables, or both can be obtained from credit files, financial records, consumer records, etc.),
wherein the distribution is independent of any input variable (See 0068], samples of predictor variables, response variables, or both can be obtained from credit files, financial records, consumer records, etc. Here the samples of predictor variables may come from different sources and theirs combinations that reads on the distribution being independent of any input variable);
identifying a given input data record to be scored by the model object (See [0052], The model development environment can score the set of wavelet coefficient predictor data using these parameter values to produce an entity’s adverse action timing prediction or other types of predictions (e.g. a score). A machine learning model using wavelets with parameter values that are statistically significant and in agreement with the exploratory data analysis (EDA) can produce the entity’s adverse action timing prediction (e.g. the entity’s original score). );
generating a set of synthetic samples that is independent of any input variable, the set of synthetic samples generated based on (i) the given input data record, (ii) the set of historical data records, and (iii) the set of variable coalitions (See [0071], [0065] and [0069], the set of wavelet predictor variable data is used as input to the timing-prediction model code 130; the timing-prediction model code 130 can also include program code for computing a timing, within a target window, of an adverse action or other event based on the probabilities from various modeling algorithms that have been trained using the model-development engine 116 and historical predictor data samples 122 and response data samples 126 used as training data; and samples of predictor variables, response variables, or both can be obtained from credit files, financial records, consumer records, etc.); and
executing the model object to output a respective score for each synthetic sample in the set of synthetic samples (See [0189], for a given set of the trees, the model-development engine 116 can execute one or more specified sampling procedures to select the subset of data samples. The selected subset of data samples is a bootstrap sample for that tree.).
DUGGER does not explicitly teach for each respective input variable of the model object:
inserting the respective input variable from the input data record into each synthetic sample that does not already include the respective input variable, thereby generating a variable-dependent set of synthetic samples.
However, ONG teaches for each respective input variable of the model object:
inserting the respective input variable from the input data record into each synthetic sample that does not already include the respective input variable, thereby generating a variable-dependent set of synthetic samples (See Pages 43, 46 and 52, When the synthetic samples are generated, selects a random number between 1 and 0, then the random number is considered in addition to the sample vectors; the requirement of training from the accumulation of past data of the patient of the training sample and the testing sample must have the same input parameters for evaluation; and after all testing and evaluation parameter and a classifier, the obtained prediction output and transmitted to the scoring module as a new patient risk score is calculated, the calculation is based on the measured parameter 728 is the normalized sum of the binary prediction of all weighted classifier output.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant's application was filed to combine the teaching of ONG with DUGGER reference because DUGGER is dedicated to training and applying a set of multiple modeling algorithms to predictor variable data and thereby estimating a time period in which a target event of interest will occur and ONG is dedicated to measuring risk score for classifying, and the combined teaching would have allowed DUGGER to use model output risk scores to improve the accuracy of prediction model.
DUGGER in view of ONG further teaches the following:
executing the model object to output a set of scores for each variable-dependent synthetic sample in the set of variable-dependent synthetic samples (See ONG: Page 11, the integrated system further comprises a verifying module for training module according to the first multiple subsets of data and first data corresponding to the first classifier set establishing a first classification model according to the first synthetic data set the first classification model verification, obtaining the first classification model importance indication generated by the first classifier prediction precision);
evaluating a difference between the set of scores for each variable-dependent synthetic sample in the set of variable-dependent synthetic samples and the corresponding set of scores for each synthetic sample in the set of synthetic samples (See ONG: Page 17, obtaining a plurality of prediction accuracy associated with the plurality of classification models according to the prediction accuracy of each classification model for ordering the plurality of classification models; The importance of each classification model for each classification model assigns a plurality of classification model in the weights to obtain a plurality of weighted classifier, classifier evaluation input by the corresponding weighting parameter, each weighted classifier generating a 0 or 1 binary prediction output result is evaluated based on the binary prediction output result of all weighted classifier for evaluating the standard sum computing the risk score); and
determining a set of iteration-specific contribution values for the respective input variable by applying a factor to the difference, the factor based on (i) a total number of input variables in the set of input variables and (ii) a size of the corresponding respective coalition in the set of variable coalitions (See ONG: Pages 17-18, determining the risk score of a cardiac event, comprising: an integrated scoring system for receiving any one of the following parameters: (a) a vital sign parameter, (b) extracted in the electrocardiogram from executing the electrocardiogram program establishes the electrocardiogram parameter; (c) heart rate variability analysis the electrocardiogram measured by the heart rate variability parameter, the integrated evaluation system comprising: a plurality of means for providing risk score calculation of weighted classifiers, the plurality of weighted classifier data database based on accumulated past patient data of the patient is established; and an analysis module for receiving a first input parameter, the at least one heart rate variability parameter and said at least one electrocardiogram parameters, the plurality of parameters are transmitted to the integrated score system, wherein the analysis module through the first input parameter, the at least one heart rate variability parameter and said at least one electrocardiogram parameter to compare with the corresponding weighted classifier to determine the risk score.); and
for each respective input variable of the model object, averaging the iteration-specific contribution values determined for each iteration and thereby determine an aggregated contribution value for the respective input variable (See ONG: Pages 8 and 53, at least one HRV (heart rate variability) parameter at least one HRV parameter is any one of the following: average length of all RR, standard deviation of all RR interval, mean heart rate, standard deviation of all instantaneous heart rate value, count NN50, pNN50 percentage, continuous RR interval difference value of square root of mean square, HRV triangular index and triangular baseline width suitable for RR interval histogram; and the evaluation of the grading system is based on leave-one-out cross validation (LOOCV) frame. for a data set of K samples, need to use K times iteration algorithm evaluation. in one iteration, a sample as a test sample, and the remaining samples for training. The proposed score prediction processing needs repeated K times, so that each sample is tested individually. the entire data set has a risk score, so as to derive a proper threshold to report the sensitivity and specificity).
As per claim 9, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium is provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing platform (See DUGGER: Page 73, claim 15, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising computer-executable program instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor) to perform operations comprising operations recited as steps of claim 17 and rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over DUGGER in view of ONG.
Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected claim 17.
As per claim 1, the claim recites a computing platform comprising:
at least one processor (See ONG: [0005], [0005] Various embodiments are described herein, including methods, systems, non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing programs, code, or instructions executable by one or more processors, and the like.);
non-transitory computer-readable medium (See DUGGER: Page 73, claim 15, a non-transitory computer-readable medium); and
program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform (See DUGGER: Page 73, claim 15, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising computer-executable program instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor) to perform operations comprising operations recited as steps of claim 17 and rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over DUGGER in view of ONG.
Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected claim 17.
As per claim 2, DUGGER in view of ONG teaches the computing platform of claim 1, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to generate a set of variable coalitions comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to:
generate a matrix of variable coalitions, where each row in the matrix is a vector of 1's and 0's that represent, for a corresponding coalition in the set of variable coalitions, a respective presence or absence of a given input variable in the variable coalition (See DUGGER: [0031], a single row of wavelet-transformed attributes for each consumer can be created by peeling off each column in the resulting matrix, transposing each column into a row vector, and then concatenating each row to generate a concatenated row vector and in combining with [0095], the model-development engine 116 sets the target variable for each model to “0.” Assignments of “1” and “0” to the target variable for each model).
As per claim 7, DUGGER in view of ONG teaches the computing platform of claim 1, wherein the set of input variables includes one thousand or more input variables (See DUGGER: [0004], a host computing system accesses predictor data samples in a data repository. The host computing system generates wavelet predictor variable data by at least, applying a wavelet transform to the time- series values of the predictor variables in the predictor data samples, the wavelet predictor variable data comprising a first set of shift value input data for a first scale and a second set of shift value input data for a second scale.).
As per claim 8, DUGGER in view of ONG teaches the computing platform of claim 7, wherein the set of historical data records includes one million or more historical data records (See DUGGER: [0065], The timing-prediction model code 130 can also include program code for computing a timing, within a target window, of an adverse action or other event based on the probabilities from various modeling algorithms that have been trained using the model-development engine 116 and historical predictor data samples 122 and response data samples 126 used as training data.).
As per claims 10 and 15-16, the claims recite a non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium is provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing platform (See DUGGER: Page 73, claim 15, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising computer-executable program instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor) to perform operations by the platform as recited in claims 2 and 7-8 above, respectively and rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over DUGGER in view of ONG.
Accordingly, claims 10 and 15-16 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected claims 2 and 7-8, respectively.
As per claim 18, the claim recites the method of claim 17, wherein generating a set of variable coalitions comprises operations performed by the platform as recited in claim 2 above and rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over DUGGER in view of ONG.
Accordingly, claim 18 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected claim 2.
Claims 3-6, 11-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
DUGGER in view of
ONG, as applied to claims 1-2, 7-10 and 15-18 above and further in view of
Frank et al.: “COLLECTION OF MEASUREMENTS OF AFFECTIVE RESPONSE FOR GENERATION OF CROWD-BASED RESULTS”, (U.S. Patent Application publication US 20160300252 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2016-10-13 and DATE FILED 2016-06-16, hereafter “Frank").
As per claim 3, DUGGER in view of ONG teaches the computing platform of claim 2, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to generate the matrix of variable coalitions comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor.
However, DUGGER in view of ONG does not explicitly teach that the computing platform is configured to:
for each variable coalition in the set of variable coalitions:
randomly generate a number of input variables in the variable coalition.
On the other hand, Frank teaches for each variable coalition in the set of variable coalitions:
randomly generate a number of input variables in the variable coalition (See [1383], resampling may involve repeatedly randomly selecting a subset of measurements from the pool, which has the same size as the set, and computing a score based on the subset. The distribution of scores that is obtained this way may be utilized to determine the significance of the score (e.g., by assigning a p-value to the score)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant's application was filed to combine the teaching of ONG with DUGGER in view of ONG reference because DUGGER is dedicated to training and applying a set of multiple modeling algorithms to predictor variable data and thereby estimating a time period in which a target event of interest will occur, ONG is dedicated to measuring risk score for classifying, and Frank is dedicated to a framework in which measurements of affective response may be requested, offered, collected, and/or utilized for generation of crowd-based results and the combined teaching would have improve the performance of the machine learning models of DUGGER in view of ONG by collecting and utilizing a vast amounts of variable data through a framework.
DUGGER in view of ONG and further in view of Frank further teaches the following:
insert, into the corresponding row of the matrix of variable coalitions that corresponds to the variable coalition, the number of 1's into randomly selected columns of the corresponding row, leaving all other columns 0 (See ONG: Pages 43, 46 and 52, When the synthetic samples are generated, selects a random number between 1 and 0, then the random number is considered in addition to the sample vectors; the requirement of training from the accumulation of past data of the patient of the training sample and the testing sample must have the same input parameters for evaluation; and after all testing and evaluation parameter and a classifier, the obtained prediction output and transmitted to the scoring module as a new patient risk score is calculated, the calculation is based on the measured parameter 728 is the normalized sum of the binary prediction of all weighted classifier output; DUGGER: [0031], a single row of wavelet-transformed attributes for each consumer can be created by peeling off each column in the resulting matrix, transposing each column into a row vector, and then concatenating each row to generate a concatenated row vector and in combining with [0095], the model-development engine 116 sets the target variable for each model to “0.” Assignments of “1” and “0” to the target variable for each model).
As per claim 4, DUGGER in view of ONG and further in view of Frank further teaches the computing platform of claim 2, further comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to:
store the matrix of variable coalitions for reuse by the computing platform (See DUGGER: [0136], the wavelet transform is represented as a matrix and the wavelet transform is implemented by convolution comprising a time reversal of wavelets stored as rows in a wavelet-transform matrix followed by matrix-matrix multiplication.).
As per claim 5, DUGGER in view of ONG and further in view of Frank further teaches the computing platform of claim 2, further comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to:
generate a matrix of partial synthetic samples that exclude a portion of each synthetic sample from the corresponding coalition (See Frank: [1714], resampling may be done by generating datasets that comprise the disclosed scores S and partial contribution matrices and corresponding partial matrices of factor vectors. Optionally, each partial contribution matrix is created by randomly selecting columns from C to be included in the partial contribution matrix, such that each column in C has probability α of being included in the partial contribution matrix.),
wherein the matrix of partial synthetic samples includes (i) a 0 where each row in the matrix of variable coalitions includes a 1 and (ii) a corresponding variable from the set of historical data records where each row in the matrix of variable coalitions includes a 0 (See DUGGER: [0031], a single row of wavelet-transformed attributes for each consumer can be created by peeling off each column in the resulting matrix, transposing each column into a row vector, and then concatenating each row to generate a concatenated row vector and in combining with [0095], the model-development engine 116 sets the target variable for each model to “0.” Assignments of “1” and “0” to the target variable for each model; and ONG: See [0071], [0065] and [0069], the set of wavelet predictor variable data is used as input to the timing-prediction model code 130; the timing-prediction model code 130 can also include program code for computing a timing, within a target window, of an adverse action or other event based on the probabilities from various modeling algorithms that have been trained using the model-development engine 116 and historical predictor data samples 122 and response data samples 126 used as training data; and samples of predictor variables, response variables, or both can be obtained from credit files, financial records, consumer records, etc.).
As per claim 6, DUGGER in view of ONG and further in view of Frank further teaches the computing platform of claim 2, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to generate the set of synthetic samples that is independent of any input variable comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to:
generate a matrix of variable-independent synthetic samples (See ONG: Page 42, providing input, wherein the training data set 262 provides a group of a few kinds of samples P and a group of many kinds of samples N, where | P | < < | N |. also with T-independent classifiers, and J independent classifier for optimization. T and J are the independent variables.),
where each row in the matrix of variable-independent synthetic samples corresponds to a respective variable-independent synthetic sample and includes (i) a corresponding variable from the given input data record where each row in the matrix of variable coalitions includes a 1 and (ii) a corresponding variable from the set of historical data records where each row in the matrix of variable coalitions includes a 0 (See DUGGER: [0031], a single row of wavelet-transformed attributes for each consumer can be created by peeling off each column in the resulting matrix, transposing each column into a row vector, and then concatenating each row to generate a concatenated row vector and in combining with [0095], the model-development engine 116 sets the target variable for each model to “0.” Assignments of “1” and “0” to the target variable for each model; and ONG: See [0071], [0065] and [0069], the set of wavelet predictor variable data is used as input to the timing-prediction model code 130; the timing-prediction model code 130 can also include program code for computing a timing, within a target window, of an adverse action or other event based on the probabilities from various modeling algorithms that have been trained using the model-development engine 116 and historical predictor data samples 122 and response data samples 126 used as training data; and samples of predictor variables, response variables, or both can be obtained from credit files, financial records, consumer records, etc.).
As per claims 11-14, the claims recite a non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium is provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing platform (See DUGGER: Page 73, claim 15, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising computer-executable program instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor) to perform operations by the platform as recited in claims 3-6 above, respectively and rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over DUGGER in view of ONG and further in view of Frank.
Accordingly, claims 11-14 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected claims 3-6, respectively.
As per claims 19-20, the claims recite the steps comprise operations performed by the platform as recited in claim 3 and 6 above, respectively and rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over DUGGER in view of ONG and further in view of Frank.
Accordingly, claims 19-20 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected claims 3 and 6, respectively.
Related Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-5] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984) In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). >See also MPEP §2123.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Contact Information
KUEN S LU /Kuen S Lu/
Art Unit 2165
Primary Patent Examiner
August 20, 2026