Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0126864 A1 to Moustafa et al., hereinafter, “Moustafa” in view of US 2024/0051568 A1 to Capellier.
Claim 1. A method comprising: detecting a trigger event during operation of an autonomous ground vehicle traveling between two physical locations,
Moustafa FIG. 12, Event Detection 1205
Moustafa [0155] FIG. 148 illustrates an example route that a vehicle may take to get from point A to point B (Examiner interprets “point A to point B” to be two physical locations.
Moustafa [0199] A planning and decision stage 510 may additionally include making decisions relating to the path plan in reaction to the detection of obstacles and other events to decide on whether and what action to take to safely navigate the determined path in light of these events. Examiner interprets the determined path to be traveling between two physical locations
wherein the autonomous ground vehicle Moustafa [FIG. 2] Vehicle 105 and autonomous driving 210 – perception engine 238, comprises primary sensors 2D camera 272, 3D camera 274, LIDAR 270, secondary sensors Thermal 280, Ultrasound 272 and Bio sensor 284 , a location module localization engine 240, a navigational control system GPS 268, a communication module comm modules 212, and movement systems IMU 278;
generating event sequence data from primary sensor data, secondary sensor data, spatiotemporal data, and telemetry data through operation of a reporter; Moustafa [0233] FIGS. 12 and 13, a machine-learning based event or scenario detection engine (e.g., 1040) , FIG. 34 3402 - sensors (data) 3408 – event sequence
communicating the event sequence data to cloud storage Moustafa [0185], [0210] and [0227] communicating events, tasks and scenario to cloud based services.
Moustafa [0254] When the autonomous driving engine (e.g., 515) determines a pull-over event or the remote valet support logic (e.g., 1805) determines that a handoff request should be sent, a signal may be sent to the TCU 1810) to send vehicle location and pull-over location to various cloud-based entities…
and raw data to a streaming database; Moustafa [0383] In vehicle 3850, CCU 3840 may receive near-continuous data feeds from sensors 3855A-3855E. Examiner interprets near-continuous data feeds to be raw data and CCU to be a streaming database to be continuous flow of data processed as it is generated.
Moustafa [0383] CCU 4040 can receive instructions from an autonomous ECU or driver, in addition to feedback from one or more of the steering, throttle, and brake sensors and/or actuators, sending commands to the appropriate ECUs. Vehicle behavior learning to produce vehicle behavior model often uses raw data that may be generated as discussed above
Moustafa [0442] The determined context(s) is often expressed as metadata associated with the raw data.
Moustafa [0443] The determined context is stored in metadata/context dataset 5110 with the associated timestamp which can be used to map the context back to the raw data stream (e.g., the image data and/or the non-image sensor dataset). Examiner understands a streaming database to utilize metadata for query – specification [0046]
transforming the raw data into normalized data stored in a relational database through operation of a normalizer; Moustafa [0843] the raw sensor depth data is transformed into normalized range.
Moustafa [0443] The determined context is stored in metadata/context dataset 5110 with the associated timestamp which can be used to map the context back to the raw data stream (e.g., the image data and/or the non-image sensor dataset). Examiner interprets “mapping the context back to the raw data stream” to be relational Moustafa [0436], [0445], [0447] and [0452] teaches database - images and related metadata/context is stored
operating a machine learning model within an active learning pipeline to generate a model update from aggregate training data generated from the training data by an aggregator; Moustafa FIG. 12 illustrates a representation of an example event detection machine learning model.
Moustafa [0200] the in-vehicle processing system implementing an autonomous driving stack allows driving decisions to be made and controlled without the direct input of the passengers in the vehicle, with the vehicle's system instead relying on the application of models, including machine learning models, which may take as inputs data collected automatically by sensors on the vehicle, data from other vehicles or nearby infrastructure (e.g., roadside sensors and cameras, etc.), and data (e.g., map data) …
The models relied upon by the autonomous vehicle's systems may also be developed through training on data sets…these sensors primarily focus on vehicle safety, such as detecting surrounding vehicles and obstacles and traffic events, to help determine safe and reliable path plans and decisions within the traditional sense-plan-act autonomous driving pipeline. Examiner interprets [0200] to be operating machine learning models.
Moustafa [0202] autonomous driving pipeline (605-sensing, 610-planning, 615-acting) (understood to be the active learning pipeline)
Moustafa [0225] the connected device will only collect and transport the sensor data … which may be updated (e.g., dynamically) as the model continues to evolve and train.
Moustafa [0382] Feedback 3825 can be sent to cloud vehicle data system 3820 for aggregation and re-computation to update regression models in multiple vehicles to optimize behavior. In at least some examples, one or more edge devices 3830 may perform aggregation and possibly some training/update operations. In these examples, feedback 3835 may be received from regression models (e.g., 3844) to enable these aggregations, training, and/or update operations.
and reconfiguring the navigational control system with the model update communicated from the active learning pipeline to the autonomous ground vehicle. Moustafa [0200]
Moustafa [0225] the connected device will only collect and transport the sensor data … which may be updated (e.g., dynamically) as the model continues to evolve and train.
Moustafa [0226] FIG. 10, element 1020…autonomously steer, accelerate, and brake the vehicle 105
Moustafa [0382]
While Moustafa teaches operating a curation systems [0175] a data collection module 234 (Examiner understands this to be a curation system), where the data is collected from sources to be used as inputs for machine learning and Moustafa [0216] data provided to an in-vehicle computing system of a vehicle (e.g., 805) may be timed, filtered, and curated based on the specific characteristics and capabilities of that vehicle.
However, Moustafa fails to explicitly teach identifying true trigger events. Capellier [0024] is in the same field of an autonomous vehicle sensing and navigating an environment teaches a route with two physical locations with the use of various sensors and machine learning, teaches operating a curation system to identify true trigger events from the normalized data and extract training data by way of a discriminator; Capellier [0087] teaches triggered ODD scenarios (event).
Capellier [0019] a generative adversarial network (GAN), which includes a generator network and a discriminator network, may be trained by training the generator network to generate one or more synthesized scenarios and the discriminator network to distinguish between at least one true scenario originating from the perception system of an autonomous vehicle, [0094]
Moustafa [0003] operate in an autonomous mode in which the vehicle navigates through an environment with little or no input from a driver to include one or more sensors that are configured to sense information about the environment. Capellier [0001] an autonomous vehicle is capable of sensing and navigating through its surrounding environment with minimal to no human input to safely navigate the vehicle along a selected path, the vehicle may rely on a motion planning process to generate, update, and execute one or more trajectories through its immediate surroundings.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moustafa with the teachings of Capellier [0020] for operating the vehicle in accordance with other desirable characteristics such as path length, ride quality or comfort, required travel time, observance of traffic rules and adherence to driving practices.
Claim 2. Moustafa further comprises: configuring an event handler with event triggers; Moustafa [0430] Data handler 4930 may perform one or more actions with respect to the instance of data…
operating the navigational control system comprising an image recognition model Moustafa [0439] GAN is a type of generative model that uses machine learning, more specifically deep learning, to generate images (e.g., still images or video clips) and [0443] For model development, the image data and non-sensor image data is often collected in the cloud and data scientist and machine learning experts are given access to enable them to generate models that can be used in different parts of the autonomous vehicle.
a controller, Moustafa [FIG. 2] Drive Controls 220, [0181] the vehicle's autonomous driving stack to control a control unit of the vehicle in order to change driving maneuver, [0183]
and the event handler to receive: Moustafa [0430] Data handler 4930 receives data from the sensors of the autonomous vehicle
the primary sensor data from the primary sensors; Moustafa [FIG. 2], 2D camera 272, 3D camera 274, LIDAR 270,
the spatiotemporal data from the location module; Moustafa [FIG. 2] localization engine 240
the secondary sensor data from the secondary sensors; Moustafa [FIG. 2] Thermal 280, Ultrasound 272 and Bio sensor 284
and the telemetry data from the movement systems; Moustafa [FIG. 2] IMU 278
controlling the movement systems through operation of the controller Moustafa [FIG. 2] Drive Controls 220, [0181] the vehicle's autonomous driving stack to control a control unit of the vehicle in order to change driving maneuver, (also Capellier [0019])
and the image recognition model to transport the autonomous ground vehicle between two physical locations; Moustafa [0226] an autonomous driving stack 1015 using various artificial intelligence logic and machine learning models may receive or retrieve the sensor data to generate outputs to the actuation and control block 1020 to autonomously steer, accelerate, and brake the vehicle 105. Examiner understands the machine learning models to be the image recognition model (see {0439]) and “autonomously steer, accelerate and brake” to be transporting the autonomous ground vehicle.
communicating the raw data comprising the primary sensor data, the secondary sensor data, the spatiotemporal data, and the telemetry data to the streaming database by way of the communication module; Moustafa [0173] communication modules 212, [0383] In vehicle 3850, CCU 3840 may receive near-continuous data feeds from sensors 3855A-3855E.
and operating the event handler to monitor the primary sensor data, the secondary sensor data, the spatiotemporal data, and the telemetry data for the event triggers. Moustafa [0430] Data handler 4930 receives data from the sensors of the autonomous vehicle
Claim 3. Moustafa further teaches configuring the normalizer with the event sequence data to transform the raw data into the normalized data. Moustafa [0843] the raw sensor depth data is transformed into normalized range.
Claim 4. Moustafa and Capellier further teaches communicating the raw data to the curation system from the streaming database; Moustafa [0529] In various embodiments, the raw sensor data may be supplied to the training algorithm 6802. In addition, or as an alternative, classifications based on the raw sensor data may be supplied to the ML algorithm 6802 to train the driver state model 6808.
operating the discriminator to identify at least one trigger event in the raw data; Capellier [0095] FIG. 6, the trained discriminator network may be applied to detect when a vehicle encounters an out of operational design domain (ODD) scenario (block 604).
and triggering the reporter to generate the event sequence data. Moustafa [1141] to cause the machine to collect the sensor data from the one or more extraneous sensors at a computing system extraneous to the particular vehicle…Examiner understands to cause the machine to collect to be triggering the reporter to generate the event sequence data, and the sensor data from the one or more extraneous sensors is understood to be the event sequence data.
Claim 5. Moustafa further teaches wherein the training data comprises image data collected by the primary sensors during operation of the autonomous ground vehicle during the trigger event. Moustafa [0441] system 5100 accesses real data sources 5102 and stores the real data sources in image dataset 5104 and non-image sensor dataset 5106. The real data sources 5102 may represent data collected from live vehicles or simulated driving environments
Claim 6. Capellier further teaches wherein the discriminator is configured by way of a user interface to identify the true trigger events from false positives. Capellier [0019] the discriminator network to distinguish between at least one true scenario originating from the perception system of an autonomous vehicle
Claim 7. Moustafa further teaches wherein the machine learning model and the image recognition model are semantic segmentation models. Moustafa [0807] Although the above examples have been described with respect to object detection, the concepts may be applied to other autonomous driving operations, such as semantic segmentation and object tracking.
Moustafa [0867] one or more of these models comprises a recurrent neural network (RNN) (e.g., in a segmentation model learning how to categorize pixels in a scene by predicting the sequence of polygon coordinates that bound objects).
Moustafa [0868] In a segmentation model, a soft target may indicate, for each pixel, softmax probabilities of that pixel with respect to different semantic categories.
Claim 8. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 9. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 2. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 10. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 3. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 11. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 5. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 12. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 6. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 13. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 7. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 14. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 15. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 2. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 16. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 3. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 17. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 4. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 18. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 5. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 19. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 6. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 20. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 7. See the above analysis and rationale.
Conclusion
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661