It is noted that the instant application is a continuation-in-part of US Patent Application No. 17/118,360, filed December 10, 2020. Any information considered in the parent application has been considered in the instant application.
The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of February 7, 2024 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on April 29, 2024. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second fluid mover positioned at the second end of the transport pipe [Claims 5, 12, 19] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings show the second fluid mover at the first end of the transport pipe, but fail to show the second fluid mover at the second end of the transport pipe. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, the claim is considered indefinite because the language “wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into an inlet of the transport pipe at the first end, and wherein the fluid rises from the second end to the first end, thereby venting the transport pipe” is unclear. The language is unclear because fluid is moved by the mover into an inlet at the first end, but then the fluid rises from the second end to the first end. The air would not be able to rise to the first end if the inlet is at the first end. The claim language should be amended to clarify from which end the air moves. The claim language will be treated as the inlet is at the second end.
Regarding Claim(s) 15, the claim sets forth “an inlet at the second end”. This is unclear because claim 10 recites “an inlet of the transport pipe at the first end”. Is claim 15 setting forth an additional inlet, or is there a conflict in the location of the inlet?
Regarding Claim(s) 17, the claim is considered indefinite because the language “wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into an inlet of the transport pipe at the first end, and wherein the fluid rises from the second end to the first end, thereby venting the transport pipe” is unclear. The language is unclear because fluid is moved by the mover into an inlet at the first end, but then the fluid rises from the second end to the first end. The air would not be able to rise to the first end if the inlet is at the first end. The claim language should be amended to clarify from which end the air moves. The claim language will be treated as the inlet is at the second end.
Regarding Claim(s) 20, the claim sets forth “an inlet at the second end”. This is unclear because claim 17 recites “an inlet of the transport pipe at the first end”. Is claim 20 setting forth an additional inlet, or is there a conflict in the location of the inlet?
Claims 11-16, 18-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundholm (US Pub 20120155975 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Sundholm teaches a waste collection and transport system comprising: a transport pipe (refuse chute 1) extending from a first end (upper end) to a second end (lower end); a loading station (aperture 4 and hatch 7) for inputting materials into the system and a chute (structure between aperture 4 and the chute 1); wherein the chute extends between the loading station and the transport pipe (as illustrated); and an intake (replacement air aperture 15 and passage 40) configured to receive and circulate a fluid (“air”) to the transport pipe, wherein the fluid enters the transport pipe at the second end and rises to the first end, thereby venting the transport pipe (the air aperture 15 as well as the connection of passage 40 to the refuse chute is located at the lower second end of the refuse chute 1; therefore, the air would rise).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Sundholm teaches the intake extends from the first end to the second end and is positioned parallel to the transport pipe (Figure 7 shows the passage 40 extending parallel to the refuse chute 1 and extending from the first end to the second end).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Sundholm teaches a first fluid mover (pump device 10’) configured to circulate air into the intake (through valve 42’).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Sundholm teaches a second fluid mover (pump device 10) configured to circulate air through the transport pipe (through valves 23 and 29).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, the second fluid mover is positioned at at least one of the first end of the second end of the transport pipe (the pump device 10 is positioned at the first end of the refuse chute 1).
Regarding Claim(s) 6, the fluid comprises air (“replacement air”).
Regarding Claim(s) 7, the loading station further includes a door (hatch 7).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, the transport pipe includes an inlet (air aperture 15 and where passage 40 connects to the refuse chute 1) at the second end for receiving the fluid from the intake and an exhaust (the connection between the top end 2 of the chute 1 and the pump device 10) at the first end for exhausting the fluid out of the transport pipe.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Sundholm teaches a connector pipe (horizontal portion of passage 40) connecting an outlet of the intake and the inlet of the transport pipe.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Sundholm teaches a waste collection and transport system comprising: a transport pipe (refuse chute 1) extending from a first end (upper end) to a second end (lower end); a loading station (aperture 4 and hatch 7) for inputting materials into the system and a chute (structure between aperture 4 and the chute 1); wherein the chute extends between the loading station and the transport pipe (as illustrated); an intake (passage 40) configured to receive and circulate a fluid (“air”) to the transport pipe; and a first fluid mover (pump device 10’) configured to circulate air into the intake (through valve 42’), wherein first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into an inlet (where passage 40 connects to the refuse chute 1) of the transport pipe at the first end (this is interpreted as –second end --), and wherein the fluid rises from the second end to the first end, thereby venting the transport pipe (the connection of passage 40 to the refuse chute is located at the lower second end of the refuse chute 1; therefore, the air would rise).
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Sundholm teaches a second fluid mover (pump device 10) configured to circulate air through the transport pipe (through valves 23 and 29).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, the second fluid mover is positioned at at least one of the first end of the second end of the transport pipe (the pump device 10 is positioned at the first end of the refuse chute 1).
Regarding Claim(s) 13, the fluid comprises air (“air”).
Regarding Claim(s) 14, the loading station further includes a door (hatch 7).
Regarding Claim(s) 15, the transport pipe includes an inlet (where passage 40 connects to the refuse chute 1) at the second end for receiving the fluid from the intake and an exhaust (the connection between the top end 2 of the chute 1 and the pump device 10) at the first end for exhausting the fluid out of the transport pipe.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Sundholm teaches a connector pipe (horizontal portion of passage 40) connecting an outlet of the intake and the inlet of the transport pipe.
Regarding Claim(s) 17, Sundholm teaches a waste collection and transport system comprising: a transport pipe (refuse chute 1) extending from a first end (upper end) to a second end (lower end); a loading station (aperture 4 and hatch 7) for inputting materials into the system and a chute (structure between aperture 4 and the chute 1); wherein the chute extends between the loading station and the transport pipe (as illustrated); an intake (passage 40) configured to receive and circulate a fluid (“air”) to the transport pipe; and a first fluid mover (pump device 10’) configured to circulate air into the intake (through valve 42’); a second fluid mover (pump device 10) configured to circulate air through the transport pipe (through valves 23 and 29), wherein first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into an inlet (where passage 40 connects to the refuse chute 1) of the transport pipe at the first end (this is interpreted as –second end --), and wherein the second fluid mover moves the fluid from the second end to the first end (pump device 10 pulls air up through the transport pipe), thereby venting the transport pipe.
Regarding Claim(s) 18, Sundholm teaches the intake extends from the first end to the second end and is positioned parallel to the transport pipe (Figure 7 shows the passage 40 extending parallel to the refuse chute 1 and extending from the first end to the second end).
Regarding Claim(s) 19, the second fluid mover is positioned at at least one of the first end of the second end of the transport pipe (the pump device 10 is positioned at the first end of the refuse chute 1).
Regarding Claim(s) 20, the transport pipe includes an inlet (where passage 40 connects to the refuse chute 1) at the second end for receiving the fluid from the intake and an exhaust (the connection between the top end 2 of the chute 1 and the pump device 10) at the first end for exhausting the fluid out of the transport pipe.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R HARP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653