Response to Amendment
The submission entered May 26, 2026 in response to an Office Action mailed November 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, 20 are pending. Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 8, 12, 13, 15, 19 is/are cancelled. Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-11, 16-18, 20 is/are currently amended.
The objections to the drawings presented in the Office Action listed above are hereby withdrawn.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 10-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112 as presented in the Office Action listed above are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The newly presented rejections are necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the loading stations distributed vertically along the chute [Claim 1], exhaust at upper end of chute [Claim 1], connector pipe connecting the air intake and the chute [Claim 9], chute comprising an air inlet at a lower end of the chute [Claim 10], second fluid mover provided at an upper portion of the chute [Claim 11], connector pipe connecting the intake and the chute [Claim 16], chute extending between the loading stations [Claim 17] and second fluid mover configure to exhaust air from the chute [Claim 17] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, the language “the loading stations are distributed vertically along the chute” and “an exhaust provided at an upper end of the chute” is not supported by the original specification. The loading stations appear to be distributed vertically along a transport pipe rather than the chute and the exhaust is provided at an upper end of the transport pipe. It appears applicant is using “chute” in the claims to refer to the transport pipe disclosed in the specification. This is a new matter rejection.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, the language “a connector pipe connecting the air intake and the chute” is not supported by the original specification. The connector pipe connects the intake and the transport pipe. This is a new matter rejection.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, the language “the chute comprising an air inlet at a lower end of the chute” and “the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into the chute via the air inlet, and wherein the fluid is exhausted through an upper portion of the chute” is not supported by the original specification. The air inlet is provided at a lower end of the transport pipe rather than the chute and the fluid moves into the transport pipe and is exhausted through an upper portion of the transport pipe. This is a new matter rejection.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, the language “a second fluid mover provided at an upper portion of the chute” is not supported by the original specification. The second fluid mover is provided at an upper portion of the transport pipe. This is a new matter rejection.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, the language “a connector pipe connecting the intake and the chute” is not supported by the original specification. The connector pipe connects the intake and the transport pipe. This is a new matter rejection.
Regarding Claim(s) 17, the language “the chute extends between the loading stations” and “a second fluid mover configured to exhaust air from the chute” and “wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the elongate vertical air intake and into the chute” is not supported by the original specification. The chute does not extend between the loading stations, rather it is the transport pipe that extends between the loading stations. The second fluid mover exhausts air from the transport pipe and the first fluid mover moves fluid into the transport pipe, not the chute. This is a new matter rejection.
Regarding Claim(s) 20, the language “the chute is operable to convey materials provided to the plurality of loading stations through the system without being impeded by the air introduced by the elongate vertical air intake” is not supported by the original specification. The specification fails to disclose whether the materials are impeded by the flow of air. This is a new matter rejection.
Claims 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14, 16, 18, 20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “fluid”, and the claim also recites “air” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “fluid”, and the claim also recites “air” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “fluid”, and the claim also recites “air” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14, 16, 18, 20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 fails to recite limitations that further limit the structure of the system. The language of claim 20 is a recitation of the manner in which the system operates, which does not structurally limit the system. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dargin (USPN 1169319) in view of Korean Document (KR-20150137934-A, copy and machine translation attached, hereafter ‘934).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Dargin (USPN 1169319) teaches a waste collection and transport system comprising: an air intake (vertical portion of pipe 70) introducing air from an outside environment to the system and extending between a first end (at cap 71) and a second end (at cavity 69); a plurality of loading stations (openings with doors 10) for inputting materials into the system and a vertically extending chute (chute 5 with hood 23 and receptacle 21) for conveying the materials; wherein the loading stations are distributed vertically along the chute [Page 2:3-5, “each floor 9, this chute is provided with a door 10”]; and the air intake extends vertically and parallel to the chute (the pipe 70 is elbow shaped with one leg of the elbow being vertical and parallel to the chute as seen in the figures); wherein an outside air inlet (at cap 71) is provided at a first end of the air intake, and the air intake is fluidly connected to the chute at a location vertically below each of the plurality of loading stations; an exhaust (6) provided at an upper end of the chute and wherein air from the outside air inlet is conveyed through the air intake and the chute, and is exhausted out of the system through the exhaust [Page 3:50-83]. Dargin fails to teach at least one of the air inlet and the exhaust comprises an air mover for forced air movement. ‘934 teaches a chute (110) and teaches an air mover (fan 141) at an air inlet at the bottom of the chute and an air mover (fan 142) at an exhaust provided at an upper end of the chute. Figure 6 shows an air inlet connecting the fan (141) to the chute. The airflow is used to control the speed of trash in the chute as well as ventilating the chute and preventing odors from entering a building [Translation, Page 4, “Thus, the upward airflow…To adjust the descending speed of the trash” and Page 6, “The case 210…air forming the ascending airflow…odor is prevented from flowing into the inside of the building”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an air mover at the at least one of the air inlet and the exhaust in order to induce a flow of air to control the speed of the trash and discharge odors from the chute.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Dargin teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the air inlet comprises a first air mover and the exhaust comprises a second air mover. ‘934 teaches a first air mover (141) at the bottom of a chute and a second air mover (142) at an exhaust at an upper end of the chute. ‘934 teaches the air movers create an upward airflow to adjust the speed of the trash and discloses the upward airflow prevents odors from flowing into a building. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first air mover and a second air mover to create an upward flow of air inside of a chute to control the speed of trash and to discharge odors from the chute.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Dargin teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the second air mover is positioned vertically above the plurality of loading stations. ‘934 shows (Figure 6) the air mover (fan 142) above the loading station (111). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to place the second air mover vertically above the plurality of loading stations in order to draw air upward from the loading stations.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Dargin teaches each of the plurality of loading stations comprises a door (door 10).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Dargin teaches a connector pipe (horizontal portion of pipe 70) connecting the air intake and the chute.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Dargin teaches a waste collection and transport system comprising: a loading station (opening with door 10) for inputting materials into the system; a vertically extending chute (chute 5 with hood 23 and receptacle 21) for connecting the loading station to a transport pipe (72), the chute comprising an air inlet (70) at a lower end of the chute vertically below the loading station; an intake (portion of 70 that extends vertically) extending parallel to the chute, wherein fluid enters the intake and into the chute via the air inlet, and the fluid is exhausted through an upper portion of the chute (at 6). Dargin fails to teach a first fluid mover configured to move outside air into the intake, wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into the chute via the air inlet. ‘934 teaches a first fluid mover (fan 141) configured to move outside air into an intake (intake of fan 141), wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into the chute via the air inlet (Figure 6 shows an air inlet connecting the fan 141 and chute 110), and wherein the fluid is exhausted through an upper portion of the chute (through fan 142). ‘934 teaches the fans create an upward airflow to adjust the speed of the trash and discloses the upward airflow prevents odors from flowing into a building [Translation, Page 4, “Thus, the upward airflow…To adjust the descending speed of the trash” and Page 6, “The case 210…air forming the ascending airflow…odor is prevented from flowing into the inside of the building”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first fluid mover configured to move outside air into the intake, wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into the chute via the air inlet to control the speed of trash and to discharge odors from the chute.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Dargin teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach a second fluid mover provided at an upper portion of the chute. ‘934 teaches a second fluid mover (fan 142) provided at the upper portion of the chute (110), as described above. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second air mover to create an upward flow of air to control the speed of trash and discharge odors from the chute.
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Dargin teaches the loading station includes a door (10).
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Dargin teaches a connector pipe (portion of pipe 70) extending horizontally) connecting the intake and the chute; and wherein the connector pipe extends within a floor or foundation of a building in which the system is provided (Figure 1 shows the pipe 70 extending within a floor or foundation).
Regarding Claim(s) 17, Dargin teaches a waste collection and transport system comprising: a plurality of vertically dispersed loading stations (openings with doors 10) for inputting materials into the system and a chute (chute 5 with hood 23 and receptacle 21); wherein the chute extends between the loading stations (the chute is provided with openings at each floor); an elongate vertical air intake (portion of pipe 70 that extends vertically) configured to introduce outside air to the system (through the opening at cap 71). A flow of air moves through the pipe and into the chute at a location provided vertically below each of the plurality of loading stations. Dargin fails to teach a first fluid mover configured to circulate air into the intake; and a second fluid mover configured to exhaust air from the chute; and wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the elongate vertical air intake and into the chute at a location provided vertically below each of the plurality of loading stations. ‘934 teaches a first fluid mover (fan 141) configured to circulate air into an intake (intake of fan 141); and a second fluid mover (fan 142) configured to exhaust air from the chute; and wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the intake and into the chute (Figure 6 shows the fan 141 connected to the chute 110) at a location provided vertically below each of a plurality of loading stations (111). ‘934 teaches the fans create an upward airflow to adjust the speed of the trash and discloses the upward airflow prevents odors from flowing into a building [Translation, Page 4, “Thus, the upward airflow…To adjust the descending speed of the trash” and Page 6, “The case 210…air forming the ascending airflow…odor is prevented from flowing into the inside of the building”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first fluid mover configured to circulate air into the intake; and a second fluid mover configured to exhaust air from the chute; and wherein the first fluid mover moves fluid into and through the elongate vertical air intake and into the chute at a location provided vertically below each of the plurality of loading stations in order to control the speed of trash and discharge odors from the chute.
Regarding Claim(s) 18, Dargin teaches the elongate vertical air intake extends parallel to the chute (the vertical portion of pipe 70 is parallel to the chute).
Regarding Claim(s) 20, the claim fails to set forth any structural limitations. Further, the claim recites the manner in which the system is operated; such recitations do not structurally limit the system. See MPEP 2114.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR20090000523A discloses an air mover at the upper end of a chute to discharge odors.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653