DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to communications received June 18, 2026. Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 5-24 in the reply filed on June 18, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4 have been withdrawn. Claims 5-24 remain pending and examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1-6 contain grayscale features. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 5-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
(Step 1) The claims recite a method and product. For the purposes of this analysis, representative claim 5 is addressed.
(Step 2A, prong 1) Abstract ideas are in bold below, and represents certain methods of organizing human activity, as a method of predicting an equity metric of a target entity. Predicting an equity metric of a target entity is akin to certain methods of organizing human activity.
A method for predicting an equity metric of a target entity, the method comprising:
configuring a list to include a particular key for a fund portfolio issued by a particular management service of equity metrics for two types of entities, wherein the two types of entities include a public entity and a non-public entity;
selecting the particular key for the particular fund portfolio to include in a query, wherein the query is configured for input to a repository to search for reports matching the particular key;
monitoring the repository based on the query for a particular report generated by the particular management service having a key matching the particular key, wherein the repository is configured to store multiple and distinct reports that were communicated over one or more computer networks from servers of the multiple management services, wherein each report includes distinct value per quantity metrics for respective public entities, and wherein each report includes equity metrics data for non-public entities but precludes a public value per quantity metrics for non-public entities;
retrieving a particular report for the particular fund portfolio having a timestamp subsequent to other reports stored at the repository for the fund portfolio;
populating a data table with equity metrics data of the non-public entities extracted from the particular report, wherein the data table includes additional data for the non-public entities aggregated from additional reports for the particular fund portfolio and additional fund portfolios;
discovering target data of a target non-public entity in the data table based on fuzzy logic that matches similar but not identical entries indicative of the target non-public entity;
clearing security features from the target data of the target non-public entity in the data table;
predicting a value per quantity metric for the target non-public entity based on the target data of the target non-public entity having the security features cleared; and
causing an electronic device to present an actionable control element in association with the predicted value per quantity metric for the target non-public entity, wherein execution of the actionable control element causes communication of a message configured to initiate a transaction for one or more equity units of the target non- public entity at the predicted value per quantity metric.
(Step 2A prong 2) The additional elements are considered as follows:
“repository is configured to store multiple and distinct reports” This is merely “apply it” this sever is claimed at a high level of generality, it receives the information, performs the abstract idea, and outputs the results.
“reports that were communicated over one or more computer networks from servers of the multiple management services”. This is merely “apply it” these computer networks and servers are claimed at a high level of generality, it receives the information, performs the abstract idea, and outputs the results.
“data table”. This is an extra solution activity, akin to data gathering and storing.
“electronic device to present an actionable control element” This is merely “apply it” this electronic device is claimed at a high level of generality, it receives the information, performs the abstract idea, and outputs the results.
“actionable control element causes communication of a message configured to initiate a transaction” This is an extra solution activity, akin to data gathering and data transmitting.
(Step 2B) The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of using generic computer components. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than predicting an equity metric of a target entity, over a generic computer network with generic computing elements, and generic hardware. The additional elements do not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Analysis of dependent claims 6-20, 22, and 23 recited additional details which only further narrow the abstract idea and do not add any additional features, alone or in combination, that would provide a practical application or provide significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by the patent by Lipke et al. (Patent No.: US 11,410,242 B1).
As to Claim 5, Lipke teaches a method for predicting an equity metric of a target entity (see Col. 11, lines 49-50), the method comprising:
configuring a list to include a particular key for a fund portfolio issued by a particular management service of equity metrics for two types of entities, wherein the two types of entities include a public entity and a non-public entity (see Col. 11, lines 58-60 – “ In some configurations, the analytics server may not display the proprietary fund portfolio information inputted by the administrator (step 210). As a result, when users who do not have permission to view such proprietary information log in the web-based application, they may only see an overall valuation of the fund without being able to view any information associated with the underlying private entities.”; and Col. 12, lines 43-45 – “the analytics server may provide a valuation for all private entities (within the list of ten private entities) that fall within “technology” or “manufacturing” categories. By unmasking the valuation of different categories of various private entities, the analytics server may provide better insights to users without necessarily displaying individual valuation of the private entities.”);
selecting the particular key for the particular fund portfolio to include in a query, wherein the query is configured for input to a repository to search for reports matching the particular key (see Col. 17, lines 27-30 – “The dataset may include two separate sets of data comprising different data points. The first set of data points may represent an independent attribute/variable and the second set of data points may represent another attribute that is dependent upon the independent attribute. The analytics server may use this dataset to generate and/or train an AI model.”);
monitoring the repository based on the query for a particular report generated by the particular management service having a key matching the particular key, wherein the repository is configured to store multiple and distinct reports that were communicated over one or more computer networks from servers of the multiple management services, wherein each report includes distinct value per quantity metrics for respective public entities, and wherein each report includes equity metrics data for non-public entities but precludes a public value per quantity metrics for non-public entities (see Col. 7, lines 12-17 – “The transaction data may generally refer to information regarding the fund' portfolio and may include data associated with one or more private entities within the fund's portfolio, such as a proportion of the fund associated with each private entity, number of shares purchased from each private entity, price per share for each private entity, a value of each private entity estimated by an administrator of the fund.”; Col. 8, lines 32-35 – “The analytics server may generate a dataset comprising various data records where each data record corresponds to an attribute (inputted by the administrator or calculated by the analytics server) of the fund.” & lines 45-49 – “the analytics server may generate a dataset corresponding to the attributes illustrated in table 1. The analytics server may also store the dataset in an internal (e.g., local) or external electronic data repository.”; and Col. 11, lines 7-10 – “In some other embodiments, the analytics server may monitor the identified comparable public entities and adjust the value of the private entity accordingly.”);
retrieving a particular report for the particular fund portfolio having a timestamp subsequent to other reports stored at the repository for the fund portfolio (see Col. 8, lines 37-39 – “The analytics server may also store the dataset in an internal (e.g., local) or external electronic data repository.”; and Col. 10, lines 20-29 – “the analytics server may continuously retrieve financial transaction data of the identified comparable public entities in real time. The analytics server may retrieve the dataset including the list of all identified comparable public entities associated with the fund. Subsequently, the analytics server may retrieve financial transaction data associated with the identified comparable public entities from various data sources. For instance, the analytics server may continuously scan one or more electronic data repositories to retrieve a real time stock price of each comparable public entity.”);
populating a data table with equity metrics data of the non-public entities extracted from the particular report, wherein the data table includes additional data for the non-public entities aggregated from additional reports for the particular fund portfolio and additional fund portfolios (see Col. 8, lines 32-37 – “The analytics server may generate a dataset comprising various data records where each data record corresponds to an attribute (inputted by the administrator or calculated by the analytics server) of the fund. For instance, the analytics server may generate a dataset corresponding to the attributes illustrated in table 1. “; and Col. 12, lines 7-9 – “the analytics server may aggregate the valuations for multiple private entities within a closed end fund.”);
discovering target data of a target non-public entity in the data table based on fuzzy logic that matches similar but not identical entries indicative of the target non-public entity (see Col. 8, lines 35-37 – “the analytics server may generate a dataset corresponding to the attributes illustrated in table 1. “; and Col. 10, lines 59-62 – “In some embodiments, the analytics server may consider data retrieved in step 230 (e.g., values of each identified comparable public entity) to determine a value for each private entity within the fund.”);
clearing security features from the target data of the target non-public entity in the data table (see Col. 5, lines 40-44 – “an administrator may input various public or nonpublic data into a graphical user interface displayed on the computing device 140a where the analytics server 110a may use the inputted data to valuate a portfolio. In some embodiments, the analytics server 110a may utilize the application programming interface (API) 140d to monitor market data within the electronic data sources 140.”);
predicting a value per quantity metric for the target non-public entity based on the target data of the target non-public entity having the security features cleared (see Col. 11, lines 49-50 – “the analytics server may calculate a new value for the funds based on the new predicted valuations of the private entities within the funds.”); and
causing an electronic device to present an actionable control element in association with the predicted value per quantity metric for the target non-public entity, wherein execution of the actionable control element causes communication of a message configured to initiate a transaction for one or more equity units of the target non- public entity at the predicted value per quantity metric (see Col. 8, lines 40-49 – “the analytics server may execute a set of artificial intelligence models to identify a plurality of comparable public entities to each private entity within the fund. The analytics server may execute the set of AI models to identify one or more comparable public entities. As discussed below, the analytics server may use publicly available data (e.g., financial data associated with publicly traded companies, trading data) to identify the comparable public entities and to predict a value for each private entity within the fund.”; and Col. 11, lines 46-51 – “the analytics server may display the value of the fund based on the valuation of each private entity where the identity of the private entities are anonymized. As described above, the analytics server may calculate a new value for the funds based on the new predicted valuations of the private entities within the funds.”).
As to Claim 6, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein configuring the list to include the particular key comprises:
selecting the particular key for the target non-public entity of interest (see Col. 11, lines 7-10);
collecting keys for one or more fund portfolios including equity data for the target non-public entity of interest, wherein a script is executed to navigate between websites of management services that host the one or more fund portfolios (see Col. 5, lines1-2, 54-57, and 64-65; and Col. 9, lines 3-5);
comparing the collected keys with keys stored in a current list configured to monitor fund portfolios (see Col. 5, lines 64-65); and
adding the collected keys to the list of keys to monitor for reports for funds of interest (see Col. 11, lines 58-60; and Col. 12, lines 43-45).
As to Claim 7, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5 further comprising: recursively selecting a next key on the list of keys to monitor a next report for a next fund portfolio (see Col. 10, lines 14-15; and Col. 11, lines 7-10).
As to Claim 8, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5: wherein the equity metrics relate to equity shares of a public company or a non-public company, wherein the equity metrics for any public company are public, and wherein the equity metrics for any non-public company are private (see Col. 6, lines 46-55; Col. 8, lines 40-44; and Col. 23, lines 60-61).
As to Claim 9, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5: wherein the equity metrics relate to equity shares of a public entity or a non-public entity (see Col 23, lines 60-61).
As to Claim 10, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein selecting the particular key to monitor the repository comprises: configuring a query to include one or more keys to search the repository for one or more reports generated by one or more management services (see Col. 5, lines 54-57; Col. 9, lines 3-5; Col. 11, lines 58-60; and Col. 12, lines 43-45).
As to Claim 11, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5: wherein reports are communicated over the one or more computer networks from the multiple management services to the repository on a periodic basis, and wherein only some of the reports communicated over the one or more computer networks are released publicly (see Col. 8, lines 32-39; and Col. 10, lines 20-29).
As to Claim 12, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein multiple reports each include total equity values for the target non-public entity held by management services, and wherein predicting the value per quantity metric for the target non-public entity (see Col. 8, lines 32-37; and Col. 11, lines 49-50) comprises: processing the equity metrics data of the target non-public entity with a machine-learned engine that is generated and trained based on reports including data of non-public entities (see Col. 9, lines 17-19); and outputting the predicted value per quantity metric of the target non-public entity as an output of the machine-learned engine (see Col. 11, lines 49-53)).
As to Claim 13, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein predicting the value per quantity metric for the target non-public entity comprises: determining a total value held in a fund portfolio for the target non-public entity; and predicting a total unit value for the target non-public entity held in the fund portfolio, wherein the predicted value per quantity metric is estimated by dividing the total value by the total unit value (see Col. Lines 36-45).
As to Claim 14, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein retrieving the particular report comprises: comparing timestamps of multiple reports for the particular fund portfolio relative to a current time; and identifying, based on the comparison, a most recent report as the particular report for the particular fund portfolio (see Col. 6, lines 5-10; and Col. 10, lines 27-29).
As to Claim 16, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the data table includes data for the public entities aggregated from reports in addition to the data from the non-public entities (see Col. 7, lines 12-17).
As to Claim 17, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein discovering the target data of the target non-public entity based on fuzzy logic comprises: matching text in the data table based on the particular key, wherein the particular key is for the particular non-public entity (see Col. 8, lines 35-37; Col. 10, lines 58-62; and Col. 14, lines 35-37).
As to Claim 18, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein clearing the security features comprises: performing text and pattern recognition to determine a security type and remove unnecessary information from the target data of the target non-public entity (see Col. 5, lines 54-57 & 62-64; and Col. 9, lines 3-13).
As to Claim 19, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5 further comprises: derive additional analytics that provide insights of the target non-public entity (see Col. 9, lines 20-22).
As to Claim 20, Lipke teaches the method of claim 5, wherein discovering the target data of the target non-public entity in the data table based on fuzzy logic comprises: comparing a key for the target non-public entity to keys in the data table (see Col. 8, lines 35-37; Col. 9, lines 16-19; and Col. 10, lines 50-62).
Claim 21 is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to perform the method of Claim 5 and is rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 5.
Claim 22 is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to perform the method of Claims 6 & 7 and is rejected under the same reasoning as Claims 6 & 7.
Claim 23 is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to perform the method of Claim 5 and is rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 5.
Claim 24 is the server system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to perform the method of Claim 5 and is rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the patent by Samer M. Lipke (Patent No.: US 11,410,242 B1) in view of the publication by Hertz et al. (Publication No.: US 2019/0354544 A1).
As to Claim 15, although Lipke substantially teaches the method of claim 15, it does not explicitly teach wherein populating the data table with data of the non-public entities extracted from the particular report comprises: generating an xml file; and populating the xml file with entries for the data of the non-public entities. Hertz does teach wherein populating the data table with data of the non-public entities extracted from the particular report comprises: generating an xml file; and populating the xml file with entries for the data of the non-public entities (see ¶[0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of Lipke to include wherein populating the data table with data of the non-public entities extracted from the particular report comprises: generating an xml file; and populating the xml file with entries for the data of the non-public entities as taught by Hertz in order to provide and generate a contingency table to record and determine associations.
Conclusion
/IRENE KANG/
Examiner, Art Unit 3695
9/29/2026
/MATTHEW S GART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3696