DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outer surface of the at least one base" in lines 13-14. The claim previously recited the receptacle comprises an outer surface, and that the base comprises the receptacle, but it is not clear if the outer surface of the receptacle is intended to be the same as the outer surface of the base.
Claim 2-20 inherit the same deficiency.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the entire outer surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stal (US 20210267640 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stal discloses a conception facilitating device (Abstract) comprising: at least one frame (Figure 1, “119”); wherein the at least one frame comprises at least one wall (Figure 1, “118”); at least one base (Figure 1, “11”), wherein the at least one base comprises at least one receptacle (Figure 2, “19”), wherein the at least one receptacle comprises at least one outer surface (Figure 2, “12”), at least one inner surface (Figure 2), and at least one interior portion (Figure 2), wherein the at least one receptacle comprises at least one type of medication (Figure 2, “19” Paragraphs [0026], [0081]), and wherein the at least one frame at least partially surrounds the at least one base (Figure 1); wherein the conception facilitating device is insertable into a vaginal canal through a vaginal opening (Paragraph [0007], Figure 4), and wherein when the conception facilitating device is inserted into the vaginal canal through the vaginal opening (Figure 4), at least one portion of the outer surface of the at least one base is directly adjacent to at least a portion of the vaginal canal (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Stal discloses at least one protruding member (Figure 2, “5” Paragraph [0048]), wherein the at least one protruding member is configured to facilitate insertion and removal of the conception facilitating device (Figure 2, “5” Paragraph [0048]), and wherein the at least one protruding member is attached to at least a portion of the at least one base (Figure 2, “5” Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Stal discloses the entire outer surface of the at least one base contacts the at least one portion of the vaginal canal (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Stal further discloses manipulation of the at least one receptacle is configured to project at least a portion of the at least one type of medication outward from the at least one receptacle (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Stal further discloses the at least one receptacle is configured to transition from a first position to a second position, wherein the at least one receptacle comprises a material that structurally biases the at least one receptacle to the second position (Figures 4 and 5, Paragraph [0011] “The cup part may then for instance be biased towards said first state or substantially noninverted state, such that, after it has been resiliently deformed into its substantially inverted state it can flip back or spring back substantially towards its original state.”, Paragraph [0041] “For example, the cup part 10, which may be substantially resiliently deformable, may be arranged to spring substantially back towards its non-inverted state.”)
Regarding claim 14, Stal further discloses the at least one interior portion of the at least one receptacle comprises the at least one type of medication (Figure 2, “19” Paragraphs [0026], [0081]).
Regarding claim 17, Stal further discloses at least one movable surface configured within the at least one receptacle, wherein the at least one movable surface is alterable between a first position and a second position (Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 18, Stal further discloses the at least one movable surface is configured to be altered from the first position to the second position by at least one actuator (Figures 2 and 3, handling element “5”).
Regarding claim 19, Stal further discloses the first position is proximate to a bottom portion of the at least one receptacle and the second position is proximate to a top portion of the at least one receptacle. (Figures 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stal (US 20210267640 A1) in view of Wang (US 20190231683 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Stal discloses the at least one type of medication is a moisturizer or medication (Paragraph [0026]) but does not explicitly disclose the at least one type of medication comprises one or more of: a liquid, a gel, a lubricant, or a powder. Wang discloses a device for insertion into the vagina (Figure 6) that applies a vaginal care composition (Paragraph [0108]-[0112]) wherein the at least one type of medication comprises one or more of: a liquid (Paragraph [0108]), a gel (Paragraph [0108]), a lubricant (Paragraph [0112]), or a powder (Paragraph [0109])). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stal, with the vaginal care composition being a liquid, a gel, a lubricant, or a powder as taught by Wang, since such a modification would use known formulations of vaginal care compositions for the medication of Stal.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stal (US 20210267640 A1) in view of Contente (US 6264638 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Stal discloses a medication (Paragraph [0026]) but does not explicitly disclose the medication is fertility medication, contraceptive medication, an analgesic, or one or more vaginal suppositories. Contente discloses a discharge collection device (Abstract) configured to introduce agents, not limited to contraceptive medication (Col 3, lines 5-25), an analgesic (Col 3, lines 5-25), or one or more vaginal suppositories (Col 3, lines 5-25), into the vaginal canal (Abstract). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stal, with the medicine being at least one of a contraceptive medication, an analgesic, or one or more vaginal suppositories as taught by Contente, since such a modification would provide for reliably, comfortably and conveniently introducing drugs and/or other substances into the vagina (Contente, Col 1, lines 24-25).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stal (US 20210267640 A1) in view of Bayliss (US 20130012766 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Stal fails to disclose at least one sealing element configured to extend over an open top portion of the at least one receptacle. Bayliss discloses a sperm delivery device with a cup shaped sperm storage vessel (Abstract), wherein a thin, disk shaped membrane acts as a top closure for cup (Paragraph [0016]) It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stal, with at least one sealing element configured to extend over an open top portion of the at least one receptacle as taught by Bayliss, since such a modification would provide for maintaining the medication in the receptacle while inserting the device.
Regarding claim 10, Stal, as modified in claim 9, fails to disclose the at least one sealing element is secured to at least a portion of at least one of: the at least one frame and the at least one base. Bayliss discloses the at least one sealing element is secured to at least a portion of the at least one base (Figures 1 and 2, the disk shaped membrane is secured to the sidewall of the base, Paragraph [0016]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stal, such that the at least one sealing element is secured to at least a portion of the at least one base as taught by Bayliss, since such a modification would provide for maintaining the medication in the receptacle while inserting the device.
Regarding claim 12, Stal, as modified in claim 9, fails to disclose the at least one sealing element comprises one or more apertures. Bayliss discloses the at least one sealing element comprises one or more apertures (Figure 1, holes “5” are used for securing the membrane in place). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stal, such that the at least one sealing element comprises one or more apertures as taught by Bayliss, since such a modification would provide for maintaining the medication in the receptacle while inserting the device.
Regarding claim 13, Stal, as modified in claim 9, fails to disclose at least a portion of the at least one sealing element comprises one or more materials configured to dissolve within the vaginal canal. Bayliss discloses at least a portion of the at least one sealing element comprises one or more materials configured to dissolve within the vaginal canal (Paragraph [0017]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stal, such that at least a portion of the at least one sealing element comprises one or more materials configured to dissolve within the vaginal canal as taught by Bayliss, since such a modification would provide for maintaining the medication in the receptacle while inserting the device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stal (US 20210267640 A1) in view of Bayliss (US 20130012766 A1) and further in view of Hwang (WO 2019216483 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Stal as modified in claims 9 and 10, discloses the at least one sealing element but does not disclose the at least one sealing element is secured using one or more adhesives. Hwang discloses a sealing element for a menstrual cup (Abstract), wherein the sealing element is secured to at least a portion of at least one of the frame or base by adhesive (Figure 7, Page 7, paragraph 5). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by modified Stal, such that the at least one sealing element is secured using one or more adhesives as taught by Bayliss, since such a modification would provide for the ability to clean the device without the sealing element decoupling (Hwang, Page 7, paragraph 6).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stal (US 20210267640 A1) in view of Conti (WO 2021237133 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Stal fails to disclose the at least one type of medication is configured within at least one compartment configured between the at least one outer surface and the at least one inner surface of the at least one receptacle wherein the at least one outer surface of the at least one receptacle comprises one or more apertures configured to release at least a portion of the at least one type of medication. Conti discloses a vaginal insert device for the administration of medication or topical treatment (Abstract), wherein the device comprises a receptacle (Figures 16A-17), the receptacle comprises at least one inner surface and at least one outer surface (Figures 16A-17), wherein there is at least one cavity between the inner and outer surfaces (Figures 16A-17), the outer surface is configured with perforations (Paragraph [00177]) and the cavities are configured to contain medication (Paragraph [00178]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stal, with the at least one type of medication is configured within at least one compartment configured between the at least one outer surface and the at least one inner surface of the at least one receptacle wherein the at least one outer surface of the at least one receptacle comprises one or more apertures configured to release at least a portion of the at least one type of medication as taught by Bayliss, since such a modification would provide for an effective vaginal drug delivery mechanism (Paragraph [00231]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stal (US 20210267640 A1) in view of Hwang (WO 2019216483 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Stal discloses a receptacle with a rounded bottom (Figure 2). Hwang discloses a menstrual cup comprising a receptacle with a planar structure with a horizontal orientation at the bottom of the receptacle (Figure 2). As the criticality of the shape of receptacle is not disclosed by the instant application, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stal, with a receptacle with a planar structure with a horizontal orientation at the bottom of the receptacle as taught by Hwang, since such a modification would be considered a design choice. Stal, modified with a planar receptable bottom, would result in the moving surface of Stal, as disclosed in claim 17, comprising a planar structure with a horizontal orientation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art, including the prior art cited, to include menstrual cups, menstrual disks and catamenial devices, does not teach nor suggest, either singly or in combination, a device with a receptacle that is biased to a convex configuration. Stal teaches a bias to a convex position.
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/M.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791