Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Response to Arguments on the Claim rejections under 102
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to the claim 1, the applicant argues that Choi does not teach claimed shower head or a lid having least one optical fiber in contact therewith having FBG sensors wherein at least one of FBG sensors configured to provide stain related information . However, as explained in below indicated 25a layer with circulation path of a coolant for colling can be understood as shower head in BRI. If applicant is in opinion of requiring a specific showerhead, the examiner points that is not included neither in the claim nor in the specification of instant application.
Furthermore, as shown in the FIG. 2 25a layer has FBG sensor 40 in contact as claimed.
Therefore, the rejection deemed proper and thus maintained.
Applicant further argues claims 2-3, and 5-6 based upon their dependencies on the claim1 and the same reason provided above applies the same.
Response to the arguments on Claim rejections under 103
As to the claim 4, the applicant argues based on the claim dependency on the claim 1. As a result, the same reason provided above applies the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20170178978 A1, herein after Choi).
Examiner’s note for the effective filing date: Instant application has CIP priority dates from multiple parent applications. However, the claim 1 appears the first in the parent application 16036359 which has a filing date of 07/16/2018.
As a result, the examiner would take 07/16/2018 as the effective filing date for the claim 1.
As to claim 1, Choi teaches an apparatus for a processing chamber, comprising:
a chuck (abstract and [0026]) and at least one of a showerhead (25 which including 25a and c in FIG.2); and
the showerhead (25a and c) having at least one optical fiber in contact therewith (FIG.2), the at least one optical fiber having Fiber Bragg Grating sensors (40 in FIG. 2 and 40, 41 in FIG.3 and [0042]);
wherein at least one of the Fiber Bragg Grating sensors is configured to provide strain-related information ([0046]).
As to claim 2, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Choi further teaches at least another one of the Fiber Bragg Grating sensors is configured to provide temperature-related information ([0045-47]).
As to claim 3, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 2.
Choi further teaches the Fiber Bragg Grating sensors are each configured for a different center frequency for modulation thereof ([0045]).
As to claim 5, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 3.
Choi further teaches the at least one optical fiber is disposed in a spiral or spiral-like pattern (FIG. 4).
As to claim 6, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Choi further teaches the at least one of the Fiber Bragg Grating sensors configured to provide strain-related information ([0046]) is directly bonded to the showerhead (FIG. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Parkhe (US 20170303338 A1 hereinafter Parkhe).
As to claim 4, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 3.
However, Choi does not explicitly disclose a base and a puck of the chuck respectively include a first optical fiber and a second optical fiber of the at least one optical fiber.
Parkhe teaches a base (232) and a puck (235) of the chuck (106B in FIG. 2) respectively include a first optical fiber (236) and a second optical fiber of the at least one optical fiber (244 fiber guide passes multiple optical fibers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Boyd by having a base and a puck of the chuck respectively include a first optical fiber and a second optical fiber of the at least one optical fiber for the benefit including an optimal construction of FBG sensing channels through out the sample holder.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNGHEE Y GRAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2886