DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5 and 16-20) in the reply filed on 05/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “a securement strap comprising a first securement feature received in the first slot and a second securement feature received in the second slot; and an antenna coupled to the antenna connector, wherein an effective radiating length of the antenna is configured to be increased by removing the second securement feature from the second slot”. However, it is not clear how the effective radiating length of the antenna can be increased by removing the second securement feature from the second slot, as the relationship between the antenna and the securement strap is not specified in the claim. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, the above limitation is interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the lengths of the securement strap and the antenna are adjustable by unfolding the securement strap”. However, it is not clear how the lengths of the securement strap and the antenna can be adjusted by unfolding the strap: the securement strap and the antenna will have the same lengths whether in the folded or unfolded state. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, the above limitation is interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baro (EP 0308935A1).
Claim 1: Baro discloses (figs. 1 & 2 below) An electronic device (watch 10) comprising:
a device housing (case/housing 11) defining an internal volume (abstract, radio receiver incorporated in a watch formed of a case containing said receiver);
a radio (receiver 14) disposed in the internal volume (¶13, “A receiver 14 is arranged in the housing 11”) (Examiner’s note: ¶36 of instant Specification states “a radio receiver and/or a radio transmitter – collectively referred to as a radio”);
an antenna (¶28, “the conductor 16 acts as a capacitive antenna”) disposed outside the internal volume (in wristband) and coupled to the radio (14, ¶15, “This first conductor 16 is connected to the input of the receiver 14”) through the device housing (the antenna is located in the wristband and receiver is situated in the watch case, thus the antenna is coupled to the radio through the device housing 11); and
a conductive element (23) coupled to a ground of the radio (¶16, “the wristband antenna may also include a second conductor 22 connected to the ground of the receiver 14” – the second conductor 22 is connected to the ground via conductive element 23 as shown in fig. 2, therefore the conductive element 23 is coupled to the ground of the receiver),
the conductive element (23) extending from the internal volume through the device housing to an exterior of the device housing (upper side of conductive element 23 is located in internal volume and lower side of conductive element extends to an exterior of the device housing), the conductive element (23) defining at least a portion of an exterior surface of the electronic device (¶26, “The bottom 23 of the receiver watch case ensures, in effect, a galvanic or capacitive connection with the wearer via a large conductive surface”)”.
Claim 2: Baro discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a securement strap (bracelet 12) coupled to the device housing (11), wherein:
the antenna (16) is embedded in the securement strap (fig. 3B & ¶17, “conductor 16 arranged inside part 12 of the bracelet”), and
the securement strap comprises a conductive contact coupling the antenna to the radio (¶35, “the interconnection of the bracelet to the case, known to those skilled in the art, may be electrical contacts”)”.
Claim 5: Baro discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the conductive element (23) extends around a circumference of the device housing (11) (circumference shown by dashed line 15 in fig. 1).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Degner et al. (US 2009/0251372; “Degner”).
Claim 16: Degner discloses (figs. 1, 4 & fig. 18 below) An electronic device (portable electronic device 10) comprising:
a device housing (housing 12);
a radio in the device housing (¶47, wireless transceiver circuitry in circuitry 18);
an antenna connector (24, 42) coupled to the radio (18), the antenna connector (24, 42) configured to couple an antenna (ARE 48) to the radio through the device housing (via 36 & 42); and
a conductive element (¶36, coupling structure 36) coupled to the radio (via 24), the conductive element (36) defining an exterior surface of the device housing (shown in fig. 4 & ¶48, “antenna structure 26 may be removable”, therefore 36 defines an exterior surface of housing 10).
Claim 17: Degner discloses the electronic device of claim 16, further comprising an antenna receptacle (antenna structure 26, ¶70, “an antenna resonating element in antenna structure 26”, therefore the antenna structure is considered to be an antenna receptacle) coupled to the antenna connector (24), the antenna receptacle comprising a retractable antenna (48) coupled to the radio through the antenna connector (24) (¶71, the antenna structure, and thus antenna 48 is retracted by reciprocating along longitudinal axis 28).
Claim 18: Degner discloses the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the antenna connector (42) comprises a conductive contact (42 contacts structure 36) coupled to the radio (¶76, “coupling structure 42 may be a coupling structure in antenna structure 26 that couples antenna resonating element 48 to communications path 24 in device 10 when the antenna is in its extended position.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baro (EP 0308935A1) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2019/0341677; “Hsu”).
Claim 3: Baro discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein: the conductive contact (¶35, electrical contact) comprises a first conductive contact.
Baro does not disclose the securement strap is received in a slot in the device housing; and the slot comprises a second conductive contact coupling the first conductive contact to the radio.
Hsu (fig. 15 below) teaches a securement strap (watch band 110 including lug 112) including an antenna (140) and a first conductive contact (watch band electrical connector 164). Hsu also teaches the securement strap (112) is received in a slot in the device housing (channel 116) (¶30, “The watch band 110 includes lugs 112 at opposing ends of the band that fit within respective recesses or channels 116 of the housing 106 and allow the watch band 110 to be removably attached to the housing 106.”); and
the slot (116) comprises a second conductive contact (162, “The housing 106 of the watch body can include a watch body electrical connector 162, for example, within a channel 116 formed in the housing 106. The attachment member 112 of the watch band 110 can include a watch band electrical connector 164 for electrically connecting to the watch body electrical connector 162 when the attachment member 112 is connected to the housing 106, for example by insertion into the channel 116.”) coupling the first conductive contact (164) to the radio (¶71, “a control unit 130 can be provided on the watch body”, ¶35, “the control unit can provide an RFID system that is configured to enable one-way or two-way RF communications”) (Examiner’s note: the control unit provides RF communications and is considered to be a radio).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Baro wherein the securement strap is received in a slot in the device housing; and the slot comprises a second conductive contact coupling the first conductive contact to the radio, as taught by Hsu. Doing so allows for the securement strap to be securely attached to the watch body (¶30 of Hsu).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baro (EP 0308935A1) in view of Hama (US 5,450,091).
Claim 4: Baro discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first securement strap (bracelet 12), wherein the antenna is a first antenna (first metallic conductor 16) disposed in the first securement strap (12); and
a second securement strap (bracelet 13).
Baro does not explicitly disclose the second securement strap comprising a second antenna disposed therein, wherein the second antenna is coupled to the first antenna.
However, Baro discloses (¶16), “the wristband antenna may also include a second conductor 22”, (¶28), “the set of two conductors 16 and 22 constitutes a dipole”, and the two conductors 16 and 22 are coupled via radio 4, as shown in fig. 2.
Hama teaches (fig. 1 below) a first securement strap (first band member 3L) with a first antenna (first conductor plates 5L) disposed therein and a second securement strap (band member 3R) comprising a second antenna (second conductor plates 5R) disposed therein, wherein the second antenna (5R) is coupled to the first antenna (5L) (col. 1, final two lines to col. 2, line 7, “for constructing a loop-like antenna in the state where the band members are connected”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Baro wherein the second securement strap comprises a second antenna disposed therein, wherein the second antenna is coupled to the first antenna, as taught by Hama. Doing so allows for the first and second antennas to have different shapes such that the electronic device can be worn by users having different wrist sizes while maintaining the antenna function (col. 5, final para. of Hama).
Claim 16: Baro discloses an electronic device comprising:
a device housing (case/housing 11);
a radio in the device housing (¶13, “A receiver 14 is arranged in the housing 11”);
and a conductive element (23) coupled to the radio (¶16, “the wristband antenna may also include a second conductor 22 connected to the ground of the receiver 14” – the second conductor 22 is connected to the ground via conductive element 23 as shown in fig. 2, therefore the conductive element 23 is coupled to the ground of the receiver), the conductive element defining an exterior surface of the device housing (¶26, “The bottom 23 of the receiver watch case ensures, in effect, a galvanic or capacitive connection with the wearer via a large conductive surface”).
Baro does not explicitly disclose an antenna connector coupled to the radio, the antenna connector configured to couple an antenna to the radio through the device housing.
Hama, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (fig. 1 & fig. 4 below) an antenna connector (conductor 25) coupled to the radio, the antenna connector configured to couple an antenna to the radio through the device housing (col. 4, lines 47-49, “Penetrating conductors 25 penetrate casing 21 as shown in FIG. 4 to make electrical connection with antenna input terminals 24”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Baro to include an antenna connector coupled to the radio, the antenna connector configured to couple an antenna to the radio through the device housing, as taught by Hama. Doing so allows for a secure connection between the antennas external to the device housing and the radio within the housing.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baro (EP 0308935A1) in view of Hama (US 5,450,091), and further in view of Hsu et al. (US 2019/0341677; “Hsu”).
Claim 19: the modified Baro teaches the electronic device of claim 16.
Baro does not explicitly disclose a first slot in the device housing, wherein the antenna connector is disposed in the first slot; a second slot in the device housing; a securement strap comprising a first securement feature received in the first slot and a second securement feature received in the second slot; and an antenna coupled to the antenna connector, wherein an effective radiating length of the antenna is configured to be increased by removing the second securement feature from the second slot.
Hama teaches, as best understood, a first slot in the device housing (21), wherein the antenna connector (25) is disposed in the first slot (col. 4, lines 47-49,; a second slot in the device housing (shown in fig. 3); a securement strap (second band member 3R); and an antenna (5R) coupled to the antenna connector (25), wherein an effective radiating length of the antenna is configured to be increased (by removing conductor 25 from one of the slots in the housing 21, second band member 3R and therefore antenna 5R would be disconnected from the housing. This would increase the effective radiating length of antenna 5L by removing the portion where antenna 5R overlaps antenna 5L).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Baro in view of Hama to include a first slot in the device housing, wherein the antenna connector is disposed in the first slot; a second slot in the device housing; a securement strap; and an antenna coupled to the antenna connector, wherein an effective radiating length of the antenna is configured to be increased, as taught by Hama. Doing so allows for an antenna in the securement strap to be securely connected to the radio which is located in the device housing and to adjust the frequency of the antenna.
Hama does not explicitly teach the securement strap comprising a first securement feature received in the first slot and a second securement feature received in the second slot; where an effective radiating length of the antenna is configured to be increased by removing the second securement feature from the second slot.
Hsu teaches (fig. 2) the securement strap comprising a first securement feature (lug 112) received in the first slot (channel 116) and a second securement feature (other lug 112) received in the second slot (other channel 116). The user may release a locking mechanism to permit the lugs to slide or otherwise move out of the channels 116 (¶30). Hsu also teaches (¶30) that other attachment elements such as locks, latches, snaps, clasps, threads, and/or pins can be included on the watch band 110 for securely attaching to the watch body 100. Hsu therefore teaches that the second securement feature can be removed from the slot which would have the effect of disconnecting the second securement strap from the housing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Baro in view of Hama, to include the securement strap comprising a first securement feature received in the first slot and a second securement feature received in the second slot; where an effective radiating length of the antenna is configured to be increased by removing the second securement feature from the second slot, as taught by Hsu. Doing so provides a secure mechanism which allows the securement straps to be disconnected from the electronic device body.
Claim 20: The modified Baro teaches the electronic device of claim 16.
Baro discloses “a securement strap comprising: an antenna”.
Baro does not explicitly disclose a slot in the device housing, wherein the antenna connector is disposed in the slot; and the securement strap comprising: the antenna coupled to the antenna connector; wherein lengths of the securement strap and the antenna are adjustable by unfolding the securement strap.
Hama teaches: a slot in the device housing (col. 4, lines 47-49, Penetrating conductors 25 penetrate casing 21 as shown in FIG. 4 to make electrical connection with antenna input terminals 24), wherein the antenna connector (25) is disposed in the slot (see fig. 4); and a securement strap (3R, 3L) comprising: an antenna (5R, 5L) coupled to the antenna connector (25).
Hama also teaches, as best understood, wherein lengths of the securement strap and the antenna are adjustable by unfolding (see Examiner’s note below) the securement strap (lengths of the securement strap and the antenna are adjustable by buckling the strap using buckle 31 such that the antenna loop is smaller for a wearer with a small wrist and larger for a wearer with a larger wrist. The securement strap and antenna can be considered to be folded over one another as the ends of securement straps 3R and 3L have a larger overlapping portion, as shown in fig. 1, and unfolded when the securement straps 3R and 3L have a smaller overlapping portion). (Examiner’s note: the dictionary definition of fold is to bend something over on itself so that one part of it covers another).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Baro in view of Hama to include a slot in the device housing, wherein the antenna connector is disposed in the slot; and the securement strap comprising: the antenna coupled to the antenna connector; wherein lengths of the securement strap and the antenna are adjustable by unfolding the securement strap, as taught by Hama. Doing so allows for the electronic device to be worn by wearers with different sized wrists while maintaining the antenna function.
Hama does not explicitly teach a securement feature received in the slot.
Hsu teaches (fig. 2) the securement strap comprising a securement feature (lug 112) received in the slot (channel 116).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Baro in view of Hama, to include a securement feature received in the slot, as taught by Hsu. Doing so provides a secure mechanism which allows the securement straps to be disconnected from the electronic device body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Martinez (US20230327328) – wristband may include a coupling mechanism for detachably coupling watch body to watch band (figs. 1A-1B).
Rebeaud (US4690567) – electrical contacts in watch between bracelet and watch body.
Boyce (US3973706) – electrical contact between an electronic device in a watch band and the watch body.
Noirjean (US20040084200) – antenna in device strap.
Kim (US20160141746) – antenna in device strap.
Blaich (US5144599) - antenna in device strap.
Aizawa (US20160285157) - conductive element extends around a circumference of the device housing (case body 11).
Bit-Babik (US 20200403647) – reads on claim 16.
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845