DETAILED ACTION
Application # 18/435,947 was filed on 2/7/2024.
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
An IDS filed on 3/3/2025 has been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 15 respectively rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 17 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,480. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain similar subject matter as follows:
“detect a transmission of a first network operation from an originating microservice software application to a first microservice software application of a set of microservice software applications, wherein (i) the first network operation is configured to be provided as input to the first microservice software application and (ii) the first microservice software application generates a second network operation as output, using the first network operation, to be transmitted to a second microservice software application of the set of microservice software applications, the second microservice software application being a destination software application; receiving a first log file associated with a processing of the first network operation at the first microservice software application; storing, in a database, the first log file in association with the first microservice software application; determining a validation process to be performed on the first log file using an identifier associated with the originating software application and an identifier associated with the destination microservice software application; retrieving, from the database, the first log file to perform the determined validation process on the first log file with respect to a set of modifications between the first network operation and the second network operation using (i) the first network operation and (ii) the second network operation; and in response to detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first log file, preventing the second network operation from being transmitted to the second microservice software application of the set of microservice software applications”
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, respectively rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 1, 5, 6, 7, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 11, 14respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,924,027. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain similar subject matter as follows:
“detect a transmission of a first network operation from an originating microservice software application to a first microservice software application of a set of microservice software applications, wherein (i) the first network operation is configured to be provided as input to the first microservice software application and (ii) the first microservice software application generates a second network operation as output, using the first network operation, to be transmitted to a second microservice software application of the set of microservice software applications, the second microservice software application being a destination software application; receiving a first log file associated with a processing of the first network operation at the first microservice software application; storing, in a database, the first log file in association with the first microservice software application; determining a validation process to be performed on the first log file using an identifier associated with the originating software application and an identifier associated with the destination microservice software application; retrieving, from the database, the first log file to perform the determined validation process on the first log file with respect to a set of modifications between the first network operation and the second network operation using (i) the first network operation and (ii) the second network operation; and in response to detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first log file, preventing the second network operation from being transmitted to the second microservice software application of the set of microservice software applications”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jentsch et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2013/0174181 (hereinafter Jentsch) in view of Roche et al. U.S. Patent # 8,832,640 (hereinafter Roche)
With respect to claim 1, Jentsch teaches a system for reducing wasted computational resources by detecting network operation validation anomalies in conglomerate-application-based ecosystems, the system comprising:
-at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to:
-detect a transmission of a first network operation (i.e. input) from an originating microservice software application (i.e. client application) to a first microservice software application (i.e. business application) of a set of microservice software applications, wherein (i) the first network operation is configured to be provided as input to the first microservice software application (i.e. first network operation being input which is forwarded by the runtime UI application to the business application) (Paragraph 17, 19-20) and (ii) the first microservice software application generates a second network operation as output (i.e. output such as error message), using the first network operation (i.e. input), to be transmitted to a second microservice software application (i.e. runtime UI application or client application) of the set of microservice software applications, the second microservice software application being a destination software application (i.e. error message is sent by the business application as an output and runtime UI application may forward or output such error message within field of user interface to the client application) (Paragraph 17, 19-20). Examiner would like to point out that field of user interface is inside runtime UI application hence that is the second application. Also, claim language does not differentiate or state that originating microservice software application is different or cannot be same as the second microservice software application.
receiving a first log file (i.e. error message) associated with a processing of the first network operation at the first microservice software application (Paragraph 19-20)
the first log file (i.e. error message) in association with the first microservice software application (i.e. business application)(Paragraph 34)
determining a validation process to be performed on the first log file using an identifier associated with the originating software application and an identifier associated with the destination microservice software application (Paragraph 30)
retrieving, the first log file to perform the determined validation process on the first log file with respect to a set of modifications between the first network operation and the second network operation using (i) the first network operation and (ii) the second network operation (Paragraph 19-20, 23-25); and
in response to detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first log file (i.e. error message), preventing the second network operation from being transmitted to the second microservice software application of the set of microservice software applications (Paragraph 19-20)
Jentsch does not explicitly teach storing, in a database, the first log file in association with the first microservice software application; and retrieving from the database.
Roche teaches storing in a database, the first log file (i.e. log file) in association with the first microservice software application (i.e. purify/pattern insight)(column 3 lines 35-43, 59-67)(column 4 lines 1-10); retrieving from the database, the first log file to perform the determined validation process (column 4 lines 9-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Roche’s teaching in Jentsch’s teaching to come up with storing in a database the first log file wherein the log file contains error messages. The motivation for doing so would be output from the SQL queries could be generated in different formats including the ASCII format, XML and the like.
With respect to claim 2, Jentsch and Roche teaches the system of claim 1, but Jentsch further teaches further comprising the instructions to: in response to the detection indicating a successful validation of the first log file, enabling the second network operation to be transmitted to the second microservice software application (Paragraph 23)
With respect to claim 3, Jentsch and Roche teaches the system of claim 1, but Jentsch further teaches further comprising the instructions to: in response to detecting that the validation process results in the failure to validate the first log file, generating for display at a graphical user interface (GUI), a message indicating the failure to validate the first log file (Paragraph 19-20).
With respect to claim 4, Jentsch and Roche teaches the system of claim 1, but Jentsch further teaches wherein determining the validation process to be performed on the first log file further comprises: accessing a data structure indicating validation processes to be performed on the first log file that are associated with the originating microservice software application and the destination microservice software application (paragraph 17, 19-20, 24)
With respect to claim 5, Jentsch and Roche teaches the system of claim 1, but Jentsch further teaches wherein detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first log file further comprises: determining whether the second network operation comprises a first modification with respect to the first network operation (Paragraph 19-20, 23-25); and in response to the second network operation failing to comprise the first modification with respect to the first network operation, detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first log file (Paragraph 19-20, 23-25)
With respect to claim 6, Jentsch teaches a method for reducing wasted computational resources by detecting network operation validation anomalies in conglomerate-application-based ecosystems, the method comprising:
-providing a first network operation (i.e. input) from an originating software application (i.e. client application) to a first software application (i.e. business application) of a set of software applications, wherein (i) the first network operation is configured to be provided as input to the first software application (i.e. first network operation being input which is forwarded by the runtime UI application to the business application) (Paragraph 17, 19-20) and (ii) the first software application generates a second network operation as output (i.e. output such as error message), using the first network operation, to be provided to a second software application (i.e. runtime UI application or client application) of the set of software applications, the second software application being a destination software application (i.e. error message is sent by the business application as an output and runtime UI application may forward or output such error message within field of user interface to the client application) (Paragraph 17, 19-20). Examiner would like to point out that field of user interface is inside runtime UI application hence that is the second application. Also, claim language does not differentiate or state that originating microservice software application is different or cannot be same as the second microservice software application.
receiving a first message (i.e. error message) associated with a processing of the first network operation at the first software application (Paragraph 19-20)
determining a validation process to be performed on the first message using an identifier associated with the originating software application and an identifier associated with the destination software application (Paragraph 30)
performing the determined validation process on the first message using (i) the first network operation, (ii) the second network operation, and (iii) the first message (Paragraph 19-20, 23-25); and
in response to detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first message (i.e. error message), preventing the second network operation from being provided to the second software application of the set of software applications, wherein the determined validation process results in the failure to validate the first message is detected(Paragraph 19-20)
Jentsch does not explicitly teach storing, in a database, the first log file in association with the first microservice software application; and retrieving from the database.
Roche teaches storing in a database, the first log file (i.e. log file) in association with the first microservice software application (i.e. purify/pattern insight)(column 3 lines 35-43, 59-67)(column 4 lines 1-10); retrieving from the database, the first log file to perform the determined validation process (column 4 lines 9-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Roche’s teaching in Jentsch’s teaching to come up with storing in a database the first log file wherein the log file contains error messages. The motivation for doing so would be output from the SQL queries could be generated in different formats including the ASCII format, XML and the like.
With respect to claim 7, Jentsch and Roche teaches the method of claim 6, but Jentsch further teaches further comprising: in response to the detection indicating a successful validation of the first message, enabling the second network operation to be transmitted to the second software application, wherein the successful validation of the first message is detected (Paragraph 23)
With respect to claim 8, Jentsch and Roche teaches the method of claim 6, but Jentsch further teaches further comprising: in response to detecting that the validation process results in the failure to validate the first message, generating for display at a graphical user interface (GUI), a message indicating the failure to validate the first message, wherein the validation process resulting in the failure to validate the first message is detected (Paragraph 19-20)
With respect to claim 9, Jentsch and Roche teaches the method of claim 6, but Jentsch further teaches wherein determining the validation process to be performed on the first message further comprises: accessing a data structure indicating validation processes to be performed on the first message that are associated with the originating software application and the destination software application (paragraph 17, 19-20, 24)
With respect to claim 10, Jentsch and Roche teaches the method of claim 6, but Jentsch further teaches wherein detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first message further comprises: determining whether the second network operation comprises a first characteristic with respect to the first network operation (Paragraph 19-20, 23-25); and in response to the second network operation failing to comprise the first characteristic with respect to the first network operation, detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first message, wherein the second network operation fails to comprise the first characteristic with respect to the first network operation (Paragraph 19-20, 23-25)
With respect to claim 15, it teaches same limitation as claim 6, therefore rejected under same basis.
With respect to claim 16, Jentsch and Roche teaches the media of claim 15, but Jentsch further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: in response to the detection indicating a successful validation of the first message, enabling the second network operation to be transmitted to the second software application (Paragraph 23)
With respect to claim 17, Jentsch and Roche teaches the media of claim 15, but Jentsch further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: in response to detecting that the validation process results in the failure to validate the first message, generating for display at a graphical user interface (GUI), a message indicating the failure to validate the first message (Paragraph 19-20)
With respect to claim 18, Jentsch and Roche teaches the media of claim 15, but Jentsch further teaches wherein determining the validation process to be performed on the first message further comprises: accessing a data structure indicating validation processes to be performed on the first message that are associated with the originating software application and the destination software application (paragraph 17, 19-20, 24)
With respect to claim 19, Jentsch and Roche teaches the media of claim 15, but Jentsch further teaches wherein detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first message further comprises: determining whether the second network operation comprises a first characteristic with respect to the first network operation (Paragraph 19-20, 23-25); and in response to the second network operation failing to comprise the first characteristic with respect to the first network operation, detecting that the determined validation process results in a failure to validate the first message (Paragraph 19-20, 23-25)
Claim objections
Claims 11-14, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Hockenberry et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2007/0174810
B). Ginter et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2005/0015624
C). Akyol et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2020/0127973
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453