DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (KR20140146353A).
Re claim 1, Choi et al. disclose a solenoid actuator comprising: a bobbin (40) having a through hole formed inside the bobbin, wherein a coil (48) is wound around the bobbin; a case (10) surrounding an outer surface of the bobbin; a drive part (20) movably disposed in the through hole of the bobbin to be drivable; a core (56) fixedly disposed above the drive part; and a return spring (60) disposed between the drive part and the core and configured to apply an elastic force to the drive part in a direction of being away from the core, wherein the bobbin has a damper (70) positioned between the case and the drive part, and the damper is formed integrally with the bobbin as a single piece. (Fig. 1)
Re claim 2, Choi et al. disclose wherein: the case (10) includes a body (30) surrounding an outer side surface of the bobbin (40), an extension part (65) extending inward from the body in a radial direction and surrounding an end of the bobbin, and an inner part extending from the extension part in an axial direction such that the inner part of the case is inserted into the through hole of the bobbin, and the damper (70) is provided between an end of the inner part of the case inserted in the through hole of the bobbin and the drive part.
Re claim 4, Choi et al. disclose a drive rod (50) configured to be movable by the drive part (20).
Re claim 5, Choi et al. disclose a drive rod (50) fixedly coupled to the drive part (20).
Re claim 6, Choi et al. disclose a first bush (80) positioned between the drive rod (50) and the inner part of the case inserted in the through hole of the bobbin (40), wherein the first bush is disposed in a first opening formed inside the inner part of the case inserted in the through hole of the bobbin.
Re claim 7, Choi et al. disclose a second bush (81) positioned between the drive rod (50) and the core (56).
Re claim 8, Choi et al. disclose, wherein the body, the extension part, and the inner part of the case are integrally formed as a single piece (10, 30, 65).
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spratte et al. (DE102015204104A1).
Re claim 1, Spratte et al. disclose a solenoid actuator comprising: a bobbin (110) having a through hole formed inside the bobbin, wherein a coil (111) is wound around the bobbin; a case (358, 342) surrounding an outer surface of the bobbin; a drive part (114) movably disposed in the through hole of the bobbin to be drivable; a core (230, 232) fixedly disposed above the drive part; and a return spring (354) disposed between the drive part and the core and configured to apply an elastic force to the drive part in a direction of being away from the core, wherein the bobbin has a damper (120, 122, 352) positioned between the case and the drive part. (Fig. 3)
Re claim 9, Spratte et al. disclose wherein: an end of the drive part (114) has a first inclined portion and an end of the core (230, 232) has a second inclined portion inclined at an angle corresponding to the first inclined portion of the drive part such that one of the first inclined portion of the drive part and the second inclined portion of the core is insertable into another of the first inclined portion of the drive part and the second inclined portion of the core. (Fig. 3)
Re claim 10, Spratte et al. disclose wherein the damper is formed by a protruded part (122) of the bobbin (110) inwardly protruding from an inner surface of the through hole of the bobbin to be between the case and the drive part (114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (KR20140146353A) in view of Young et al. (US 20060054851 A1).
Re claim 3, Choi et al. teach wherein: the drive part (20) includes a large diameter part inserted in the through hole of the bobbin and a small diameter part having a diameter smaller than a diameter of the large diameter part, the small diameter part is inserted in the inner part of the case inserted in the through hole of the bobbin. Choi et al. do not teach wherein the damper is configured to be contactable with a stepped portion of the drive part formed by the large diameter part and the small diameter part. Young et al. each a solenoid actuator wherein: the drive part (108) includes a large diameter part and a small diameter part having a diameter smaller than a diameter of the large diameter part, a damper (120) is configured to be contactable with a stepped portion of the drive part formed by the large diameter part and the small diameter part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the drive part and damper as configured by Young et al. in order to reduce noise. (Fig. 1, [0004], [0022])
Claims 12, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murgoci (DE 102011080714A1) in view of Choi et al. (KR20140146353A) or Spratte et al. (DE102015204104A1).
Re claim 12, Murgoci teaches a brake system comprising a ratchet unit configured to prevent reverse brake operation, wherein the ratchet unit includes: a pawl (128) configured to engageable with a ratchet gear (116) configured to be rotatable according to a force generated by a motor (8); and a solenoid actuator (122) configured to move the pawl. (Fig. 3)
Murgoci does not teach wherein the solenoid actuator includes: a bobbin having a through hole formed inside the bobbin, wherein a coil is wound around the bobbin; a case surrounding an outer surface of the bobbin; a drive part movably disposed in the through hole of the bobbin to be drivable; a core fixedly disposed above the drive part; and a return spring disposed between the drive part and the core and configured to apply an elastic force to the drive part in a direction of being away from the core, and the bobbin has a damper positioned between the case and the drive part.
Choi et al. teach a solenoid actuator comprising: a bobbin (40) having a through hole formed inside the bobbin, wherein a coil (48) is wound around the bobbin; a case (10) surrounding an outer surface of the bobbin; a drive part (20) movably disposed in the through hole of the bobbin to be drivable; a core (56) fixedly disposed above the drive part; and a return spring (60) disposed between the drive part and the core and configured to apply an elastic force to the drive part in a direction of being away from the core, wherein the bobbin has a damper (70) positioned between the case and the drive part and the damper is formed integrally with the bobbin as a single piece. (Fig. 1)
Spratte et al. teach a solenoid actuator comprising: a bobbin (110) having a through hole formed inside the bobbin, wherein a coil (111) is wound around the bobbin; a case (358, 342) surrounding an outer surface of the bobbin; a drive part (114) movably disposed in the through hole of the bobbin to be drivable; a core (230, 232) fixedly disposed above the drive part; and a return spring (354) disposed between the drive part and the core and configured to apply an elastic force to the drive part in a direction of being away from the core, wherein the bobbin has a damper (120, 122, 352) positioned between the case and the drive part and the damper is formed integrally with the bobbin as a single piece.. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the solenoid actuator of Choi et al or Sprattle et al. in the device of Murgoci in order to provide actuation to the brake system. (Choi et al. – Fig. 1)
Re claim 13, Murgoci as modified teaches wherein: the case (10) includes a body (30) surrounding an outer side surface of the bobbin (40), an extension part (65) extending inward from the body in a radial direction and surrounding an end of the bobbin, and an inner part extending from the extension part in an axial direction such that the inner part of the case is inserted into the through hole of the bobbin, and the damper (70) is provided between an end of the inner part of the case inserted in the through hole of the bobbin and the drive part. (Choi et al. – Fig. 1)
Re claim 15, Murgoci as modified teaches a drive rod (50) configured to be movable by the drive part (20). (Choi et al. – Fig. 1)
Re claim 16, Murgoci as modified teaches a drive rod (50) fixedly coupled to the drive part (20). (Choi et al. – Fig. 1)
Re claim 17, Murgoci as modified teaches a first bush (80) positioned between the drive rod (50) and the inner part of the case inserted in the through hole of the bobbin (40), wherein the first bush is disposed in a first opening formed inside the inner part of the case inserted in the through hole of the bobbin. (Choi et al. – Fig. 1)
Re claim 18, Murgoci as modified teaches a second bush (81) positioned between the drive rod (50) and the core (56). (Choi et al. – Fig. 1)
Re claim 19, Murgoci as modified teaches wherein: an end of the drive part (114) has a first inclined portion and an end of the core (230, 232) has a second inclined portion inclined at an angle corresponding to the first inclined portion of the drive part such that one of the first inclined portion of the drive part and the second inclined portion of the core is insertable into another of the first inclined portion of the drive part and the second inclined portion of the core. (Sprattle et al. - Fig. 3)
Re claim 20, Murgoci as modified teaches wherein the damper is formed by a protruded part (122) of the bobbin (110) inwardly protruding from an inner surface of the through hole of the bobbin to be between the case and the drive part (114). (Sprattle et al. - Fig. 3)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murgoci (DE 102011080714A1) in view of Choi et al. (KR20140146353A) and further in view of Young et al. (US 20060054851 A1).
Re claim 14, Choi et al. teach wherein: the drive part (20) includes a large diameter part inserted in the through hole of the bobbin and a small diameter part having a diameter smaller than a diameter of the large diameter part, the small diameter part is inserted in the inner part of the case inserted in the through hole of the bobbin.
Choi et al. do not teach wherein the damper is configured to be contactable with a stepped portion of the drive part formed by the large diameter part and the small diameter part. Young et al. each a solenoid actuator wherein: the drive part (108) includes a large diameter part and a small diameter part having a diameter smaller than a diameter of the large diameter part, a damper (120) is configured to be contactable with a stepped portion of the drive part formed by the large diameter part and the small diameter part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the drive part and damper as configured by Young et al. in order to reduce noise. (Fig. 1, [0004], [0022]). (Fig. 1, [0022])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Choi et al. nor Sprattle et al. teach wherein “the damper is formed integrally with the bobbin as a single piece.” It is the Examiner’s position that as assembled, both Choi et al. and Sprattle et al. can be interpreted as having a damper formed integrally with the bobbin as a single piece. Applicant’s arguments are more specific than the claim language. Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWAugust 10, 2026