DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because all the characters in parenthesis should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one main unit" in line 5. Claim 2 recites the limitation "at least one main unit" in line 4. Claim 3 recites the limitation "at least one main unit" in line 3. Claim 9 recites the limitation "at least one main unit" in line 3. Claim 10 recites the limitation "at least one main unit" in line 2. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the main units" in line 2. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claims.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Castonguay (US 11,618,664).
Castonguay discloses the following claimed features:
Regarding claim 1, a system (Figures 1-4 and 8) for monitoring and regulating restaurant equipment and monitoring the condition of tap piping (12) wherein it includes at least one main unit (800) comprising a main processor, wherein at least one sensor (17) selected from a group consisting of a probe thermometer, ultrasonic flowmeter, mechanical flowmeter, thermometer, pressure sensor is connected to the main unit, wherein at least one main unit (800) is connected to a processing unit (802) comprising a database, wherein the processing unit is designed to process data from individual main units and to store (804) and access stored data and is provided with remote data management and visualisation tools (column 10, lines 1-60).
Regarding claim 2, wherein an additional sensor/actuator (302) selected from a group consisting of a hygrometer, thermostatic controller, barrel tapping detector and relay for switching appliances is connected to at least one main unit (Figure 6; column 8, lines 24-67).
Regarding claim 3, wherein pump, valve and automatic sanitation switches (14, 20) are connected to at least one main unit (800) (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, wherein it is provided with a backup power supply (it’s well known in the art to have a backup power supply source).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the ultrasonic flow meter is provided with a sensor (17) for automatically detecting the sanitation of the tap piping performed (column 3, lines 53-63).
Regarding claim 7, wherein at least one master unit is provided with a system for remotely updating the firmware of the unit and/or connected sensors supporting this functionality (column 10, lines 27-60).
Regarding claim 8, wherein it is provided with means for automating and/or diagnosing and/or controlling connected actuators (Figure 6; column 8, lines 24-67).
Regarding claim 9, wherein at least one of the sensors (17) connectable to at least one main unit (800) is provided with means (16) for reading data from the sensor, without explicitly providing support on the main unit side (column 3, lines 53-63).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the main unit (800) and the processing unit (802) are provided with tools for remotely adjusting the range of functionality of the system (Figure 8).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the main units (800) are provided with an internal storage for storing the measured values at the time of a connection failure and for sending them to the processing unit (column 10, lines 27-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castonguay (US 11,618,664) in view of Cosentino et al (US 12,325,647).
Castonguay discloses the claimed invention except for reciting the ultrasonic flowmeter is provided with automatic counting of sanitation sponges, insertable into the tap piping.
Cosentino et al teach the ultrasonic flowmeter is provided with automatic counting of sanitation sponges, insertable into the tap piping (column 7, lines 1-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ultrasonic flowmeter provided with automatic counting of sanitation sponges, insertable into the tap piping, as taught by Cosentino et al into Castonguay, for the purpose of tracking fluid velocity and volume.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castonguay (US 11,618,664) in view of Hershberger et al (US 9,221,667).
Castonguay discloses the claimed invention except for reciting at least one main unit is provided with a device for encrypting the transmitted data, and the processing unit is provided with a device for verifying the identity of individual main units; and vice versa, these are provided with a device for verifying the identity of the processing unit.
Hershberger et al teach at least one main unit is provided with a device for encrypting the transmitted data, and the processing unit is provided with a device for verifying the identity of individual main units; and vice versa, these are provided with a device for verifying the identity of the processing unit (column 4, lines 25-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have at least one main unit is provided with a device for encrypting the transmitted data, and the processing unit is provided with a device for verifying the identity of individual main units; and vice versa, these are provided with a device for verifying the identity of the processing unit, as taught by Hershberger into Castonguay, for the purpose of transmitting data securely and obtaining a wireless RFID device.
Contact Information
/AN H DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853