DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits. Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-17, 19-21, and 23 are currently pending and are addressed below.
The examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the
reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026, regarding the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-15, 17, and 19-23 under 35 U.S.C 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, it is argued that the claims improve “real-time device tracking and data processing technology,” by using speed data received from a plurality of user devices to detect parking locations without requiring users to provide parking location information (see Remarks, pg.10). The examiner has carefully considered this and respectfully disagrees. Nothing in the claims recite an improvement to the functioning of the computing device, user devices, or underlying tracking, or data processing technology. It is interpreted that the computing and user devices are used as tools to collect and process information in order to improve the identification of parking locations. While the claimed technique may result in an improved optimization of data processing, it does not provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or another technology. Accordingly, the claimed use of speed data does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application merely because the information is obtained in real time or eliminates the need for a user to manually report a parking location. The additional computer related elements amount to use of computing devices as tools for carrying out the recited information collection, analysis, and communication. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's arguments, filed 6/12/2026, regarding the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-15, 17, and 19-23 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the examiner has carefully considered applicant’s remarks, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Charles is not limited to manually entering parking status messages and expressly teaches collecting crowd-sourced data from a plurality of users, including location information, geographic coordinate data, and speed data received from user computing devices (see at least Charles, ¶¶ [0018]-[0022]). The geolocation information is used by users to identify parking related locations (potential parking locations), including an instance when users park, or leave areas to derive certain characteristics from repeated user activity. Furthermore, in combination with the primary reference Shiva, which teaches determining vehicle location and movement using vehicle data including, but not limited to velocity, it would have been obvious to incorporate the teaching of Charles together with the tracked information to identify when respective user devices transition from traveling to a stopped or parked condition, to detect parking locations associated with a plurality of crowd-sourced devices. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-17, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1, 10, and 17 are directed towards a method, therefore, the claims are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 1:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device from a user device information relating to a destination of a user
determining, by the computing device, based on receiving the information a set of potential parking locations
selecting, based on tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, a preferred parking location from the set of potential parking locations, wherein the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated, by a plurality of users of the plurality of user devices, with the destination
sending, to the user device, information relating to the preferred parking location to the user.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation constitutes a mental process
because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the
limitations in the human mind. The “determining” and “selecting,” steps which under broadest reasonable interpretation suggest that the computing device choose the best parking location based on the obtained crowdsource data indicative of other users parking at the same location, or plurality of locations being observed. The “selecting” step is equivalent to individual making a form of determination, or inference after some examination of the provided crowdsourced data and reliability indicia associated with other users. The “tracked movements of a plurality of user devices,” is simply information regarding behavior of other users in the parking environment that infer which parking locations were commonly used, for instance As such, claim 1 recites a mental process.
Claim 10
A method comprising:
sending, by a user device to a server, information relating to a destination
receiving, by the user device from the server, a set of potential parking locations
selecting, based on tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, a preferred parking location from the set of potential parking locations, wherein the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated, by a plurality of users of the plurality of user devices, with the destination
sending, by the user device to the server, the preferred parking location
outputting, by the user device and based on data received in response to the sending the preferred parking location, a route to the preferred parking location.
Similar to the analysis of claim 1, the examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation constitutes a mental process because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitations in the human mind. The “selecting” step is equivalent to individual making a form of determination, or inference after some examination of the provided crowdsourced data and reliability indicia associated with other users. The “tracked movements of a plurality of user devices,” is simply information regarding behavior of other users in the parking environment that infer which parking locations were commonly used, for instance As such, claim 10 recites a mental process.
Claim 17
A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device from a user device, information relating to a destination
receiving, by the computing device, parking locations data proximate to the destination;
determining, by the computing device, based on data from a database of crowdsourced information, and from the parking locations proximate to the destination, a set of
determining, by the computing device, a preferred parking location from the potential parking locations
sending, to the user device, information relating to the preferred parking location
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation constitutes a mental process
because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the
limitations in the human mind. The “determining” and “selecting,” steps which under broadest reasonable interpretation suggest that the computing device choose the best parking location based on the obtained crowdsource data indicative of other users parking at the same location, or plurality of locations being observed. The “selecting” step is equivalent to individual making a form of determination, or inference after some examination of the provided crowdsourced data and reliability indicia associated with other users. The “tracked movements of a plurality of user devices,” is simply information regarding behavior of other users in the parking environment that infer which parking locations were commonly used, for instance As such, claim 17 recites a mental process.
Step 2A Prong 2
Claim 1:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device from a user device information relating to a destination of a user
determining, by the computing device, based on receiving the information a set of potential parking locations
selecting, based on tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, a preferred parking location from the set of potential parking locations, wherein the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated, by a plurality of users of the plurality of user devices, with the destination
sending, to the user device, information relating to the preferred parking location to the user.
The examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the
previously discussed abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional
limitations of, “receiving,” and “sending,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use the generic computer components to perform the processes. The “receiving,” step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving, obtaining, or acquiring information for use in a store and processing step) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Additionally, the “send” step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of transmitting, outputting information) and amounts to mere post solution action, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, it is clear that the abstract ideas have not been integrated into a practical application.
Claim 10
A method comprising:
sending, by a user device to a server, information relating to a destination
receiving, by the user device from the server, a set of potential parking locations
selecting, based on tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, a preferred parking location from the set of potential parking locations, wherein the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated, by a plurality of users of the plurality of user devices, with the destination
sending, by the user device to the server, the preferred parking location
outputting, by the user device and based on data received in response to the sending the preferred parking location, a route to the preferred parking location
The examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the
previously discussed abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional
limitations of, “sending,” “receiving,” and “outputting,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use the generic computer components to perform the processes. The “receiving,” step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving, obtaining, or acquiring information for use in a store and processing step) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Additionally, the “sending” and “outputting” steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of transmitting, outputting information) and amounts to insignificant extra-solution activities. Thus, it is clear that the abstract ideas have not been integrated into a practical application.
Claim 17
A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device from a user device, information relating to a destination
receiving, by the computing device, parking locations data proximate to the destination;
determining, by the computing device, based on data from a database of crowdsourced information, and from the parking locations proximate to the destination, a set of potential parking locations, wherein the data from the database of crowdsourced information comprises tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, wherein the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated, by a plurality of users of the plurality of user devices, with the destination
determining, by the computing device, a preferred parking location from the potential parking locations
sending, to the user device, information relating to the preferred parking location
The examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the
previously discussed abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional
limitations of, “receiving” and “sending,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use the generic computer components to perform the processes. The “receiving,” steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving, obtaining, or acquiring information for use in a store and processing step) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Additionally, the “sending” step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of transmitting, outputting information) and amounts to mere post solution action, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, it is clear that the abstract ideas have not been integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
Claim 1, 10, and 17 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and
as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception for the same reasons to those discussed above. The additional elements such as a
processor and memory to perform the step amounts to nothing more than applying the exception
using a generic computer component. General application of an exception using a generic
computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, since claims 1, 10, and 17 are: (a) directed towards an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 1, 10, and 17 are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Similarly, the dependent claims do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim to be patent eligible. Much like claims 1, 10, and 17 the limitations of these claims are directed towards additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding some of the other examples of additional limitations in the remaining dependent claims such as, “selecting potential parking locations,” (claim 2), “determining the set of potential parking locations,” (claim 9), “determining a first preferred parking” (claim 14), “determining the first preferred parking location,” (claim 16), and “determining the directions to the preferred parking,” (claim 19) the examiner submits that these limitations are additional abstract ideas that can be practically performed in the human mind. For example, the “determining” and “selecting” steps are equivalent to a person perceiving, or looking at the received information relating to a destination from a user and forming a simple judgement of a preferred parking location based on the data either mentally or using a pen and paper.
Additionally, some examples of limitations in the dependent claims that do not recite
additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application include, “receiving parking data,” (claim 4), “sending the set of potential parking locations,” (claim 7), “receiving data associated with the first preferred parking,” (claim 10), “sending one or more destination specific questions,” (claim 12), and receiving one or more answers,” (claim 16) and are insignificant extra-solution activities. For example, the “receive,” steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving, obtaining, or acquiring information for use in a store and processing step) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Thus, it is clear that the abstract ideas have not been integrated into a practical application.
As such, claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-17, 19-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-15, 17, 19-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghose Shiva et al. (US201800304926A1), hereinafter referred to as Shiva in view of Myers Charles et al. (US20170132541A1), hereinafter referred to as Charles.
Regarding claim 1, Shiva discloses: a method (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0005]) comprising:
receiving, by the computing device from a second user device, information relating to a destination from a user (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0063]-[0065] which disclose sreceiving, by the computing device from a second user device, information relating to a destination from a use)
determining, by a computing device, based on receiving the information, and from the plurality of parking locations, a set of potential parking locations from the second user device (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0005]-[0010], [0055]-[0056], [0069]-[0070], [0077] which discloses a determination made that limits and identifies a set of possible parking locations as a result of accessing stored information involving the stored roadway, impediments (construction), and hazard information impacting routing and parking availability relative to this information, this means determining, by a computing device, based on receiving the information, and by correlating historical parking data, from a database of crowdsourced information, with parking locations proximate to the destination, a set of potential parking locations)
Shiva is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Charles discloses: detecting, by a computing device and based on speed data received from each of a plurality of user devices, a plurality of parking locations associated with the plurality of user devices (see at least Charles, ¶¶ [0018]-[0020], [0022]-[0025], which discloses receiving crowd sourced data from a plurality of user computing devices including location information, geographic coordinate data, and speed data, to generate a plurality of parking locations associated with the plurality of crowdsourced user devices)
selecting, a preferred parking location from the set of potential parking locations (see at least Charles, Fig.4A, which discloses a crowd-sourced parking area recommendation system; ¶¶ [0005]-[0007], [0011], [0018]-[0020], [0022] discloses a crowd-sourced parking area recommendation system that draws data from other drivers reporting on similar parking area locations, analyzing an indicia of accuracy, and based on the conditions, generating/selecting a parking area based on the crowdsourced data; crowdsourced data may be non-personally identifiable data such as location information, geographic coordinate data (e.g., latitude/longitude), timestamp data, heading information, and floating car data, etc., sourced from other drivers, this means that the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated by a plurality of users at one or more destinations)
sending, to the second user device, information relating to the preferred parking location (see at least Charles, ¶¶ [0022]-[0023], [0025] discloses communicating information related to the generated parking location based on crowdsourced data; displayed and reported onto the computing device viewable by the user)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shiva to include detecting, by a computing device and based on speed data received from each of a plurality of user devices, a plurality of parking locations associated with the plurality of user devices, selecting, based on tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, a preferred parking location from the set of potential parking locations, wherein the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated, by a plurality of users of the plurality of user devices, with the destination and sending, to the user device, information relating to the preferred parking location as taught by Charles. The examiner would like to note that the disclosure of Shiva does appear to send information of the preferred parking location that is viewable by the user, however, the data itself is primarily transmitted to the vehicle systems, prioritizing autonomous control of the vehicle instead of user approval of the preferred parking location. For these reasons, the Charles reference has been applied. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Shiva, wherein user input related to the preferred parking location can be taken into consideration via obtained crowdsourced data, thus allowing more variance of choice regarding the user’s preferences that may be integrated into the planned path of the vehicle. Additionally, this allows automatically updated parking location information based on data already collected from user devices.
Regarding claim 2, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the selecting is based on popularity scores for the parking locations proximate to the destination, and determining the set of potential parking locations using the popularity score (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0095]-[0097] discloses selecting potential parking locations further based on he popularity score, ¶¶ [0005]-[0010], [0055]-[0056], [0069]-[0070], [0077] which discloses a determination made that limits and identifies a set of possible parking locations as a result of accessing stored information involving the stored roadway, impediments (construction), and hazard information impacting routing and parking availability relative to this information, this means determining, by a computing device, based on receiving the information, and by correlating historical parking data, from a database of crowdsourced information, with parking locations proximate to the destination, a set of potential parking locations)
Regarding claim 4, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending, to the second user device, one or more destination-specific questions based on the destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0068]-[0070] which discloses sending one or more destination specific questions (ability to receive available instructions provided by one or more users of the vehicle as to a requested destination for the vehicle) based on the destination)
receiving, to the second user device, one or more answers to the one or more destination specific questions (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0070] which discloses the parking location selection module receiving one or more answers to the one or more destination specific questions)
wherein the selecting the preferred parking location is based on at least one of the one or more answers to the one or more destination-specific questions (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0079]-[0081] which discloses selecting the preferred parking location is based on one or more answers to the one or more destination specific questions (user input received from other data via the transceiver); [0084] the calculated scores are influenced by user input data providing information related to one or more destination specific questions)
Regarding claim 6, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the information relating to the destination comprises one or more of an address, a title, or geospatial coordinates (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0052] which discloses information relating to a destination relative to geospatial coordinates via a GPS system implemented in the vehicle)
Regarding claim 8, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more destination-specific questions request input regarding preferences associated with one or more of: a parking location cost, availability of electric vehicle charging at a parking location, if a parking location is covered; if a shuttle to a parking location is available; and distance between a parking location and the destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0085], [0094] which discloses sending and obtaining data regarding user input of one or more destination specific questions wherein the destination specific question comprises one of respective distances)
Regarding claim 9, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein determining the set of potential parking locations comprises:
receiving, from a parking data server, parking delay information associated with the set of potential parking locations (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0091]-[0092] discloses the parking data comprising a popularity score (respective score calculated) for each of the parking location in the set of potential parking locations)
wherein the parking delay information comprises one or more of: road closure information at the destination, construction delay information at the destination, and accident information at the destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0093]-[0094] which discloses receiving parking delay information of the set of potential parking locations (exemplary parking situations relative to a parking location and destination involving proximity to moving and/or stationary objects) comprising road closure information (keep-clear zones) in the popularity score for each of the one or more potential parking locations)
wherein the determining the set of potential parking location is further based on the parking delay information (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0093]-[0094] discloses determining a set of potential parking locations based on popularity scores (respective scores) and parking delay information (cost map) of the potential parking locations)
Regarding claim 10, Shiva discloses: a method comprising:
sending, by a second user device, to a server, information relating to a destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0063]-[0065] which discloses sending and receiving information (input as to a desired destination for the current vehicle ride) relating to a destination from the server)
outputting, by the second user device and based on data received in response to the sending the preferred parking location a route to the preferred parking location (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0084]-[0088] which discloses receiving data associated with the first preferred parking location comprising a route (path) to the preferred parking location; [0095]-[0096] which discloses the preferred parking being selected by the device as well as the path (maneuver) of the vehicle)
Shiva is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Charles teaches:
receiving, by a second user device, from the server, a set of potential parking locations, wherein the set of potential parking locations is determined form a plurality of parking locations detected based n speed data received from each of a plurality of user devices (see at least Charles, ¶¶ [0018]-[0020], [0022]-[0025], which discloses receiving crowd sourced data from a plurality of user computing devices including location information, geographic coordinate data, and speed data, to generate a plurality of parking locations associated with the plurality of crowdsourced user devices)
selecting, by the second user device, based on tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, input comprising a selection of a preferred parking locations (see at least Charles, Fig.4A, which discloses a crowd-sourced parking area recommendation system; ¶¶ [0005]-[0007], [0011], [0018]-[0020], [0022] discloses a crowd-sourced parking area recommendation system that draws data from other drivers reporting on similar parking area locations, analyzing an indicia of accuracy, and based on the conditions, generating/selecting a parking area based on the crowdsourced data; crowdsourced data may be non-personally identifiable data such as location information, geographic coordinate data (e.g., latitude/longitude), timestamp data, heading information, and floating car data, etc., sourced from other drivers, this means that the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated by a plurality of users at one or more destinations)
sending, by the second user device, to the server, the preferred parking location (see at least Charles, ¶¶ [0022]-[0023], [0025] discloses communicating information related to the generated parking location based on crowdsourced data; displayed and reported onto the computing device viewable by the user)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shiva to include receiving, by a second user device, from the server, a set of potential parking locations, wherein the set of potential parking locations is determined form a plurality of parking locations detected based n speed data received from each of a plurality of user devices, selecting, based on tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, a preferred parking location from the set of potential parking locations, wherein the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated, by a plurality of users of the plurality of user devices, with the destination and sending, to the user device, information relating to the preferred parking location as taught by Charles. The examiner would like to note that the disclosure of Shiva does appear to send information of the preferred parking location that is viewable by the user, however, the data itself is primarily transmitted to the vehicle systems, prioritizing autonomous control of the vehicle instead of user approval of the preferred parking location. For these reasons, the Charles reference has been applied. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Shiva, wherein user input related to the preferred parking location can be taken into consideration via obtained crowdsourced data, thus allowing more variance of choice regarding the user’s preferences that may be integrated into the planned path of the vehicle. Additionally, this allows automatically updated parking location information based on data already collected from user devices.
Regarding claim 11, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 10, further comprising receiving parking data that comprises one or more of:
a parking location description, a parking location address, a parking location geospatial coordinates, a parking location popularity, one or more parking location destination specific questions, a destination address, or destination geospatial coordinates (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0013], [0072]-[0073] discloses wherein the parking location data comprises a parking location, a parking location popularity score (respective score); [0068]-[0070], [0097] one or more destination specific questions related to user inputs related to destination of the vehicle)
Regarding claim 12, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 10, further comprising:
outputting, to a display of the second user device, one or more destination-specific questions based on the destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0068]-[0070] which discloses sending one or more destination specific questions (ability to receive available instructions provided by one or more users of the vehicle as to a requested destination for the vehicle) based on the destination)
receiving, by the second user device input, comprising answers to the one or more destination-specific questions (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0070] which discloses the parking location selection module receiving one or more answers to the one or more destination specific questions)
wherein the set of potential parking locations is based on the input comprising the answers to the one or more destination-specific questions (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0079]-[0081] which discloses selecting the preferred parking location is based on one or more answers to the one or more destination specific questions (user input received from other data via the transceiver); [0084] the calculated scores are influenced by user input data providing information related to one or more destination specific questions)
Regarding claim 13, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein sending the information relating to the destination comprises sending one or more of: a name of the destination; geospatial coordinates of the destination; and an address of the destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0052] which discloses information relating to a destination relative to geospatial coordinates via a GPS system implemented in the vehicle)
Regarding claim 14, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 10, further comprising receiving popularity data of the set of potential parking locations proximate to the destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0091]-[0092] discloses the parking data comprising a popularity score (respective score calculated) for each of the parking location in the set of potential parking locations) and wherein the method further comprises:
outputting, to a display of the second user device, the set of potential parking locations and the popularity data (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0013], [0072]-[0073] discloses wherein the parking location data comprises a parking location, a parking location popularity score (respective score); [0068]-[0070], [0097] one or more destination specific questions related to user inputs related to destination of the vehicle)
Regarding claim 15, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 10, further comprising:
determining directions from a current location to the preferred parking location (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0076]-[0077] discloses determining directions (map data) from a current location to a preferred parking location; [0080] discloses a path planned corresponding to the preferred parking location and creates a path of movement of the vehicle)
wherein the outputting further comprises outputting a map from the current location to the preferred parking location (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0092]-[0094] which discloses creating a map from the current location (map database determining the optimal parking location) to the preferred parking location)
Regarding claim 17, Shiva discloses: a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device from a second user device, information relating to a destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0063]-[0065] which discloses receiving information (input as to a desired destination for the current vehicle ride) relating to a destination from a user)
determining, by the computing device and based on data from a database of crowdsourced information, a set of potential parking locations (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0005]-[0010], [0069]-[0070][ which discloses determining a set of potential parking locations based on the information provided by the user (a plurality of parking locations proximate the destination) and parking information obtained)
receiving, by the computing device, a preferred parking location selected from the set of potential preferred parking locations (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0005]-[0010], [0055]-[0056], [0069]-[0070], [0077] which discloses a determination made that limits and identifies a set of possible parking locations as a result of accessing stored information involving the stored roadway, impediments (construction), and hazard information impacting routing and parking availability relative to this information, this means determining, by a computing device, based on receiving the information, and by correlating historical parking data, from a database of crowdsourced information, with parking locations proximate to the destination, a set of potential parking locations)
Shiva is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Charles teaches: wherein the data from the database of crowdsourced information comprises a plurality of parking locations detected based on speed data received from each of a plurality of user devices (see at least Charles, Fig.4A, which discloses a crowd-sourced parking area recommendation system; ¶¶ [0005]-[0007], [0011], [0018]-[0020], [0022] discloses a crowd-sourced parking area recommendation system that draws data from other drivers reporting on similar parking area locations, analyzing an indicia of accuracy, and based on the conditions, generating/selecting a parking area based on the crowdsourced data; crowdsourced data may be non-personally identifiable data such as location information, geographic coordinate data (e.g., latitude/longitude), timestamp data, heading information, and floating car data, etc., sourced from other drivers, this means that the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated by a plurality of users at one or more destinations; using speed data, to generate a plurality of parking locations associated with the plurality of crowdsourced user devices)
sending, to the second user device, the set of potential parking locations (see at least Charles, ¶¶ [0022]-[0023], [0025] discloses communicating information related to the generated parking location based on crowdsourced data; displayed and reported onto the computing device viewable by the user)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shiva to include selecting, based on tracked movements of a plurality of user devices, a preferred parking location from the set of potential parking locations, wherein the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated, by a plurality of users of the plurality of user devices, with the destination and sending, to the user device, information relating to the preferred parking location as taught by Charles. The examiner would like to note that the disclosure of Shiva does appear to send information of the preferred parking location that is viewable by the user, however, the data itself is primarily transmitted to the vehicle systems, prioritizing autonomous control of the vehicle instead of user approval of the preferred parking location. For these reasons, the Charles reference has been applied. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Shiva, wherein user input related to the preferred parking location can be taken into consideration via obtained crowdsourced data, thus allowing more variance of choice regarding the user’s preferences that may be integrated into the planned path of the vehicle. Additionally, this allows the user to compare parking choices with a bit more reliability and accuracy of spots vouched by other drivers.
Regarding claim 19, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 17, further comprising:
determining directions to the preferred parking location from a current location (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0076]-[0077] discloses determining directions (map data) from a current location to a preferred parking location; [0080] discloses a path planned corresponding to the preferred parking location and creates a path of movement of the vehicle)
determining directions from the preferred parking location to the destination and sending, to the second user device one or both of the directions to the preferred parking location from the current location and the directions from the preferred parking location to the destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0092]-[0094] which discloses creating a map from the current location (map database determining the optimal parking location) to the preferred parking location)
Regarding claim 20, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 17, further comprising:
receiving, from a parking data server, delay information of the plurality of parking locations, where the delay information comprises one or more of: road closure information at the destination, construction delay information at the destination, or accident information at the destination; safe passage information to the destination (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0093]-[0094] which discloses receiving parking delay information of the set of potential parking locations (exemplary parking situations relative to a parking location and destination involving proximity to moving and/or stationary objects) comprising road closure information (keep-clear zones) in the popularity score for each of the one or more potential parking locations)
wherein the determining the set of preferred parking locations is further based on the delay information of the plurality of parking locations (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0093]-[0094] discloses determining a set of potential parking locations based on popularity scores (respective scores) and parking delay information (cost map) of the potential parking locations)
Regarding claim 21, Shiva discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the second user device, indications of one or more user preferences associated with parking, wherein the determining the set of potential parking locations is further based on the one or more user preferences (see at least Shiva, ¶¶ [0065], [0069]-[0070], [0076]-[0077], which discloses receiving, from the user device, indications of one or more user preferences associated with parking, wherein the determining the set of potential parking locations is further based on the one or more user preferences)
Regarding claim 23, Shiva is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Charles teaches: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining respective routes from each of the plurality of parking locations to the destination, wherein the selecting the preferred parking location is based on the route from the preferred parking location to the destination (see at least Charles, Fig.4A, which discloses a crowd-sourced parking area recommendation system; ¶¶ [0005]-[0007], [0011], [0018]-[0020], [0022] discloses a crowd-sourced parking area recommendation system that draws data from other drivers reporting on similar parking area locations, analyzing an indicia of accuracy, and based on the conditions, generating/selecting a parking area based on the crowdsourced data; crowdsourced data may be non-personally identifiable data such as location information, geographic coordinate data (e.g., latitude/longitude), timestamp data, heading information, and floating car data, etc., sourced from other drivers, this means that the tracked movements indicate a plurality of parking locations that were associated by a plurality of users at one or more destinations; [0023]-[0025] discloses determining respective routes corresponding to the tracked movements, from each of the plurality of parking locations to the destination, wherein the selecting the preferred parking location is based on the route from the preferred parking location to the destination)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shiva to include determining respective routes, corresponding to the tracked movements, from each of the plurality of parking locations to the destination, wherein the selecting the preferred parking location is based on the route from the preferred parking location to the destination as taught by Charles. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Shiva, wherein user input related to the preferred parking location can be taken into consideration via obtained crowdsourced data, thus allowing more variance of choice regarding the user’s preferences that may be integrated into the planned path of the vehicle. Additionally, this allows the user to compare parking choices with a bit more reliability and accuracy of spots vouched by other drivers.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Shiva in view of Iwuchukwu Tochukwu et al. (US201400278081A1), hereinafter referred to as Tochukwu.
Regarding claim 16, modified Shiva is silent on, however in the same field of endeavor, Tochukwu teaches: The method of claim 12, further comprising:
ranking, by the user device, the set of potential parking locations based on the input comprising the answers to the one or more destination-specific questions (see at least Tochukwu, ¶¶ [0023]-[0024] discloses comparing the set of parking locations by ranks of importance (prioritization of one criterion of the point-of-interest) to identify a preferred parking location, one or more destination specific questions (parking duration) based on user input)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Shiva to include ranking, by the user device, the set of potential parking locations based on the second input comprising the answers to the one or more destination-specific questions as taught Tochukwu. The examiner would like to note that the disclosure of modified Shiva appears to receive input to certain questions (criterion) regarding a destination, in order to determine a preferred parking location, however the ranking of criterion in terms of user preference towards certain questions is not as explicitly disclosed. Incorporating the teachings of Tochukwu would allow for an improvement of the base device of modified Shiva, that offers more user customization in terms of their preferences.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664