DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are pending and currently under review.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coughlan et al. (US 2015/0168088).
Regarding claim 1, Coughlan et al. discloses an amorphous brazing foil having an atomic composition of Ni60Cr25B2P10Si3, which falls within the claimed range as calculated by the examiner [abstract, 0031]. Coughlan et al. does not expressly teach controlling B/Cr as claimed; however, the aforementioned composition of Coughlan et al. naturally results in a B/Cr value of 0.08, which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, Coughlan et al. discloses the foil of claim 1 (see previous). Coughlan et al. teaches that the foil has a thickness of 25 to 51 micrometers and fits between two sheets having widths of 1.9 cm and 2.5 cm, respectively [0018, 0031]. The examiner notes that these ranges fall within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 3, Coughlan et al. discloses the foil of claim 1 (see previous). Coughlan et al. does not disclose any Mo inclusion (ie. zero percent), which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, Coughlan et al. discloses the foil of claim 1 (see previous). Coughlan et al. further discloses that the foil contains less than 10 percent crystallinity, which translates to an amorphous phase of at least 90 percent which falls within the claimed range [0014].
Regarding claim 5, Coughlan et al. discloses the foil of claim 1 (see previous). Coughlan et al. further discloses a liquidus temperature of 970 degrees C, which falls within the claimed range [0031].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann et al. (US 2016/0207130).
Regarding claim 1, Hartmann et al. discloses an amorphous brazing foil embodiment 22 having a composition NiCr22B2.5P13Si3 in atomic percent, which falls within the claimed composition when converted to weight percent as determined by the examiner and seen in table 1 below [abstract, 0096].
Hartmann et al. also alternatively discloses a broad compositional range as also seen in table 1 below, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [0014]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Hartmann et al. does not specify a B/Cr ratio as claimed; however, the claimed B/Cr ratio merely further limits the B and Cr ranges which is substantially close to the embodiment 22 of Hartmann et al. and overlapping with and obvious over the broad ranges of Hartmann et al. Regarding said closeness, the examiner notes that the B/Cr ratio of embodiment 22 of Hartmann et al. is approximately 0.11, which is substantially close to the claimed B/Cr upper limit of 0.1 such that similar properties would have been expected despite a mere difference of only 0.01. This is evidenced by applicant’s own data which shows that B/Cr ranges of up to 0.17 achieve good corrosion properties of maximum corrosion depth of up to 0.013 mm [table 1 instant spec.].
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Hartmann et al. (alloy 22)
Hartmann et al. (broad, at.%)
Cr
19 – 30
22.2
2 – 30
P
4 – 9
7.8
2 – 20
Si
0.2 – 4
1.6
0 – 14
B
0.3 – 1
0.5
0.5 – 14
Ni & impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
B/Cr
0 – 0.17
0.11
overlaps
Regarding claim 2, Hartmann et al. discloses the foil of claim 1 (see previous). Hartmann et al. further teaches a foil thickness of 15 to 75 micrometers and a width of 30 to 150 mm, which fall within the claimed ranges [0058].
Regarding claim 3, Hartmann et al. discloses the foil of claim 1 (see previous). Hartmann et al. further teaches inclusion of Mo in an amount of up to 3 atomic percent, which falls within the claimed range [0054].
Regarding claim 4, Hartmann et al. discloses the foil of claim 1 (see previous). Hartmann et al. further teaches that the foil is at least 80% amorphous, which falls within the claimed range [0057].
Regarding claim 5, Hartmann et al. discloses the foil of claim 1 (see previous). Hartmann et al. further teaches that embodiment 22 above has a liquidus temperature of 1010 degrees C, which falls within the claimed range [0096]. Alternatively, Hartmann et al. broadly teaches a liquid temperature range of 1080 degrees C or less, which overlaps with the claimed range [0043]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
The previous 102 rejections over Hartmann et al. have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 regarding the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hartmann et al. does not teach controlling B/Cr to achieve desired corrosion properties as disclosed in the instant application. In response, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant also argues that the embodiment 22 of Hartmann et al. does not meet the claimed ranges. The examiner cannot concur. The composition of embodiment 22 of Hartmann et al. is considered to be substantially close to the claimed range such that prima facie obviousness still exists because similar properties would have been expected from the close ranges wherein the only difference is a value of a mere 0.01 in B/Cr.
Applicant’s arguments are further moot in view of the new grounds of rejection over Coughlan et al. above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734