DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Newly submitted claims 21-22 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention (Group I, claims 1-16) elected without traverse (05-15-2026) for the following reasons:
3. Applicant’s elected invention was directed towards
identifying a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by both the aerial vehicle and a first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle, resulting in a first analysis; and
causing, based on the first analysis, the aerial vehicle to issue the reports in accordance with both the first triggering condition and the first rate,
as stated in claim 1.
The newly submitted claim 21 recites that the identifying the first triggering condition for the first analysis does not require the first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle and the issuing the reports by the aerial vehicle is not in accordance with the first rate.
Since applicant has elected group I (claims 1-16) without traverse and the newly submitted claims are directed to non-elected claims, claims 21-22 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-10, 14, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher ("A Method of and an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle for Acting Upon a Restriction in Services for the UAV, a UAV Control Server and a Base Station", WO 2021209155 A1, pub. date 2021-10-21) in view of Li ("Communication Method and Device, Computer Readable Storage Medium", CN 117499945 A, pub. date 2024-02-02), and further in view of Tang ("Circuit, Base Station, Method and Recording Medium", CN 109891476 A, pub. date 2019-06-14).
Regarding claim 1, Poscher teaches a device (pg. 4, lines 21-23, “receiving, by the UAV, from the UAV control server, over the telecommunication network an instruction message comprising the action to be performed by the UAV”), comprising:
a processing system including a processor (pg. 4, line 21, UAV control server comprises a processing system including a processor); and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising (pg. 4, line 21, UAV control server comprises a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising):
analyzing to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle and a first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle, resulting in a first analysis (pg. 12, lines 19-25, “The above described request 24 may be an RRC Connection reconfiguration request. Such a request comprises a trigger event, a report interval (~a first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle) and a neighbour cell list. The trigger event (~first triggering condition) specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report (~reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle) and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1. The neighbour cell list may specify to which gNodeB’s the measurement report should be tailored”); and
causing, based on the first analysis, the aerial vehicle to issue the reports in accordance with the first triggering condition and the first rate (pg. 12, lines 19-25, “The above described request 24 may be an RRC Connection reconfiguration request. Such a request comprises a trigger event, a report interval (~a first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle) and a neighbour cell list. The trigger event (~first triggering condition) specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report (~issue the reports in accordance with the first triggering condition) and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1. The neighbour cell list may specify to which gNodeB’s the measurement report should be tailored”).
Poscher does not explicitly teach
obtaining first data that indicates an amount of mobility of an aerial vehicle;
obtaining second data that indicates a first location of the aerial vehicle;
analyzing at least the first data and the second data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle.
However, Li teaches
obtaining first data that indicates an amount of mobility of an aerial vehicle (pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle. or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast (~first data that indicates an amount of mobility of an aerial vehicle), therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”);
obtaining second data that indicates a first location of the aerial vehicle (pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle (~second data that indicates a first location of the aerial vehicle). or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast, therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”);
analyzing at least the first data and the second data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle (pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle. or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast, therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Poscher in order to determine why or when an aerial vehicle triggers data reports, allowing the network or ground control to predict, adapt, or troubleshoot communication overhead and traffic management.
The combination does not explicitly teach obtaining third data that indicates a remaining battery life of a battery of the aerial vehicle; and analyzing at least the third data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle.
However, Tang teaches obtaining third data that indicates a remaining battery life of a battery of the aerial vehicle (pg. 18, par. 2, “in the case the amount of remaining battery is quite low, unmanned aerial vehicle 200 more frequently send the status report to the base station 100”); and
analyzing at least the third data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle (pg. 18, par. 2, “in the case the amount of remaining battery is quite low, unmanned aerial vehicle 200 more frequently send the status report to the base station 100”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tang with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li in order to provide operational safety, optimized communication management, and automated emergency protocols.
Regarding claim 2, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the aerial vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (Poscher pg. 2, line 21, “an unmanned aerial vehicle, UAV”).
Regarding claim 5, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the first triggering condition pertains to a first signal strength of a first signal emitted by first network or system infrastructure (Poscher pg. 11, par. 3, "The trigger event specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1 ... The above described measurement report 25 may, for example, comprise the signal strength associated with the gNodeBI 22 (~a first signal strength of a first signal emitted by first network or system infrastructure) as well as the received signal strength associated with the gNodeB2 23”).
Regarding claim 6, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the first triggering condition pertains to a second signal strength of a second signal emitted by second network or system infrastructure (Poscher pg. 11, par. 3, "The trigger event specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1 ... The above described measurement report 25 may, for example, comprise the signal strength associated with the gNodeBI 22 as well as the received signal strength associated with the gNodeB2 23 (~a second signal strength of a second signal emitted by second network or system infrastructure)”).
Regarding claim 8, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the causing of the aerial vehicle to issue the reports in accordance with the first triggering condition and the first rate is based on transmitting a message from a base station to the aerial vehicle (Poscher pg. 10, par. 9, “UAV 1 may have an RRC connection established with the gNodeBI 22, and the gNodeBI 22 may inform the UAV 1 in which event any received signal strength should be reported, by sending a configuration message, RRC Connection Reconfiguration message 24”; pg. 11, par. 3, “The above described request 24 may be an RRC Connection reconfiguration request. Such a request comprises a trigger event, a report interval (~a first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle) and a neighbour cell list. The trigger event (~first triggering condition) specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report (~issue the reports in accordance with the first triggering condition) and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1. The neighbour cell list may specify to which gNodeB’s the measurement report should be tailored”).
Regarding claim 9, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1,
analyzing to identify a second triggering condition associated with the reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle and a second rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle, resulting in a second analysis (Poscher pg. 12, lines 12-14, “Then when one of the events (~comprising second triggering condition) specified occurs, the UAV 1 may report the received signal strength to its gNodeBI 22 through a Measurement Report message 25”; pg. 12, lines 19-25, “The above described request 24 may be an RRC Connection reconfiguration request. Such a request comprises a trigger event, a report interval (~a second rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle) and a neighbour cell list. The trigger event (~second triggering condition) specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report (~reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle) and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1. The neighbour cell list may specify to which gNodeB’s the measurement report should be tailored”); and
causing, based on the second analysis, the aerial vehicle to issue the reports in accordance with the second triggering condition and the second rate (Poscher pg. 12, lines 19-25, “The above described request 24 may be an RRC Connection reconfiguration request. Such a request comprises a trigger event, a report interval (~a second rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle) and a neighbour cell list. The trigger event (~second triggering condition) specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report (~issue the reports in accordance with the second triggering condition) and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1. The neighbour cell list may specify to which gNodeB’s the measurement report should be tailored”).
The combination of Poscher and Tang does not explicitly teach
wherein the operations further comprise: subsequent to the causing, obtaining fourth data that indicates a second amount of mobility of the aerial vehicle;
subsequent to the causing, obtaining fifth data that indicates a second location of the aerial vehicle;
analyzing at least the fourth data and the fifth data to identify a second triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle.
However, Li further teaches wherein operations further comprise: subsequent to causing, obtaining fourth data that indicates a second amount of mobility of an aerial vehicle (pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle. or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast (~fourth data - data value changes as the measurement is taken again due to constant UAV movement), therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”);
subsequent to the causing, obtaining fifth data that indicates a second location of the aerial vehicle (pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle (~fifth data - data value changes as the measurement is taken again due to constant UAV movement). or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast, therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”);
analyzing at least the fourth data and the fifth data to identify a second triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle (data values change as the measurement is taken again at a later time; pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle (~fifth data). or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast (~fourth data), therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to determine why or when an aerial vehicle triggers data reports, allowing the network or ground control to predict, adapt, or troubleshoot communication overhead and traffic management.
The combination of Poscher and Li does not explicitly teach subsequent to the causing, obtaining sixth data that indicates a second remaining battery life of the battery of the aerial vehicle; and
analyzing at least the sixth data to identify a second triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle.
However, Tang further teaches subsequent to causing, obtaining sixth data that indicates a second remaining battery life of a battery of an aerial vehicle (remaining battery life changes as the measurement is taken again at a later time; pg. 18, par. 2, “in the case the amount of remaining battery is quite low, unmanned aerial vehicle 200 more frequently send the status report to the base station 100”); and
analyzing at least the sixth data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle (pg. 18, par. 2, “in the case the amount of remaining battery is quite low, unmanned aerial vehicle 200 more frequently send the status report to the base station 100”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tang with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to provide operational safety, optimized communication management, and automated emergency protocols.
Regarding claim 10, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 9,
wherein the second triggering condition is different from the first triggering condition (Poscher pg. 12, lines 12-14, “when one of the events (~comprises first and second triggering conditions) specifi12-14ed occurs, the UAV 1 may report the received signal strength to its gNodeBI 22 through a Measurement Report message 25”),
the second rate is different from the first rate,
or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 14, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1,
wherein the operations further comprise: causing, based on the first analysis, at least a portion of responsibility for a communication session involving the aerial vehicle to be transferred from a first base station to a second base station (Poscher pg. 12, lines 12-18, “Then when one of the events specified occurs, the UAV 1 may report the received signal strength to its gNodeBI 22 through a Measurement message 25. The gNodeBI 22, upon receipt of the message, may decide whether to initiate a handover or not by reviewing the reported strength information and by reviewing, for example, the overload status of the gNodeB2 23. Once decided, the gNodeBI 22 initiates handover of the UAV 1 to the gNodeB2 23”).
Regarding claim 23, Poscher teaches a method, comprising:
analyzing, by the processing system (pg. 4, line 21, UAV control server comprises a processing system including a processor), to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle and a first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle, resulting in a first analysis (pg. 12, lines 19-25, “The above described request 24 may be an RRC Connection reconfiguration request. Such a request comprises a trigger event, a report interval (~a first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle) and a neighbour cell list. The trigger event (~first triggering condition) specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report (~reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle) and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1. The neighbour cell list may specify to which gNodeB’s the measurement report should be tailored”); and
causing, by the processing system (pg. 4, line 21, UAV control server comprises a processing system including a processor) and based on the first analysis, the aerial vehicle to issue the reports in accordance with the first triggering condition and the first rate (pg. 12, lines 19-25, “The above described request 24 may be an RRC Connection reconfiguration request. Such a request comprises a trigger event, a report interval (~a first rate at which the reports are issued by the aerial vehicle) and a neighbour cell list. The trigger event (~first triggering condition) specifies the trigger for the UAV 1 to send a measurement report (~issue the reports in accordance with the first triggering condition) and is, often, related to received signal strengths. The report interval may specify how often the measurement report should be reported by the UAV 1. The neighbour cell list may specify to which gNodeB’s the measurement report should be tailored”).
Poscher does not explicitly teach
obtaining, by a processing system including a processor, first data that indicates an amount of mobility of an aerial vehicle;
obtaining, by the processing system, second data that indicates a first location of the aerial vehicle; and
analyzing, by the processing system, the first data and the second data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle.
However, Li teaches
obtaining, by a processing system including a processor (pg. 10, lines 20-21, “computer program is run by a processor”), first data that indicates an amount of mobility of an aerial vehicle (pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle. or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast, therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”);
obtaining, by the processing system (pg. 10, lines 20-21, “computer program is run by a processor”) second data that indicates a first location of the aerial vehicle(pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle. or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast, therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”); and
analyzing, by the processing system (pg. 10, lines 20-21, “computer program is run by a processor”), the first data and the second data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle (pg. 20, pars. 1-2, “For example, if the device type of the terminal device is an unmanned aerial vehicle, the contents reported by the measurement result are as follows: the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle and the attitude of the unmanned aerial vehicle. or, the reporting periods of the sensing measurement results of the terminal devices of different device types may be different. For example, the speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle is fast, and the attitude change is fast, therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device of the unmanned aerial vehicle can be small, so that the sensing measurement result obtained by the network device is more reliable. For example, the intelligent mobile phone is in a low-speed motion state, and the type of the device is that the barrier information around the terminal device of the intelligent mobile phone may not be changed for a long time. Therefore, the reporting period of the sensing measurement result corresponding to the terminal device whose device type is the intelligent mobile phone can be relatively large”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Poscher in order to determine why or when an aerial vehicle triggers data reports, allowing the network or ground control to predict, adapt, or troubleshoot communication overhead and traffic management.
The combination does not explicitly teach
obtaining, by the processing system, third data that indicates a remaining battery life of a battery of the aerial vehicle; and
analyzing, by the processing system, the third data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle.
However, Tang teaches obtaining, by a processing system (pg. 39, par. 2, “processing unit 150”), third data that indicates a remaining battery life of a battery of an aerial vehicle (pg. 18, par. 2, “in the case the amount of remaining battery is quite low, unmanned aerial vehicle 200 more frequently send the status report to the base station 100”); and
analyzing, by the processing system (pg. 39, par. 2, “processing unit 150”), the third data to identify a first triggering condition associated with reports that are issued by the aerial vehicle (pg. 18, par. 2, “in the case the amount of remaining battery is quite low, unmanned aerial vehicle 200 more frequently send the status report to the base station 100”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tang with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li in order to provide operational safety, optimized communication management, and automated emergency protocols.
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Balazs (US 12305867 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the analyzing comprises comparing the first data to at least a first threshold, comparing the second data to at least a second threshold, and comparing the third data to at least a third threshold.
However, Balazs teaches wherein analyzing comprises comparing first data to at least a first threshold (claim 11, “comparing, by the controller, the first data associated with operation of the nebulizer to the first threshold”), comparing second data to at least a second threshold (claim 13, “comparing, by the controller, the second data associated with operation of the nebulizer to the second threshold”), and comparing third data to at least a third threshold (claim 15, “comparing, by the controller, the third data associated with operation of the nebulizer to the third threshold”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Balazs with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to enable precise multi-variable decision making, reduce false positives, and trigger targeted automated actions based on the specific state of a system.
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Zhang ("Detection Method, Apparatus and System for Unauthorized Unmanned Aerial Vehicle", EP 3 952 377 A1, pub. date 09-02-2022).
Regarding claim 4, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining fourth data that indicates an identifier of the aerial vehicle, wherein the analyzing is further based on the fourth data.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining fourth data that indicates an identifier of the aerial vehicle, wherein the analyzing is further based on fourth data ([0092-0093],“The unauthorized uncrewed aerial vehicle reporting message is used to indicate that the user equipment is an unauthorized uncrewed aerial vehicle. For example, the unauthorized uncrewed aerial vehicle reporting message may include the identifier of the user equipment, recent attribute information, and the like. Optionally, the unauthorized uncrewed aerial vehicle reporting message may further include a type of the unauthorized uncrewed aerial vehicle, that is, user equipment that does not have the uncrewed aerial system communication capability, or user equipment that has the uncrewed aerial system communication capability but is not registered for uncrewed aerial system communication, or user equipment that has the uncrewed aerial system communication capability and is registered for uncrewed aerial system communication but a mobility attribute of the user equipment does not meet a mobility attribute allowed by subscription data”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li in order to enable vehicle-specific customization, tracking, and safety protocols during the analysis phase.
9. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Neubauer ("Apparatus and Method for Guiding Unmanned Aerial Vehicles", EP 3751756 A1, pub. date 2020-12-16).
Regarding claim 7, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining fourth data that indicates an amount or extent of coverage provided by network or system infrastructure, wherein the analyzing is further based on the fourth data.
However, Neubauer teaches wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining data that indicates an amount or extent of coverage provided by network or system infrastructure, wherein the analyzing is further based on the data ([0043], “obtained from predicted coverage data indicating network coverage in the flight area and currently used for guiding the UAV (~analyzed to guide the UAV)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Neubauer with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to optimize network performance, eliminate blind spots, and ensure reliable service delivery across the target environment.
10. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Wang ("User Interaction With Personal Care Device", CN 116234668 A, pub. date 2023-06-06).
Regarding claim 11, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 9.
The combination does not explicitly teach
wherein the second analysis indicates that: the fourth data differs from the first data in an amount that is greater than a first threshold,
the fifth data differs from the second data in an amount that is greater than a second threshold,
the sixth data differs from the third data in an amount that is greater than a third threshold, or
any combination thereof.
However, Wang teaches wherein a second analysis indicates that: a fourth data differs from a first data in an amount that is greater than a first threshold (pg. 5, par.1, “the acquired device usage data (~first data) and the stored reference device use data (~fourth data) differ by greater than a first defined threshold amount (~second analysis); or the difference between the obtained performance data (~second data) and the stored reference performance data (~third data) is greater than the second defined threshold amount (~first analysis)”),
the fifth data differs from the second data in an amount that is greater than a second threshold,
the sixth data differs from the third data in an amount that is greater than a third threshold, or
any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to provide immediate, automated detection of a significant change or anomaly, and filtering out background noise and triggering targeted actions only when a meaningful event occurs.
11. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Mahalingam ("Distributed Detection and Avoidance for Unmanned Vehicle", CN 111566712 A, pub. date 2020-08-21).
Regarding claim 12, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise:
causing, based on the first analysis, a modification of one or more communication parameters associated with: the aerial vehicle, a terrestrial user equipment, a base station, or any combination thereof.
However, Mahalingam teaches wherein operations further comprise:
causing, based on a first analysis, a modification of one or more communication parameters associated with: an aerial vehicle, a terrestrial user equipment, a base station, or any combination thereof (pg. 21, par. 1, “UAV may transmit a location report aperiodicably (e.g., when an event is triggered). For example, when the UAV observes that the necessary navigation performance (RNP) metric falls below a pre-configured threshold, the UAV may trigger an event, and may indicate an event to the UTM system via the location report. The report can indicate the deviation of RNP (~Required Navigation Performance), for example, below the threshold value (~first analysis). The UTM system may configure the parameter uav location report interval at the UAV when its task is approved. UTM can modify the parameter uav position report interval (~a modification of one or more communication parameters). For example, the UTM may modify the parameter uav position report interval after the start of the task”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mahalingam with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to dynamically optimize network performance, manage interference, and maintain reliable connectivity in a three-dimensional wireless environment.
12. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, further in view of Mahalingam, and further in view of Xue (US 20190306675 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Mahalingam teaches the device of claim 12.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more communication parameters pertain to: a signal transmission power level, a receiver sensitivity level, a frequency band or frequency associated with signals that are transmitted, a modulation scheme that is utilized, a demodulation scheme that is utilized, an encryption scheme that is utilized, a decryption scheme that is utilized, or any combination thereof.
However, Xue teaches wherein the one or more communication parameters pertain to: a signal transmission power level ([0086], “UE configured as a UAV will measure received power levels based on well-known reference signals from the cells, and selectively report to received power levels to a serving cell”), a receiver sensitivity level, a frequency band or frequency associated with signals that are transmitted, a modulation scheme that is utilized, a demodulation scheme that is utilized, an encryption scheme that is utilized, a decryption scheme that is utilized, or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Xue with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li, Tang, and Mahalingam in order to optimize network efficiency, manage interference, and balance energy consumption with connection reliability.
13. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Vivanco (US 20220369205 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: causing, based on the first analysis, the aerial vehicle to change a trajectory of travel from a first trajectory to a second trajectory that is different from the first trajectory.
However, Vivanco teaches wherein operations further comprise: causing, based on a first analysis, an aerial vehicle to change a trajectory of travel from a first trajectory to a second trajectory that is different from the first trajectory ([0026], “In addition, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), such as aerial UE, can scan neighbor equipment signal pilots (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement values) to determine whether it can fly in a given direction. In instances where signal pilots are not detectable in a direction in which a UAV is traversing, the UAV can change or adjust its trajectory to better align with cellular coverage where appropriate signal pilots are more evident”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Vivanco with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to enable dynamic path correction and collision avoidance.
14. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Upadhya ("Determinable Target Location for a Mobile Device", CN 113365209 A, pub. date 2021-09-07).
Regarding claim 16, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: causing, based on the first analysis, the aerial vehicle to change location from the first location to a second location that is different from the first location.
However, Upadhya wherein operations further comprise: causing, based on a first analysis, an aerial vehicle to change location from the first location to a second location that is different from the first location (pg. 11, par. 2, “the positioning coordinator 29 may form a portion of the BS 24 or the core network 28, or may be provided within some other portion of the network shown in FIG. 2. The positioning coordinator 29 may include one or more processors or controllers configured to determine, for one or more of the UAV 20, 21, one or more of the estimated or known future communication states based on at least the UAV 20; 21, and determining the target location of the future time slot. The determined target location may be sent by the location coordinator 29 or another module to the associated one or more UAV 20, 21, to automatically cause location changes at or just prior to the associated time slot”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Upadhya with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to dynamically adapt the behavior or positioning of an aerial vehicle based on data analysis, wherein the vehicle uses real-time or analytical insights to move to a more advantageous position.
15. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poscher in view of Li, further in view of Tang, and further in view of Hong (US 20220046579 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Poscher in view of Li, and further in view of Tang teaches the method of claim 23.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the aerial vehicle executes an application that pertains to: security, agriculture, forestry, or any combination thereof.
However, Hong teaches wherein an aerial vehicle executes an application that pertains to: security, agriculture ([0029], “UAV 13 has been widely used in aerial photography, agriculture”), forestry, or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Hong with the teaching of Poscher as modified by Li and Tang in order to enable precision farming by monitoring crops, gathering real-time field data, and efficiently applying treatments like water, fertilizers, and pesticides.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643