DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filed 02/08/2024 for Application number 18/436,229. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/08/2024, 10/06/2025, 02/18/2026 and 08/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: "an non-acceptable" should read "a non-acceptable". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable” in claims 1, 12, and 20 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification only discloses “comparing more recent information from social media, literature, texts, images, voices, or the like to more prevalent and/or existing social standards to decide what is acceptable and what is non-acceptable as a response.”[¶0022] and “defining information that is in a first category (e.g., “acceptable’), a second category (e.g., “non-acceptable”), and/or a third category (e.g., “tolerable”).” [¶0035] while not defining what is considered to be “acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable”. Since these terms are subjective definitions which differ from person to person, the metes and bounds of the claim is not made clear and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to properly avoid infringing upon a claim when no definition of acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable has been made.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret “acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable” as any three distinct classifications/categories.
Claims 2-11 and 13-19 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim without curing any of the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gupta et al. ("US 20250124236 A1", cited by Applicant in the IDS filed 10/06/2025, hereinafter "Gupta").
Regarding claim 1, Gupta teaches A computing platform comprising:
at least one processor (¶0081);
a communication interface communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (¶0082-¶0083); and
memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (¶0083), cause the computing platform to:
train, using historical information indicating a plurality of regimes for large language model (LLM) outputs (“ The query processing module 335 receives and processes queries that access data stored by the data storage system 110…The inference tasks may include, but are not limited to, natural language processing (NLP) tasks, audio processing tasks, image processing tasks, video processing tasks, and the like. The NLP tasks may include, but are not limited to, text generation, query processing, machine translation, chatbot applications, and the like” [¶0042-¶0043]), an LLM steward model, wherein training the LLM steward model configures the LLM steward model to generate LLM validation information indicating classifications of LLM outputs as acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable (“The evaluation module 420 receives the set of generated responses from the inference module 410 and evaluates the set of generated responses with respect to an evaluation objective. In one instance, the evaluation module 420 implements an evaluation LLM (“LLM steward model”) which applies a selected evaluation function to each of the generated responses.” [¶0046; evaluation functions correspond to a plurality of regimes. See further ¶0061, “Hallucinations may also include factual inaccuracies and improbable scenarios. The evaluator LLM uses contextual information provided to the LLM to identify hallucinated portions of the generated responses. In another embodiment, the evaluator LLM compares the generated responses to an expected output.” (The evaluator LLM determines if an output is acceptable, tolerable or non-acceptable.)]);
input, into an LLM, an LLM prompt, wherein inputting the LLM prompt causes the LLM to generate an LLM output (“The inference module 410 receives a prompt from a user of a client device 116 and provides the prompt to the one or more selected LLMs deployed in the model serving system(s) 170 to perform inference. The LLMs generate the response to the prompt from the knowledge that the LLM was trained on and/or from the contextual information included in the prompt.” [¶0045]);
input the LLM output into the LLM steward model, wherein inputting the LLM output into the LLM steward model causes the LLM steward model to output the LLM validation information (“The evaluation module 420 receives the set of generated responses from the inference module 410 and evaluates the set of generated responses with respect to an evaluation objective.” [¶0046]);
based on outputting LLM validation information indicating that the LLM output is acceptable or tolerable, send the LLM output to a user device for presentation (“As described in FIG. 4, the evaluation module 420 implements an evaluation LLM which applies a selected evaluation function to each of the generated responses. Some examples of evaluation functions include, and are not limited to, keyword similarity, toxicity detection, and hallucination detection. The UI element generator module 430 generates one or more user interface elements on the UI to display the results of the evaluation for the generated responses.” [¶0070]);
based on outputting LLM validation information indicating that the LLM output is non-acceptable, update the LLM output to conform with a corresponding subset of the plurality of regimes (“For example, for the keyword similarity evaluation function, the UI element generator module 430 receives the position of keywords found in the expected output and the position of keywords found in each of the generated responses of the LLMs. The UI element generator module 430 generates one or more UI elements which highlight the identified keywords. For example, keywords found in both the expected output and the generated response are highlighted green to indicate a match. In embodiments where one or more keywords present in the expected output are not present in the generated response, the UI element generator module 430 generates a UI element that highlights the missing keyword red.” [¶0070-¶0071]); and
update, via a dynamic feedback loop and based on feedback received from the user device, the LLM steward model. (“The UI includes a feedback mechanism 550a, 550b which allows users to indicate the quality of the generated response.” [¶0076])
Regarding claim 2, Gupta teaches The computing platform of claim 1, wherein the historical information includes one or more of: text information, images, speech information, structured information, three dimensional signals, literature information, cultural information, social information, geographical information, legal information, or linguistic information. (¶0025; discloses text/image data for prompts/responses, note: The claim recites “one or more of” thus under BRI the examiner is only required to map to one of the recited elements)
Regarding claim 3, Gupta teaches The computing platform of claim 1, wherein each of the regimes define content that, when included in an output from the LLM, is one or more of: acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable. (“As described in FIG. 4, the evaluation module 420 implements an evaluation LLM which applies a selected evaluation function to each of the generated responses. Some examples of evaluation functions include, and are not limited to, keyword similarity, toxicity detection, and hallucination detection.” [¶0070])
Regarding claim 4, Gupta teaches The computing platform of claim 1, wherein outputting the LLM validation information comprises:
identifying one or more regimes, of the plurality of regimes, associated with the LLM prompt (“As described in FIG. 4, the evaluation module 420 implements an evaluation LLM which applies a selected evaluation function to each of the generated responses.” [¶0070]),
identifying a location of the LLM output, within the one or more regimes associated with the LLM prompt (“The UI element generator module 430 receives the characterizing data (e.g., position) of each of the identified words in the generated responses from the one or more LLMs and generates a UI element on the UI which highlights the identified words.” [¶0070]),
based on identifying that the LLM output is within an acceptable regime or a tolerable regime, outputting an indication that the LLM output is acceptable (“A predetermined toxicity threshold can be used to determine if a generated response is toxic or non-toxic. For example, a response having a toxicity score less than the toxicity threshold may be considered non-toxic. In an embodiment, the evaluator LLM classifies the responses as toxic or non-toxic.” [¶0060]), and
based on identifying that the LLM output is within an non-acceptable regime, outputting an indication that the LLM output is non-acceptable. (“A predetermined toxicity threshold can be used to determine if a generated response is toxic or non-toxic. For example, a response having a toxicity score less than the toxicity threshold may be considered non-toxic. In an embodiment, the evaluator LLM classifies the responses as toxic or non-toxic.” [¶0060])
Regarding claim 5, Gupta teaches The computing platform of claim 4, wherein the LLM steward model comprises a foundational model, and wherein identifying the one or more regimes associated with the LLM prompt comprises:
identifying a plurality of overlapping clusters, within the foundational model, that characterize the LLM prompt, and identifying regimes corresponding to the plurality of overlapping clusters. (“In one embodiment, the query processing module 335 provides one or more queries to appropriate clusters of the data layer 108, and receives responses to the queries from clusters in which the queries are executed.” [¶0042; these clusters would be overlapping clusters as Gupta’s evaluation functions (similarity detection, toxicity detection, etc.) would share similar resources such as characterizing data])
Regarding claim 6, Gupta teaches The computing platform of claim 5, wherein the plurality of overlapping clusters are identified based on an internet protocol (IP) address of a user submitting the LLM prompt. (“The system environment 100 shown by FIG. 1 includes one or more client devices 116A, 116B, a network 120, a data processing service 102, and a data storage system 110. In alternative configurations, different and/or additional components may be included in the system environment 100.” [¶0016; IP address is inherent given client devices connected to a network])
Regarding claim 7, Gupta teaches The computing platform of claim 1, wherein outputting the LLM validation information comprises:
generating a confidence score indicating a confidence that the LLM output is acceptable or non-acceptable (“The evaluator LLM may calculate a toxicity score for each of the generated responses.” [¶0060]),
comparing the confidence score to a confidence threshold, based on identifying that the confidence score meets or exceeds the confidence threshold (“A predetermined toxicity threshold can be used to determine if a generated response is toxic or non-toxic. For example, a response having a toxicity score less than the toxicity threshold may be considered non-toxic.” [¶0060]),
outputting the LLM validation information (“In an embodiment, the evaluator LLM classifies the responses as toxic or non-toxic. For toxic responses, the evaluator LLM determines characterizing data (e.g., position) of the toxic words.” [¶0060]), and
based on identifying that the confidence score fails to meet or exceed the confidence threshold, sending a request to the user device for additional information for use in updating the confidence score. (See ¶0075-¶0077, discloses requesting user feedback to update the evaluation process)
Regarding claim 8, Gupta teaches The computing platform of claim 1, wherein the LLM corresponds to a chatbot. (“The NLP tasks may include, but are not limited to, text generation, query processing, machine translation, chatbot applications, and the like.” [¶0043])
Regarding claim 12, it is substantially similar to claim 1 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claims 13-19, they are substantially similar to claims 2-8 respectively, and are rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Claim 20 recites features similar to claim 1 and is rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Claim 20 additionally requires One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by a computing platform comprising at least one processor, a communication interface, and memory, cause the computing platform to… (¶0083-¶0084, Gupta)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Dong et al. ("Building Guardrails for Large Language Models", hereinafter "Dong").
Regarding claim 9, Gupta teaches The computing platform of claim 1, wherein the memory stores additional computer readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing platform to:
receive updated information associated with the plurality of regimes (“As described in FIG. 4, the evaluation module 420 implements an evaluation LLM which applies a selected evaluation function to each of the generated responses. Some examples of evaluation functions include, and are not limited to, keyword similarity, toxicity detection, and hallucination detection…In addition, the UI includes a bar chart UI element 542 positioned at the top of each column associated with an LLM. The bar chart UI element 542 shows a visual summary of the evaluation result.” [¶0070-0075]);
However Gupta fails to explicitly teach identify a delta value between the historical information and the updated information; and
update, based on the delta value, the plurality of regimes to adjust corresponding classifications of acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable.
Dong teaches identify a delta value between the historical information and the updated information (“Alongside this, algorithmic adjustments are necessary, which involve fine-tuning the model’s parameters to prevent the overemphasis of certain patterns that could lead to biased outcomes… It is however expected that the definition will be distribution-based, rather than point-based as unintended responses, which need to estimate posterior distributions and to measure the distance between two distributions. (“delta value”)” [pg. 5, bottom left col – top right col]); and
update, based on the delta value, the plurality of regimes to adjust corresponding classifications of acceptable, tolerable, or non-acceptable. (“Here, the Guardrails AI can automatically generate a corrective prompt, pursuing the LLMs to regenerate the correct answer. The output is then re-checked to ensure it meets the specified requirements.” [pg. 3, top left col])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gupta’s teachings by building Guardrails for LLMs as taught by Dong. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure that the generated output response meets its specified requirements. [pg. 3, top left col, Dong]
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Dong and further in view of Lee et al. ("Towards Reliable and Fluent Large Language Models: Incorporating Feedback Learning Loops in QA Systems", hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding claim 10, Gupta/Dong teaches The computing platform of claim 9, however fails to explicitly teach wherein the LLM steward model is a closed loop model, and wherein updating the plurality of regimes comprises updating an additional model that is dynamically updated, wherein the additional model is a layer added on top of the LLM steward model
Lee teaches wherein the LLM steward model is a closed loop model, and wherein updating the plurality of regimes comprises updating an additional model that is dynamically updated (“2) Using the constructed data, we propose a method for training critic models to generate feedback (corresponds to “closed loop”) on heterogeneous aspects of generated text.” [pg. 1, right col]), wherein the additional model is a layer added on top of the LLM steward model. (“We conduct iterative feedback learning using Chat GPT (gpt-3.5-turbo)as the baseline LLM. Then, the base line LLM is improved with iterative feedback learning. The proposed method for iterative feedback learning aligns with Algorithm 1” [pg. 3, 3.3., Critic Model is used to evaluate generated answers thus would be an added layer on top of the baseline LLM])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gupta’s/Dong’s teachings in order to use a closed loop/feedback model as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to make this modification as training a critic model allows evaluation of the generated answer and identify any deficiencies in the model’s response and provides a negative signal for inadequate responses. [Lee, pg. 3, §3.2]
Regarding claim 11, Gupta/Dong/Lee teaches The computing platform of claim 10, where Lee teaches wherein subsequent LLM outputs are fed through both the LLM steward model and the additional model. (See algorithm 1, pg. 3, “For each iteration do 1. Generate answer using LLM: A response to a given question is created using instruct tions and one-shot examples, allowing for the generation of citable references. 2. Evaluate generated answer with critic model:”)
Same motivation to combine the teachings of Gupta/Dong/Lee as claim 10.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HOANG/ PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 2122