DETAILED ACTION
In response to the restriction requirement, Applicant's election with traverse of Species I of Figure 2 (claims 1-13 and 19-20) in the reply filed on 03/24/2026 is hereby acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner can search and examine the entire application without serious burden, as described in the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure § 803 (i.e., "If the search and examination of all the claims in an application can be made without serious burden, the examiner must examine them on the merits, even though they include claims to independent or distinct inventions"). More specifically, species I and II were similarly classified, so a single search could cover each of the claims of these species and would not bring serious burden to the Examiner.”
The applicant asserts that species I and II are similar; however, the applicant fails to specifically explain how these species are correlated. In absence of such explanation, the argument is not persuasive. Claim 14 recites “sending, by a second user equipment (UE), a second session establishment request message, wherein the second session establishment request message is used for a mobility management function to determine…”, which is not disclosed or suggested by the other species I of Figure 2. Accordingly, the species are not patentably indistinct, and the restriction requirement is maintained.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-13 and 19-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/08/2024, 04/07/2025, and 07/22/2025 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1 and 19, the phrase "a same service flow" and “a same session management function” render the scope of the claim indefinite because “same” is unclear as to whether it refers to an identical instance or a shared resource, thereby failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
LI et al. (US 2023/0232366 A1), in view of HAN et al. (US 2023/0037685 A1).
As to claim 1, LI discloses the invention as claimed, including a method for transmitting a service flow through multiple UEs (Fig. 3, 301-302; Fig. 4), comprising:
determining, by a mobility management function (Fig. 6B, AMF), that a first session of a first user equipment (UE) and a second session of a second UE are used for transmission of a same service flow (Fig. 5B, S502; ¶0008, “the first core network device obtains identification information of the second terminal or the first terminal from the registration request information sent by the first terminal or the second terminal, and determines, based on the identification information of the second terminal or the second terminal, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”; ¶0093, “S502: The AMF network element determines that the first terminal and the second terminal are in a mutual backup relationship”; ¶0094; ¶0100, “after receiving the registration request information of the first terminal or the second terminal, the AMF network element obtains, from the SMF network element, identification information of terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support a same service, and determine, based on the identification information of the terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support the same service, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”; ¶0101, “the service information carries the identification information of the terminals that support the same service”).
Although LI discloses after the first terminal or the second terminal sends the session establishment request information to the AMF network element, the AMF network element sends the session establishment request information to the SMF network element (¶0108), LI does not specifically disclose selecting, by the mobility management function, a same session management function for the first session and the second session.
However, HAN discloses selecting, by the mobility management function, a same session management function for the first session and the second session (Fig. 3B, 308; ¶0086, “In step 308, an AMF 340 may select an appropriate SMF by viewing the DNN while receiving and processing a first message including the PDU session establishment request. In this case, in case that there is a PDU session connected to the representative DNN in another UE, the same SMF should be selected’; ¶0103; ¶0110, “in case of an SMF supporting a virtual network, all UEs using the virtual network should be supported by the same SMF. Therefore, in case of using a plurality of virtual networks, the SMF should manage all PDU sessions related to the plurality of virtual networks to be supported. Therefore, when creating a PDU session for virtual network group communication, the same SMF should be selected”; ¶0112, “the AMF may identify whether the UE is a member of a virtual network group and whether a specific virtual network is merged. Through this information, the AMF may know whether the requested PDU session has been accessed to a specific virtual network, and that when an SMF is selected, all PDU sessions should be managed through a specific SMF. In this process, in order to select the SMF, the AMF may extend virtual network group data so as to find SMF instances supporting virtual network groups through a UECM service supported by the UDM”; ¶0126, “In step 508, the AMF 540 selects an appropriate SMF with reference to the DNN while receiving and processing the first message including the PDU session establishment request”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LI to include selecting, by the mobility management function, a same session management function for the first session and the second session, as taught by HAN because it enables efficient resource management by selecting the same SMF to handle multiple sessions, thereby reducing signaling overhead (HAN; ¶0110; ¶0112).
As to claim 2, LI discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by a mobility management function, that a first session of a first UE and a second session of a second UE are used for transmission of a same service flow comprises: determining, by the mobility management function, that a first user-plane tunnel of the first session and a second user-plane tunnel of the second session are used for the transmission of the same service flow (¶0011, “in response to the SMF network element determining that the terminal that is in the mutual backup relationship with the terminal has triggered establishment of the PDU session, a PDU session is able to not be re-established, and the PDU session established by the terminal that is in the mutual backup relationship with the terminal is shared”; ¶0074, “The session management network element includes session-related functions such as session management (such as session establishment, modification, and release, including maintenance of a tunnel between a user plane network element and an access network)”; ¶0100, “the AMF network element obtains, from the SMF network element, identification information of terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support a same service, and determine, based on the identification information of the terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support the same service, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”).
As to claim 3, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, LI discloses supporting a multi-UE aggregation function; wherein the multi-UE aggregation function comprises a function of transmitting the same service flow through multiple sessions corresponding to multiple UEs (¶0010, “establish, with a fourth core network device, a protocol data unit PDU session shared by the first terminal and the second terminal”; ¶0017, “the protocol data unit PDU session shared by the first terminal and the second terminal, and establishes, with the fourth core network device, based on the session establishment indication information, the PDU session shared by the first terminal and the second terminal. Therefore, in response to any terminal accessing a network, in response to the SMF network element determining that the terminal that is in the mutual backup relationship with the terminal has triggered establishment of the PDU session”; ¶0100, “the AMF network element obtains, from the SMF network element, identification information of terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support a same service, and determine, based on the identification information of the terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support the same service, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”).
As to claim 4, LI discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by a mobility management function, that a first session of a first UE and a second session of a second UE are used for transmission of a same service flow comprises: receiving, by the mobility management function, a second session establishment request message sent by the second UE; and determining, by the mobility management function, that the first session of the first UE and the second session of the second UE are used for the transmission of the same service flow, based on at least one of following in the second session establishment request message: an identifier of the first UE, an identifier of the first session, or description information of a service flow corresponding to a multi-UE aggregation function (¶0008, “the first core network device obtains identification information of the second terminal or the first terminal from the registration request information sent by the first terminal or the second terminal, and determines, based on the identification information of the second terminal or the second terminal, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”; ¶0093, “S502: The AMF network element determines that the first terminal and the second terminal are in a mutual backup relationship”; ¶0094; ¶0100, “after receiving the registration request information of the first terminal or the second terminal, the AMF network element obtains, from the SMF network element, identification information of terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support a same service, and determine, based on the identification information of the terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support the same service, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”; ¶0101, “the service information carries the identification information of the terminals that support the same service”).
As to claim 5, LI discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the second session establishment request message further comprises at least one of following: first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the second session supports the multi-UE aggregation function; or capability information of the second UE, wherein the capability information of the second UE indicates whether the second UE supports the multi-UE aggregation function (¶0008, “the first core network device obtains identification information of the second terminal or the first terminal from the registration request information sent by the first terminal or the second terminal, and determines, based on the identification information of the second terminal or the second terminal, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”; ¶0093, “S502: The AMF network element determines that the first terminal and the second terminal are in a mutual backup relationship”; ¶0094; ¶0100, “after receiving the registration request information of the first terminal or the second terminal, the AMF network element obtains, from the SMF network element, identification information of terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support a same service, and determine, based on the identification information of the terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support the same service, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”; ¶0101, “the service information carries the identification information of the terminals that support the same service”).
As to claim 6, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. HAN discloses wherein the selecting, by the mobility management function, a same session management function for the first session and the second session comprises: using, by the mobility management function, a session management function for the first session as a session management function for the second session (Fig. 3B, 308; ¶0086, “In step 308, an AMF 340 may select an appropriate SMF by viewing the DNN while receiving and processing a first message including the PDU session establishment request. In this case, in case that there is a PDU session connected to the representative DNN in another UE, the same SMF should be selected’; ¶0103; ¶0110, “in case of an SMF supporting a virtual network, all UEs using the virtual network should be supported by the same SMF. Therefore, in case of using a plurality of virtual networks, the SMF should manage all PDU sessions related to the plurality of virtual networks to be supported. Therefore, when creating a PDU session for virtual network group communication, the same SMF should be selected”; ¶0112, “the AMF may identify whether the UE is a member of a virtual network group and whether a specific virtual network is merged. Through this information, the AMF may know whether the requested PDU session has been accessed to a specific virtual network, and that when an SMF is selected, all PDU sessions should be managed through a specific SMF. In this process, in order to select the SMF, the AMF may extend virtual network group data so as to find SMF instances supporting virtual network groups through a UECM service supported by the UDM”; ¶0126, “In step 508, the AMF 540 selects an appropriate SMF with reference to the DNN while receiving and processing the first message including the PDU session establishment request”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LI because it would allow the efficient resource management by selecting the same SMF managing multiple sessions, thereby reducing signaling overhead (HAN; ¶0110; ¶0112).
As to claim 7, LI discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the mobility management function, a first session establishment request message sent by the first UE, wherein the first session establishment request message comprises at least one of following: second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate that the first session supports the multi-UE aggregation function; or capability information of the first UE, wherein the capability information of the first UE indicates whether the first UE supports the multi-UE aggregation function (¶0008, “the first core network device obtains identification information of the second terminal or the first terminal from the registration request information sent by the first terminal or the second terminal, and determines, based on the identification information of the second terminal or the second terminal, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”; ¶0093, “S502: The AMF network element determines that the first terminal and the second terminal are in a mutual backup relationship”; ¶0094; ¶0100, “after receiving the registration request information of the first terminal or the second terminal, the AMF network element obtains, from the SMF network element, identification information of terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support a same service, and determine, based on the identification information of the terminals that are in the mutual backup relationship or support the same service, that the first terminal and the second terminal are in the mutual backup relationship”; ¶0101, “the service information carries the identification information of the terminals that support the same service”).
As to claims 8-12, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 4-5 above. LI does not specifically disclose wherein the first session establishment request message comprises a first UE aggregation group identifier, and the second session establishment request message comprises a second UE aggregation group identifier; wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the second session supports the multi-UE aggregation function; description information of a service flow corresponding to the multi-UE aggregation function; or data network name (DNN) information, wherein the DNN information is used to indicate an identifier of a DNN supporting the multi-UE aggregation function .
However, HAN discloses wherein the first session establishment request message comprises a first UE aggregation group identifier, and the second session establishment request message comprises a second UE aggregation group identifier (¶0014, “a first message for a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request based on a user route selection policy (URSP) rule; selecting a session management function (SMF) based on a data network name (DNN) corresponding to the received first message”; ¶0056, “When a PDU session establishment request from a specific terminal is transmitted to the SMF, the SMF determines whether the request is communication to the virtual network with reference to the DNN, S-NSSAI, and PDU session types among PDU session request information, and requests network group related data to the UDM based on this”; ¶0112, “When a PDU session establishment request comes from a specific UE with a DNN supporting a plurality of virtual networks, the AMF may bring subscription data on whether the UE may use virtual network group data through UDM. In this case, the AMF may identify whether the UE is a member of a virtual network group and whether a specific virtual network is merged”); wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the second session supports the multi-UE aggregation function; description information of a service flow corresponding to the multi-UE aggregation function; or data network name (DNN) information, wherein the DNN information is used to indicate an identifier of a DNN supporting the multi-UE aggregation function (¶011, “virtual network related information from an application function (AF); determining whether to support a plurality of virtual networks with the same data network name (DNN) based on the received virtual network related information; determining, in case that the plurality of virtual networks are supported with the same DNN, a DNN for the plurality of virtual networks”; ¶0071, “in order to access a virtual network, a mobile communication UE establishes a PDU session through a DNN assigned to a specific virtual network group and transmits and receives data through the PDU session. Accordingly, the virtual network and the DNN has a 1:1 relationship”; ¶0072, “The first case is a case in which the same DNN is used in step of transmitting virtual network group related information by the AF or OAM, but a case of transmitting a plurality of groups. In this case, different virtual network groups may be distinguished through virtual network identifiers”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LI to include the limitations above, as taught by HAN because this allows the session management function (SMF) to efficiently manage, bind, and differentiate among sets of user equipment sessions by grouping UEs for specialized handling (HAN; ¶0056; ¶0112).
As to claim 13, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. HAN discloses wherein the selecting, by the mobility management function, a same session management function for the first session and the second session comprises: obtaining, by the mobility management function, a session management function for the first session from a data management or storage function; and using, by the mobility management function, the obtained session management function as a session management function for the second session (¶0086, “In step 308, an AMF 340 may select an appropriate SMF by viewing the DNN while receiving and processing a first message including the PDU session establishment request. In this case, in case that there is a PDU session connected to the representative DNN in another UE, the same SMF should be selected’; ¶0103; ¶0110, “in case of an SMF supporting a virtual network, all UEs using the virtual network should be supported by the same SMF. Therefore, in case of using a plurality of virtual networks, the SMF should manage all PDU sessions related to the plurality of virtual networks to be supported. Therefore, when creating a PDU session for virtual network group communication, the same SMF should be selected”; ¶0112, “the AMF may identify whether the UE is a member of a virtual network group and whether a specific virtual network is merged. Through this information, the AMF may know whether the requested PDU session has been accessed to a specific virtual network, and that when an SMF is selected, all PDU sessions should be managed through a specific SMF. In this process, in order to select the SMF, the AMF may extend virtual network group data so as to find SMF instances supporting virtual network groups through a UECM service supported by the UDM”; ¶0126, “In step 508, the AMF 540 selects an appropriate SMF with reference to the DNN while receiving and processing the first message including the PDU session establishment request”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LI to include obtaining, by the mobility management function, a session management function for the first session from a data management or storage function; and using, by the mobility management function, the obtained session management function as a session management function for the second session, as taught by HAN because it enables efficient resource management by selecting the same SMF to handle multiple sessions, thereby reducing signaling overhead (HAN; ¶0110; ¶0112).
As to claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, LI discloses a mobility management function (Fig. 6B, AMF), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions (Figs. 7-8; ¶0033; ¶0048; ¶0069; ¶0078).
As to claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 2 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Naik et al. (US 2022/0095155), DAO et al. (US 2019/0261260), DAO et al. (US 2021/0105196), Yu et al. (US 2022/0248479), YANG et al. (US 2022/0150166) disclose methods and systems for enabling an SMF to control new forwarding behavior in the UPF to support locally switched and Nx-based forwarding.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 April 28, 2026