DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Remarks
The examiner received amendments and remarks dated 30 March 2026 after the final rejection office action dated 30 January 2026 (hereinafter the document of concern when referencing “outstanding rejections”, “prior office action”, and the like). No new matter was entered.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, the term “control unit” is still examined under this guidance. See below for further information.
Regarding the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 20 for indefinite claim language, the examiner notes that the indefinite language has been removed via amendment; therefore, all outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Regarding outstanding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections, the examiner notes that arguments are moot as applicant has amended the claim language. The examiner performed an additional search, considering previously noted prior art, and determined that new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment, were proper. See below for further information.
Status of Claims
The most recent revision of the claim set is dated 30 March 2026. Claims 1, 12, and 20 are independent claims. Claims 6, 9, and 17 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-16, and 18-23 are pending and rejected as noted further below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“Control Unit” – claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-14, 18-20
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
MPEP 2181 outlines a three-prong test for determining if examiners will apply 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation to a claim limitation. Claim 1 (as an example but also applies to the analogous claims) now states “a control unit of the ownship aircraft configured to:” followed by a description of what the control unit does rather than what it is. Prong A – the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder – this prong is met as a “unit” is recited (a generic nonce term for a component without structure). Prong B – the term is modified by functional language – this prong is met as “configured to” is recited, followed by what the component does rather than what it is. Prong C – the term is not modified by sufficient structure/material/acts for performing the claimed function – this prong is met as the “control unit” is not modified by sufficient structure to convey how it performs the actions described. Therefore, the term “control unit” falls under the guidance of the MPEP section above and should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
In ascertaining the applicability of interpretation of “control unit” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the examiner consulted the specification for an explicit definition. Paragraphs [0060-0064] and Figure [6] merely describe examples of a control unit, but it is merely exemplary and non-limiting per the disclosure. Consistent with examination process, the examiner then considered if “control unit” had a well-understood meaning by a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA). While a controller is generally understood to include a physical processor and memory, a control “unit” is ambiguous and leads the examiner to believe that a well understood meaning is not present with this choice of terminology. A basis for understanding a physical embodiment of a “control unit” is at least distinctly provided in Figure [6]; therefore a 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withheld.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12-16, 18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bateman et al. (US 2014/0039785 A1; hereinafter Bateman) in view of Teague et al. (US 2022/0092993 A1; hereinafter Teague).
Regarding independent claims 1 (system), 12 (method), and 20 (apparatus, non-transitory memory): Bateman discloses A system comprising: an ownship aircraft; and a control unit of the ownship aircraft configured to: (per claim 1) (Abstract, Paragraph [0015], Figure [1], Bateman discloses a system comprising an ownship aircraft with a processor/control unit) / A method comprising: (per claim 12) (Paragraph [0019], Figure [2], Bateman discloses a process/method) / A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions that, in response to execution, cause one or more control units comprising a processor, to perform operations comprising: (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0019, 0022], Figure [2], Bateman discloses a system comprising memory performing the series of steps)
monitor a first position of the ownship aircraft within an airspace; (per claim 1) / monitoring, by a control unit of an ownship aircraft, a first position of the ownship aircraft within an airspace (per claim 12) / monitoring, with a control unit of an ownship aircraft, a first position of the ownship aircraft within an airspace; (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0016], Bateman discloses monitoring a position of the ownship aircraft)
determine a projected path for the ownship aircraft within the airspace, (per claim 1) / determining, by the control unit, a projected path for the ownship aircraft within the airspace; (per claim 12) / determining a projected path for the ownship aircraft within the airspace; (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0008, 0016-0017], Bateman discloses receiving track data of the ownship aircraft and a projected flight path of the ownship aircraft)
monitor a second position of a target aircraft within an airspace, (per claim 1) / monitoring, by the control unit, a second position of a target aircraft within an airspace; (per claim 12) / monitoring a second position of a target aircraft within an airspace; (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0019], Bateman discloses receiving other aircraft position data)
filter traffic information for wake turbulence information to filter out one or more other target aircraft, (per claim 1) / filtering, by the control unit, traffic information for wake turbulence information to filter one or more other target aircraft; (per claim 12) / filtering traffic information for wake turbulence information to filter one or more other target aircraft, wherein said filtering is based on whether the one or more other target aircraft are one or more of (a) airborne, (b) within a predetermined zone of the ownship aircraft, (c) within a predetermined altitude of the ownship aircraft, or (d) larger than a threshold; (per claim 20) (With regards to Claim 20, the examiner notes that “one or more” indicates that only one is necessary. Paragraph [0019, 0020, 0023-0024, 0029], Figure [2-4], Bateman discloses performing filtering based upon factors such as relative location, altitude proximity, etc. prior to proceeding with a further determination and display method of wake turbulence. Further, Bateman discloses suppressing the wake information based on comparison of aircraft type or a relative altitude difference greater than a threshold, for instance)
after filtering, determine a projected wake turbulence of the target aircraft within the airspace, and […] (per claim 1) / after filtering, determining, by the control unit, a projected wake turbulence of the target aircraft within the airspace; and […] (per claim 12) / determining a projected wake turbulence of the target aircraft within the airspace; and […] (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0019, 0020, 0024], Figure [2-4], Bateman discloses performing filtering based upon factors such as relative location, altitude proximity, etc. prior to proceeding with a further determination and display method of wake turbulence, wherein the determination and further method steps include projected wake turbulence determination, as shown in Figure [4] and described particularly in paragraph [0024], for instance)
Bateman merely differs from the claimed invention of claims 1, 12, and 20 in the automation of a generic avoidance maneuver.
Teague, in a similar field of endeavor of aircraft traffic management, teaches automatically operate the ownship aircraft to avoid the projected wake turbulence determined. (per claim 1) / automatically operating, with the control unit, the ownship aircraft to avoid the projected wake turbulence determined. (per claim 12) / automatically operating the ownship aircraft to avoid the projected wake turbulence determined. (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0021, 0029, 0031, 0034, 0039], Figure [7], Claims [11, 13], Teague teaches that the estimated wake turbulence is used to control operation of an autonomous aircraft to avoid the estimated wake turbulence trail)
Bateman and Teague are in a similar field of endeavor of aircraft traffic management. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Bateman to include an autonomous avoidance taught by Teague, as it is well-known in the art to include wake avoidance systems aboard autonomous vehicles capable of carrying out control commands automatically. Merely applying the disclosed system/method of Bateman to an autonomous aircraft is an obvious variant of Bateman as it merely imports the system/method of Bateman to a certain type of well-known aircraft. Bateman implicitly teaches that this may be possible, as Bateman states “…the algorithms are contained in an existing traffic collision-avoidance system…” (Bateman, Paragraph [0018]). Further, Teague is not merely a reference that performs autonomous control, it is a reference that teaches autonomous control for the purpose of avoiding detected wake turbulence. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing would have found it obvious to perform the disclosed system/method of Bateman with an autonomous vehicle taught by Teague in order to reduce burden on an operator and/or apply an analogous process or detection and avoidance to an aircraft without a pilot.
Regarding claims 2 and 13: Parent claims 1 and 12 are unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. Bateman further discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to output a wake turbulence alert to the ownship aircraft in response to detecting that the projected path of the ownship aircraft intersects one or more portions of the projected wake turbulence of the target aircraft. (per claim 2) / further comprising outputting, by the control unit, a wake turbulence alert to the ownship aircraft in response to detecting that the projected path of the ownship aircraft intersects one or more portions of the projected wake turbulence of the target aircraft. (per claim 13) (Paragraph [0017, 0020], Bateman discloses that an output is generated based on a determination that the flight path of the ownship will intersect the flight path of the other aircraft, including the projection for wake (based on the determination of altitude))
Regarding claims 3, 14, and 21: Parent claims 2, 13, and 20 are unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. Bateman further discloses wherein the ownship aircraft comprises a user interface including one or both of a display or a speaker, and wherein the control unit is further configured to one or both of show the wake turbulence alert on the display or broadcast the wake turbulence alert through the speaker. (per claim 3) / further comprising one or both of showing, by the control unit, the wake turbulence alert on a display of the ownship aircraft, or broadcasting, by the control unit, the wake turbulence alert through a speaker of the ownship aircraft. (per claim 14) / to further perform operations comprising: outputting, via one of a display or speaker, a wake turbulence alert to the ownship aircraft. (per claim 21) (Paragraph [0015, 0020], Bateman discloses outputting a visual wake icon on the display)
Regarding claims 4 and 22: Parent claims 1 and 20 are unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. Bateman further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to determine the projected wake turbulence based on the second position of the target aircraft, weather within the airspace, and one or both of a size or a shape of the target aircraft. (per claim 4) / determining the projected wake turbulence based on the second position of the target aircraft, weather within the airspace, and one or both of a size or a shape of the target aircraft. (per claim 22) (Paragraph [0019-0021, 0025-0026, 0029], Bateman discloses information contributing to the wake turbulence such as 1) other aircraft position, 2) wind information (weather), 3) “aircraft type information… (i.e., the other aircraft is much smaller than the ownship)…”)
Regarding claim 5: Parent claim 4 is unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. Bateman further discloses wherein the weather comprises a wind speed and wind direction. (Paragraph [0025-0026], Bateman discloses wind speed and direction determinations)
Regarding claims 7 and 16: Parent claims 1 and 12 are unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. Bateman further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to filter based on whether the one or more other target aircraft are one or more of (a) airborne, (b) within a predetermined zone of the ownship aircraft, (c) within a predetermined altitude of the ownship aircraft, or (d) larger than a threshold. (per claim 7) / wherein said filtering is based on whether the one or more other target aircraft are one or more of (a) airborne, (b) within a predetermined zone of the ownship aircraft, (c) within a predetermined altitude of the ownship aircraft, or (d) larger than a threshold. (per claim 16) (The examiner notes that “one or more” indicates that only one is necessary. Paragraph [0019, 0020, 0023-0024, 0029], Figure [2-4], Bateman discloses suppressing the wake information based on comparison of aircraft type or a relative altitude difference/predetermined zone greater than a threshold, for instance)
Regarding claims 10 and 18: Parent claims 1 and 12 are unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. As noted in the parent claim, Bateman does not explicitly disclose autonomous/automatic control of the aircraft.
However, Teague, in a similar field of endeavor of aircraft traffic management, teaches wherein to automatically operate the ownship aircraft the control unit is further configured to automatically operate one or more controls of the ownship aircraft to avoid the projected wake turbulence determined. (per claim 10) / wherein said automatically operating comprises automatically operating, by the control unit, one or more controls of the ownship aircraft to avoid the projected wake turbulence determined. (per claim 18) (Paragraph [0021, 0029, 0031, 0034, 0039], Figure [7], Claim [11, 13], Teague teaches that the estimated wake turbulence is used to control operation of an autonomous aircraft to avoid the estimated wake turbulence trail)
Bateman and Teague are in a similar field of endeavor of aircraft traffic management. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Bateman to include an autonomous avoidance taught by Teague, as it is well-known in the art to include wake avoidance systems aboard autonomous vehicles capable of carrying out control commands automatically. Merely applying the disclosed system/method of Bateman to an autonomous aircraft is an obvious variant of Bateman as it merely imports the system/method of Bateman to a certain type of well-known aircraft. Bateman implicitly teaches that this may be possible, as Bateman states “…the algorithms are contained in an existing traffic collision-avoidance system…” (Bateman, Paragraph [0018]). Further, Teague is not merely a reference that performs autonomous control, it is a reference that teaches autonomous control for the purpose of avoiding detected wake turbulence. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing would have found it obvious to perform the disclosed system/method of Bateman with an autonomous vehicle taught by Teague in order to reduce burden on an operator and/or apply an analogous process or detection and avoidance to an aircraft without a pilot.
Regarding claim 15: Parent claim 12 is unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. Bateman further discloses wherein said determining the projected wake turbulence comprises determining the projected wake turbulence based on the second position of the target aircraft, weather within the airspace, and one or both of a size or a shape of the target aircraft, and wherein the weather comprises a wind speed and a wind direction. (Paragraph [0019-0021, 0025-0026, 0029], Bateman discloses information contributing to the wake turbulence such as 1) other aircraft position, 2) wind information (weather), 3) “aircraft type information… (i.e., the other aircraft is much smaller than the ownship)…”. Further, Bateman discloses wind speed and direction determinations)
Claims 8 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague in further view of Shams et al. (US 2015/0316575 A1; hereinafter Shams).
Regarding claims 8 and 23: Parent claims 7 and 20 are unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. Bateman further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to filter based on whether the one or more other target aircraft are [(a) airborne], (b) within the predetermined zone of the ownship aircraft, (c) within the predetermined altitude of the ownship aircraft, and (d) larger than a threshold. (per claim 8) / wherein filtering is based on whether the one or more other target aircraft are [(a) airborne], (b) within the predetermined zone of the ownship aircraft, (c) within the predetermined altitude of the ownship aircraft, and (d) larger than a threshold. (per claim 23) (Paragraph [0019, 0020, 0023-0024, 0029], Figure [2-4], Bateman discloses performing filtering based upon factors such as relative location, altitude proximity, etc. prior to proceeding with a further determination and display method of wake turbulence. Further, Bateman discloses suppressing the wake information based on comparison of aircraft type or a relative altitude difference greater than a threshold, for instance. Finally, Bateman states “In one embodiment, if a comparison between the aircraft type information of the ownship and the other aircraft indicate a certain condition (i.e., the other aircraft is much smaller than the ownship), then the wake image is suppressed”)
Bateman then differs from the claimed invention in an explicit determination that the aircraft is airborne. The examiner submits that this is implicit in Bateman, but relies upon the teachings of Shams, in a similar field of endeavor of aircraft traffic management, who teaches based on whether the one or more other target aircraft are (a) airborne (per claims 8 and 23) (Paragraph [0031, 0033, 0036], Shams teaches wake vortex tracking dependent upon the status (airborne or not) of an aircraft)
Bateman and Shams are in a similar field of endeavor of aircraft traffic management. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Bateman to include explicit disclosure that the consideration of nearby aircraft included a determination that they are airborne for wake calculation, as taught by Shams, in order to more accurately determine the impacting factors of the environment on the ownship aircraft and avoid damage/crash/etc. (Shams, Paragraph [0003]).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague in further view of Shu-Zhong Cabos et al. (US 2021/0012670 A1; hereinafter Shu-Zhong Cabos).
Regarding claims 11 and 19: Parent claims 1 and 12 are unpatentable over Bateman in view of Teague. Bateman does not explicitly disclose the use of artificial intelligence/machine learning.
However, Shu-Zhong Cabos, in a similar field of endeavor of aircraft traffic management, teaches wherein the control unit is an artificial intelligence or machine learning system. (per claim 11) / wherein the control unit is an artificial intelligence or machine learning system. (per claim 19) (Paragraph [0053-0055], Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches use of a machine learning module with the wake prediction system)
Bateman and Shu-Zhong Cabos are in a similar field of endeavor of aircraft traffic management. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Bateman to merely include a machine learning/artificial intelligence element, as taught by Shu-Zhong Cabos, for the benefit of updating prediction models for accuracy (Shu-Zhong Cabos, Paragraph [0058], for instance). The examiner notes that the claim does not appear to tie in the use of artificial intelligence/machine learning in a distinct and meaningful manner, but merely recites that it is an additional peripheral element serving no particular claimed function. As such, the examiner is interpreting the claim to merely peripherally utilize artificial intelligence/machine learning, the use of which is well-known in the art. Merely performing the disclosed system/method of Bateman with machine learning/artificial intelligence is an obvious variant of Bateman.
Conclusion
/B.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658