DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8 February 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1 – English translation furnished with Office Action).
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a battery device (abstract) comprising: a plurality of battery cells (abstract) stacked in a first direction ([0011]); a first lead tab (3b and 3c – see annotated Figure 3 of Kobayashi below) that is electrically connected ([0012]) to a first electrode tab (3a – see annotated Figure 3) provided for a first battery cell among the plurality of battery cells (1A – see annotated Figure 3), and a second electrode tab (3a – see annotated Figure 3) provided for a second battery cell (1B – see annotated Figure 3) adjacent to the first battery cell among the plurality of battery cells (see annotated Figure 3), and is formed integrally with at least one of the first electrode tab or the second electrode tab ([0012] – see annotated Figure 3); and a second lead tab (2b and 2c – see annotated Figure 3) that is electrically connected ([0017]) to a third electrode tab (2a – see annotated Figure 3) provided for a third battery cell among the plurality of battery cells (1D – see annotated Figure 3), and a fourth electrode tab (2a – see annotated Figure 3) provided for a fourth battery cell (1C – see annotated Figure 3) adjacent to the third battery cell among the plurality of battery cells (see annotated Figure 3), and is formed integrally with at least one of the third electrode tab or the fourth electrode tab ([0017]), wherein the first lead tab and the second lead tab are adjacent to each other in a second direction that intersects the first direction (see annotated Figure 2 of Kobayashi below).
Annotated Figure 3 from Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1), annotated for instant Claim 1
Annotated Figure 2 from Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the battery device according to Claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the first lead tab (3b and 3c – see annotated Figure 3 below) bent toward one side in the first direction (see annotated Figure 3), and the second lead tab is bent toward another side in the first direction (see annotated Figure 3).
Annotated Figure 3 from Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1), annotated for instant Claim 2
Regarding Claim 3, Kobayashi discloses the battery device according to Claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the first battery cell includes a body portion (see annotated Figure 3 below) provided with the first electrode tab (3a - see annotated Figure 3), the first lead tab is formed integrally with the first electrode tab ([0012] – see annotated Figure 3), and the first electrode tab is located between the body portion (see annotated Figure 3) and the first lead tab (see annotated Figure 3).
Annotated Figure 3 from Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1), annotated for instant Claims 3-4
Regarding Claim 4, Kobayashi discloses the battery device according to Claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab are overlapped in the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1 – English translation furnished with Office Action) in view of Sunaga et al. (US12355110B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi discloses the battery device according to Claim 1 but does not disclose the battery device according to Claim 1 further comprising a sub-board wherein the first lead tab and the second lead tab are connected; nor a main board to which the sub-board is connected via a flexible member.
Sunaga discloses a battery device (“electricity storage pack” – col. 6, line 63) comprising a plurality of battery cells (col. 7, lines 22-23). Sunaga further discloses wherein there is a sub-board (30B; col. 8, lines 19-20) to which a lead tab (21; col. 9, lines 1-9) is connected (col. 9, lines 1-9); and a main board (30A; col. 8, lines 14-18) to which the sub-board is connected (col. 9, lines 1-9) via a flexible (col. 8, lines 24-30) member (42; col. 8, lines 64-67; col. 9, lines 1-9) for the purposes of transmitting information on detected voltage, currents, temperatures, and the like of the battery cells (col. 8, lines 2-13) in a manner that improves the yield of the main board (col. 16, lines 9-15). Both Kobayashi and Sunaga are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery devices comprising a plurality of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the battery device of Kobayashi such that it has the structure disclosed above of Sunaga for the purposes of transmitting detected information on the battery cells in a manner that improves the yield of the main board, as taught by Sunaga.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/432,128 (Lee et al. - US20240266696A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant Claim 1 and claim 1 of Lee disclose a battery device comprising: a plurality of battery cells stacked in a first direction; a first lead tab that is electrically connected to a first electrode tab provided for a first battery cell among the plurality of battery cells, and a second electrode tab provided for a second battery cell adjacent to the first battery cell among the plurality of battery cells, and is formed integrally with at least one of the first electrode tab or the second electrode tab; and a second lead tab that is electrically connected to a third electrode tab provided for a third battery cell among the plurality of battery cells, and a fourth electrode tab provided for a fourth battery cell adjacent to the third battery cell among the plurality of battery cells, and is formed integrally with at least one of the third electrode tab or the fourth electrode tab, wherein the first lead tab and the second lead tab are adjacent to each other in a second direction that intersects the first direction.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
_____
Claims 2-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/432,128 (Lee et al. - US20240266696A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1).
Regarding Claim 2, both the instant Claim 1 and claim 1 of Lee disclose the battery device according to the instant Claim 1. Lee does not however disclose wherein the first lead tab is bent toward one side in the first direction, and the second lead tab is bent toward another side in the first direction.
Kobayashi discloses the battery device according to instant Claim 1 (see rejection of instant Claim 1 under U.S.C. 102, detailed above). Kobayashi further discloses wherein the first lead tab (3b and 3c – see annotated Figure 3 below) bent toward one side in the first direction (see annotated Figure 3), and the second lead tab is bent toward another side in the first direction (see annotated Figure 3). Both Lee and Kobayashi are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery devices comprising a plurality of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery device of Lee with the structure disclosed above of Kobayashi because doing so amounts to nothing more than the rearrangement of parts, which is consequently no more than an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). Thus, although instant Claim 2 and claim 1 of Lee are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Annotated Figure 3 from Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1), annotated for instant Claim 2
Regarding Claim 3, both the instant Claim 3 and claim 1 of Lee disclose the battery device according to the instant Claim 1. Lee does not however disclose wherein the first battery cell includes a body portion provided with the first electrode tab, the first lead tab is formed integrally with the first electrode tab, and the first electrode tab is located between the body portion and the first lead tab.
Kobayashi discloses the battery device according to instant Claim 1 (see rejection of instant Claim 1 under U.S.C. 102, detailed above). Kobayashi further discloses wherein the first battery cell includes a body portion (see annotated Figure 3 below) provided with the first electrode tab (3a - see annotated Figure 3), the first lead tab is formed integrally with the first electrode tab ([0012] – see annotated Figure 3), and the first electrode tab is located between the body portion (see annotated Figure 3) and the first lead tab (see annotated Figure 3).
Annotated Figure 3 from Kobayashi et al. (JPWO2016020999A1), annotated for instant Claims 3-4
Both Lee and Kobayashi are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery devices comprising a plurality of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery device of Lee such that the first battery cell includes a body portion provided with the first electrode tab as taught by Kobayashi, because it follows that if a first electrode tab is provided for a first battery cell, the first battery cell would necessarily have a body portion by virtue of being a physical object. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery device of Lee such that the first lead tab is formed integrally with the first electrode tab, and the first electrode tab is located between the body portion and the first lead tab, because doing so amounts to nothing more than making said first electrode tab integral – an obvious engineering choice (see MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)). Thus, although instant Claim 3 and claim 1 of Lee are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claim 4, both the instant Claim 4 and claim 1 of Lee disclose the battery device according to the instant Claim 1. Lee does not however disclose wherein the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab are overlapped in the first direction.
Kobayashi discloses the battery device according to instant Claim 1 (see rejection of instant Claim 1 under U.S.C. 102, detailed above). Kobayashi further discloses wherein the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab are overlapped in the first direction (see annotated Figure 3 above). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery device of Lee such that the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab are overlapped in the first direction, because doing so amounts to nothing more than the rearrangement of parts, which is consequently no more than an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). Thus, although instant Claim 4 and claim 1 of Lee are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
_____
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/432,128 (Lee et al. - US20240266696A1) in view of Sunaga et al. (US12355110B2).
Regarding Claim 5, both the instant Claim 5 and claim 1 of Lee disclose the battery device according to the instant Claim 1. Lee does not however disclose that the battery device according to Claim 1 further comprising a sub-board wherein the first lead tab and the second lead tab are connected; nor a main board to which the sub-board is connected via a flexible member.
Sunaga discloses a battery device (“electricity storage pack” – col. 6, line 63) comprising a plurality of battery cells (col. 7, lines 22-23). Sunaga further discloses wherein there is a sub-board (30B; col. 8, lines 19-20) to which a lead tab (21; col. 9, lines 1-9) is connected (col. 9, lines 1-9); and a main board (30A; col. 8, lines 14-18) to which the sub-board is connected (col. 9, lines 1-9) via a flexible (col. 8, lines 24-30) member (42; col. 8, lines 64-67; col. 9, lines 1-9) for the purposes of transmitting information on detected voltage, currents, temperatures, and the like of the battery cells (col. 8, lines 2-13) in a manner that improves the yield of the main board (col. 16, lines 9-15). Sunaga is analogous to the current invention because it is related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery devices comprising a plurality of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the battery device of Lee such that it has the structure disclosed above of Sunaga for the purposes of transmitting detected information on the battery cells in a manner that improves the yield of the main board, as taught by Sunaga. Thus, although instant Claim 5 and claim 1 of Lee are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
References cited but not relied upon
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
Kim (US20130280587A1) discloses a battery module with bent electrode leads electrically connecting cells.
Conclusion
/K.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754