DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 15, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 6, 2026 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 3-9, and 11-14, cancelled claim 2, and added claim 16. Claims 1 and 3-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed November 14, 2025. The examiner withdraws the Specification and Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Specification and Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0088130 A1), hereinafter known as Jung.
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses (Fig. 1B, 4, and, 15) A mobile communication device (100) comprising: a housing (101-103) comprising: a first periphery (bottom periphery of 100) of the mobile communication device extending along a first direction, and a second periphery (right periphery of 100) extending from one end of the first periphery (bottom periphery of 100) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; a wireless communication circuit (1065, 1066) disposed in the housing; and a first conductive member (1068) forming a part of the housing or disposed inside the housing, wherein the housing comprises: a first conductive portion (1053) forming a part of the first periphery and having a designated length, and a second conductive portion (185, 1051) forming an inner frame of the mobile communication device (100), wherein the first conductive portion (1053) comprises: a protrusion (protrusion on right side of 1053 in Fig. 15) extending from a first point of the first periphery, a first portion (right portion of 1053 in Fig. 15) extending from the first point by a first length along the first direction (right direction), and a second portion (left portion of 1053 in Fig. 15) extending from the first point by a second length longer than the first length in a third direction (left direction) opposite to the first direction (right direction), wherein at least part of the second conductive portion (185, 1051) is spaced apart from the first conductive portion (1053) in the second direction, is formed in parallel with the first conductive portion (1053), and includes an indentation (indentation in 185, 1051) formed to correspond to the protrusion of the first conductive portion (1053), wherein the first conductive member (1068) is disposed among the second portion (left portion of 1053 in Fig. 15) of the first conductive portion, the second conductive portion (185, 1051), and the protrusion (protrusion on right side of 1053 in Fig. 15), wherein a second conductive member (1069) extends from a point of the indentation (indentation in 185, 1051) toward the protrusion (protrusion on right side of 1053 in Fig. 15) in a direction parallel to the first portion (right portion of 1053 in Fig. 15), wherein the protrusion (protrusion on right side of 1053 in Fig. 15) is positioned between the first conductive member (1068) and the second conductive member (1069) wherein the protrusion (protrusion on right side of 1053 in Fig. 15) is spaced apart from the first conductive member (1068) to form a first slot (1057), wherein the protrusion (protrusion on right side of 1053 in Fig. 15) is spaced apart from the second conductive member (1069) to form a second slot (slot between 1069 and 1053), and wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to feed power to the protrusion to transmit and receive a wireless signal through at least one of the first slot (1057) or the second slot ([0132]).
Regarding claim 4, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein the first conductive member (1068) includes a connection portion (connection portion of 1068 contacting 1053), and wherein the connection portion contacts the first conductive portion (1053).
Regarding claim 5, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein the first conductive member (1068) includes a connection portion (connection portion of 1068 contacting 185, 1051, 1052), and wherein the connection portion contacts at least part of the second conductive portion (185, 1051, 1052).
Regarding claim 8, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein the first slot (1057) is formed to enclose a periphery (left periphery of 1068) of the first conductive member (1068).
Regarding claim 9, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein the first slot (1057) is formed with a dielectric having a designated permittivity (air is a dielectric).
Regarding claim 10, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein the first conductive portion (1053) is formed with a conductive material without a segmented portion (1053).
Regarding claim 12, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein the wireless communication circuit is further configured to feed power to the protrusion ([0186]), such that power is fed to the first conductive member ([0186]) through coupling.
Regarding claim 13, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein the wireless communication circuit is further configured to feed power to the protrusion ([0183]), such that power is fed to the first conductive member (1068) through a contact ([0183]).
Regarding claim 14, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) further comprising: a key structure (right structure of 1068) is disposed between at least part of the first conductive portion (1053) and at least part of the second conductive portion (185, 1051, 1052).
Regarding claim 15, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein the key structure (right structure of 1068) is electrically connected with the first conductive portion (1053) and the second conductive portion (185, 1051, 1052) through coupling ([0183]).
Regarding claim 16, Jung further discloses (Fig. 15) wherein at least a portion of the second slot (slot between 1069 and 1053) is between the second conductive member (1069) and the first portion of the first conductive portion (right portion of 1053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Hu et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0115053 A1), hereinafter known as Hu.
Regarding claim 3, Jung does not specifically teach wherein the first conductive portion has a length of a first range, and wherein the length of the first range is between 20 millimeters (mm) to 21 mm.
However, Hu teaches wherein the first conductive portion has a length of a first range, and wherein the length of the first range is between 20 mm to 21 mm ([0067]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the mobile communication device of Jung with Hu to include “wherein the first conductive portion has a length of a first range, and wherein the length of the first range is between 20 mm to 21 mm,” as taught by Hu, for the purpose of operating at a desired frequency band (see also [0058]). Such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claims 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Compton (US PGPUB 2022/0094046 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jung does not specifically teach wherein the wireless communication circuit is further configured to transmit and receive the wireless signal in a frequency band of 3.6 gigahertz (GHz).
However, Compton teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the wireless communication circuit (36) is further configured to transmit and receive a wireless signal in a frequency band of 3.6 gigahertz (GHz) ([0042]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the mobile communication device of Jung with Compton to include “wherein the wireless communication circuit is further configured to transmit and receive the wireless signal in a frequency band of 3.6 gigahertz (GHz),” as taught by Compton, for the purpose of operating at a desired frequency band (see also [0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Jung does not specifically teach wherein the wireless communication circuit is further configured to transmit and receive the wireless signal in a frequency band of 6.5 gigahertz (GHz).
However, Compton teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the wireless communication circuit (36) is further configured to transmit and receive a wireless signal in a frequency band of 6.5 gigahertz (GHz) ([0042]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the mobile communication device of Jung with Compton to include “wherein the wireless communication circuit is further configured to transmit and receive the wireless signal in a frequency band of 6.5 gigahertz (GHz),” as taught by Compton, for the purpose of operating at a desired frequency band (see also [0042]).
Regarding claim 11, Jung does not specifically teach further comprising: a laser direct structuring (LDS) antenna.
However, Compton teaches a laser direct structuring (LDS) antenna ([0070]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the mobile communication device of Jung with Compton to include “a laser direct structuring (LDS) antenna,” as taught by Compton, for the purpose of manufacturing desired the housing (see also [0070]).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845