DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 17-18, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “high and low” in claims 2-6, 17-18, & 20 are a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “high and low” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0328983A1 (“Takaira”).
As per claim 1 Takaira discloses
A method for operating a vehicle, comprising:
a first motor speed control algorithm or a first motor torque control algorithm for a first operating mode (see at least Takaira, para. [0036]: The driving state determination unit 102 determines an optimal driving state of the vehicle 10based on information such as the various signals described above. Specifically, in a case where it is determined that the vehicle 10 is in a steady traveling state where a driving force change in the vehicle10 is smaller than a driving force change threshold based on the accelerator θ acc, the vehicle speed V, and the like, the driving state determination unit 102 determines the driving state of the vehicle 10 to be the 2WD_d traveling.); and
a second motor speed control algorithm for a second operating mode, where the second operating mode is a motor speed synchronization mode performed during driveline disconnect clutch closing (see at least Takaira, para. [0039]: During a transition from 2WD_d traveling to 4WD traveling in particular, the control unit106 outputs a command for generating the transmission torque in the 54 to the electromagnetic solenoid first and controls the electromagnetic solenoid so that the 54 is engaged when the disconnect state is canceled. This is to realize between the rotation of the relative rotating members of the front side 40 (the first rotating member36 and the second rotating member 38) by increasing the rotation of the propeller shaft 28whose rotation is substantially stopped for of the front side 40 to at least a predetermined rotation.).
As per claim 2 Takaira discloses
where the second motor speed control algorithm adjusts a speed of a traction motor according to target motor speed, where the target motor speed is based on an urgency level of driveline disconnect clutch closing, and where the urgency level is high (see at least Takaira, para. [0040-0041]: During the transition from the 2WD_d traveling to the 4WD traveling, a certain of is required until the rotation of the propeller shaft 28 whose rotation is substantially stopped due to the engagement of the coupling 54 reaches the determination threshold N1.Accordingly, there is room for improvement relating to the responsiveness of the transition to the 4WDtraveling. Herein, it is considered that a quick cancel of the disconnect state is more preferable than the suppression of a shock in canceling the disconnect state (cancel shock) if the of the transition to the 4WD traveling is high.).
As per claim 3 Takaira discloses
further comprising commanding a maximum traction motor torque output during a first phase of the second operating mode in response to the urgency level being high (see at least Takaira, para. [0040-0041]: The rotation of the first rotating member 36 may be a rotation that is converted from the transmission output rotation Nout. In addition, the maximum rotation difference ΔNsync is, for example, a -allowed rotation difference pre-defined as the maximum value of the absolute value of the rotation difference between the rotation of the first rotating member 36 and the rotation of the second rotating member 38 at which the (engagement) of the front side 40 is possible. Accordingly, the control unit 106 calculates the determination threshold N1 based on the rotation of the first rotating member 36. The control unit 106 determines whether or not the rotation of the relative rotating members of the front side 40 are based on whether or not the propeller shaft rotation Np exceeds the determination threshold N1…During the transition from the 2WD_d traveling to the 4WD traveling, a certain of is required until the rotation of the propeller shaft 28 whose rotation is substantially stopped due to the engagement of the coupling 54 reaches the determination threshold N1.Accordingly, there is room for improvement relating to the responsiveness of the transition to the 4WD traveling. Herein, it is considered that a quick cancel of the disconnect state is more preferable than the suppression of a shock in canceling the disconnect state (cancel shock) if the of the transition to the 4WD traveling is high. & para. [0083]: In the embodiments described above, a gasoline engine or the like that is an internal combustion engine which generates power by fuel combustion has been described as an example of the driving force source. For example, another motor such as an electric motor can also be adopted alone or in combination with the engine.).
As per claim 5 Takaira discloses
where the second motor speed control algorithm adjusts a speed of a traction motor according to target motor speed, where the target motor speed is based on an urgency level of driveline disconnect clutch closing, and where the urgency level is low (see at least Takaira, para. [0055-0056]: Accordingly, the aspect of the increase in the propeller shaft rotation speed Np can be changed in accordance with the degree of urgency of transition to 4WD traveling. Accordingly, the disconnect state can be canceled with the increasing gradient of the propeller shaft rotation speed Np relatively small and the shock suppressed in a case where the transition to 4WD traveling is not urgent…According to this embodiment, the clutch control unit 106 increases the propeller shaft rotation Np at a predetermined gradient based on the difference between the lengths of time until the propeller shaft rotation Np reaches the determination threshold N1. The clutch control unit 106 engages the front side clutch 40 after the propeller shaft rotation Np reaches the determination threshold N1. Accordingly, the disconnect state can be appropriately canceled even in any case where the propeller shaft rotation Np is increased at different increasing gradients. & para. [0083]).
Claim(s) 16 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0080481A1 (“Arun”).
As per claim 16 Arun discloses
A method for operating a vehicle (see at least Arun, para. [0018]: The systems and methods described herein engage a sensorless disconnect by controlling a motor speed to achieve a speed delta, facilitating engagement of the disconnect, monitoring a motor speed response to the engagement, and determining whether the engagement is successful based on the motor speed response.), comprising:
performing closing of a driveline disconnect clutch in three driveline disconnect clutch closing phases including a motor speed synchronization phase, a driveline disconnect clutch engagement phase, and an electric machine torque increasing phase (see at least Arun, para. [0087]: Plot 1506 shows the disconnect states before, during, and after the locking scenario and the different stages (e.g., speed synchronization 706, actuation 708, and confirmation 710) of locking. Plot 1508 shows the measured difference between the respective speeds of the motor assembly and wheel, along with a predicted (e.g., using an unloaded inertia model) difference corresponding to the torque produced by the motor. The confirmation phase 710 notably aligns with the deviation of the predicted and measured difference in plot 1508.),
wherein the motor speed synchronization phase includes three speed control phases including a rate of motor speed change increasing and sustaining phase, a rate of motor speed change decreasing phase, and a rate of motor speed change stabilization phase (see at least Arun, para. [0061]: Accordingly, control system 110, via the speed controller, initiates the transient state 704 by actuating speed synchronization 706 of pocket plate 402 and notch plate 406, which includes reducing a rear propulsive torque limit to zero and matching the speed of the motor assembly with the speed of the wheel to within a speed delta threshold (e.g., 15 RPM)… Once control system 110 determines the respective speeds of the two-way CMD clutches have been synchronized, control system 110 initiates the actuation 708 of the disconnect device by enabling the H-bridge, which controls the bi-directional motion of the coupled linear actuator, to actuate disconnects toward a desired position (e.g., the struts of pocket plate 402 engaging with the notches of notch plate 406). Concurrently, the disconnect device continues to match the speeds of the outboard and inboard clutches. Once control system 110 determines the H-bridge timeout has expired, control system 110 initiates the confirmation 710 of the disconnect device, which includes disabling the H-bridge, introducing a speed delta (e.g., a speed offset) for the speed controller of control system 110 to incorporate, and integrating torque commands, via the speed controller, to monitor speed-matching results between the motor assembly and the load on the gearbox output shaft (e.g., the driveline).).
As per claim 19 Arun discloses
further comprising adjusting a torque of an electric machine in each of the three speed control phases (see at least Arun, para. [0061]: Accordingly, control system 110, via the speed controller, initiates the transient state 704 by actuating speed synchronization 706 of pocket plate 402 and notch plate 406, which includes reducing a rear propulsive torque limit to zero and matching the speed of the motor assembly with the speed of the wheel to within a speed delta threshold (e.g., 15 RPM)… Once control system 110 determines the respective speeds of the two-way CMD clutches have been synchronized, control system 110 initiates the actuation 708 of the disconnect device by enabling the H-bridge, which controls the bi-directional motion of the coupled linear actuator, to actuate disconnects toward a desired position (e.g., the struts of pocket plate 402 engaging with the notches of notch plate 406). Concurrently, the disconnect device continues to match the speeds of the outboard and inboard clutches. Once control system 110 determines the H-bridge timeout has expired, control system 110 initiates the confirmation 710 of the disconnect device, which includes disabling the H-bridge, introducing a speed delta (e.g., a speed offset) for the speed controller of control system 110 to incorporate, and integrating torque commands, via the speed controller, to monitor speed-matching results between the motor assembly and the load on the gearbox output shaft (e.g., the driveline).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaira, in view of Arun.
As per claim 4 Takaira discloses
where an actual delivered motor speed rate of change during the first phase of the second operating mode is a maximum that a motor is capable of when the urgency level is high (see at least Takaira, para. [0040-0041]: The rotation of the first rotating member 36 may be a rotation that is converted from the transmission output rotation Nout. In addition, the maximum rotation difference ΔNsync is, for example, a -allowed rotation difference pre-defined as the maximum value of the absolute value of the rotation difference between the rotation of the first rotating member 36 and the rotation of the second rotating member 38 at which the (engagement) of the front side 40 is possible. Accordingly, the control unit 106 calculates the determination threshold N1 based on the rotation of the first rotating member 36. The control unit 106 determines whether or not the rotation of the relative rotating members of the front side 40 are based on whether or not the propeller shaft rotation Np exceeds the determination threshold N1…During the transition from the 2WD_d traveling to the 4WD traveling, a certain of is required until the rotation of the propeller shaft 28 whose rotation is substantially stopped due to the engagement of the coupling 54 reaches the determination threshold N1.Accordingly, there is room for improvement relating to the responsiveness of the transition to the 4WD traveling. Herein, it is considered that a quick cancel of the disconnect state is more preferable than the suppression of a shock in canceling the disconnect state (cancel shock) if the of the transition to the 4WD traveling is high. & para. [0083]: In the embodiments described above, a gasoline engine or the like that is an internal combustion engine which generates power by fuel combustion has been described as an example of the driving force source. For example, another motor such as an electric motor can also be adopted alone or in combination with the engine.).
However Takaira does not explicitly disclose
further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed slew rate target during a first phase of the second operating mode as a maximum traction motor torque divided by a lumped traction motor inertia plus an offset.
Arun teaches
further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed slew rate target during a first phase of the second operating mode as a maximum traction motor torque divided by a lumped traction motor inertia plus an offset (see at least Arun, para. [0065]: A controller gain of 10 would roughly correspond to a 100-millisecond time constant, which may be well within the stability constraints imposed by a 100 Hz task rate (e.g., 10 millisecond sampling interval). In some embodiments, the torque command from the speed controller will be limited to, for example, +/−40 Nm, which—as shown by the data tips in FIG. 8—corresponds to a motor speed slew rate of roughly 2,400 rad/s.sup.2 (e.g., 23,000 RPM/s). & para. [0071-0074]: In some embodiments, the following signals are available to the vehicle dynamics module and may be used to estimate the state of the disconnect device: motor assembly speed (e.g., from a controller area network (CAN bus)), wheel speed, speed controller torque command, and motor torque feedback. In some embodiments, the disconnect may be determined to be locked if the signals satisfy the following conditions Condition 1: Motor speed and wheel speed are well-correlated over a statistically significant number of samples….Condition 2: Motor speed response to torque commands indicate the presence of a load on the gearbox output shaft (full driveline and vehicle inertia)…In some embodiments, Condition 1 is similar to the speed synchronization check described above….Condition 2. Contrarily, failure of Condition 1 is sufficient to instantly confirm the “Unlocked” state. In the absence of a load on the gearbox output, the motor response to torque commands will follow the inboard-inertia model derived above. Conversely, if a load is present, the motor speed response will be affected by the driveline dynamics and the effective inertia of the vehicle. Therefore, it may be inferred whether the gearbox output shaft is loaded by comparing the measured motor speed response to the predicted response of an unloaded motor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed slew rate target during a first phase of the second operating mode as a maximum traction motor torque divided by a lumped traction motor inertia plus an offset of Arun, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable quick dynamic actuation of a disconnect at any vehicle speed (see at least Arun, para. [0008]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaira, in view of Arun, in view of US 2022/0032903A1 (“Thompson”).
As per claim 6 Taikara does not explicitly disclose
further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed slew rate target during a first phase of the second operating mode based on a steady-state value of a raw traction motor speed target value and a desired traction motor speed synchronization time, and where the traction motor speed slew rate target decreases for an increasing desired traction motor speed synchronization time for when the urgency level is low.
Arun teaches
further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed slew rate target during a first phase of the second operating mode based on a steady-state value of a raw traction motor speed target value and a desired traction motor speed synchronization time (see at least Arun, para. [0062-0066]: The slope of the acceleration-versus-torque curve, which is roughly 0.017 kg*m.sup.2, corresponds to the effective inertia of the motor assembly and any connected components (e.g., gearbox, inboard disconnect clutch) when the disconnect is in the “unlocked” state. With knowledge of the effective inertia of the unloaded inboard components, a purely proportional motor speed regulator may be developed and tuned…In some embodiments, the torque command from the speed controller will be limited to, for example, +/−40 Nm, which—as shown by the data tips in FIG. 8—corresponds to a motor speed slew rate of roughly 2,400 rad/s.sup.2 (e.g., 23,000 RPM/s)… Diagnostic Threshold—Represents the maximum allowable steady-state error. Momentary excursions outside this threshold will be debounced. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed slew rate target during a first phase of the second operating mode based on a steady-state value of a raw traction motor speed target value and a desired traction motor speed synchronization time of Arun, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable quick dynamic actuation of a disconnect at any vehicle speed (see at least Arun, para. [0008]).
Thompson teaches
where the traction motor speed slew rate target decreases for an increasing desired traction motor speed synchronization time for when an urgency level is low (see at least Thompson, para. [0033]: The following factors may be modified for the various states of driving: the disconnect clutch capacity request, the disconnect clutch capacity application time, the disconnect clutch torque slew rate during locking, the disconnect clutch lock request timing (e.g., the speed threshold for requesting locking), the motor speed target, the engine speed target, the engine-speed offset, spark timing, engine speed control gains, motor torque buffer, driveline torque shaping rate, transmission shifting priority, and the like. para. [0038]: The capacity and the slew rate may increase with the states of driving so that the disconnect clutch locks harder and faster for the upper states of driving and a softer and slower for the lower states of driving.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the traction motor speed slew rate target decreases for an increasing desired traction motor speed synchronization time for when an urgency level is low of Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide optimum performance (see at least Thompson, para. [0031]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaira, in view of Thompson.
As per claim 7 Taikara does not explicitly disclose
where the second motor speed control algorithm adjusts a torque of a traction motor according to a second torque slew rate, the second torque slew rate is greater than a torque slew rate for the first operating mode
Thompson teaches
where the second motor speed control algorithm adjusts a torque of a traction motor according to a second torque slew rate, the second torque slew rate is greater than a torque slew rate for the first operating mode (see at least Thompson, para. [0038]: If yes at operation 112, the controller commands locking of the disconnect clutch at operation114. Locking of the disconnect clutch, includes several controllable parameters that may be modified to suit different states of driving. For example, the command locking of the disconnect clutch may include commanding a capacity and commanding a capacity slew rate. The capacity and the slew rate may increase with the states of driving so that the disconnect clutch locks harder and faster for the upper states of driving and a softer and slower for the lower states of driving.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the second motor speed control algorithm adjusts a torque of a traction motor according to a second torque slew rate, the second torque slew rate is greater than a torque slew rate for the first operating mode of Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide optimum performance (see at least Thompson, para. [0031]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0051386A1 (“Li”), in view of Takaira.
As per claim 8 Li discloses
A vehicle system (see at least Li, para. [0020]: The electric vehicle (or battery electric vehicle) includes a first axle (rear axle 102) that connects rear tires 104 and a second axles (front axle 106) that connects front tires 108.), comprising:
a first electric machine selectively coupled to a front axle via a disconnect clutch (see at least Li, para. [0021]: Similarly, the second drive system 112 can include a second battery (front battery 124), second motor (front motor 126), and second clutch (front clutch 128). The front motor 126 is an electric motor that converts power from the front battery 124 into kinetic energy in the form of a rotation. The front clutch 128 can engage the front motor 126 to transfer the rotation to the front axle 106 and front tires 108.);
a second electric machine coupled to a rear axle (see at least Li, para. [0020]: The first drive system 110 can include a first battery (rear battery 114), first motor (rear motor 116), and first clutch (rear clutch 118). The rear motor 116 is an electric motor that converts power from the rear battery 114 into kinetic energy in the form of a rotation. The rear clutch 118 can engage the rear motor 116 to transfer the rotation from the rear motor to the rear axle 102 and rear tires 104.);
one or more controllers including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that cause the one or more controllers to control a speed of the first electric machine during a closing sequence for the disconnect clutch according to a driveline speed (see at least Li, para. [0034-0036]: FIG. 7 shows a flowchart 700 of a method for engaging a disengaged motor to an axle. The method starts in box 702. In box 704, the optimization output of an optimization mode is monitored for a command to engage an axle. The method cycles through box 704 until such a command is received. Once the command is received, the method proceeds to box 706. In box 706, an optimal state for the gears and the motor speed for engagement is determined based on the current vehicle operating states such as vehicle speed and driver's input… For the first strategy, the method proceeds from box 708 to box 710. In box 710, the motor is revved up until it reaches a motor speed that is synchronized with the speed of a component connected to a clutch that is to be engaged under the current vehicle speed.).
However Li does not explicitly disclose
where the speed of the first electric machine is controlled based on an urgency of engagement of the disconnect clutch, where the urgency of engagement is based on one or more vehicle operating conditions.
Takaira teaches
where the speed of the first electric machine is controlled based on an urgency of engagement of the disconnect clutch, where the urgency of engagement is based on one or more vehicle operating conditions (see at least Takaira, para. [0055-0056]: Accordingly, the aspect of the increase in the propeller shaft rotation speed Np can be changed in accordance with the degree of urgency of transition to 4WD traveling. Accordingly, the disconnect state can be canceled with the increasing gradient of the propeller shaft rotation speed Np relatively small and the shock suppressed in a case where the transition to 4WD traveling is not urgent…According to this embodiment, the clutch control unit 106 increases the propeller shaft rotation Np at a predetermined gradient based on the difference between the lengths of time until the propeller shaft rotation Np reaches the determination threshold N1. The clutch control unit 106 engages the front side clutch 40 after the propeller shaft rotation Np reaches the determination threshold N1. Accordingly, the disconnect state can be appropriately canceled even in any case where the propeller shaft rotation Np is increased at different increasing gradients. & para. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the speed of the first electric machine is controlled based on an urgency of engagement of the disconnect clutch, where the urgency of engagement is based on one or more vehicle operating conditions of Takaira, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve relating to the responsiveness of the transition to the 4WD traveling (see at least Takaira, para. [0041]).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Takaira, in view of Arun.
As per claim 9 Li does not explicitly disclose
where the closing sequence includes three phases, the three phases including an electric machine speed synchronization phase, a disconnect clutch engagement phase, and an electric machine torque increasing phase, where the disconnect clutch engagement phase follows the electric machine speed synchronization phase and precedes the electric machine torque increasing phase.
Arun teaches
where the closing sequence includes three phases, the three phases including an electric machine speed synchronization phase, a disconnect clutch engagement phase, and an electric machine torque increasing phase, where the disconnect clutch engagement phase follows the electric machine speed synchronization phase and precedes the electric machine torque increasing phase (see at least Arun, para. [0079]: Plot 1006 shows the disconnect states before, during, and after the locking scenario and the different stages (e.g., speed synchronization 706, actuation 708, and confirmation 710) of locking. Plot 1004 shows the torque produced by the rear drive unit, which is used to accelerate the motor and gearbox assembly to achieve speed synchronization between the CMD clutch plates. Once the “Locked” state is confirmed, the torque is smoothly ramped up to accelerate the vehicle in four-wheel drive.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the closing sequence includes three phases, the three phases including an electric machine speed synchronization phase, a disconnect clutch engagement phase, and an electric machine torque increasing phase, where the disconnect clutch engagement phase follows the electric machine speed synchronization phase and precedes the electric machine torque increasing phase of Arun, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable quick dynamic actuation of a disconnect at any vehicle speed (see at least Arun, para. [0008]).
As per claim 10 Li does not explicitly disclose
where the electric machine speed synchronization phase is sectioned into a first phase, a second phase, and a third phase
Arun teaches
where the electric machine speed synchronization phase is sectioned into a first phase, a second phase, and a third phase (see at least Arun, para. [0061]: Accordingly, control system 110, via the speed controller, initiates the transient state 704 by actuating speed synchronization 706 of pocket plate 402 and notch plate 406, which includes reducing a rear propulsive torque limit to zero and matching the speed of the motor assembly with the speed of the wheel to within a speed delta threshold (e.g., 15 RPM)… Once control system 110 determines the respective speeds of the two-way CMD clutches have been synchronized, control system 110 initiates the actuation 708 of the disconnect device by enabling the H-bridge, which controls the bi-directional motion of the coupled linear actuator, to actuate disconnects toward a desired position (e.g., the struts of pocket plate 402 engaging with the notches of notch plate 406). Concurrently, the disconnect device continues to match the speeds of the outboard and inboard clutches. Once control system 110 determines the H-bridge timeout has expired, control system 110 initiates the confirmation 710 of the disconnect device, which includes disabling the H-bridge, introducing a speed delta (e.g., a speed offset) for the speed controller of control system 110 to incorporate, and integrating torque commands, via the speed controller, to monitor speed-matching results between the motor assembly and the load on the gearbox output shaft (e.g., the driveline).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the electric machine speed synchronization phase is sectioned into a first phase, a second phase, and a third phase of Arun, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable quick dynamic actuation of a disconnect at any vehicle speed (see at least Arun, para. [0008]).
As per claim 11 Li does not explicitly disclose
where the first phase is a rate of electric machine speed change increasing and sustaining phase, where the second phase is a rate of electric machine speed change decreasing phase and the third phase is a rate of electric machine speed change stabilization phase.
Arun teaches
where the first phase is a rate of electric machine speed change increasing and sustaining phase, where the second phase is a rate of electric machine speed change decreasing phase (see at least Arun, para. [0061]: Accordingly, control system 110, via the speed controller, initiates the transient state 704 by actuating speed synchronization 706 of pocket plate 402 and notch plate 406, which includes reducing a rear propulsive torque limit to zero and matching the speed of the motor assembly with the speed of the wheel to within a speed delta threshold (e.g., 15 RPM)… Once control system 110 determines the respective speeds of the two-way CMD clutches have been synchronized, control system 110 initiates the actuation 708 of the disconnect device by enabling the H-bridge, which controls the bi-directional motion of the coupled linear actuator, to actuate disconnects toward a desired position (e.g., the struts of pocket plate 402 engaging with the notches of notch plate 406). Concurrently, the disconnect device continues to match the speeds of the outboard and inboard clutches. Once control system 110 determines the H-bridge timeout has expired, control system 110 initiates the confirmation 710 of the disconnect device, which includes disabling the H-bridge, introducing a speed delta (e.g., a speed offset) for the speed controller of control system 110 to incorporate, and integrating torque commands, via the speed controller, to monitor speed-matching results between the motor assembly and the load on the gearbox output shaft (e.g., the driveline).), and
the third phase is a rate of electric machine speed change stabilization phase (see at least Arun, para. [0061]: Once control system 110 determines the respective speeds of the two-way CMD clutches have been synchronized, control system 110 initiates the actuation 708 of the disconnect device by enabling the H-bridge, which controls the bi-directional motion of the coupled linear actuator, to actuate disconnects toward a desired position (e.g., the struts of pocket plate 402 engaging with the notches of notch plate 406). Concurrently, the disconnect device continues to match the speeds of the outboard and inboard clutches. Once control system 110 determines the H-bridge timeout has expired, control system 110 initiates the confirmation 710 of the disconnect device, which includes disabling the H-bridge, introducing a speed delta (e.g., a speed offset) for the speed controller of control system 110 to incorporate, and integrating torque commands, via the speed controller, to monitor speed-matching results between the motor assembly and the load on the gearbox output shaft (e.g., the driveline).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the first phase is a rate of electric machine speed change increasing and sustaining phase, where the second phase is a rate of electric machine speed change decreasing phase and the third phase is a rate of electric machine speed change stabilization phase of Arun, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable quick dynamic actuation of a disconnect at any vehicle speed (see at least Arun, para. [0008]).
As per claim 12 Li does not explicitly disclose
further comprising additional executable instructions that cause the one or more controllers to adjust torque of the first electric machine in response to a present speed of the first electric machine
Arun teaches
further comprising additional executable instructions that cause the one or more controllers to adjust torque of the first electric machine in response to a present speed of the first electric machine (see at least Arun, para. [0078]: Plot 904 shows a torque command, delivered by the control system at the beginning of speed synchronization stage 706, to engage the two-way CMD clutches (e.g., pocket plate 402 and notch plate 406). Plot 902 shows two pairs of X,Y coordinates, which reflect points before and after the control system generates a second torque impulse to confirm the motor assembly speed matches the wheel speed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of further comprising additional executable instructions that cause the one or more controllers to adjust torque of the first electric machine in response to a present speed of the first electric machine of Arun, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable quick dynamic actuation of a disconnect at any vehicle speed (see at least Arun, para. [0008]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Takaira, in view of Arun, in view of US 2003/0001390A1 (“Phillips”).
As per claim 13 Li does not explicitly disclose
where torque of the first electric machine is adjusted via a feed forward controller and a proportional/integral controller.
Phillips teaches
where torque of the first electric machine is adjusted via a feed forward controller and a proportional/integral controller (see at least Arun, para. [0044]: For example, control system 110 may include a speed controller (e.g., a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) feedback controller), a torque controller, a current controller (e.g., per motor phase of each motor), a position controller, any other suitable controllers, or any combination thereof… & para. [0077]: The speed differential may be introduced, for example, in two ways: closed-loop speed control or open-loop constant torque pulse (e.g., linearly ramping up speed). With locked disconnects, either method will result in a fast (e.g., high frequency) deviation between the unloaded inertial model and the measured motor speed after the inboard assembly (e.g., motor, gearbox, inboard clutch) accelerates through the effective lash zone, as depicted in FIG. 10 (e.g., constant torque pulse method).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where torque of the first electric machine is adjusted via a feed forward controller and a proportional/integral controller of Phillips, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to start an engine in an HEV with minimal torque disturbance to the powertrain (see at least Phillips, para. [0002]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Takaira, in view of Arun, in view of Phillips, in view of Thompson.
As per claim 14 Li does not explicitly disclose
where the feed forward controller includes a motor speed slew rate target value for each of a plurality of different urgency levels, and where the proportional/integral controller includes gains for the plurality of different urgency levels.
Phillips teaches
a feed forward controller and proportional/integral controller includes gains (see at least Phillips, para. [0039-0041]: The implementation shown uses a simple proportional plus integral (PI) controller, known in the prior art, to gradually reduce motor/generator 22 torque to zero by modifying (increasing) an engine 20 torque setpoint accordingly. Desired engine torque (tq_eng_des) is calculated at Step 106 using the PI controller as follows…where Kp and Ki are calibratable proportional and integral controller gains, respectively, and z.sup.-1 is a one-time step delay. An alternative control algorithm that could be used might involve a feed-forward calculation as follows…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of a feed forward controller and proportional/integral controller includes gains of Phillips, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to start an engine in an HEV with minimal torque disturbance to the powertrain (see at least Phillips, para. [0002]).
Thompson teaches
where the controller includes a motor speed slew rate target value for each of a plurality of different urgency levels, and where the controller includes gains for the plurality of different urgency levels (see at least Thompson, para. [0033]: The following factors may be modified for the various states of driving: the disconnect clutch capacity request, the disconnect clutch capacity application time, the disconnect clutch torque slew rate during locking, the disconnect clutch lock request timing (e.g., the speed threshold for requesting locking), the motor speed target, the engine speed target, the engine-speed offset, spark timing, engine speed control gains, motor torque buffer, driveline torque shaping rate, transmission shifting priority, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the controller includes a motor speed slew rate target value for each of a plurality of different urgency levels, and where the controller includes gains for the plurality of different urgency levels of Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide optimum performance (see at least Thompson, para. [0031]).
As per claim 15 Li does not explicitly disclose
where the proportional/integral controller includes gains that are dynamically adjusted based on a target motor speed and a motor speed error for three speed control phases of an electric machine speed synchronization phase
Phillips teaches
proportional/integral controller includes gains (see at least Phillips, para. [0039-0041]: The implementation shown uses a simple proportional plus integral (PI) controller, known in the prior art, to gradually reduce motor/generator 22 torque to zero by modifying (increasing) an engine 20 torque setpoint accordingly. Desired engine torque (tq_eng_des) is calculated at Step 106 using the PI controller as follows…where Kp and Ki are calibratable proportional and integral controller gains, respectively, and z.sup.-1 is a onetime step delay. An alternative control algorithm that could be used might involve a feed-forward calculation as follows…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of proportional/integral controller includes gains of Phillips, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to start an engine in an HEV with minimal torque disturbance to the powertrain (see at least Phillips, para. [0002]).
Thompson teaches
where the proportional/integral controller includes gains that are dynamically adjusted based on a target motor speed and a motor speed error for three speed control phases of an electric machine speed synchronization phase (see at least Thompson, para. [0033]: The following factors may be modified for the various states of driving: the disconnect clutch capacity request, the disconnect clutch capacity application time, the disconnect clutch torque slew rate during locking, the disconnect clutch lock request timing (e.g., the speed threshold for requesting locking), the motor speed target, the engine speed target, the engine-speed offset, spark timing, engine speed control gains, motor torque buffer, driveline torque shaping rate, transmission shifting priority, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the proportional/integral controller includes gains that are dynamically adjusted based on a target motor speed and a motor speed error for three speed control phases of an electric machine speed synchronization phase of Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide optimum performance (see at least Thompson, para. [0031]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arun, in view of Takaira.
As per claim 17 Arun discloses
further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed slew rate target during a first phase of the three speed control phases based on a steady-state value and a desired traction motor speed synchronization time (see at least Arun, para. [0062-0066]: The slope of the acceleration-versus-torque curve, which is roughly 0.017 kg*m.sup.2, corresponds to the effective inertia of the motor assembly and any connected components (e.g., gearbox, inboard disconnect clutch) when the disconnect is in the “unlocked” state. With knowledge of the effective inertia of the unloaded inboard components, a purely proportional motor speed regulator may be developed and tuned…In some embodiments, the torque command from the speed controller will be limited to, for example, +/−40 Nm, which—as shown by the data tips in FIG. 8—corresponds to a motor speed slew rate of roughly 2,400 rad/s.sup.2 (e.g., 23,000 RPM/s)… Diagnostic Threshold—Represents the maximum allowable steady-state error. Momentary excursions outside this threshold will be debounced. ).
However Arun does not explicitly disclose
an urgency level is low.
Takaira teaches
further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed when an urgency level is low (see at least Takaira, para. [0055-0056]: Accordingly, the aspect of the increase in the propeller shaft rotation speed Np can be changed in accordance with the degree of urgency of transition to 4WD traveling. Accordingly, the disconnect state can be canceled with the increasing gradient of the propeller shaft rotation speed Np relatively small and the shock suppressed in a case where the transition to 4WD traveling is not urgent…According to this embodiment, the clutch control unit 106 increases the propeller shaft rotation Np at a predetermined gradient based on the difference between the lengths of time until the propeller shaft rotation Np reaches the determination threshold N1. The clutch control unit 106 engages the front side clutch 40 after the propeller shaft rotation Np reaches the determination threshold N1. Accordingly, the disconnect state can be appropriately canceled even in any case where the propeller shaft rotation Np is increased at different increasing gradients. & para. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of further comprising adjusting a traction motor speed when an urgency level is low of Takaira, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve relating to the responsiveness of the transition to the 4WD traveling (see at least Takaira, para. [0041]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arun, in view of Takaira, in view of Thompson.
As per claim 18 Arun does not explicitly disclose
where the traction motor speed slew rate target decreases for an increasing desired traction motor speed synchronization time for when an urgency level is low
Thompson teaches
where the traction motor speed slew rate target decreases for an increasing desired traction motor speed synchronization time for when an urgency level is low (see at least Thompson, para. [0033]: The following factors may be modified for the various states of driving: the disconnect clutch capacity request, the disconnect clutch capacity application time, the disconnect clutch torque slew rate during locking, the disconnect clutch lock request timing (e.g., the speed threshold for requesting locking), the motor speed target, the engine speed target, the engine-speed offset, spark timing, engine speed control gains, motor torque buffer, driveline torque shaping rate, transmission shifting priority, and the like. para. [0038]: The capacity and the slew rate may increase with the states of driving so that the disconnect clutch locks harder and faster for the upper states of driving and a softer and slower for the lower states of driving.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the traction motor speed slew rate target decreases for an increasing desired traction motor speed synchronization time for when an urgency level is low of Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide optimum performance (see at least Thompson, para. [0031]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arun, in view of Thompson, in view of Takaira.
As per claim 20 Arun does not explicitly disclose
where the torque is adjusted based on motor speed slew rate target value and a plurality of gains for driveline disconnect clutch urgency levels, and where a maximum traction motor torque is commanded during a first phase of a second operating mode in response to an urgency level being high.
Thompson teaches
where the torque is adjusted based on motor speed slew rate target value and a plurality of gains for driveline disconnect clutch urgency levels (see at least Thompson, para. [0033]: The following factors may be modified for the various states of driving: the disconnect clutch capacity request, the disconnect clutch capacity application time, the disconnect clutch torque slew rate during locking, the disconnect clutch lock request timing (e.g., the speed threshold for requesting locking), the motor speed target, the engine speed target, the engine-speed offset, spark timing, engine speed control gains, motor torque buffer, driveline torque shaping rate, transmission shifting priority, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where the torque is adjusted based on motor speed slew rate target value and a plurality of gains for driveline disconnect clutch urgency levels of Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide optimum performance (see at least Thompson, para. [0031]).
Takaira teaches
where a maximum traction motor torque is commanded during a first phase of a second operating mode in response to an urgency level being high (see at least Takaira, para. [0040-0041]: The rotation of the first rotating member 36 may be a rotation that is converted from the transmission output rotation Nout. In addition, the maximum rotation difference ΔNsync is, for example, a -allowed rotation difference pre-defined as the maximum value of the absolute value of the rotation difference between the rotation of the first rotating member 36 and the rotation of the second rotating member 38 at which the (engagement) of the front side 40 is possible. Accordingly, the control unit 106 calculates the determination threshold N1 based on the rotation of the first rotating member 36. The control unit 106 determines whether or not the rotation of the relative rotating members of the front side 40 are based on whether or not the propeller shaft rotation Np exceeds the determination threshold N1…During the transition from the 2WD_d traveling to the 4WD traveling, a certain of is required until the rotation of the propeller shaft 28 whose rotation is substantially stopped due to the engagement of the coupling 54 reaches the determination threshold N1.Accordingly, there is room for improvement relating to the responsiveness of the transition to the 4WD traveling. Herein, it is considered that a quick cancel of the disconnect state is more preferable than the suppression of a shock in canceling the disconnect state (cancel shock) if the of the transition to the 4WD traveling is high. & para. [0083]: In the embodiments described above, a gasoline engine or the like that is an internal combustion engine which generates power by fuel combustion has been described as an example of the driving force source. For example, another motor such as an electric motor can also be adopted alone or in combination with the engine.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takaira to incorporate the teaching of where a maximum traction motor torque is commanded during a first phase of a second operating mode in response to an urgency level being high of Takaira, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve relating to the responsiveness of the transition to the 4WD traveling (see at least Takaira, para. [0041]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668