DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
“control means” in claims 17-20, described in the specification as a processor (Para [0101]).
“attachment means” in claim 21, described in the specification as straps (Para [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rothberg et al. (US 2019/0069842 A1) (hereinafter Rothberg).
Regarding claim 1, Rothberg teaches an apparatus comprising: an ultrasonic receiver system [ultrasound transducers in ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110] (Para [0055]); a user interface system [display screen 122] (Para [0122]); and
a control system [processing circuitry] configured to: receive ultrasonic data from the ultrasonic receiver system [ultrasound data collected] (Para [0128]);
detect, based at least in part on the ultrasonic sensor data, one or more imperfections in, on, or proximate an adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer on an outer surface of the apparatus [determine whether the collected ultrasound data show signs that coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist] (Para [0123, 0128]); and
control the user interface system to provide a prompt to adjust or replace the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer responsive to detecting the one or more imperfections in, on, or proximate the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer [notification to replace or refresh coupling strip; displayed on display screen 122] (Para [0124]).
Regarding claim 2, Rothberg as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the user interface system includes a display and wherein the control system is configured to control the display to provide at least a part of the prompt [displayed on display screen 122] (Para [0124]).
Regarding claim 3, Rothberg as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control system is configured to detect one or more air bubbles or contaminants between the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer and the outer surface of the apparatus [processing circuitry configured to analyze collected data and determine whether the collected data shows signs (e.g. decreased quality of images) that the coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist; contaminants would affect quality of images] (Para [0097, 0123]).
Regarding claim 4, Rothberg as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control system is configured to detect one or more instances of damage to the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer [determining whether a current amount of liquid or gel associated with the coupling strip is below a threshold amount] (Para [0097, 0123]).
Regarding claim 6, Rothberg as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control system is further configured to: receive, via the ultrasonic receiver system, first ultrasonic sensor data form a target object when the apparatus is in a first position relative to the target object; control the user interface system to provide a prompt to rotate or translate the apparatus to a second position relative to the target object; receive, via the ultrasonic receiver system, second ultrasonic sensor data from the target object when the apparatus is in the second position [display screen 122 may display instructions for guiding the user to position the ultrasound module 104 at the desired location while the user is moving his or her wrist] (Para [0084]); and
determine, based at least in part on one or more differences between the first and second ultrasonic sensor data, whether there are one or more imperfects in, on, or proximate the adhesive ultrasonic layer [ultrasound image generated based on collected ultrasound data while the user is holding the ultrasound module 104 at desired location; determine whether the collected data shows signs (e.g. decreased quality of images) that the coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist] (Para [0084, 0097, 0123]).
Regarding claim 7, Rothberg as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the target object is a wrist, a digit, or a test pattern [wrist] (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Rothberg as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising an attachment system configured for attaching the apparatus to a user’s body, wherein the attachment system includes one or more attachment devices [wristband] (Para [0068], see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Rothberg as applied to claim 8 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the attachment system comprises a strap configured for attaching the apparatus to the user’s wrist or upper arm (Para [0068], see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Rothberg as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control system is further configured to determine, based at least in part on the ultrasonic sensor data, whether the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer is properly attached to the outer surface of the apparatus [determine whether the collected ultrasound data show signs that coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist] (Para [0123, 0128]); and control the user interface system to provide a prompt to adjust or replace the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer responsive to determine that the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer is not properly attached to the outer surface of the apparatus [notification to replace or refresh coupling strip; displayed on display screen 122] (Para [0124]).
Regarding claim 11, Rothberg as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the ultrasonic receiver system is a component of an ultrasonic sensor system or a photoacoustic sensor system [ultrasound transducers in ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110] (Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Rothberg teaches a method of controlling an apparatus that includes an ultrasonic receiver system [ultrasound transducers in ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110] (Para [0055]), the method comprising:
receiving, by a control system [processing circuitry], ultrasonic data from the ultrasonic receiver system [ultrasound data collected] (Para [0128]);
detecting, by the control system and based at least in part on the ultrasonic sensor data, one or more imperfections in, on, or proximate an adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer on an outer surface of the apparatus [determine whether the collected ultrasound data show signs that coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist] (Para [0123, 0128]); and
controlling, by the control system, a user interface system to provide a prompt to adjust or replace the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer responsive to detecting the one or more imperfections in, on, or proximate the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer [notification to replace or refresh coupling strip; displayed on display screen 122] (Para [0124]).
Regarding claim 13, Rothberg as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the user interface system includes a display and wherein the method involves controlling the display to provide at least a part of the prompt [displayed on display screen 122] (Para [0124]).
Regarding claim 14, Rothberg as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the method involves detecting one or more air bubbles or contaminants between the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer and the outer surface of the apparatus [analyze collected data and determine whether the collected data shows signs (e.g. decreased quality of images) that the coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist; contaminants would affect quality of images] (Para [0097, 0123]).
Regarding claim 15, Rothberg as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the method involves detecting one or more instances of damage to the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer [determining whether a current amount of liquid or gel associated with the coupling strip is below a threshold amount] (Para [0097, 0123]).
Regarding claim 17, Rothberg teaches an apparatus, comprising: an ultrasonic receiver system [ultrasound transducers in ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110] (Para [0055]); a user interface system [display screen 122] (Para [0122]); and
control means [processing circuitry] configured for: receiving ultrasonic data from the ultrasonic receiver system [ultrasound data collected] (Para [0128]);
determining, based at least in part on the ultrasonic sensor data, whether the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer is properly attached to the outer surface of the apparatus [determine whether the collected ultrasound data show signs that coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist] (Para [0123, 0128]); and
controlling the user interface system to provide a prompt to adjust or replace the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer responsive to determining that the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer is not properly attached to the outer surface of the apparatus [notification to replace or refresh coupling strip; displayed on display screen 122] (Para [0124]).
Regarding claim 18, Rothberg as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control means includes means for: detecting, based at least in part on the ultrasonic sensor data, one or more imperfections in, on, or proximate an adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer on an outer surface of the apparatus [determine whether the collected ultrasound data show signs that coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist] (Para [0123, 0128]); and controlling the user interface system to provide a prompt to adjust or replace the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer responsive to detecting the one or more imperfections in, on, or proximate the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer [notification to replace or refresh coupling strip; displayed on display screen 122] (Para [0124]).
Regarding claim 19, Rothberg as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control means includes means for detecting one or more air bubbles or contaminants between the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer and the outer surface of the apparatus [processing circuitry configured to analyze collected data and determine whether the collected data shows signs (e.g. decreased quality of images) that the coupling strip is conforming poorly to the user’s wrist; contaminants would affect quality of images] (Para [0097, 0123]).
Regarding claim 20, Rothberg as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control means includes means for detecting one or more instances of damage to the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer [determining whether a current amount of liquid or gel associated with the coupling strip is below a threshold amount] (Para [0097, 0123]).
Regarding claim 21, Rothberg as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising attachment means for attaching the apparatus to a user’s body [wristband] (Para [0068], see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Rothberg as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the ultrasonic receiver system is a component of an ultrasonic sensor system or a photoacoustic sensor system [ultrasound transducers in ultrasound-on-a-chip device 110] (Para [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Strohmann et al. (US 2018/0276439 A1) (hereinafter Strohmann).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Rothberg as applied to claims 1 and 12above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the control system/method is further configured to control the ultrasonic receiver to receive ultrasonic waves using a range gate delay and a range gate window that correspond with ultrasonic waves from the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer; and detect the one or more imperfections according to the ultrasonic waves. Strohmann teaches an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves using a range gate delay and a range gate window for receiving ultrasonic waves reflected from different depths (Para [0172], see Fig. 21). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Rothberg with Strohmann such that the control system is further configured to control the ultrasonic receiver to receive ultrasonic waves using a range gate delay and a range gate window that correspond with ultrasonic waves from the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer; and detect the one or more imperfections according to the ultrasonic waves, such to detect imperfections in the adhesive ultrasonic coupling layer through a 3D image.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855