Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 53-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers et al. (WO 2022140280, disclosed by applicant).
Myers et al. disclose oral care compositions comprising stannous fluoride and/or stannous chloride, a potassium salt and a polyphosphate source (Abstract). The stannous ion source includes stannous fluoride and stannous chloride at a concentration of 0.1 to 2% (reference claim 8). Myers et al. disclose a nitric ion source including potassium nitrate at a concentration of 0.1 to 5% (reference claim 8). Myers et al. disclose the composition comprises surfactants and mixtures thereof at a concentration of 0.3 to 3%, which include sodium methyl cocyl taurate and cocoamidopropyl betaine ([0016]). Myers et al. disclose the composition comprises thickening agents, silica ([0020], 1.42), xanthan gum and carboxymethyl cellulose, wherein if the xanthan gum and carboxymethyl cellulose are used at equal amounts would meet the ratio of 1:1. Myers et al. disclose the composition comprises calcium pyrophosphate and tetrasodium pyrophosphate as anticalculus agent in a concentration of 2-20% ([0022]). Myers et al. disclose the composition further comprises a basic amino acid, such as arginine ([0033]). The compositions of Myers et al. are substantially free of a titanium containing material.
The prior discloses compositions containing a surfactant system comprising a sulfate based anionic surfactant, and an amphoteric surfactant; a thickener system; calcium pyrophosphate; a stannous ion source; a nitrate ion source; and phosphate ion source. Together these would provide a composition as claimed instantly.
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these combinations must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since each component is taught as being useful in making the compositions of the prior art.
Since this modification of the prior art represents nothing more than “the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Claim(s) 37-40 and 44-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers et al. (WO 2022140280, disclosed by applicant) in view of Riley (EP0740932).
Myers et al. disclose oral care compositions comprising stannous fluoride and/or stannous chloride, a potassium salt and a polyphosphate source (Abstract). The stannous ion source includes stannous fluoride and stannous chloride at a concentration of 0.1 to 2% (reference claim 8). Myers et al. disclose a nitric ion source including potassium nitrate at a concentration of 0.1 to 5% (reference claim 8). Myers et al. disclose the composition comprises surfactants and mixtures thereof at a concentration of 0.3 to 3%, which include sodium methyl cocyl taurate and cocoamidopropyl betaine ([0016]). Myers et al. disclose the composition comprises thickening agents, silica ([0020], 1.42), xanthan gum and carboxymethyl cellulose, wherein if the xanthan gum and carboxymethyl cellulose are used at equal amounts would meet the ratio of 1:1. Myers et al. disclose the composition comprises calcium pyrophosphate and tetrasodium pyrophosphate as anticalculus agent in a concentration of 2-20% ([0022]). Myers et al. disclose the composition further comprises a basic amino acid, such as arginine ([0033]). The compositions of Myers et al. are substantially free of a titanium containing material.
Myers et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose particles having a refractive index of from about 1.0 to about 2.5.
Riley discloses dentifrices comprising silica abrasive particles with refractive index in the range of 1.41 – 1.47 ([0013]).
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used particles with a refractive index from about 1.0 to about 2.5, since they are known for oral care compositions.
Claim(s) 41-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers et al. (WO 2022140280, disclosed by applicant) in view of Riley (EP0740932) as applied to claims 37-40 and 44-52 above, and further in view of Miguelino et al. (WO 2022125783).
Myers in view of Riley is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose an amino acid derived surfactant or a glucoside surfactant.
Miguelino et al. disclose oral care compositions comprising combination of surfactants.; wherein the surfactants include sodium cocoyl glutamate, sodium lauryl glucoside, sodium methyl cocoyl taurate and cocamidopropyl betaine.
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. MPEP 2144.07. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to have used sodium cocoyl glutamate and sodium lauryl glucoside as the surfactants of Myers et al. since they are suitable for use in oral care compositions.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612