DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on February 8, 2024; April 11, 2024 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 13, 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, Examiner suggests -- wherein the control signal --
Claim 13, Examiner suggests -- orientation of the switchable --
Claim 15, Examiner suggests -- based on the [[the]] subset of the --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) an eye tracking system to determine…in claim 8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 22, the claim recites “the first set…is located between an exit pupil expander or an outcoupler of the waveguide” which unclear how something (first set) is between only one thing (either expander or outcoupler). This appears to be a typographical error of between the expander and outcoupler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13, 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/(a2) as being anticipated by Landig et al. (US 2023/0367073 - Landig).
As to claim 1, Landig teaches an eyewear device (Landig Figs. 3B, 15, 16), comprising
a waveguide (Landig Fig. 3B - 301B) comprising a first set of adjustable reflectors (Landig Fig. 3B - 303; para. [0059]), wherein each adjustable reflector of the first set of adjustable reflectors is switchable between a first state in which the adjustable reflector is transparent and second state in which the adjustable reflector reflects a portion of light incident thereon (Landig Fig. 3B - 303, 360B, 321, 322B; para. [0059]);
and a controller (Landig Fig. 4 - 431) configured to send a control signal to a subset of the first set of adjustable reflectors to control the subset of the first set of adjustable reflectors to operate in the first state or the second state (Landig Fig. 3B - 303, 360B, 321, 322B; para. [0059], [0061]).
As to claim 2, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches the first set of adjustable reflectors is located in an exit pupil expander or an outcoupler of the waveguide (Landig Fig. 3B; Fig. 4 - 450).
As to claim 3, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches the control signal is based on a type of content generated for display by the eyewear display (Landig Fig. 3B - 321; para. [0059]; Fig. 7 - 704B, 704O).
As to claim 4, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches the adjustable waveguide comprises a second set of adjustable reflectors (Landig Fig. 3B - 303; Fig. 4 - 403; Fig. 8A - 803; Fig. 11 - 1103; Fig. 12 - 1203), wherein each adjustable reflector of the second set of adjustable reflectors is switchable between a first state in which the adjustable reflector is transparent and a second state in which the adjustable reflector reflects a portion of light incident thereon (Landig Fig. 3B - 303, 360B, 321, 322B; para. [0059]);
the controller is configured to send a second control signal to a subset of the second set of adjustable reflectors to control the subset of the second set of adjustable reflectors to operate in the first state or the second state (Landig Fig. 4 - 431; para. [0059], [0061]).
As to claim 5, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches the first set of adjustable reflectors is located in an exit pupil expander of the waveguide and the second set of adjustable reflectors is located in an outcoupler of the waveguide (Landig Fig. 3B - 303; Fig. 4 - 403, 450; Fig. 11 - 1103; Fig. 12 - 1203; Fig. 13 - 1303).
As to claim 6, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches the first set of adjustable reflectors is located between an exit pupil expander and an output coupler (Landig Fig. 11 - 1103; Fig. 12 - 1203; Fig. 13 - 1303-1, 1303-2; para. [0033]).
As to claim 7, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, and Landig further teaches the waveguide comprises a second set of adjustable reflectors arranged adjacent to the first set of adjustable reflectors between the exit pupil expander and the outcoupler (Landig Fig. 11 - 1103; Fig. 12 - 1203; Fig 13 - 1303-1, 1303-2; para. [0033]), wherein each adjustable reflector of the second set of adjustable reflectors is switchable between a first state in which the adjustable reflector is transparent and a second state in which the adjustable reflector reflects a portion of light incident thereon based on a second control signal (Landig Figs. 11, 12, 13; para. [0059], [0061], [0085], [0086], [0092]), and the controller configured to send the second control signal to a subset of the second set of adjustable reflectors to control the subset of the second set of adjustable reflectors to operate in the first or second state (Landig Fig. 4 - 431; Figs. 11, 12, 13; para. [0059], [0061], [0085], [0086], [0092]).
As to claim 8, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches an eye tracking system to determine at least one of a position or an orientation of an eye of a user of the eyewear display (Landig Fig. 4 - 432; para. [0063]), and the controller configured to send the control signal based on the at least one of the position or orientation of the eye (Landig Fig. 4 - 432, 431; para. [0063]; Fig. 7 - 704D, 704D1).
As to claim 9, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Landig further teaches the subset of adjustable reflectors is operated in the second state to reflect light toward a pupil position based on the at least one of the position or the orientation of the eye (Landig Fig. 4 - 432, 431; Figs. 5A, B - 521, 522, 505; Fig. 7 - 704D, 704D1).
As to claim 10, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches the controller is configured to generate the control signal based on an interpupillary distance of a user of the eyewear display (Landig para. [0044], [0070]).
As to claim 11, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches each adjustable reflector in the first set of adjustable reflector comprises a cholesteric liquid crystal layer (Landig Figs. 9A-C - 924; para. [0081], [0082]), wherein the control signal comprises a voltage that modifies an orientation of cholesteric liquid crystals in the cholesteric liquid crystal layer (Landig Figs. 9A-C - 924; para. [0081], [0082]), wherein the first state and the second state are dependent upon the orientation of CLCs in the CLC layer (Landig Figs. 9A-C - 924; para. [0081], [0082]).
As to claim 13, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches each adjustable reflector in the first set of adjustable reflectors comprises a switchable fractional waveplate (Landig Figs. 9A-C - 924; para. [0081], [0082]), wherein the control signal comprises a voltage that modifies an orientation of the switchable fractional waveplate (Landig Figs. 9A-C - 924; para. [0081], [0082]), wherein the first state and the second state are dependent upon the orientation of the switchable fractional waveplate (Landig Figs. 9A-C - 924; para. [0081], [0082]).
As to claim 16, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Landig further teaches the portion of light reflected by the adjustable reflectors in the second state is adjustable (Landig para. [0049]).
As to claim 17, Landig teaches a method for controlling display light in an eyewear display (Landig Fig. 3B; Fig. 4; Fig. 7), comprising
sending, from a controller (Landig Fig. 4 - 431; para. [0061]) of the eyewear, a control signal to a subset of a first set of adjustable reflectors in a waveguide of the eyewear display (Landig Fig. 4 - 431, 403; Fig. 3 - 303, 301B; para. [0059]), and
switching, for each adjustable reflector in the subset of the first set of adjustable reflectors, between a first state in which the adjustable reflector is transparent (Landig Fig. 3B - 322B; para. [0049], [0059]) and a second state in which the adjustable reflector reflects a portion of display light thereon (Landig Fig. 3B - 321; para. [0049], [0059]).
As to claim 18, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and Landig further teaches determining, at an eye tracking system (Landig Fig. 4 - 432; para. [0063]) of the eyewear display, at least one of a position or an orientation of an eye of a user of the eyewear display (Landig Fig. 4 - 432; para. [0063]), and generating at the controller, the control signal based on the at least one of the position or orientation of the eye (Landig Fig. 4 - 432, 431; para. [0063]; Fig. 7 - 704D, 704D1).
As to claim 19, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and Landig further teaches sending, from the controller, a second control signal to a subset of a second set of adjustable reflectors in a waveguide of the eyewear display (Landig Fig. 3B - 303; Fig. 4 - 403, 431; Fig. 8A - 803; Fig. 11 - 1103; Fig. 12 - 1203),
switching, for each adjustable reflector in the subset of the second set of adjustable reflectors, between a first state in which the adjustable reflector is transparent (Landig Fig. 3B - 322B; para. [0049], [0059]) and a second state in which the adjustable reflector reflects a portion of display light incident thereon (Landig Fig. 3B - 321; para. [0049], [0059]).
As to claim 20, Landig teaches a waveguide comprising
a first set of adjustable reflectors (Landig Fig. 3B - 303; para. [0059]), wherein each adjustable reflector of the first set of adjustable reflectors is switchable between a first state in which the adjustable reflector is transparent and second state in which the adjustable reflector reflects a portion of light incident thereon (Landig Fig. 3B - 303, 360B, 321, 322B; para. [0059]).
As to claim 21, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 20, and Landig further teaches the first set of adjustable reflectors is located in an exit pupil expander or an outcoupler of the waveguide (Landig Fig. 3B; Fig. 4 - 450).
As to claim 22, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 20, and Landig further teaches the first set of adjustable reflectors is located between an exit pupil expander and an output coupler (Landig Fig. 11 - 1103; Fig. 12 - 1203; Fig. 13 - 1303-1, 1303-2; para. [0033]).
As to claim 23, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 20, and Landig further teaches the adjustable waveguide comprises a second set of adjustable reflectors (Landig Fig. 3B - 303; Fig. 4 - 403; Fig. 8A - 803; Fig. 11 - 1103; Fig. 12 - 1203), wherein each adjustable reflector of the second set of adjustable reflectors is switchable between a first state in which the adjustable reflector is transparent and a second state in which the adjustable reflector reflects a portion of light incident thereon (Landig Fig. 3B - 303, 360B, 321, 322B; para. [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landig as applied to claim 11 and 13 above, and further in view of Peng et al. (US 2020/0049872 - Peng).
As to claims 12, 14, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claims 11, 13, but doesn’t specify the first set of adjustable reflectors comprises a passive cholesteric liquid crystal layer configured to reflect light having a first polarization state and transmit light having a second polarization state different than the first polarization state.
In the same field of endeavor Peng teaches switchable reflectors for eyewear displays (Peng Fig. 3; Figs. 17A, 17B) a passive cholesteric liquid crystal layer configured to reflect light having a first polarization state and transmit light having a second polarization state different than the first polarization state (Peng Figs. 17A-B - 1714; para. [0130]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a passive CLC layer since such layers are well known in the art as components of switchable polarization sensitive reflectors reflecting and/or transmitting the desired polarization (Peng Figs. 17A-B - 1714; para. [0130]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landig as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al (US 20017/0184894 - Hayashi).
As to claim 15, Landig teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify a dimming module layer positioned at a world side of the waveguide, wherein the dimming module layer comprises regions whose transparency is adjusted based on the subset of the first set of adjustable reflectors operating in the first state or the second state.
In the same field of endeavor Hayashi teaches eyewear devices with a dimming module layer positioned at a world side of the waveguide (Hayashi Fig. 14 - 50, 51, 52), wherein the dimming module layer comprises regions (Hayashi Fig. 14 - 51, 52) whose transparency is adjusted based on the subset of the first set of adjustable reflectors operating in the first state or the second state (Hayashi Fig. 14 - 51, 52; Fig. 15A - 51, 52, Fig. 15B - 51, 52; para. [0114]-[0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such dimmer since, as taught by Hayashi, such dimmer allows for controlling the transmittances of the world based on the field of view (FOV) and improving contrast of the images (Hayashi Fig. 14 - 51, 52; Fig. 15A - 51, 52, Fig. 15B - 51, 52; para. [0114]-[0118]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lam et al. (US 12,282,182; 2024/0192427); Landig et al. (US 12,429,651); Peng et al. (US 10,495,798); Kress et al. (US 2014/02332651) are cited as additional examples of eyewear/waveguide with controllable reflectors and/or dimmers.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 January 8, 2026