DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 19/219,353 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/627,734 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koczo (US 2007/0244205 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Koczo discloses a process comprising: adding an anti-foam compound to hydrocarbon gas (paragraph 75) in natural gas processing (paragraph 77). It is the Office’s position that such processing requires a conduit.
Regarding claim 2, Koczo incorporates a book "Oilfield Processing of Petroleum: Natural Gas” by reference (paragraph 77). Such processing includes the claimed materials.
Regarding claim 3, Koczo discloses methane, ethane, propane, and butane (paragraph 75).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Koczo discloses that the anti-foam compound includes a component the encompasses the claimed formula (paragraphs 53-55).
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 16, Koczo discloses polydimethylsiloxane (paragraph 88).
Regarding claim 7, Koczo discloses water solvent (paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 8, Koczo discloses anionic surfactant (paragraph 89).
Regarding claim 13, Koczo discloses a stabilizer (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 18, Koczo discloses a process comprising: adding an anti-foam compound to hydrocarbon gas (paragraph 75) in natural gas processing (paragraph 77). It is the Office’s position that such processing requires equipment.
Regarding claim 20, Koczo discloses polydimethylsiloxane (paragraph 88).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koczo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Palazzotto (US 2008/0081773 A1).
Koczo does not disclose a slug catcher though does discuss natural gas processing in the context of oilfields. Palazzotto—in an invention for natural gas field processing—discloses the use of one or more slug catchers to separate liquid and gas phases in the process stream from coal bed to downstream machines (paragraphs 5-12). Palazzotto discloses demulsifiers with anti-foaming agents for the process stream (paragraph 45) to inhibit formation of emulsions, break emulsions that have developed, and inhibit corrosion (paragraph 46). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the composition of Koczo in the methane procurement and utilization system of Palazzotto to effective fill the need inhibit corrosion in the technology for which Koczo is applied.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koczo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 111352298 B). A machine translation is provided herewith for translation and citation purposes.
Koczo discloses a stabilizer (paragraph 29) and that the low-foaming gas processing composition of the invention also includes a polypropylene glycol component (paragraph 58) functionalized as an alcohol ether (paragraph 60). Koczo has found that there is a synergistic effect in the present invention in the combination of polypropylene glycol and silicone antifoam component (paragraph 58). Li—in an invention pertaining to dispersants in alcohol ether—discloses claimed Formula II (see page 1) and that Li significantly increases the solubility and dispersion stability of quantum dots in alcohol ether solvents by using a compound having the formula 1 as a dispersant (section Formula 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the compound of claim 14 with the anti-foam compound of Koczo to improve solubility and dispersion stability as suggested by Li.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725