DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 05/11/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 9, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the objection to the Specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendment made to the Specification overcomes the previous objection and thus it has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 10-13, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 10-12 of Remarks that Cirik does not teach the “reference signal (RS) configuration indicating synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), associated with the plurality of candidate cells, for layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement” feature of independent claim 1, stating that “the parameter “candidateBeamRSList”, as a part of the IE beamFailureRecoveryConfig, is also cell-specific”. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as Cirik does teach this feature, and a claim mapping is provided below. Firstly, nowhere is it stated in Cirik that the candidateBeamRSList is cell-specific as Applicant is asserting. Applicant pulled a passage from paragraph [0544] showing an example where the IE beamFailureRecoveryConfig may contain the candidateBeamRSList parameter, and in this example the beamFailureRecoveryConfig IE happens to be in relation to “the second cell”. Applicant equates this with meaning that the candidateBeamRSList parameter is “cell-specific”, which is not necessarily true nor is it stated in Cirik (which does discuss cell-specific indexes, but not that the candidateBeamRSList is cell-specific) that this is the case. Regardless, even assuming this were the case for the sake of argument, the argument is moot. The claim language only requires that the RS configuration is “associated with the plurality of candidate cells” (emphasis added), which is very broadly written. By the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language as it is written, the claim only requires that the candidateBeamRSList parameter is associated with (i.e. related to) the plurality of candidate cells. Cirik clearly shows this in [0201] and [0401] which states that there is a plurality of configuration parameters such as candidateBeamRSList for one or more cells. Applicant then goes on to argue on pages 12-13 that “Cirik does not disclose or teach “Layer 1 or Layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM)” in claim 1”, stating that the previously cited portions of Cirik describe “traditional Layer 3 (RRC-based) handover, not L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM)”. Applicant then goes on to give an example from Hong that describes L1/L2 triggered mobility using MAC CE signaling instead of RRC signaling. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as Cirik does teach this feature, and a claim mapping is provided below. Firstly, Examiner would like to point out that the argument Applicant appears to be making with the example provided from Hong is contradictory to the claim, which recites “receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages, associated with Layer 1 or Layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM)” (emphasis added). Applicant appears to be arguing that Layer 1 and Layer 2 mobility does not use RRC, but the claim explicitly says that RRC messages “associated with Layer 1 or Layer 2 triggered mobility” are received. Secondly, once again the claim language uses the broad phrase “associated with”, which only requires that there are RRC messages associated with L1/L2 mobility, and Cirik does teach this. Cirik clearly teaches RRC messages that convey information for mobility control. Mobility control is associated with L1/L2 triggered mobility. Additionally, as can be seen from the attached screenshot from Google, L1/L2 triggered mobility does indeed use an initial RRC message. For the reasons discussed above, the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al (US 20200350973 A1), and further in view of Hong (US 20250071648 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cirik teaches
A method comprising ([0648] methods disclosed):
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages, associated with Layer 1 or Layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM), comprising ([0201] wireless device receives one or more RRC messages from base station; [0208] RRC message related to mobility control):
a plurality of serving cell configurations, wherein each serving cell configuration of the plurality of serving cell configurations is associated with a corresponding candidate cell of a plurality of candidate cells ([0201] base station sends one or more RRC messages to the wireless device comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells (plurality of serving cell configurations); [0544] one or more of the configuration parameters may comprise at least one candidate cell-RS list (associated with a corresponding candidate cell of a plurality)); and
a reference signal (RS) configuration indicating synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), associated with the plurality of candidate cells, for layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement ([0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration) in order to detect a candidate beam (associated with the plurality of candidate cells); [0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList, which is provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC);
L1-RSRP measurement of at least one SSB indicated in the RS configuration and for the LTM ([0430] RS indicates SSB, where a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the RS in order to detect a candidate beam (for LTM)),
Cirik does not explicitly teach transmitting, based on L1-RSRP measurement of at least one SSB indicated in the RS configuration and for the LTM, an L1-RSRP report associated with a candidate cell corresponding to the at least one SSB; and
after the L1-RSRP measurement, switching to the candidate cell as a primary cell.
However, Hong does teach transmitting, based on L1-RSRP measurement of at least one SSB indicated in the RS configuration and for the LTM, an L1-RSRP report associated with a candidate cell corresponding to the at least one SSB ([0178] a CSI-SSB-ResourceSet for L1-RSRP measurement/reporting is configured in the UE (L1-RSRP measurement of at least one SSB indicated in the configuration); [0102]-[0103] and [Fig. 8] UE transmits the measurement result (L1-RSRP report) for the candidate target cell (associated with a candidate cell) based on the message indicating the measurement to be performed and reported (based on the measurement), where the UE can measure L1-RSRP); and
after the L1-RSRP measurement, switching to the candidate cell as a primary cell ([0102]-[0110] and [Fig. 8] the UE sends the L1-RSRP measurement result to the base station, where based on the measurement result, the base station will send a MAC CE to the UE instructing it to perform a cell change LTM operation to the target cell).
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the L1-RSRP measurement result is transmitted, and the UE changes cells based on the measurement result. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Regarding claim 2, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the RS configuration comprises, for each SSB of the SSBs, an identifier of one of the candidate cells ([0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList (identifier of one of the candidate cells), which is a SSB index (for each SSB of the SSBs) provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC).
Regarding claim 3, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik does not explicitly teach wherein the switching comprises switching to the candidate cell based on a command indicating primary cell switching and comprising at least one of:
downlink control information (DCI); or
a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).
However, Hong does teach wherein the switching comprises switching to the candidate cell based on a command indicating primary cell switching and comprising at least one of ([0102]-[0110] and [Fig. 8] the UE sends the L1-RSRP measurement result to the base station, where based on the measurement result, the base station will send a MAC CE to the UE instructing it to perform a cell change LTM operation to the target cell):
downlink control information (DCI); or
a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0102]-[0110] and [Fig. 8] the base station will send a MAC CE to the UE).
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the base station will send a MAC CE to the UE. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Regarding claim 4, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik does not explicitly teach wherein the L1-RSRP report comprises at least one of:
an L1-RSRP value;
an indication of an SSB, of the SSBs, that is associated with the candidate cell; or
an indication of the candidate cell, wherein the L1-RSRP measurement comprises L1-RSRP measurement of the SSB.
However, Hong does teach wherein the L1-RSRP report comprises at least one of ([0102]-[0103] and [Fig. 8] UE transmits the measurement result (L1-RSRP report)):
an L1-RSRP value ([0103]-[0104] and [Fig. 8] the UE performs the L1 measurement and transmits the L1-RSRP measurement result (L1-RSRP value) to the base station);
an indication of an SSB, of the SSBs, that is associated with the candidate cell; or
an indication of the candidate cell, wherein the L1-RSRP measurement comprises L1-RSRP measurement of the SSB.
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the UE sends the L1-RSRP measurement result to the base station. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Regarding claim 5, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik does not explicitly teach wherein the SSBs comprise at least one of:
a first SSB associated with a first physical cell identifier (PCI) index indicating a serving cell; and
a second SSB associated with a second PCI index, different from the first PCI index, indicating the candidate cell.
However, Hong does teach wherein the SSBs comprise at least one of:
a first SSB associated with a first physical cell identifier (PCI) index indicating a serving cell ([0178] CSI-SSB-ResourceSet for L1-RSRP measurement/reporting is configured on the UE, where the set includes a set of SSB indices, and the SSB may be associated with the PCI index of the corresponding serving cell (indicating a serving cell) or may be associated with the PCI index of a cell other than the corresponding serving cell); and
a second SSB associated with a second PCI index, different from the first PCI index, indicating the candidate cell ([0178] CSI-SSB-ResourceSet for L1-RSRP measurement/reporting is configured on the UE, where the set includes a set of SSB indices, and the SSB may be associated with the PCI index of the corresponding serving cell or may be associated with the PCI index of a cell other than the corresponding serving cell (indicating the candidate cell)).
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the SSBs are associated with the PCI indices of cells. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Regarding claim 6, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the RS configuration indicates, for each SSB of the SSBs, at least one of ([0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration)):
frequency resources ([0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration (frequency resources) indexes (RS configuration));
a periodicity in a time domain; or
a transmission power.
Regarding claim 7, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the transmitting the L1-RSRP report comprises transmitting an aperiodic CSI report ([0501] uplink signal may be a layer 1 report, which may be an aperiodic CSI report).
Regarding claim 8, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the transmitting the L1-RSRP report comprises transmitting a semi-persistent CSI report via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0234] and [0488] CSI-RS may be transmitted with a semi-persistent configuration, and may be sent on PUSCH).
Regarding claim 9, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the RS configuration indicating the SSBs is separate from the serving cell configurations corresponding to the candidate cells ([0201] base station sends one or more RRC messages to the wireless device comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells (plurality of serving cell configurations); [0544] one or more of the configuration parameters may comprise at least one candidate cell-RS list (associated with a corresponding candidate cell of a plurality); [0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration) in order to detect a candidate beam (associated with the plurality of candidate cells); [0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList, which is provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC (the configuration for the cells is different from the RS indicating SSBs)).
Regarding claim 10, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein a serving cell configuration of the serving cell configurations corresponds to the candidate cell and indicates, for the L1-RSRP report associated with the candidate cell, one or more of the SSBs of the RS configuration ([0201] base station sends one or more RRC messages to the wireless device comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells (plurality of serving cell configurations); [0544] one or more of the configuration parameters may comprise at least one candidate cell-RS list (associated with a corresponding candidate cell of a plurality); [0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration) in order to detect a candidate beam (associated with the plurality of candidate cells); [0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList, which is provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC; [0428] the wireless device assesses downlink link quality of a serving cell based on one or more RSs, which can be an SSB).
Regarding claim 11, Cirik teaches
A method comprising ([0648] methods disclosed):
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising a reference signal (RS) configuration indicating ([0201] wireless device receives one or more RRC messages from base station; [0208] RRC message related to mobility control; [0544] one or more of the configuration parameters may comprise at least one candidate cell-RS list):
a first synchronization signal block (SSB), associated with a first candidate cell of a plurality of candidate cells, for layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the first candidate cell ([0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs (first SSB), in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration) in order to detect a candidate beam (associated with the plurality of candidate cells); [0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList, which is provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC);
a second SSB, associated with a second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, for L1-RSRP measurement of the second candidate cell ([0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs (second SSB), in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration) in order to detect a candidate beam (associated with the plurality of candidate cells); [0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList, which is provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC);
Cirik does not explicitly teach transmitting, based on L1-RSRP measurement of the first SSB and based on L1-RSRP measurement of the second SSB, an L1-RSRP report associated with Layer 1 or Layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) and; and
switching, based on the LTM, a primary cell from a serving cell to the first candidate cell or the second candidate cell.
However, Hong does teach transmitting, based on L1-RSRP measurement of the first SSB and based on L1-RSRP measurement of the second SSB, an L1-RSRP report associated with Layer 1 or Layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) and ([0178] a CSI-SSB-ResourceSet for L1-RSRP measurement/reporting is configured in the UE (L1-RSRP measurement of at least one SSB indicated in the configuration); [0102]-[0103] and [Fig. 8] UE transmits the measurement result (L1-RSRP report) for the candidate target cell (associated with a candidate cell) based on the message indicating the measurement to be performed and reported (based on the measurement), where the UE can measure L1-RSRP); and
switching, based on the LTM, a primary cell from a serving cell to the first candidate cell or the second candidate cell ([0102]-[0110] and [Fig. 8] the UE sends the L1-RSRP measurement result to the base station, where based on the measurement result, the base station will send a MAC CE to the UE instructing it to perform a cell change LTM operation to the target cell).
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the L1-RSRP measurement result is transmitted, and the UE changes cells based on the measurement result. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Regarding claim 12, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 11, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the one or more RRC messages further comprise, separate from the RS configuration, serving cell configurations corresponding to candidate cells ([0201] base station sends one or more RRC messages to the wireless device comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells (plurality of serving cell configurations); [0544] one or more of the configuration parameters may comprise at least one candidate cell-RS list (associated with a corresponding candidate cell of a plurality); [0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration) in order to detect a candidate beam (associated with the plurality of candidate cells); [0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList, which is provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC (the configuration for the cells is different from the RS indicating SSBs)).
Regarding claim 13, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 11, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the RS configuration comprises, for each SSB of the SSBs, an identifier of one of the candidate cells ([0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList (identifier of one of the candidate cells), which is a SSB index (for each SSB of the SSBs) provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC).
Regarding claim 14, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 11, as is described above.
Cirik does not explicitly teach wherein:
the first SSB is associated with a first physical cell identifier (PCI) index indicating the first candidate cell; and
the second SSB is associated with a second PCI index, different from the first PCI index, indicating the second candidate cell.
However, Hong does teach the first SSB is associated with a first physical cell identifier (PCI) index indicating the first candidate cell ([0178] CSI-SSB-ResourceSet for L1-RSRP measurement/reporting is configured on the UE, where the set includes a set of SSB indices, and the SSB may be associated with the PCI index of the corresponding serving cell (indicating a serving cell) or may be associated with the PCI index of a cell other than the corresponding serving cell); and
the second SSB is associated with a second PCI index, different from the first PCI index, indicating the second candidate cell ([0178] CSI-SSB-ResourceSet for L1-RSRP measurement/reporting is configured on the UE, where the set includes a set of SSB indices, and the SSB may be associated with the PCI index of the corresponding serving cell or may be associated with the PCI index of a cell other than the corresponding serving cell (indicating the candidate cell)).
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the SSBs are associated with the PCI indices of cells. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Regarding claim 15, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 11, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the RS configuration indicates, for each SSB of the SSBs, at least one of ([0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration)):
frequency resources ([0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration (frequency resources) indexes (RS configuration));
a periodicity in a time domain; or
a transmission power.
Regarding claim 16, Cirik teaches
A method comprising ([0648] methods disclosed):
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages, associated with Layer 1 or Layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) comprising a plurality of serving cell configurations, where each serving cell configuration of the plurality of serving cell configurations is associated with a corresponding candidate cell of a plurality of candidate cells ([0201] wireless device receives one or more RRC messages from base station; [0208] RRC message related to mobility control; [0201] base station sends one or more RRC messages to the wireless device comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells (plurality of serving cell configurations); [0544] one or more of the configuration parameters may comprise at least one candidate cell-RS list (associated with a corresponding candidate cell of a plurality));
receiving, separate from the serving cell configurations and for the LTM, a reference signal (RS) configuration indicating synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), associated with the plurality of candidate cells, for Layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurements ([0430] a wireless device performs an L1-RSRP measurements based on the one or more RSs, which can be SSBs, in the second set of resource configuration indexes (RS configuration) in order to detect a candidate beam (associated with the plurality of candidate cells); [0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList, which is provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC);
Cirik does not explicitly teach transmitting, based on L1-RSRP measurement of at least one SSB indicated in the RS configuration and for the LTM, an L1-RSRP report associated with a candidate cell corresponding to the at least one SSB; and
after the L1-RSRP measurement, switching a primary cell from a serving cell to the candidate cell.
However, Hong does teach transmitting, based on L1-RSRP measurement of at least one SSB indicated in the RS configuration and for the LTM, an L1-RSRP report associated with a candidate cell corresponding to the at least one SSB ([0178] a CSI-SSB-ResourceSet for L1-RSRP measurement/reporting is configured in the UE (L1-RSRP measurement of at least one SSB indicated in the configuration); [0102]-[0103] and [Fig. 8] UE transmits the measurement result (L1-RSRP report) for the candidate target cell (associated with a candidate cell) based on the message indicating the measurement to be performed and reported (based on the measurement), where the UE can measure L1-RSRP); and
after the L1-RSRP measurement, switching a primary cell from a serving cell to the candidate cell ([0102]-[0110] and [Fig. 8] the UE sends the L1-RSRP measurement result to the base station, where based on the measurement result, the base station will send a MAC CE to the UE instructing it to perform a cell change LTM operation to the target cell).
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the L1-RSRP measurement result is transmitted, and the UE changes cells based on the measurement result. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong)..
Regarding claim 17, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 16, as is described above.
Cirik further teaches wherein the RS configuration comprises, for each SSB of the SSBs, an identifier of one of the candidate cells ([0401] second set of resource configuration indexes includes candidateBeamRSList (identifier of one of the candidate cells), which is a SSB index (for each SSB of the SSBs) provided from the base station to the wireless device via RRC).
Regarding claim 18, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 16, as is described above.
Cirik does not explicitly teach wherein the L1-RSRP report comprises at least one of:
an L1-RSRP value;
an indication of an SSB, of the SSBs, that is associated with the candidate cell; and
an indication of the candidate cell, wherein the L1-RSRP measurement comprises L1-RSRP measurement of the SSB.
However, Hong does teach wherein the L1-RSRP report comprises at least one of ([0102]-[0103] and [Fig. 8] UE transmits the measurement result (L1-RSRP report)):
an L1-RSRP value ([0103]-[0104] and [Fig. 8] the UE performs the L1 measurement and transmits the L1-RSRP measurement result (L1-RSRP value) to the base station);
an indication of an SSB, of the SSBs, that is associated with the candidate cell; and
an indication of the candidate cell, wherein the L1-RSRP measurement comprises L1-RSRP measurement of the SSB.
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the UE sends the L1-RSRP measurement result to the base station. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Regarding claim 19, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 16, as is described above.
Cirik does not explicitly teach wherein an SSB, of the SSBs, is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) index indicating the candidate cell.
However, Hong does teach wherein an SSB, of the SSBs, is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) index indicating the candidate cell ([0178] CSI-SSB-ResourceSet for L1-RSRP measurement/reporting is configured on the UE, where the set includes a set of SSB indices, and the SSB may be associated with the PCI index of the corresponding serving cell (indicating a serving cell) or may be associated with the PCI index of a cell other than the corresponding serving cell).
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the SSBs are associated with the PCI indices of cells. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Regarding claim 20, Cirik modified by Hong teaches The method of claim 16, as is described above.
Cirik does not explicitly teach further comprising receiving an indication of switching the primary cell to the candidate cell, wherein the candidate cell is not activated prior to the receiving the indication.
However, Hong does teach further comprising receiving an indication of switching the primary cell to the candidate cell, wherein the candidate cell is not activated prior to the receiving the indication ([0102]-[0110] and [Fig. 8] the UE sends the L1-RSRP measurement result to the base station, where based on the measurement result, the base station will send a MAC CE to the UE instructing it to perform a cell change LTM operation to the target cell (UE is not using the target cell prior to the indication; candidate cell not activated prior)).
Cirik and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE to perform L1-RSRP measurements. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik to include the teachings of Hong where the base station will send a MAC CE to the UE. The rationale behind this would be to allow cell switching to be performed quickly at a lower layer ([0011] Hong).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478