DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 06/04/2025 is not legible1. A portion of the document is copied below. In citation 1, for example, the document number appears to end in 844, however, the proper number is 644. Please resubmit this IDS.
Election/Restrictions
Examiner acknowledges that the prior restriction requirement incorrectly referred to the present application as a 371 filing and should have referred to 35 USC 121/372. Applicant is thanked for pointing out this oversight.
Applicant’s election of invention and/or species, and corresponding claims is acknowledged. The election of claims has been made without traverse. Non-elected claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The election of species was made with traverse and Applicant requested clarity as to why the species (Fig 1, Fig 2, Fig 3-4, and Fig 5-6) are considered distinct inventions. In reply, it is noted that the figures are considered to depict distinct inventions because they show structurally unique configurations of optical elements; and, based on the present disclosure they are not considered obvious alternatives.
For example Fig. 1 shows projection section 4 includes telecentric projection optics 19 including an arrangement including two lenses 20, 22 and an iris 21 whereas Figure 2 shows a projection section 4 includes projection optics 19 including three lenses 20, 25, 26, an iris 21, and an aspheric lens 24.
Claim Interpretation
Optical projection means “light rays” and “projecting” means focusing/reflecting light rays.
For example, in claim 56, the “one or more projection systems configured for receiving excitation light and projecting two or more optical projections into the volume” means that the projection system receives light and uses focusing/reflecting (“projecting”) to provided light rays (“optical projections”) to the volume.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because: reference characters "3" and "18" have both been used to designate “projection device”; see publication paragraph 163: “projection device 3 includes an arrangement of a projection device 18”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.83(a) because: “the projection systems includes a projection device” in claim 56 is not shown; figure 5 shows “projection system 33” as separate from the projection device 45. The other drawings do not show a projection system.
Should the projection system in claim 56 be the projection device 3 and the projection device in claim 56 be the projection device 18?
Claim Interpretation 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
projection system
projection device
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 56, 59, 61, 63, 65, 67, 70, 71, 72, 73, 84, 85, and 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In reference to claim 56, the limitation “the projection device for projecting the second optical projection” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
The claims requires “one or more projection systems configured for receiving excitation light and projecting two or more optical projections”; and, “a projection device”. However, neither of these recitals support the rejected limitation in the claim.
Furthermore, the “projection system …for… projecting two or more optical projections” seems to overlap with the “projection device”. Are these the same part?
In reference to claim 56, it is unclear what a “projection device” is. The figures show the projection device as element 3 and as element 18. These elements overlap (18 is part of 3), however, it is unclear what is required by the claim. See publication paragraph 163 (quote in part below):
“projection device 3 includes an arrangement of a projection device 18 (e.g., a DMD) in combination with a total internal reflection (also referred to as “TIR”) prism 17 and turn mirror 16”
It is unclear if the projection device corresponds to a DMD or the combination of a DMD with a prism and turn mirror.
In reference to claim 56, Claim limitation “projection system” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because: See drawing objections for explanation.
The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Note: Claims 59, 61, 63, 65, 67, 70, 71, 72, 73, 84, 85, and 86 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 56, 59, 72-73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadratic897 (WO 2021154897 A1) and in view of Innovations (WO 2018136062 A1) as evidenced by LumeJet (US 2015/0015866 A1)
In reference to claim 56, Quadratic-897 teaches a system for forming an object in a volume of a photohardenable composition (pg. 2, In 14-19, there is provided a method of forming a three-dimensional object in a volume of a photohardenable composition, the method comprising: {a) providing a volume of the photohardenable composition included within a container wherein at least a portion of the container is optically transparent so that the photohardenable composition is accessible by excitation light, (b) directing excitation light in the first range of wavelengths into the volume of the photohardenable composition; and pg. 24, In 24-26, Examples of sources of the excitation light source for use in the methods described herein include laser diodes, such as those available commercially, light emitting diodes, DMD projection systems: Quadratic-897 does not use the word system to describe the components used to perform the method, however, the components used to perform the method form a system), the system comprising: one or more projection systems configured for projecting one or more optical projections of excitation light into the volume of the photohardenable composition, wherein at least one of the projection systems includes a projection device (pg. 2, In 14-19, there is provided a method of forming a three-dimensional object in a volume of a photohardenable composition, the method comprising: (a) providing a volume of the photohardenable composition included within a container wherein at least a portion of the container is optically transparent so that the photohardenable composition is accessible by excitation light, (b) directing excitation light in the first range of wavelengths into the volume of the photohardenable composition; and pg. 24, In 9-10, the container may be stationary while a beam or optical projection of excitation light is being directed into the photohardenable composition; and pg. 24, In 24-26, Examples of sources of the excitation light source for use in the methods described herein include laser diodes, such as those available commercially, light emitting diodes, DMD projection systems; A digital micromirror device {DMD) is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device; Therefore, the DMD projection system comprises the projection device), but does not teach the system wherein the one or more projection systems is configured for receiving excitation light and projecting two or more optical projections into the volume of the photohardenable composition, the two or more optical projections including a first optical projection including a first excitation light having a first wavelength and a second optical projection including a second excitation light having a second wavelength, wherein at least one of the projection systems includes one or more telecentric optics arrangements positioned in: (a) the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and/or (b) the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition.
Innovations teaches a UV LED digital micromirror device (DMD) illuminator using a three way telecentric optical imaging system (pg. 2, In 11-12, A UV LED digital micromirror device (DMD) illuminator according to embodiments of the invention uses a three way telecentric optical imaging system), comprising a projection device configured for receiving light (pg. 2, In 25-28, Embodiments of the invention described herein include a high radiance UV LED illuminator that projects onto a DMD as a source of high radiance UV energy to be subsequently imaged by a well corrected projection lens with minimal distortion onto an illumination plane with a high degree of spatial uniformity and high intensity; A digital micromirror device (DMD) is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device), wherein the illuminator is provided with two different LED wavelength bins to be used to provide a broader spectrum (pg. 10, In 8-15, Another embodiment of the system uses the ·same lens syste!f1, housing and LED board but is designed for the 1024 by 768 by 0.70 in. diagonal Texas Instruments® DMD device and is comprised of a proportionally smaller taper and a three by four die array of UV LEDs. The typical LED die is approximately 1,000 microns square by about 100 microns in thickness with two each wire bond pads per die. There are two sets of wire bond traces on top and bottom of the central trace where the LED die are attached on the diamond substrate 92. The two sets allow for two different LED wavelength bins to be used to provide a broader spectrum); the illuminator being configured to illuminate a photocurable material (pg. 1, In 5-6, The invention relates to high radiance Ultraviolet (UV) sources of illumination coupled to projection systems for selectively exposing photocurable materials); and the telecentric optical imaging system including a telecentric optics arrangement positioned in: (a) the optical illumination path of the excitation light for illuminating the projection device for projecting at least one of the one or more optical projections (pg. 2, In 25-28, Embodiments of the invention described herein include a high radiance UV LED illuminator that projects onto a DMD as a source of high radiance UV energy to be subsequently imaged by a well corrected projection lens with minimal distortion onto an illumination plane with a high degree of spatial uniformity and high intensity; and pg. 6, In 9-14, Referring now to Fig. 2, there is shown a diagrammatic isometric view 20 of the illumination source 1 O of Fig. 1 showing additional structure of the illumination assembly. LED board assembly 12 is sandwiched between the flange of the lens housing 14 and the water heat exchanger assembly 30 by three bolts 32 • positioned symmetrically about the flange at 120 degree intervals to apply uniform. Pressure of the back side of the LED board 22 and the water heat exchanger 30; and pg·11, In 19-23, With reference now to Fig. 6A, a diagrammatic top view 120 of the system of Fig. 1 is shown with the housing, spacers, and taper holder components removed for clarity. Lines 124 emanating from the output aperture 80 of tapered collection optic 52 and lines 130 converging from lens 16, respectively, are shown to indicate the optical ray paths as imaged between the taper output aperture and the DMD micromirror surface 136; and pg. 12, In 5-9, Rays emitted from aperture 80 but outside the angle space of the lens systems aperture stop 126 are absorbed by the stop arid are prevented from transmitting toward the DMD 136. The system of lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16 are designed to be telecentric in both object (taper output aperture) and image (DMD micromirror plane) space; and pg. 19, In 27-28, The small image blur in the middle of the long sides of the image is due to field curvature of the illumination lens system; and Figs. 2 and 6A, which shows that light emanating from the LED board assembly 12 comprising LED board 22 passes through the curved telecentric lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16, to reach the DMD micromirror surface· 136; The optical ray paths shown in Fig 6A form the optical illumination path of the excitation light for illuminating the projection device for projecting at least one of the one or more optical projections; A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device; An arrangement of spherical or aspherical lenses providing telecentricity forms telecentric illumination optics; see instant specification, pg. 13, In 9-11, The telecentric illumination optics can comprise an arrangement of one or more spherical and/or aspherical lenses and/or one or more spherical and/or aspherical mirrors for providing the desired telecentricity; All lenses having a curvature must be either spherical or aspherical).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the projection system taught by Quadratic-897 with the illuminator system comprising the projection device configured for receiving light and telecentric optics arrangement positioned in: {a) in the optical illumination path of the excitation light for illuminating the projection device for projecting at least one of the one or more optical projections because telecentric lenses correct for errors of perspective and provide images with constant magnification over a range of distances (see US 2015/0015866 A1 to LumeJet Holdings Limited, para [0114], Telecentric lenses are different from standard lens systems as they correct for perspective. For this reason they are used in the imaging of objects such as apertures or objects which are vibrating ... The property which allows these effects is that for a range of distances there is effectively a constant magnification). Therefore, the excitation light is provided by the LED array is received by the DMD projection device, and projected into the volume of the photohardenable composition. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the projection system to project at least two optical projections of excitation light into the volume of the photohardenable composition, the at least two optical projections comprising a first optical projection including first excitation light including light having a first wavelength and a second optical projection including a second excitation light including light having a second wavelength using the two different LED wavelength bins in the light source as taught by Innovations because providing a broader spectrum of wavelengths is useful for photoinitiators that may change their absorption spectrum throughout the photopolymerization process (Innovations, pg. 10, In 14-16, The two sets allow for two different LED wavelength bins to be used to provide a broader spectrum. This is useful for some types of photoinitiators that may change their absorption spectrum throughout the photopolymerization process), and further Quadratic-897 provides a wide range of wavelengths to be projected (Quadratic- 897, pg. 22, In 10, A suitable first range of wavelengths can be from about 400 to about 800 nm). Therefore, both the first and second optical projections are projected from the same projection system.
In reference to claim 59 Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of any one of claim 56, Innovations further teaches the system wherein an illimitation telecentric optics arrangement is positioned in the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating the projection device for-projecting the second optical projection (pg. 2, In 25-28, Embodiments of the invention described herein include a high radiance UV LED illuminator that projects onto a DMD as a source of high radiance UV energy to be subsequently imaged by a well corrected projection lens with minimal distortion onto an illumination plane with a high degree of spatial uniformity and high intensity; and pg. 6, In 9-14, Referring now to Fig. 2, there is shown a diagrammatic isometric view 20 of the illumination source 10 of Fig. 1 showing additional structure of the illumination assembly. LED board assembly 12 is sandwiched between the flange of the lens housing 14 and the water heat exchanger assembly 30 by three bolts 32 positioned symmetrically about the flange at 120 degree intervals .to apply uniform pressure of the back side of the LED board 22 and the water heat exchanger 30; and pg. 11, In 19-23, With reference now to Fig. 6A, a diagrammatic top view 120 of the system of Fig. 1 is shown with the housing, spacers, and taper holder components removed for clarity. Lines 124 emanating from the output aperture 80 of tapered collection optic 52 and lines 130 converging from lens 16, respectively, are shown to indicate the optical ray paths as imaged between the taper output aperture and the DMD micromirror surface 136; and pg. 12, In 5-9, Rays emitted from aperture 80 but outside the angle space of the lens systems aperture stop 126 are absorbed by the stop and are prevented from transmitting toward the DMD 136. The system of lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16 are designed to be telecentric in both object (taper output aperture} and image (DMD micromirror plane) space; and pg. 19. In 27-28, The small image blur in the middle of the long sides of the image is due to field curvature of the illumination lens system; and Figs. 2 and 6A, which shows that light emanating from the LED board assembly 12 comprising LED board 22 passes through the curved telecentric lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16, to reach the DMD micromirror surface 136; The optical ray paths shown in Fig 6A form the optical illumination path of the excitation light for illuminating the projection device for projecting at least one of the one or more optical projections; A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10; a digital micromirror device {also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device; An arrangement of spherical or aspherical lenses providing telecentricity forms telecentric illumination optics; see instant specification, pg. 13, In 9-11, The telecentric illumination optics can comprise an arrangement of one or more spherical and/or aspherical lenses and/or one or more spherical and/or aspherical mirrors for providing the desired telecentricity; All lenses having a curvature must be either spherical or aspherical; The illumination telecentric optics arrangement is positioned in the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating the projection device for projecting the second optical projection because the LED assembly provides two optical projections of excitation light from the two wavelength bins, which are both projected by the projection device).
Regarding Claim 72, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of any one of claim 56. Innovations further teaches the system comprising two light sources (pg. 10, In 8-15, Another embodiment of the system uses the same lens system, housing and LED board but is designed for the 1024 by 768 by 0.70 in. diagonal Texas Instruments® DMD device and is comprised of a proportionally smaller taper and a three by four die array of UV LEDs. The typical LED die is approximately 1,000 microns square by about 100 microns in thickness with two each wire bond pads per die. There are two sets of wire bond traces on top and bottom of the central trace where the LED die are attached on the diamond substrate 92. The two sets allow for two different LED wavelength bins to be used to provide a broader spectrum; The two different LED wavelength bins are the light sources}. but does not explicitly teach the system wherein the first excitation and second excitation light have different wavelengths. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system wherein the first excitation and second excitation light have different wavelengths using the two different LED wavelength bins as taught by Innovations because providing a broader spectrum of wavelengths is useful for photoinitiators that may change their absorption spectrum throughout the photopolymerization process (Innovations, pg. 10, In 14-16, The two sets allow for two different LED wavelength bins to be used to provide a broader spectrum. This is useful for some types of photoinitiators that may change their absorption spectrum throughout the photopolymerization process), and further Quadratic-897 provides a wide range of wavelengths to be projected (Quadratic-897, pg. 22, In 10, A suitable first range of wavelengths can be from about 400 to about 800 nm}.
Regarding Claim 73, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of any one of claim 56. Innovations further teaches the system wherein the first optical projection comprises a plane of excitation light or a light sheet (pg. 2, In 25-28, Embodiments of the invention described herein include a high radiance UV LED illuminator that projects onto a DMD as a source of high radiance UV energy to be subsequently imaged by a well corrected projection lens with minimal distortion onto an illumination plane with a high degree of spatial uniformity and high intensity; and pg. 5, In 17-18, Embodiments of the present invention include an LED based illumination source for improved intensity and spatial uniformity at the illumination plane; and Quadratic-897, pg. 24, In 24-26, Examples of sources of the excitation light source for use in the methods described herein include laser diodes, such as those available commercially, light emitting diodes).
Regarding Claim 84, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of claim 56. Innovations further teaches the system wherein the one or more of the telecentric optics arrangement positioned in: (a) the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating a projection device for projecting the second optical projection and/or (b) the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition include object-side telecentricity (pg. 12, In 7-9, The system of lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16 are designed to be telecentric in both object (taper output aperture).and image (DMD micromirror plane) space).
Regarding Claim 85, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of claim 56, Innovations further teaches the system wherein the one or more of the telecentric optics arrangement positioned in: (a} the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating a projection device for projecting the second optical projection and/or (b) the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition include image-side telecentricity (pg. 12, In 7-9, The system of lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16 are designed to be telecentric in both object (taper output aperture) and image (DMD micromirror plane) space}.
Regarding Claim 86 Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of claim 56. Innovations further teaches the system wherein the one or more of the telecentric optics arrangement positioned in: (a) the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating a projection device for projecting the second optical projection and/or (b} the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition include bi-telecentricity (object-side telecentricity and image-side telecentricity) (pg. 12, In 7-9, The system of lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16 are designed to be telecentric in both object (taper output aperture) and image (DMD micromirror plane) space).
Claim 61, 63, 65, 67, 69 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadratic897 (WO 2021154897 A1) and in view of Innovations (WO 2018136062 A1) and in view of Texas (US 2020/0122394 A1).
In reference to claim 61 Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of any one of claim 56, but does not teach the system wherein a projection telecentric optics arrangement is positioned in the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition.
Texas teaches a projection device (para [0005], A spatial light modulator outputs modulated light including: modulated first light when the spatial light modulator receives first light; and modulated second light when the spatial light modulator receives second light; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 210 is a digital micromirror device (DMD); A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device), wherein projection optics are arranged in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting the at least one of the one or more optic.al projections and the volume of the photopolymerizable composition, wherein projections optics can be telecentric (para [0005), Projection optics project the modulated light onto: a first pixel region when a component or the spatial light modulator has a first position; and a second pixel region when the component or the spatial light modulator has a second position; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 210 is a digital micromirror device (DMD) ... Projection optics are often telecentric~ ... The output of projection optics 214 focuses on a target 218. That is, the focal point of projection optics 214 is on the photo-polymerizing resin 108 (FIG. 1) between the lift plate 104 (FIG. 1) and the bottom of vat 102 (FIG. 1). In an example, projection optics 214 may include five lenses using N-BKrglass. In this example, the five lenses are spherical; and para [0028], Photo-polymerizing resin 108 fills vat 102; and para [0050], The target is like target 218 (FIG. 2) or photo-polymerizing resin 108 (FIG. 1); and Figs. 1 and 2, which shows that light projected from the projection device 210 passes through the projection optics 214 to reach the target 218, which may be the volume of photopolymerizing resin 108 in vat 102 shown in Fig. 1, such that the telecentric projection optics are arranged in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting the at least one of the one or ll)Ore optical projections and the volume of the photohardenable composition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a projection telecentric optics arrangement positioned in the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition because the telecentric lenses correct for errors of perspective and provide images with constant magnification over a range· of distances (see US 2015/0015866 A 1 to LumeJet Holdings Limited, para [0114], Telecentric lenses are different from standard systems as they correct for perspective. For this reason they are used in the imaging of objects such as apertures or objects which are vibrating ... The property which allows these effects is that for a range of distances there is effectively a constant magnification).
Regarding Claim 63, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of claim 56. Innovations further teaches the system wherein the system includes a first telecentric optics arrangement positioned in the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating a projection device for projecting the second optical projection (pg. 2, In 25-28, Embodiments of the invention described herein include a high radiance UV LED illuminator that projects onto a DMD as a source of high radiance UV energy to be subsequently imaged by a well corrected projection lens with minimal distortion onto an illumination plane with a high degree of spatial uniformity and high . intensity; and pg. 6, In 9-14, Referring now to Fig. 2, there is shown a diagrammatic isometric view 20 of the illumination source 10 of Fig. 1 showing additional structure of the illumination assembly. LED board assembly 12 is sandwiched between the flange of the lens housing 14 and the water heat exchanger assembly 30 by three bolts 32 positioned symmetrically about the flange at 120 degree intervals to apply uniform pressure of the back side of the LED board 22 and the water heat exchanger 30; and pg. 11, In 19-23, With reference now to Fig. 6A, a diagrammatic top view 120 of the system of Fig. 1 is shown with the housing, spacers, and taper holder components removed for clarity. Lines 124 emanating from the output aperture 80 of tapered collection optic 52 and lines 130 converging from lens 16, respectively, are shown to indicate the optical ray paths as imaged between the taper output aperture and the DMD micromirror surface 136; and pg. 12, In 5-9, Rays emitted from aperture 80 but outside the angle space of the lens systems aperture stop 126 are absorbed by the stop and are prevented from transmitting toward the DMD 136. The system of lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16 are designed to be telecentric in both object (taper output aperture) and image {DMD micromirror plane) space; and pg. 19, In 27-28, The small image blur in the middle of the long sides of the image is due to field curvature of the illumination lens system; and Figs. 2 and 6A, which shows that light emanating from the LED board assembly 12 comprising LED board 22 passes through the curved telecentric lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16, to reach the DMD micromirror surface 136; The optical ray paths shown in Fig 6A form the optical illumination path of the excitation light for illuminating the projection device for projecting at least one of the one or more optical projections; A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, ln 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device; An arrangement of spherical or aspherical lenses providing telecentricity forms telecentric illumination optics; see instant specification, pg. 13, In 9-11, The telecentric illumination optics can comprise an arrangement of one or more spherical and/or aspherical lenses and/or one or more spherical and/or aspherical mirrors for providing the desired telecentricity; All lenses having a curvature must be either spherical or aspherical; The telecentric optics arrangement is positioned in the optical illumination path between the second excitation light and the projection device for projecting the second optical projection because the LED assembly provides two optical projections of excitation light. From the two wavelength bins, which are both projected by the projection device), but does not teach the system a second telecentric optics arrangement positioned in the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition.
Texas teaches a projection device (para [0005], A spatial light modulator outputs modulated light including: modulated first light when the spatial light modulator receives first light; and modulatl3d second light when the spatial light modulator receives second light; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 210 is a digital micromirror device (DMD); A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device), wherein projection optics are arranged in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting the at least one of the one or more optical projections and the volume of the photopolymerizable composition, wherein projections optics can be telecentric (para [0005], Projection optics project the modulated light onto: a first pixel region when a component or the spatial light modulator has a first position; and a second pixel region when the component or the spatial light modulator has a second position; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 210 is a digital micromirror device (DMD) ... Projection optics are often telecentric ... The output of projection optics 214 focuses on a target 218. That is, the focal point of projection optics 214 is on the photo-polymerizing resin 108 (FIG. 1} between the lift plate 104 (FIG. 1) and the bottom of vat 102 (FIG. 1 ). In an example, projection optics 214 may include five lenses using N-BK7 glass. In this example, the five lenses are spherical; and para [0028]. Photo-polymerizing resin 108 fills vat 102; and para [0050], The target is like target 218 (FIG. 2} or photo-polymerizing resin 108 (FIG. 1); and Figs. 1 and 2, which shows that light projected from the projection device 210 passes through the projection optics 214 to reach the target 218, which may be the volume of photopolymerizing resin 108 in vat 102 shown in Fig. 1, such that the telecentric projection optics are arranged in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting the at least one of the one or more optical projections and the volume of the photohardenable composition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second telecentric optics arrangement positioned in the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition because the telecentric lenses correct for errors of perspective and provide images with constant magnification over a range of distances (see US 2015/0015866 A1 to LumeJet Holdings Limited, para [0114], Telecentric lenses are different from standard lens systems as they correct for perspective. For this reason they are used in the imaging of objects such as apertures or objects which are vibrating ... The property which allows these effects is that for a range of distances there is effectively a constant magnification).
Regarding Claim 65, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of claim 56 or 57. Innovations further teaches the system including a first telecentric optics arrangement in the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating the projection device (pg. 2, In 25-28, Embodiments of the invention described herein include a high radiance UV LED illuminator that projects onto a DMD as a source of high radiance UV energy to be subsequently imaged by a well corrected projection lens with minimal distortion onto an illumination plane with a high degree of spatial uniformity and high intensity; and pg. 6, In 9-14, Referring now to Fig. 2, there is shown a diagrammatic isometric view 20 of the illumination source 1 O of Fig. 1 showing additional structure of the illumination assembly. LED board assembly 12 is sandwiched between the flange of the lens housing 14 and the water heat exchanger assembly 30 by three bolts 32 positioned symmetrically about the flange at 120 degree intervals to apply uniform pressure of the back side of the LED board 22 and the water heat exchanger 30; and pg. 11, In 19-23, With reference now to Fig. 6A, a diagrammatic top view 120 of the system of Fig. 1 is shown with the housing, spacers, and taper holder components removed for clarity. Lines 124 emanating from the output aperture 80 of tapered collection optic 52 and lines 130 converging from lens 16, respectively, are shown to indicate the optical ray paths as imaged between the taper output aperture and the DMD micromirror surface 136; and pg. 12, In 5-9, Rays emitted from aperture 80 but outside the angle space of the lens systems aperture stop 126 are absorbed by the stop and are prevented from transmitting toward the DMD 136. The system of lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16 are designed to be telecentric in both object {taper output aperture) and image (DMD micromirror plane) space; and pg. 19, In 27-28, The small image blur in the middle of the long sides of the image is due to field curvature of the illumination lens system; and Figs. 2 and 6A, which shows that light emanating from the LED board assembly 12 comprising LED board 22 passes through the curved telecentric lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16, to reach the DMD micromirror surface 136; The optical ray paths shown in Fig 6A form the optical illumination path of the excitation light for illuminating the projection device for the optical projection; A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device; An arrangement of spherical or aspherical lenses providing telecentricity forms telecentric· illumination optics; see instant specification, pg. 13, In 9-11, The telecentric illumination optics can comprise an arrangement of one or more spherical and/or aspherical lenses and/or one or more spherical and/or aspherical mirrors for providing the desired telecentricity; All lenses having a curvature must be either spherical or aspherical), but does not teach the system wherein the inclusion of a first telecentric optics arrangement in the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating the projection device and the inclusion of a second telecentric optics arrangement for projecting the second optical projection facilitates interchangeability of projection lenses included in a projection lens system in the optical path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition with telecentric lens of various fixed or variable (e.g., zoom) magnifications for adjusting the size of the printing field in the volume and/or resolution of the object formed in the volume. Texas teaches a projection device (para [0005], A spatial light modulator outputs modulated light including: modulated first light when the spatial light modulator receives first light; and modulated second light when the spatial light modulator receives second light; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 210 is a digital micromirror device (DMD); A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device), wherein projection optics arrangement is positioned in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting an optical projection and a volume of the photopolymerizable composition, wherein projections optics can be telecentric (para [0005], Projection optics project the modulated light onto: a first pixel region when a component or the spatial light modulator has a first position; and a second pixel region when the component or the spatial light modulator has a second position; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 21 O is a digital micromirror device (DMD) ... Projection optics are often telecentric ... The output of projection optics 214 focuses on a target 218. That is, the focal point of projection optics 214 is on the photo-polymerizing resin 108 {FIG. 1) between the lift plate 104 (FIG. 1) and the bottom of vat 102 (FIG. 1). In an example, projection optics 214 may include five lenses using N-BK7 glass. In this example, the five lenses are spherical; and para [0028], Photo-polymerizing resin 108 fills vat 102; and para (0050), The target is like target 218 (FIG. 2) or photo-polymerizing resin 108 (FIG. 1); and Figs. 1 and 2, which shows that light projected from the projection device 210 passes through the projection optics 214 to reach the target 218, which may be the volume of photopolymerizing resin 108 in vat 102 shown in Fig. 1, such that the telecentric projection optics are arranged in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting the at least one of the one or more optical projections and the volume of the photohardenable composition). It would .have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second telecentric optics arrangement in the optical path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition because the telecentric lenses correct for errors of perspective and provide images with constant magnification over a range of distances (see US 2015/0015866 A 1 to LumeJet Holdings Limited, para [0114], Telecentric lenses are different from standard lens systems as they correct for perspective. For this reason they are used in the imaging of objects such as apertures or objects which are vibrating ... The property which allows these effects is that for a range of distances there is effectively a constant magnification).
Regarding Claim 67, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of claim 56. Innovations further teaches the system wherein the system includes a first telecentric optics arrangement in the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating a projection device for projecting the second optical projection (pg. 2, In 25-28, Embodiments of the invention described herein include a high radiance UV LED illuminator that projects onto a DMD as a source of high radiance UV energy to be subsequently imaged by a well corrected projection lens with minimal distortion onto an illumination plane with a high degree of spatial uniformity and high intensity; and pg. 6, ln 9-14, Referring now to Fig. 2, there is shown a diagrammatic isometric view 20 of the illumination source 10 of Fig: 1 showing additional structure of the illumination assembly. LED board assembly 12 is sandwiched between the flange of the lens housing 14 and the water heat exchanger assembly 30 by three bolts 32 positioned symmetrically about the flange at 120 degree intervals to apply uniform pressure of the back side of the LED board 22 and the water heat exchanger 30; and pg. 11, In 19-23, With reference now to Fig. 6A, a diagrammatic top view 120 of the system of Fig. 1 is shown with the housing, spacers, and taper holder components removed for clarity. Lines 124 emanating from the output aperture 80 of tapered collection optic 52 and lines 130 converging from lens 16, respectively, are shown to indicate the optical ray paths as imaged between the taper output aperture and the DMD micromirror surface 136; and pg. 12, In 5-9, Rays emitted from aperture 80 but outside the angle space of the lens systems aperture stop 126 are absorbed by the stop and are prevented from transmitting toward the DMD 136. The system of lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16 are designed to be telecentric in both object and image (DMD micromirror plane) space; and pg. 19, In 27-28, The small image blur in the middle of the long sides of the image is due to field curvature of the illumination lens system; and Figs. 2 and 6A, which shows that light emanating from the LED board assembly 12 comprising LED board 22 passes through the curved telecentric lenses 54, 58, 64, and 16, to reach the DMD micromirror surface 136; The optical ray paths shown in Fig 6A form the optical illumination path of the excitation light for illuminating the projection device for projecting at least one of the one or more optical projections; A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device {also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device; An arrangement of spherical or aspherical lenses providing telecentricity forms telecentric illumination optics; see instant specification, pg. 13, In 9-11, The telecentric illumination optics can comprise an arrangement of one or more spherical and for aspherical lenses and/or one or more spherical and/or aspherical mirrors for providing the desired telecentricity; All lenses having a curvature must be either spherical or aspherical), and using a DMD as the projection device (pg. 2, In 25-28, Embodiments of the invention described herein include a high radiance UV LED illuminator that projects onto a DMD as a source of high radiance UV energy to be subsequently imaged by a well corrected projection lens with minimal distortion onto an illumination plane with a high degree of spatial uniformity and high intensity), but does not teach the system wherein the inclusion of a first telecentric optics arrangement in the optical illumination path of the second excitation light for illuminating a projection device for projecting the second optical projection and a second telecentric optics arrangement in the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition facilitates generation by the second projection system of a projection of numerical aperture of light rays of 0.1 or higher when using a DMD as the projection device. Texas teaches a projection device (para (0005], A spatial light modulator outputs modulated light including: modulated first light when the spatial light modulator receives first light; and modulated second tight when the spatial light modulator receives second light; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 210 is a digital micromirror device (DMD); A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device (also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device), wherein projection optics arrangement is positioned in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting an optical projection and a volume of the photopolymerizable composition, wherein the projections optics can be telecentric (para [0005], Projection optics project the modulated light onto: a first pixel region when a component or the spatial light modulator has a first position; and a second pixel region when the component or the spatial light modulator has a second position; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 21 O is a digital micromirror device (DMD} ... Projection optics are often telecentric ... The output of projection optics 214 focuses on a target 218. That is, the focal point of projection optics 214 is on the photo-polymerizing resin 108 (FIG. 1) between the lift plate 104 (FIG. 1) and the bottom of vat 102 {FIG. 1 ). In an example, projection optics 214 may include five lenses using N-BK7 glass. In this example, the five lenses are spherical; and para (0028]. Photo-polymerizing resin 108 fills vat 102; and para (0050], The target is like target 218 (FIG. 2) or photo-polymerizing resin 108 (FIG. 1); and Figs. 1 and 2, which shows that light projected from the projection device 210 passes through the projection optics 214 to reach the target 218, which may be the volume of photopolymerizing resin 108 in vat 102 shown in Fig. 1, such that the telecentric projection optics are arranged in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting the at least one of the one or more optical projections and the volume of the photohardenable composition). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second telecentric optics arrangement in the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the volume of the photohardenable composition because the telecentric lenses correct for errors of perspective and provide images with constant magnification over a range of distances (see US 2015/0015866 A1 to LumeJet Holdings Limited, para (0114], Telecentric lenses are different from standard lens systems as_ they correct for perspective. For this reason they are used in the imaging of objects such as apertures or objects which are vibrating ... The property which allows these effects is that for a range of distances there is effectively a constant magnification). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the number of projection devices such that the second optical projection is projected by a second projection device by routine experimentation in order to photo-harden multiple regions of the volume of photo-hardenable composition at the same time and increase the speed at which the object is formed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the first telecentric optics arrangement and the second telecentric optics arrangement to facilitate generation by the second projection system of a projection of numerical aperture of light rays of 0.1 or higher when using a DMD as the projection device by routine experimentation in order improve the performance of the system and the range of angles over which the system can emit light.
Regarding Claim 69, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of any one of claim 56. Quadratic-897 further teaches the system wherein the volume of photohardenable composition is provided in a container (pg. 2, In 15-18, the method comprising: (a) providing a volume of the photohardenable composition included within a container wherein at least a portion of the container is optically transparent so that the photohardenable composition is accessible by excitation light), but does not teach the system wherein the positioning of the telecentric optics arrangement in the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the container facilitates producing an image with substantially constant magnification over a range of axial depths within the photohardenable composition. Texas teaches a projection device (para [0005], A spatial light modulator outputs modulated light including: modulated first light when the spatial light modulator receives first light; and modulated second light when the spatial light modulator receives second light; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 21 O is a digital micromirror device (DMD); A DMD is a projection device; see instant specification, pg. 16, In 9-10, a digital micromirror device {also referred to herein as "DMD") is used as the projection device), wherein projection optics are arranged in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting the at least one of the one or more optical projections and the volume of the photopolymerizable composition, wherein projections optics can be telecentric {para '[0005], Projection optics project the modulated light onto: a first pixel region when a component or the spatial light modulator has a first position; and a second pixel region when the component or the spatial light modulator has a second position; and para [0032], spatial light modulator 21 O is a digital micromirror device (DMD) ... Projection optics are often telecentric ... The output of projection optics 214 focuses on a target 218. That is, the focal point of projection optics 214 is on the photo-polymerizing resin 108 {FIG. ·1) between the lift plate 104 (FIG. 1) and the bottom of vat 102 (FIG. 1). In an example, projection optics 214 may include five lenses using N-BK7 glass. In this example, the five lenses are spherical; and para [0028], Photo-polymerizing resin 108 fills vat 102; and para [0050], The target is like target 218 (FIG. 2) or photo-polymerizing resin 108 (FIG. 1 }; and Figs. 1 and 2, which shows that light projected from the projection device 210 passes through the projection optics 214 to reach the target 218, which may be the volume of photopolymerizing resin 108 in vat 102 shown in Fig. 1, such that the telecentric projection optics are arranged in the optical projection path between a projection device for projecting the at least one of the one or more optical projections and the volume of the photohardenable composition). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second telecentric optics arrangement positioned in the optical projection path between the projection device for projecting the second optical projection and the container because the telecentric lenses correct for errors of perspective and provide images with constant magnification over a range of distances (see US 2015/0015866 A1 to LumeJet Holdings Limited, para [0114], Telecentric lenses are different from standard lens systems as they correct for perspective. For this reason they are used in the imaging of objects such as apertures or objects which are vibrating ... The property which allows these effects is that for a range of distances there is effectively a constant magnification). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the second telecentric optics arrangement to facilitate producing an image with substantially constant magnification over a range of axial depths within the photohardenable composition because telecentric lenses produce images with constant magnification (see US 2021/0041228 A 1 to Nippon Steel Corporation, para [0115], Then, since the image-capturing unit 3 includes the telecentric lens 32, an angle of view near an object surface is 0° and the magnification is constant, which is suitable for dimensional measurement), and further, it is reasonably understood that the magnification is constant throughout the entire volume of the photohardenable composition.
Claim 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadratic897 (WO 2021154897 A1) and in view of Innovations (WO 2018136062 A1) and in view of Xolo (WO 2020/245456 A 1).
Regarding Claim 71, Quadratic-897 in view of Innovations teaches the system of any one of claim 56. Quadratic-897 further teaches the method wherein the photohardenable composition comprises a photohardenable component and a photoinitiator (pg., 1, In 21-25, The photohardenable compositions and methods include a hardenable resin component. .. and a photoinitiator; and pg. 2, In 14-20, there is provided a method of forming a three-dimensional object in a volume of a photohardenable composition, the method comprising: .. (b) directing excitation light in the first range of wavelengths into the volume of the photohardenable composition, wherein the excitation light has an excitation intensity so that local hardening of the photohardenable composition is achieved; The hardenable component of the photohardenable composition must be photohardenable because the composition is hardened by light), but does not teach the system wherein the photohardenable composition comprises a photohardenable component and a photo switchable photoinitiator, wherein the photo switchable photoinitiator is activatable by exposure to first excitation light including light having the first wavelength and second excitation light including light having the second wavelength to induce hardening in the photohardenable component (e.g., via a crosslinking or polymerization reaction) to partially or fully form an object in the volume of the photohardenable composition.
Xolo teaches a photo switchable photoinitiator (pg. 1, In 3::4, The present invention relates to a process, an apparatus and photo switchable photoinitators), wherein the photo switchable photoinitiator is activatable by exposure to first excitation light including a first wavelength and second excitation light including a second wavelength to induce a crosslinking or polymerization reaction in the photohardenable component (pg. 9, In 7-23, a polymerizable starting material is provided which contains photoinitiator molecules which can be converted by means of sequential optical excitation with several wavelengths into a reactive state in which the photoinitiator molecules locally trigger a polymerization of the starting material The starring material is photopolymerized in a local volume by irradiating light of a first wavelength simultaneously with or followed by light of a second wavelength different from the first wavelength into the local volume. In the local volume is provided that, by absorption of a photon of the first wavelength, the photoinitator molecules are converted from an initial state, in which the photoinitiator molecules do not substantially absorb the light of the second wavelength, to an intermediate state with optical properties different from those of the initial state, in such a way that the photoinitiator molecules in the intermediate state absorb the light of the second wavelength and enter the reactive state. In the local volume, due to the gradual absorption_ of the light of the first wavelength and the light of the second wavelength, the photoinitiator molecules are transferred from the initial state via the intermediate state into the reactive state, which locally triggers polymerization; If the photoinitiator converts from an initial state to an intermediate state having different optical properties, it has been activated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the photo switchable photoinitiator taught by Xolo in the composition taught by Quadratic-897 because the photoi11jtiators allows faster printing than common photopolymerization based additive manufacturing techniques due to fewer mechanical operations, and provide a high resolution (Xolo, pg. 12, In 15-22, Application of the disclosed dual color photoinitiators in a polymerizable mixture allows fast volumetric printing with high resolution. No support structures are required, which saves material and allows for the fabrication of soft and fragile products. A broad range of possible resin viscosities can be covered, and high reactivity is achieved, due to minimized quenching of the polymerization by oxygen and water. The utilization of the disclosed dual color photoinitiators allows faster printing than common photopolymerization based additive manufacturing techniques due to fewer mechanical operations).
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
1 The Office processes all documents in to 2-bit images upon receipt, therefore any documents submitted that are not in a 2-bit format may become distorted. This applies to most documents. It typically does not affect IDS documents, but may be the cause if the original IDS was not black and white.