Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: (1) The 1st sentence uses the phrase “The disclosure relates to …” (2) The 2nd last line uses the legal word “wherein”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The following change is suggested:
“In a 5G or 6G wireless communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate, a method performed by a user equipment (UE) comprises: receiving, from a base station, configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report; identifying a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of at least one code book based on the configuration information; and transmitting, to the base station, the CSI report including the PMI, where the PMI indicates information related to UE-side vectors and base station-side vectors.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 - 4, 6, 8 - 9, 11, 13 - 14, 16, 18 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 10056950 B2) in view Zhang et al. (US 20150318909 A1) (which have been provided in the International Search Report 6/4/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (column 1, lines 14 – 16; Title; Fig. 1), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report (Fig. 1, steps 101, 102; column 9, lines 16 – 20; wherein the configuration is the number of antenna ports);
identifying a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of at least one code book based on the configuration information (Fig. 1, step 103; column 9, lines 21 – 37);
and transmitting, to the base station, the CSI report including the PMI (Fig. 1, step 104; column 1, lines 52 - 53; column 9, lines 38 - 40).
Wu discloses using horizontal and vertical dimension vectors (column 1, lines 64 - 67).
Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the PMI indicates information related to UE-side vectors and base station-side vectors.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Zhang discloses wherein the PMI indicates information related to UE-side vectors and base station-side vectors (Abstract discloses “The method for feeding back includes: feeding back respectively, by UE, CSI corresponding to the vertical dimension and CSI corresponding to the horizontal dimension..”; Fig. 2; [0064] – [0069]; Other embodiments also shown in Figs. 3 - 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as taught by Zhang, in the system of Wu because this would allow for both the UE and base station to apply precoding. Precoding is known to improve performance (e.g. increasing data rates) in MIMO systems.
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses use of codebooks (column 11, lines 39+).
Wu does not disclose wherein the at least one code book is related to UE-side codebook and base station-side codebook.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one code book is related to UE-side codebook and base station-side codebook (claim 6; [0091] – [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as taught by Zhang, in the system of Wu because this would allow for both the UE and base station to apply precoding, where the precoding vectors are obtained from codebooks. Having different vectors in the codebooks for different scenarios could optimize system performance different scenarios.
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses wherein the PMI indicates a joint spatial domain (SD) basis matrix ([0077] discloses use of DFT matrix with horizontal and vertical dimensions with spatial domain resolution).
UE-side vectors and the base station-side vectors is analyzed as in claim 1 above.
Claim 6 is similarly analyzed as claim 1, with claim 6 reciting similar operations as seen from the base station side.
Claim 8 is similarly analyzed as claim 3.
Claim 9 is similarly analyzed as claim 4.
Claim 11 is similarly analyzed as claim 1, with claim 11 reciting similar apparatus limitations. Transceiver and processor are disclosed by Wu (column 44, lines 1 – 3, 8+).
Claim 13 is similarly analyzed as claim 3.
Claim 14 is similarly analyzed as claim 4.
Claim 16 is similarly analyzed as claim 6, with claim 16 reciting similar apparatus limitations. Transceiver and processor are disclosed by Wu (column 44, lines 1 – 3, 8+).
Claim 18 is similarly analyzed as claim 3.
Claim 19 is similarly analyzed as claim 4.
Claims 2, 7, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 10056950 B2) in view Zhang et al. (US 20150318909 A1) and further in view of Bhat et al. (US 20230344488 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wu does not disclose receiving, from the base station, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the PMI.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Bhat discloses receiving, from the base station, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the PMI ([0084] discloses “At S1150, the base station can perform PDSCH transmission from the TRPs 1101 based on the reported PMI, RI, and CQI.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as taught by Bhat, in the system of Wu because this would allow the transmission parameters to be configured based on channel conditions, thereby optimizing transmission.
Claim 7 is similarly analyzed as claim 2.
Claim 12 is similarly analyzed as claim 2.
Claim 17 is similarly analyzed as claim 2.
Claims 5, 10, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 10056950 B2) in view Zhang et al. (US 20150318909 A1) and further in view of Gao et al. (US 20250266871 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses the configuration information includes first configuration information related to the UE-side vectors (Fig. 1, steps 101, 102; column 9, lines 16 – 20; wherein the UE configuration is the number of antenna ports).
Wu does not disclose second configuration information related to the base station-side vectors, and wherein the first configuration information has a higher priority than the second configuration information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Zhang discloses second configuration information related to the base station-side vectors (Fig. 14; [0147 – [0149]; wherein the 2nd configuration is information on which vertical and horizontal elements are used).
In the same field of endeavor, however, Gao discloses the UE assigns a priority index to the coefficients (Title; Abstract; [0111] discloses “The processing circuitry is further configured to cause the UE to assign a priority index to each of the set of coefficients, wherein a different priority index is assigned to different coefficients and wherein the priority indices are allocated from low index value to high index value to the coefficients in an increasing order …. wherein the lowest priority index is allocated to one of the set of coefficients ….. and the highest priority index is allocated to one of the set of coefficients ….”.).
Under Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationale F), one of ordinary skill in the art can assign a higher priority to UE vectors or base station vectors, as necessary.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the methods, as taught by Zhang and Gao, in the system of Wu because prioritizing vectors according to different scenarios would allow for optimizing system performance.
Claim 10 is similarly analyzed as claim 5.
Claim 15 is similarly analyzed as claim 5.
Claim 20 is similarly analyzed as claim 5.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
The following patents/publications are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to CSI reporting:
Muruganathan et al. (US 20250159518 A1) discloses TYPE II CSI Reporting for CJT With Angle and Delay Reciprocity.
Sun et al. (US 20240014865 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for port selection codebook enhancement.
Chou et al. (US 20230291454 A1) discloses Multiple-Transmission-Reception-Point Measurement and Transmission in Wireless Communication System.
Contact Information
/ADOLF DSOUZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632