DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed 11/18/25, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Terminal disclaimer filed on 01/13/25 has been approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (U.S. 20180113987) in view of Spector (U.S. 20110071880).
For claim 1, Zhu discloses a system for reporting emergency, the system comprising:
a user equipment comprising a sensor which is configured to sense a motion (at least Fig. 8A, [0090] and [0104]-[0105]. The wearable device 210 may be designed to monitor the velocity or a rate of change thereof in order to, e.g., detect a fall of the person. Sensors 810 may include sensors for sensing, e.g., the velocity of the body of the person wearing the wearable device 210, the level of oxygen in the blood of the user, or rhyme of the heart of the user, etc.);
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
report information to a report destination via an information processing apparatus, the report destination being determined based on a kind of an event (at least [0110]-[0112]. The wearable device 210 may sense that there is a sudden increase of velocity, usually signaling a fall, which may trigger an emergency classification. When an emergency situation is detected, the emergency handling unit 870 may be invoked, which may respond by automatically contacting designated emergency contacts (specified by, e.g., the person wearing the device, by his/her guardians, by physicians, or by hospitals), determining whether an immediate rescue is needed, and if so, invoking the SOS handling unit 880 to call for rescue. The communication to the emergency contact may be performed via the communication unit 850, e.g., in a manner (phone call, email, text messages, beep, etc.) that have previously been set up. The selected rescuer(s) may then be informed (via 850) of the person's location and information needed to facilitate the rescue (e.g., whether the person is conscious, blood type, age, important measurements that gave rise to the medical emergency, as well as medical history data).),
wherein the kind of the event is determined from among a plurality of kinds of events based on information sensed by the sensor, and the reported information includes location information indicating a location of a reporter and personal information of the reporter (at least [0110]-[0112]. The wearable device 210 may sense that there is a sudden increase of velocity, usually signaling a fall, which may trigger an emergency classification. When an emergency situation is detected, the emergency handling unit 870 may be invoked, which may respond by automatically contacting designated emergency contacts (specified by, e.g., the person wearing the device, by his/her guardians, by physicians, or by hospitals), determining whether an immediate rescue is needed, and if so, invoking the SOS handling unit 880 to call for rescue. The communication to the emergency contact may be performed via the communication unit 850, e.g., in a manner (phone call, email, text messages, beep, etc.) that have previously been set up. The selected rescuer(s) may then be informed (via 850) of the person's location and information needed to facilitate the rescue (e.g., whether the person is conscious, blood type, age, important measurements that gave rise to the medical emergency, as well as medical history data).) However, Zhu does not disclose the information processing apparatus is configured to select whether to report the information or not and to control a number of report destinations from among a plurality of candidates, and wherein the number of report destinations is two or more in a case in which the kind of the event indicates traffic accident.
In the same field of endeavor, Spector discloses the information processing apparatus is configured to select whether to report the information or not (at least [0030] and [0050]. The user may enter the emergency type (medical, police, and fire) into a computer application by typing the words, through user selection, or through entry of a number. The emergency level could also have three possible inputs. As shown, the inputs are high, medium, and low wherein high represents a life or death event, medium represents a request for a responder however the response is not as time critical as for a life or death event, and low where the emergency does not require a responder to come to the emergency location rather the user can be directed to the location of a responder.) and
to control a number of report destinations from among a plurality of candidates (at least [0039]. the decision engine logic identifies the emergency type and searches the responder database limiting the responders to the particular type of emergency (fire, medical, police). The decision engine then prioritizes the criteria. If the emergency level is high, the decision engine prioritizes proximity in order to first send the closest responder to the emergency location. The decision engine will also identify the user's current medical conditions and also the emergency code to determine if a specialist is required. The decision engine logic may require a specialist if certain emergency codes are selected. For example, an emergency code representing a heart attack would trigger the requirement that at least one of the responders is trained in critical cardiac care or is a cardiologist or cardiac surgeon.), and
wherein the number of report destinations is two or more in a case in which the kind of the event indicates traffic accident (at least [0034]-[0035]. The telematics system may transmit that the emergency is a medical/fire emergency, and additionally provide an emergency code. For example, the code may indicate that there has been a car crash. The decision engine can then access the user profile and based upon the received information along with the entries in the user profile, the decision engine would know that this emergency was a life or death emergency, that the emergency was a car accident, and as a result the decision engine would determine that any nearby medical and fire responder can be dispatched.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Zhu as taught by Spector for purpose of helping the user as rapidly as possible by directing attention to the user in particular by a targeted generation of an alarm signal.
For claim 2, the combination of Zhu and Spector disclose the system for reporting emergency according to claim 1. Zhu discloses the user equipment includes a watch (at least [0074]. The wearable device 210 may be worn by a user on, e.g., the wrist or any other part of the body as the design dictates. FIG. 3C illustrates exemplary types of wearable devices, which include, but not limited to, a watch, a ring, a piece of cloth, an ear set, or a headset.)
For claim 3, the combination of Zhu and Spector discloses the system for reporting emergency according to claim 1. Zhu discloses the sensor includes motion sensor (at least Fig. 8A, [0090] and [0104]-[0105]. The wearable device 210 may be designed to monitor the velocity or a rate of change thereof in order to, e.g., detect a fall of the person. Sensors 810 may include sensors for sensing, e.g., the velocity of the body of the person wearing the wearable device 210, the level of oxygen in the blood of the user, or rhyme of the heart of the user, etc.)
For claim 4, the combination of Zhu and Spector disclose the system for reporting emergency according to claim 1. Zhu discloses the report destination includes authorities, the authorities being at least one of police or fire department (at least [0247]. the responding entities 2430 may include 911 handler, rescue paramedics, physicians/nurses, pharmacies, police, hospitals, physicians, some other groups such as volunteer rescuer organizations, communities, etc. Each of these connected parties may be called upon based on different needs by the angle service engine 2410. For instance, when there is an emergency situation of a user, the angle service engine 2410 may connect with 911 handler or rescue paramedics.)
For claim 5, the combination of Zhu and Spector disclose the system for reporting emergency according to claim 1. Zhu discloses the instructions to report the information is operated used by an artificial intelligence (at least [0073], [0102] and [0315]. A wearable device is disclosed herein that is capable of continuously classifying a person's health condition into different classes based on trained models, by measuring/gathering various vital signs as well as health data of the person wearing the device. The models are trained/constructed for both general health and with respect to the person's specific health/medical history. The continuously classified health condition is transmitted, e.g., with the monitored health related information (including monitored vital signs, health data, as well as other information), to the cloud to enable a health service provider to appropriately respond to the person's health condition and provide suitable online health care assistance. Emergency response when the classification of the monitored data indicates a serious medical condition by, e.g., notifying emergency contacts related to the person (e.g., relatives or responsible doctors) and scheduling/dispatching necessary resources needed for the rescue.)
For claim 6, the combination of Zhu and Spector disclose the system for reporting emergency according to claim 6. Zhu discloses the artificial intelligence is used for determining whether to report the information to the report destination (at least [0073], [0102] and [0315]. A wearable device is disclosed herein that is capable of continuously classifying a person's health condition into different classes based on trained models, by measuring/gathering various vital signs as well as health data of the person wearing the device. The models are trained/constructed for both general health and with respect to the person's specific health/medical history. The continuously classified health condition is transmitted, e.g., with the monitored health related information (including monitored vital signs, health data, as well as other information), to the cloud to enable a health service provider to appropriately respond to the person's health condition and provide suitable online health care assistance. Emergency response when the classification of the monitored data indicates a serious medical condition by, e.g., notifying emergency contacts related to the person (e.g., relatives or responsible doctors) and scheduling/dispatching necessary resources needed for the rescue.)
For claim 7, the combination of Zhu and Spector disclose the system for reporting emergency according to claim 1. Spector discloses wherein the plurality of kinds of events includes traffic accident (at least [0034]-[0035]. The telematics system may transmit that the emergency is a medical/fire emergency, and additionally provide an emergency code. For example, the code may indicate that there has been a car crash. The decision engine can then access the user profile and based upon the received information along with the entries in the user profile, the decision engine would know that this emergency was a life or death emergency, that the emergency was a car accident, and as a result the decision engine would determine that any nearby medical and fire responder can be dispatched.)
For claim 8, the combination of Zhu and Spector disclose the system for reporting emergency according to claim 1. Zhu discloses the personal information of the reporter includes at least one of a name, gender, age, a mobile phone number, or biological information The wearable device 210 may sense that there is a sudden increase of velocity, usually signaling a fall, which may trigger an emergency classification. When an emergency situation is detected, the emergency handling unit 870 may be invoked, which may respond by automatically contacting designated emergency contacts (specified by, e.g., the person wearing the device, by his/her guardians, by physicians, or by hospitals), determining whether an immediate rescue is needed, and if so, invoking the SOS handling unit 880 to call for rescue. The communication to the emergency contact may be performed via the communication unit 850, e.g., in a manner (phone call, email, text messages, beep, etc.) that have previously been set up. The selected rescuer(s) may then be informed (via 850) of the person's location and information needed to facilitate the rescue (e.g., whether the person is conscious, blood type, age, important measurements that gave rise to the medical emergency, as well as medical history data).)
For claim 9, the combination of Zhu and Spector disclose the system for reporting emergency according to claim 1. Zhu discloses the sensor is further configured to biological information (at least Fig. 8A, [0090] and [0104]-[0105]. The wearable device 210 may be designed to monitor the velocity or a rate of change thereof in order to, e.g., detect a fall of the person. Sensors 810 may include sensors for sensing, e.g., the velocity of the body of the person wearing the wearable device 210, the level of oxygen in the blood of the user, or rhyme of the heart of the user, etc.);
For claim 10, the combination of Zhu and Spector disclose the system for reporting emergency according to claim 1. Zhu discloses the information includes report the information to a plurality of report destinations, the plurality of report destinations including an authority (at least [0247]. When there is an emergency situation of a user, the angle service engine 2410 may connect with 911 handler or rescue paramedics. At the same time, the angle service engine may also place a call to relevant physician of the user if the emergency is likely related to a particular disease for which the physician has been treating the user. At a remote location where no 911 is available, the angle service engine 2410 may connect with volunteer rescue organizations and hospital to orchestrate the rescue effort.)
For claim 17, the claim has features similar to claim 7. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 7.
For claims 11-16, the claims have features similar to claims 1-6. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 1-6.
For claims 18-20, the claims have features similar to claims 8-10. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 8-10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644