DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ROTOR ASSEMBLY FOR AN ELECTRIC MOTOR WITH FAN COUPLED TO ROTOR BY A TORQUE COUPLING.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapant et al. (US20220014055, “Rapant”).
Re claim 1, Rapant discloses an electric motor comprising:
a stator (figs 2 & 26, [0041], note: employing both embodiments of figs 2-8 & figs 25-17 for rejections); and
a rotor assembly 100, 1600 at least partially received in the stator (figs 2 & 26, stator inherently around rotor as indicated by structure of rotor), the rotor assembly 100, 1600 including a rotor body 122, 1622 (figs 2-3 & 26, [0045] & [0069]) including a lamination stack 112, 1612 (figs 2-3, 8 & 26, [0041] & [0054]), the lamination stack 112, 1612 defining a central aperture 150 (figs 2-4, 7 & 26, [0047]),
a fan 126, 1626 formed separately from the rotor body 122, 1622 (figs 3, 6 & 26-27, [0045] & [0069]), the fan 126, 1626 being coupled to the rotor body 122, 1626 by a torque coupling (figs 3-7 & 26-27, [0051-0052] & [0069-0070]), and
a shaft 104, 1604 including an outer surface 170 (figs 3 & 26, [0048]), the shaft 104, 1604 being pressed into the central aperture 150 of the lamination stack 112, 1612 with the outer surface 170 engaged with the central aperture by an interference fit (fig 7, [0048] & [0069], embodiment of figs 25-27 doesn’t specifically disclose an interference fit for the rotor & shaft but says it’s a similar molded rotor assembly as rotor assembly 100).
Re claim 7, Rapant discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses one of the rotor body 122, 1622 and the fan 126, 1626 includes a snap-fit protrusion 146, 1646 (figs 3-5, 7 & fig 26, [0051] & [0069], in figs rotor body but discloses opposite-see [0053]) and the other of the rotor body 122, 1626 and the fan 126, 1626 includes a snap-fit hole (figs 2, 6-7 & 27, [0052] & [0069], hole of hub 226 & 1626; in figs fan but discloses opposite-see [0053]), and wherein the snap-fit protrusion 146, 1646 is configured to engage the snap-fit hole by a snap-fit to form the torque coupling (figs 3-7 & 26, [0053] & [0069-0070).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapant in view of Lee et al. (KR20150029336, “Lee”, using machine translation).
Re claim 21, Rapant discloses claim 7 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the rotor body includes an axial end surface into which the snap-fit hole extends.
Lee discloses the rotor body 120 includes an axial end surface into which the snap-fit hole 127 extends (figs 5-6, pg 3, indicated text to pg 4, 1st indicated text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the rotor body of Rapant to include an axial end surface into which the snap-fit hole extends, as disclosed by Lee, in order to fix the fan to the rotor body without additional fixing means, as taught by Lee (pg 4, 2nd indicated text).
Re claim 22, Rapant in view of Lee discloses claim 21 as discussed above and further discloses the snap-fit hole 127 is a blind hole extending perpendicularly from the axial end surface (Lee, figs 5-6).
Re claim 23, Rapant in view of Lee discloses claim 21 as discussed above and further discloses the snap-fit hole 127 defines both a radially inner hole surface closest to the outer surface of the shaft 100 (Lee, figs 5-6 & below) and a radially outer hole surface outboard of the radially inner surface relative to the outer surface of the shaft 100 (Lee, figs 5-6 & below).
Re claims 24 and 25, Rapant in view of Lee discloses claim 21 as discussed above and further discloses:
the snap-fit hole 127 includes a hole radially outer portion in communication with the axial end surface (Lee, figs 5-6 & below), and a hole radially inner portion separated from the radially outer portion by a hole shoulder and axially adjacent to the radially outer portion (Lee, figs 5-6 & below); and
wherein the snap-fit protrusion 136 includes a protrusion radially inner portion 136b engageable with the hole radially inner portion (Lee, figs 5-6 & below, pg 4, 1st indicated text), a protrusion radially outer portion 136a engageable with the hole radially outer portion (Lee, figs 5-6 & below), and a protrusion shoulder between the protrusion radially inner portion and the protrusion radially outer portion (Lee, figs 5-6 & below), the protrusion shoulder being engageable with the hole shoulder (Lee, figs 5-6 & below).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Rapant (US20220014055) does not disclose the laminated stack of the rotor body is both laminated and has the shaft pressed into the central aperture with the outer surface engaged with the central aperture by an interference fit (pg 5, 2nd to last paragraph to pg 6). Examiner disagrees.
None of applicants arguments are persuasive since Rapant discloses the embodiment of figures 2-8 is interference fit ([0048] & below) and that the rotor has laminations (figs 8 & below).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834