DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-10, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005.
Regarding claim 1, Nottebaum teaches:
A computer system for image interpolation (“deep learning architecture for video frame interpolation,” pg. 2, Introduction), the computer system comprising:
one or more processors (inherent, as deep learning requires a processor); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store a machine-learned image interpolation model configured to receive and process a pair of input images (Fig. 1, pg. 4, I0 and I1) having respective capture times (Fig. 1, pg. 4, “0” and “1” of I0 and I1) to generate an interpolated image having an interpolation time (“Given two images, I0 and I1, the goal of video frame interpolation is to generate several intermediate images It for t ∈ (0,1), pg. 4, Section 4, “fLDR-Net for Video Frame Interpolation), wherein the machine-learned image interpolation model is configured to:
extract, for each of multiple different scales (Fig. 1, from “scale 0” to “scale S”), a respective set of feature values from each of the pair of input images (Fig. 1, extract features using “Dimensionality Reduction”);
generate, for each of the multiple different scales (Fig. 1, from “scale 0” to “scale S”), a respective flow estimate for each of the pair of input images that indicates a respective flow from the interpolation time to the respective capture time (Fig. 1, “Flow Estimation”, and (Equation 2, interpolation (t) to respective capture times (0 and 1));
warp, for each of the multiple different scales (Fig. 1, from “scale 0” to “scale S”), the respective set of feature values for each of the pair of input images according to the respective flow estimate to generate respective warped sets of features (Fig. 1, “Warping”, where flows from each scale are shared before being warped at the shallowest level); and
generate the interpolated image based on the respective warped sets of features for the pair of input images and the multiple different scales (Fig. 1, It is generated based on the warping that took into account flows from all scales).
Although Nottebaum does not explicitly teach backward warping for each scale separately, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so, as details at both the finer and coarser levels will lead to a smoother and more realistic interpolated image regardless if the upscaling of the features from each scale is done after flow estimation or after warping.
Regarding claim 7, the claimed features of claim 7 are also described in claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is applied to claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the pair of input images comprise near-duplicate photographs (pg. 10, Fig. 4, “(a) Overlaid inputs” are nearly identical).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1. Additionally, it would have been obvious to incorporate “the respective capture times for the pair of input images are at least one second apart from each other”, as Nottebaum’s network is specifically designed to handle large motion, which is common in image sets that are taken at least one second apart from each other (“We achieve highly competitive results and even outperform existing methods for larger motions across various benchmarks with only a fraction of the network complexity,” pg. 2, Introduction).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1, and wherein the machine-learned image interpolation model comprises a single machine-learned model trained end-to-end (“We propose a method that finetunes an initial block-based PCA basis end-to-end for video frame interpolation,” pg. 2, Introduction).
Claim 15 is a non-transitory computer-readable media that corresponds to system claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is applied to claim 15.
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 8, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Comino Trinidad et al., "Multi-view Image Fusion", 2019 IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), Seoul, Korea (South), 2019, pp. 4100-4109.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1, but is not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Comino Trinidad, however, further teaches:
wherein to generate, for each of the multiple different scales, the respective flow estimate for each of the pair of input images the machine-learned image interpolation model is configured to, for each of the multiple different scales except a coarsest scale:
predict a residual based on (1) the set of feature values for the other input image and the scale and (2) a warped version of the set of feature values for the input image and the scale (pg. 4103, Section 3.1, “scale-agnostic” flow prediction is residual flow), wherein the warped version of the set of feature values for the input image and the scale has been warped according to an upsampled flow estimate for the input image from a coarser scale (“The image warping module that is repeatedly applied starting from the coarsest level k = N towards the finest level k = 0 to estimate optical flow,” pg. 4104, Fig. 3 Description);
and generate the flow estimate (from “Flow Module”, pg. 4103, Fig. 2) for the input image and the scale based on the residual and the upsampled flow estimate for the input image from the coarser scale (Fig. 2, each flow is upscaled to the shallowest scale).
Comino Trinidad is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of aligning misaligned photographs using a learned system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Comino Trinidad into Nottebaum for the benefit of reduced artifacts and improved detail retention in the final image.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum in view of Trinidad teaches the system of claim 2, and Comino Trinidad further teaches:
wherein to predict the residual the machine-learned image interpolation model is configured to apply one or more learned convolutional filters to (1) the set of feature values for the other input image and the scale (“Each block An for n = 0,1,2 represents two 3×3 convolutions,” pg. 4103, Section 3.1, also see Fig. 2 for “An” blocks) and (2) the warped version of the set of feature values for the input image and the scale (“Our residual flow prediction network Pk is a serial application of five 2d-convolutions: 3×3×32, 3×3×64, 1×1×64, 1×1×16 and 1×1×2,” pg. 4104, Section 3.2, also see Fig. 3 for “Pk” blocks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Comino Trinidad into Nottebaum for the benefit of reduced artifacts and improved detail retention in the final image.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum in view of Comino Trinidad teaches the system of claim 3, and Comino Trinidad further teaches:
wherein, for two or more of the multiple different scales, the learned convolutional filters comprise shared weight values (“we design our flow prediction module (Section 3.2) to share weights among all except two finest levels of the pyramid, which allows synergetic learning on multiple pyramid levels,” pg. 4103, Section 3.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Comino Trinidad into Nottebaum for the benefit of reduced artifacts and improved detail retention in the final image.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1, but is not relied on for the following limitations. Comino Trinidad, however, further teaches:
wherein to extract, for each of the multiple different scales, the respective set of feature values from each of the pair of input images the machine-learned image interpolation model applies a plurality of learned convolutional filters (Fig. 2, “An” blocks) associated with a plurality of different scales (finest to coarsest), and wherein at least two of the convolutional filters for at least two of the different scales comprise shared weight values (“share the flow prediction weights on multiple pyramid levels we use a novel cascaded feature extraction architecture that ensures that the meaning of filters at each shared level is the same,” pg. 4103, Section 3.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Comino Trinidad into Nottebaum for the benefit of reduced artifacts and improved detail retention in the final image.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1, but is not relied on for the following limitations. Comino Trinidad, however, further teaches:
wherein to generate the interpolated image based on the respective warped sets of features for the pair of input images and the multiple different scales the machine-learned image interpolation model is configured to apply one or more learned convolutional filters to the respective warped sets of features for the pair of input images and the multiple different scales (“Our residual flow prediction network Pk is a serial application of five 2d-convolutions: 3×3×32, 3×3×64, 1×1×64, 1×1×16 and 1×1×2,” pg. 4104, Section 3.2, where Pk is applied for every scale, see Fig. 2’s “Flow Module”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Comino Trinidad into Nottebaum for the benefit of reduced artifacts and improved detail retention in the final image.
Claims 16-18 and 20 are non-transitory computer-readable media claims that correspond to system claims 2-4 and 6. Therefore, the rejection of claims 2-4 and 6 is applied to these claims.
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Sevastopolskiy et al. (US-20220157014-A1).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1, but is not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Sevastopolskiy, however, further teaches:
wherein to warp, for each of the multiple different scales, the respective set of feature values for each of the pair of input images according to the respective flow estimate, the machine-learned image interpolation model is configured to perform a backward bilinear resample operation (“The bilinear sampling (backward warping) of an image .sup.I onto Posmap is denoted by the operation I⊙Posmap, which results into mapping the visible part of .sup.I into the UV texture space,” Para [0068]).
Sevastopolskiy is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of using deep learning models to predict new images from previous ones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Sevastopolskiy into Nottebaum for the benefit of smooth and anti-aliased final images.
Claim 19 is a non-transitory computer-readable media claim that corresponds to system claim 5. Therefore, the rejection of claim 5 is applied to claim 19.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US-20220284552-A1).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1, but is not relied upon for the following limitations. Yang, however, further teaches:
wherein the machine-learned image interpolation model has been trained using a loss function that comprises: a L1 loss term, a perceptual loss term, and style loss term (“Reconstruction loss includes two parts: an L1 loss to constrain the overall reconstruction of the image and another L1 loss to focus on the pixel accuracy of the corrupted region. Perceptual loss is widely used in video inpainting or image inpainting tasks to improve visual quality of generated images… Style loss is also widely applied in image/video inpainting tasks and is accumulated over all frames between the output video sequence and the ground truth video,” Para [0055]).
Yang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of deep learning networks that utilize optical flow for creating missing images or parts of an image from initial pairs of images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into Nottebaum for the benefit of sharper output images.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US-20210326691-A1).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claim 1, but is not relied upon for the following limitations. Liu, however, further teaches:
wherein the machine-learned image interpolation model has been trained using a loss function that comprises a style loss term, wherein the style loss term evaluates a Gram matrix that measures a correlation difference between features (“Given that subsequent to extracting a style feature from the first image, the convolutional layer l outputs a Gram matrix A.sup.l, and subsequent to extracting a style feature from the second image, the convolutional layer l outputs a Gram matrix G.sup.l. A style loss between the first image and the second image obtained from the convolutional layer l is defined,” Para [0072]).
Liu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of deep learning neural networks that create an output image based on the features of past input images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Liu into Nottebaum for the benefit of a more accurate output image.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, and 13 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US-20190138889-A1).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claims 1, 7, 9, and 13 are incorporated herein. Nottebaum teaches the system of claims 1, 7, 9, and 13, but is not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Jiang, however, further teaches:
A computer-implemented to perform machine learning, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, a training tuple comprising a pair of input images (Fig. 2B, “input images”) and a ground truth image (Fig. 2B, “ground truth interpolated frame”);
processing, by the computing system, the pair of input images with the machine-learned image interpolation model described in any of claims 1-13 to generate a predicted interpolated image (see rejection of claim 1 above);
evaluating, by the computing system, a loss function that generates a loss value based on the ground truth image and the predicted interpolated image (“the predicted intermediate frame is compared with the ground-truth frame. In an embodiment, the training loss function 210 compares the intermediate frame with a ground truth frame,” Para [0068]); and
modifying, by the computing system, one or more values of one or more parameters of the machine-learned image interpolation model based on the loss function (“The intermediate optical flow neural network model 142 and the flow interpolation neural network model 102 or 122 are deemed to be sufficiently trained when the predicted frames generated for the input frames from the training dataset match the ground truth frames or a threshold accuracy is achieved for the training dataset,” Para [0068]).
Jiang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of image interpolation using optical flow. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Jiang into Nottebaum for the benefit of a well-trained deep learned interpolation network.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 in view of Comino Trinidad et al., "Multi-view Image Fusion", 2019 IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), Seoul, Korea (South), 2019, pp. 4100-4109, as applied to claims 2-4, 6, and 8 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US-20190138889-A1).
Regarding claim 14, the rejections of 2-4, 6, and 8 are incorporated herein. Nottebaum in view of Comino Trinidad teach the system of claims 2-4, 6, and 8, but are not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Jiang, however, further teaches:
Jiang, however, further teaches:
A computer-implemented to perform machine learning, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, a training tuple comprising a pair of input images (Fig. 2B, “input images”) and a ground truth image (Fig. 2B, “ground truth interpolated frame”);
processing, by the computing system, the pair of input images with the machine-learned image interpolation model described in any of claims 1-13 to generate a predicted interpolated image (see rejection of claim 1 above);
evaluating, by the computing system, a loss function that generates a loss value based on the ground truth image and the predicted interpolated image (“the predicted intermediate frame is compared with the ground-truth frame. In an embodiment, the training loss function 210 compares the intermediate frame with a ground truth frame,” Para [0068]); and
modifying, by the computing system, one or more values of one or more parameters of the machine-learned image interpolation model based on the loss function (“The intermediate optical flow neural network model 142 and the flow interpolation neural network model 102 or 122 are deemed to be sufficiently trained when the predicted frames generated for the input frames from the training dataset match the ground truth frames or a threshold accuracy is achieved for the training dataset,” Para [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Jiang into Nottebaum and Comino Trinidad for the benefit of a well-trained deep learned interpolation network.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 in view of Sevastopolskiy et al. (US-20220157014-A1), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US-20190138889-A1).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein, Nottebaum in view of Sevastopolskiy teaches the system of claim 5, but is not relied upon for the following limitations. Jiang, however, further teaches:
A computer-implemented to perform machine learning, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, a training tuple comprising a pair of input images (Fig. 2B, “input images”) and a ground truth image (Fig. 2B, “ground truth interpolated frame”);
processing, by the computing system, the pair of input images with the machine-learned image interpolation model described in any of claims 1-13 to generate a predicted interpolated image (see rejection of claim 1 above);
evaluating, by the computing system, a loss function that generates a loss value based on the ground truth image and the predicted interpolated image (“the predicted intermediate frame is compared with the ground-truth frame. In an embodiment, the training loss function 210 compares the intermediate frame with a ground truth frame,” Para [0068]); and
modifying, by the computing system, one or more values of one or more parameters of the machine-learned image interpolation model based on the loss function (“The intermediate optical flow neural network model 142 and the flow interpolation neural network model 102 or 122 are deemed to be sufficiently trained when the predicted frames generated for the input frames from the training dataset match the ground truth frames or a threshold accuracy is achieved for the training dataset,” Para [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Jiang into Nottebaum and Sevastopolskiy for the benefit of a well-trained deep learned interpolation network.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 in view of Yang et al. (US-20220284552-A1), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US-20190138889-A1).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum in view of Yang teaches the system of claim 11 , but is not relied upon for the following limitations. Jiang, however, further teaches:
A computer-implemented to perform machine learning, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, a training tuple comprising a pair of input images (Fig. 2B, “input images”) and a ground truth image (Fig. 2B, “ground truth interpolated frame”);
processing, by the computing system, the pair of input images with the machine-learned image interpolation model described in any of claims 1-13 to generate a predicted interpolated image (see rejection of claim 1 above);
evaluating, by the computing system, a loss function that generates a loss value based on the ground truth image and the predicted interpolated image (“the predicted intermediate frame is compared with the ground-truth frame. In an embodiment, the training loss function 210 compares the intermediate frame with a ground truth frame,” Para [0068]); and
modifying, by the computing system, one or more values of one or more parameters of the machine-learned image interpolation model based on the loss function (“The intermediate optical flow neural network model 142 and the flow interpolation neural network model 102 or 122 are deemed to be sufficiently trained when the predicted frames generated for the input frames from the training dataset match the ground truth frames or a threshold accuracy is achieved for the training dataset,” Para [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Jiang into Nottebaum and Yang for the benefit of a well-trained deep learned interpolation network.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nottebaum et al., "Efficient Feature Extraction for High-resolution Video Frame Interpolation", arXiv:2211.14005 in view of Liu et al. (US-20210326691-A1), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US-20190138889-A1).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated herein. Nottebaum in view of Liu teaches the system of claim 12, but is not relied upon for the following limitations. Jiang, however, further teaches:
A computer-implemented to perform machine learning, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, a training tuple comprising a pair of input images (Fig. 2B, “input images”) and a ground truth image (Fig. 2B, “ground truth interpolated frame”);
processing, by the computing system, the pair of input images with the machine-learned image interpolation model described in any of claims 1-13 to generate a predicted interpolated image (see rejection of claim 1 above);
evaluating, by the computing system, a loss function that generates a loss value based on the ground truth image and the predicted interpolated image (“the predicted intermediate frame is compared with the ground-truth frame. In an embodiment, the training loss function 210 compares the intermediate frame with a ground truth frame,” Para [0068]); and
modifying, by the computing system, one or more values of one or more parameters of the machine-learned image interpolation model based on the loss function (“The intermediate optical flow neural network model 142 and the flow interpolation neural network model 102 or 122 are deemed to be sufficiently trained when the predicted frames generated for the input frames from the training dataset match the ground truth frames or a threshold accuracy is achieved for the training dataset,” Para [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Jiang into Nottebaum and Liu for the benefit of a well-trained deep learned interpolation network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
van Amersfoort et al. (US-11122238-B1) teaches a method for frame interpolation that estimates optical flow and uses pyramidal scaling.
Liu et al. (US-20220092795-A1) teaches a method for motion estimation in video frame interpolation, where the model architecture is very similar to applicant’s.
/Rachel Anne Ometz/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 3/12/26
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668