DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 8, recite a method of converting a reeded mouthpiece to a flute by replacing a mouthpiece and a method of converting a reeded mouthpiece to a brass horn-style by replacing a mouthpiece. It is unclear how this is being done?
It does not appear that the reed woodwind instrument is being converted to a flute, the adaptor is being placed on a flute. Clarification is required.
It does not appear that the reed woodwind instrument is being converted to a brass horn-style instrument, the adaptor is being placed on a brass horn-style instrument. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202005014955 in view of Onozawa (US20050217464).
Regarding claim 1, DE202005014955 discloses the use of an adaptor for a reed woodwind instrument, the adaptor comprising: a connection tube (2) extending from a first end to a second end; a mouthpiece (A) fluidly coupled to the first end; and a tonal ramp (7) disposed between the first and second ends of the connection tube (see the ends in figure 1).
DE202005014955 does not disclose a second end configured to associate with a reed woodwind instrument.
Onozawa (US20050217464) discloses the second end of a mouthpiece (20) configured to associate with the reed (22) woodwind instrument (2) so that a flow of air urged through the mouthpiece enters a body of the reed woodwind instrument.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in DE202005014955 to include the attachment means as disclosed in Onozawa in order to provide a mouthpiece capable of producing various sounds.
Regarding claim 2, DE202005014955 discloses wherein the mouthpiece is a recorder-style mouthpiece (see the abstract).
Regarding claims 4-6, DE202005014955 and Onozawa (US20050217464) do not disclose a specific mouthpiece style.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in DE202005014955 to include the attachment means as disclosed in Onozawa; and the shakuhachi-style, brass-horn-style, flute-style mouthpieces having a tonal hole for producing tones by directing an air flow across an edge of the tonal hole as recited by the applicant since tonal holes produces tones be directing airflow and the use of varying mouthpiece types with tone holes for assisting with airflow is conventional and well known in the art.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837