DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "first group of stator bars" (claim 1), "second group of stator bars" (claim 1),"first input" (claim 2), "second input" (claim 2), "first and second controllers" (claim 2), "third group of stator bars" (claim 10), "third input" (claim 10), and "third controller" (claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 2, the recited features of the first electrically isolated group of stator bars being "coupled to a first input for receiving a first multi-phase input voltage", the second electrically isolated group of stator bars being "coupled to a second input for receiving a second multi-phase input voltage", and "the first and second inputs being coupleable to respective first and second controllers for providing the respective first and second multi-phase input voltages, the first and second controllers being different controllers" are not sufficiently shown by the drawings to clearly illustrate the structure of the claimed subject matter of the invention, therefore rendering the claim indefinite for failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the invention.
Claims 3-12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for their dependency upon aforementioned claim 2, and these claims are also rendered indefinite because the claimed elements of the "first set of stator bars" for the "first group of stator bars" and "second group of stator bars" in relation to the "first multi-phase input voltages" and the "second multi-phase input voltages" are not clearly illustrated in the drawings to properly convey the structure recited in claim 4; and also the specific, multiple different groups and sets of stator bars and different multi-phase input voltages as recited in these claims have not been clearly illustrated in the drawings in order to properly convey the structure defined in these claims, such as the alternate arrangement recited in claim 6, the interleaved arrangement in claims 7 and 8, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osama (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2022/0069641 A1).
For claim 1, Osama discloses the claimed invention comprising: a plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 228, figure 10) disposed circumferentially at intervals around an axis (see figures 9, 10), each of the stator bars (reference numeral 228) having a set of windings (reference numerals 222A, 222B, figure 8) wound therearound to form a stator coil stack for generating a magnetic field generally parallel to the axis (see figures 8-10), the plurality of stator coil stacks (i.e. coil stacks formed by windings 222A, 222B) being arranged to provide a hollow region at the centre of the axis (i.e. hollow region formed at center of stator 240A, see figures 9, 10); and a housing (reference numeral 210) for enclosing the plurality of stator bars (see figures 8, 9), wherein the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 228) are arranged into at least a first group of stator bars and a second group of stator bars (i.e. stator bars in module 240A and stator bars in module 240B may be considered to be a first group and a second group of stator bars, see figures 9, 10), the first and second groups of stator bars being isolated from one another (i.e. module 240A and module 240B being isolated from each other by a separator 250A-B, see figures 9, 10).
For claim 23, Osama discloses the claimed invention of an axial flux machine (see figure 8), comprising: a stator (reference numerals 214A, 214B, figures 8-10) according to claim 1; a rotor (reference numeral 212) comprising a set of permanent magnets (see paragraph [0045]) and mounted for rotation about the axis of the machine (see figure 8), the rotor (reference numeral 212) being spaced apart from the stator (reference numerals 214A, 214B) along the axis of the machine to define a gap between the stator and rotor (see figure 8).
For claim 25, Osama discloses the machine being a motor or a generator (see paragraph [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Girotto et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0075282 A1).
For claim 13, Osama discloses the claimed invention except for the housing comprising two or more dividers arranged in the housing to form two or more chambers within the housing, the dividers forming a fluid-tight seal between the two or more chambers; the at least two groups of stator bars are at least two physically isolated groups isolated from each other by the dividers; and the first group of stator bars is located in the first chamber of the housing and the second group of stator bars is located in the second chamber of the housing. Girotto et al. disclose two or more dividers (reference numeral 18) arranged in the housing (reference numeral 20, figure 1) to form two or more chambers (reference numerals 50, 70) within the housing (see figures 1-4), the dividers forming a fluid-tight seal between the two or more chambers (i.e. sealed chambers 50, 70, see figure 4); the at least two groups of stator bars (i.e. windings 12, figure 1) are at least two physically isolated groups isolated from each other by the dividers (i.e. dividers 18 separating the windings 12 when assembled, see figures 1-4); and the first group of stator bars is located in the first chamber of the housing (i.e. one group of windings 12 being located in the first chamber 50) and the second group of stator bars is located in the second chamber of the housing (i.e. another group of windings 12 being located in the second chamber 70, see figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dividers and two chambers as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the stator bars of Osama for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
For claim 14, Osama discloses the claimed invention except for the housing being formed of two or more separate housing portions, each housing portion forming a respective chamber and enclosing a respective group of stator bars, the two or more housing portions being isolated from each other; wherein the first group of stator bars is located in the first housing portion and the second group of stator bars is located in the second housing portion. Girotto et al. disclose the housing being formed of two or more separate housing portions (i.e. housing portions 18, see figure 4), each housing portion forming a respective chamber (i.e. chambers 50, 70, figure 4) and enclosing a respective group of stator bars (i.e. windings 12 being enclosed by the chambers 50, 70 when assembled, see figures 1-4), the two or more housing portions (reference numeral 18) being isolated from each other (i.e. chambers 50, 70 forming the housing portions are isolated from each other, see figure 4); wherein the first group of stator bars (i.e. windings 12) is located in the first housing portion (i.e. a first group of windings 12 being enclosed by the first chamber 50) and the second group of stator bars is located in the second housing portion (i.e. second group of windings 12 being enclosed by the second chamber 70, see figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the separate housing portions as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the stator bars of Osama for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
For claim 15, Osama in view of Girotto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the two or more chambers being flooded with a cooling fluid. Girotto et al. further disclose each of the two or more chambers (reference numerals 50, 70) being flooded with a cooling fluid (see paragraph [0095]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cooling fluid as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the chambers of Osama in view of Girotto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
For claim 16, Osama in view of Girotto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the two or more chambers comprising an inlet port for supplying the cooling fluid, and an outlet port for drainage of the cooling fluid, and wherein the cooling fluid flows between the inlet and outlet ports. Girotto et al. further disclose each of the two or more chambers (reference numerals 50, 70) comprising an inlet port (reference numerals 58, 78) for supplying the cooling fluid (see figure 4), and an outlet port (reference numerals 60, 80) for drainage of the cooling fluid (see figure 4), and wherein the cooling fluid flows between the inlet and outlet ports (see figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet and outlet ports as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the chambers of Osama in view of Girotto et al. for predictably providing proper configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 17, Osama discloses the claimed invention except for the housing comprising two or more dividers arranged in the housing to form two or more chambers within the housing, the dividers forming a fluid-tight seal between the two or more chambers; wherein the first and second groups of stator bars are physically isolated groups of stator bars isolated from each other by the dividers; and the first group of stator bars is located in the first chamber of the housing and the second group of stator bars is located in the second chamber of the housing. Girotto et al. disclose two or more dividers (reference numeral 18) arranged in the housing (reference numeral 20, figure 1) to form two or more chambers (reference numerals 50, 70) within the housing (see figures 1-4), the dividers forming a fluid-tight seal between the two or more chambers (i.e. sealed chambers 50, 70, see figure 4); wherein the first and second groups of stator bars (i.e. windings 12, figure 1) are physically isolated groups of stator bars isolated from each other by the dividers (i.e. dividers 18 separating the windings 12 when assembled, see figures 1-4); and the first group of stator bars is located in the first chamber of the housing (i.e. one group of windings 12 being located in the first chamber 50) and the second group of stator bars is located in the second chamber of the housing (i.e. another group of windings 12 being located in the second chamber 70, see figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dividers and two chambers as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the stator bars of Osama for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
For claim 18, Osama discloses the claimed invention except for the housing being formed of two or more separate housing portions, each housing portion forming a respective chamber and enclosing a respective group of stator bars, the two or more housing portions being isolated from each other; wherein the first group of stator bars is located in the first housing portion and the second group of stator bars is located in the second housing portion. Girotto et al. disclose the housing being formed of two or more separate housing portions (i.e. housing portions 18, see figure 4), each housing portion forming a respective chamber (i.e. chambers 50, 70, figure 4) and enclosing a respective group of stator bars (i.e. windings 12 being enclosed by the chambers 50, 70 when assembled, see figures 1-4), the two or more housing portions (reference numeral 18) being isolated from each other (i.e. chambers 50, 70 forming the housing portions are isolated from each other, see figure 4); wherein the first group of stator bars (i.e. windings 12) is located in the first housing portion (i.e. a first group of windings 12 being enclosed by the first chamber 50) and the second group of stator bars is located in the second housing portion (i.e. second group of windings 12 being enclosed by the second chamber 70, see figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the separate housing portions as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the stator bars of Osama for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
For claim 19, Osama in view of Girotto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the two or more chambers being flooded with a cooling fluid. Girotto et al. further disclose each of the two or more chambers (reference numerals 50, 70) being flooded with a cooling fluid (see paragraph [0095]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cooling fluid as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the chambers of Osama in view of Girotto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
For claim 20, Osama in view of Girotto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the two or more chambers comprising an inlet port for supplying the cooling fluid, and an outlet port for drainage of the cooling fluid, and wherein the cooling fluid flows between the inlet and outlet ports. Girotto et al. further disclose each of the two or more chambers (reference numerals 50, 70) comprising an inlet port (reference numerals 58, 78) for supplying the cooling fluid (see figure 4), and an outlet port (reference numerals 60, 80) for drainage of the cooling fluid (see figure 4), and wherein the cooling fluid flows between the inlet and outlet ports (see figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet and outlet ports as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the chambers of Osama in view of Girotto et al. for predictably providing proper configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 21, Osama in view of Girotto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the housing and stator coil stacks being arranged to permit the cooling fluid to flow back and forth between the inner and outer radius of the stator coil stacks. Girotto et al. further disclose each of the two chambers (reference numerals 50, 70) having portions adjacent to the inner and outer radius of the coil stacks (i.e. portions 52a, 54a, 72a, 74a of the chambers 50, 70 in figure 4 being adjacent to the inner and outer radius of the windings 12 in figure 1) which would allow fluid to flow between the coil stacks of Osama in view of Girotto et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fluid flow back and forth between the inner and outer radius of the stator coil stacks as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the housing of Osama in view of Girotto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
For claim 22, Osama in view of Girotto et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the stator comprising one or more blocks disposed in the stator housing between the stator housing and one or more respective stator coil stacks, wherein the cooling fluid is forced through gaps between the stator coil stacks by means of the blocks. Girotto et al. further disclose spoke components (reference numeral 108) which allow fluid to flow between the winding components (i.e. spoke components 108 disposed between cavities 106 where the windings would be disposed, see figure 5), and when applied to the stator coil stacks and stator housing of Osama in view of Girotto et al. this would disclose the stator comprising one or more blocks disposed in the stator housing between the stator housing and one or more respective stator coil stacks, wherein the cooling fluid is forced through gaps between the stator coil stacks by means of the blocks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have these block components as disclosed by Girotto et al. for the flow of fluid between stator coil stacks of Osama in view of Girotto et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osama as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Woolmer et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2011/0309699 A1).
For claim 24, Osama discloses the claimed invention except for a second rotor comprising a set of permanent magnets and mounted for rotation about the axis of the machine, the second rotor being spaced apart from the stator along the axis of the machine to define a gap between the stator and second rotor, and the second rotor being disposed on a side of the stator opposed to the rotor. Woolmer et al. disclose a second rotor (i.e. second rotor 14b opposed to a first rotor 14a, see figures 1-3) comprising a set of permanent magnets (reference numeral 24b) and mounted for rotation about the axis of the machine (see figures 1-3), the second rotor (reference numeral 14b) being spaced apart from the stator (reference numeral 12) along the axis of the machine to define a gap between the stator and second rotor (see figures 1-3), and the second rotor (reference numeral 14b) being disposed on a side of the stator (reference numeral 12) opposed to the rotor (see figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second rotor as disclosed by Woolmer et al. for the stator and rotor of Osama for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the axial flux characteristics of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of stator connections: US 11031894 B2 (Mao; Hengchun et al.), US 9812908 B2 (Flynn; Charles J.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834