DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0198290 (Kobayashi) in view of US 2021/0316679 (Morita).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a power supply control device (Fig. 1 shows a power supply control device) comprising:
a first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 40) coupled between a main power supply (Fig. 1 shows first power supply 10) and a load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100) [0022, 0041];
a second switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 41) coupled between a sub-power supply (Fig. 1 shows second power supply 20) and the load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100); and
a controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) configured to perform on/off control of the first switch and the second switch (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60 comprises switch setting unit 62 that controls on/off state of switches 40 and 41) [0071], wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to: turn off the first switch and turn on the second switch, in response to an ignition switch being turned off (Fig. 6 shows first switch 40 being turned off and second switch 41 being turned on, in response to start switch 130 being turned off) [0032, 0087-0090]; and
turn off the second switch and then turn on the first switch, in response to the ignition switch being switched from being turned off to being turned on (in a predetermined backup state when start switch 130 is off, second power supply 20 supplies power to backup loads included in at least one of the first load group 100 and the second load group 110; when vehicle is parked i.e. ignition switch being switched off, second switch is off and first switch is off, then Fig. 2 shows second switch 41 being turned off and the first switch 40 being turned on from being turned off as shown in Fig. 4 when the start switch 130 is being turned on as the vehicle enters a normal traveling state) [0025, 0054-0055, 0071, 0078].
However, Kobayashi does not teach turning off the second switch while the first switch is turned off.
However, Morita teaches turning off the second switch while the first switch is turned off (Fig. 3 shows IG switch being turned on and from time t0-t1 switches SW1-4 are all temporarily turned off) [0078-0079].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have turning off the second switch while the first switch is turned off as taught by Morita in order to start the switching from the vehicle being turned off from an off state wherein all the switches were turned off thereby protecting the circuitry from floating current.
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to turn on the first switch (Fig. 2 shows switch 40 is turned on) after turning off the second switch (Fig. 2 shows second switch 41 is turned off and the switch 40 is turned on) [0070-0071] and then turn on the second switch, in response to the ignition switch being turned on (turn on switch 41 i.e. second switch when start switch 130 is turned on and the state of charge of the second power supply 20 is any of the first state of charge or second state of charge) [0061-0062, 0065, 0079-0081].
Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a power supply control program that causes a controller to perform a process (Fig. 1 shows power supply control device that causes control unit 60 to perform a process) [0052-0053], the process comprising performing on/off control of a first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 40) coupled between a main power supply (Fig. 1 shows first power supply 10) and a load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100) [0022, 0041]and a second switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 41) coupled between a sub-power supply (Fig. 1 shows second power supply 20) and the load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100), wherein the process further comprising: turning off the first switch and turning on the second switch, in response to an ignition switch being turned off (Fig. 6 shows first switch 40 being turned off and second switch 41 being turned on, in response to start switch 130 being turned off) [0032, 0087-0090]; and
turning off the second switch then turning on the first switch, in response to the ignition switch being switched from being turned off to being turned on (in a predetermined backup state when start switch 130 is off, second power supply 20 supplies power to backup loads included in at least one of the first load group 100 and the second load group 110; when vehicle is parked i.e. ignition switch being switched off, second switch is off and first switch is off, then Fig. 2 shows second switch 41 being turned off and the first switch 40 being turned on from being turned off as shown in Fig. 4 when the start switch 130 is being turned on as the vehicle enters a normal traveling state) [0025, 0054-0055, 0071, 0078].
However, Kobayashi does not teach turning off the second switch while the first switch is turned off.
However, Morita teaches turning off the second switch while the first switch is turned off (Fig. 3 shows IG switch being turned on and from time t0-t1 switches SW1-4 are all temporarily turned off) [0078-0079].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have turning off the second switch while the first switch is turned off as taught by Morita in order to start the switching from the vehicle being turned off from an off state wherein all the switches were turned off thereby protecting the circuitry from floating current.
Regarding claim 18, Kobayashi teaches a power supply control device (Fig. 1 shows a power supply control device) comprising:
a first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 40) coupled between a main power supply (Fig. 1 shows first power supply 10) and a load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100) [0022, 0041];
a second switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 41) coupled between a sub-power supply (Fig. 1 shows second power supply 20) and the load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100); and
a controller Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) configured to perform on/off control of the first switch and the second switch (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60 comprises switch setting unit 62 that controls on/off state of switches 40 and 41) [0071], wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to:
turn off the first switch and turn on the second switch, in response to an ignition switch being turned off (Fig. 6 shows first switch 40 being turned off and second switch 41 being turned on, in response to start switch 130 being turned off) [0032, 0087-0090]; and
upon the ignition switch being turned on then (ii) turn on the first switch while the second switch is maintained turned off (Fig. 2 shows second switch 41 being turned off and the first switch 40 being turned on from being turned off as shown in Fig. 4 when the start switch 130 is being turned on as the vehicle enters a normal traveling state) [0071, 0078].
However, Kobayashi does not teach upon the ignition switch being turned on, (i) firstly turn off both of the first and second switches temporarily.
However, Morita teaches upon the ignition switch being turned on, (i) firstly turn off both of the first and second switches temporarily (Fig. 3 shows IG switch being turned on and from time t0-t1 switches SW1-4 are all temporarily turned off) [0078-0079].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have upon the ignition switch being turned on, (i) firstly turn off both of the first and second switches temporarily as taught by Morita in order to start the switching from the vehicle being turned off from an off state wherein all the switches were turned off thereby protecting the circuitry from floating current.
Claim(s) 3-6, 9- 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0198290 (Kobayashi) in view of US 2021/0316679 (Morita) further in view of US 2022/0306020 (Matsumoto).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to turn on the first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 40 is turned on) during a period in response to the ignition switch being turned on (while the vehicle is running the first power supply 10 via the first switch supplies power to the load) [0065, 0071], the period being from when the second switch is turned off (Fig. 1 shows switch 41 turned off) [0122].
However, Kobayashi and Morita does not teach when a time period during which the load is capable of keeping operating by electric power of a capacitor of the load elapses.
However, Matsumoto teaches when a time period during which the load is capable of keeping operating by electric power of a capacitor of the load elapses (battery switch 42 is in off state and the capacitor 63a is discharged to supply power to second system 120) [0073].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have when a time period during which the load is capable of keeping operating by electric power of a capacitor of the load elapses as taught by Matsumoto in order to have continuous power supply to the load.
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to turn on the first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 40 is turned on) during a period in response to the ignition switch being turned on (while the vehicle is running the first power supply 10 via the first switch supplies power to the load) [0065, 0071], the period being from when the second switch is turned off (Fig. 1 shows switch 41 turned off) [0122].
However, Kobayashi and Morita does not teach when a time period during which the load is capable of keeping operating by electric power of a capacitor of the load elapses.
However, Matsumoto teaches when a time period during which the load is capable of keeping operating by electric power of a capacitor of the load elapses (battery switch 42 is in off state and the capacitor 63a is discharged to supply power to second system 120) [0073].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have when a time period during which the load is capable of keeping operating by electric power of a capacitor of the load elapses as taught by Matsumoto in order to have continuous power supply to the load.
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi teaches further comprising:
a first system (Fig. 1 shows first system 200) configured to supply electric power from the main power supply (Fig. 1 shows first power supply 10) to the load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100 and second load group 110) via the first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 40) [0022, 0028-29, 0041];
a second system (Fig. 1 shows second system 210) configured to supply electric power from the sub-power supply (Fig. 1 shows second power supply 20) to the load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100 and second load group 110) via the second switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 41) [0031]; and
an inter-system switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 43) coupled between the first system (Fig. 1 shows first system 200) and the second system (Fig. 1 shows second system 210) [0044],
wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to: in response to the ignition switch being turned off, turn off the inter-system switch (when the start switch 130 is turned off the switch 43 is also turned off) [0124]; and
in response to the ignition switch being turned on, turn on the inter-system switch when turning on the first switch (in normal state when the vehicle is running, the switch 43 is turned on) [0056, 0071].
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi teaches further comprising:
a first system (Fig. 1 shows first system 200) configured to supply electric power from the main power supply (Fig. 1 shows first power supply 10) to the load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100 and second load group 110) via the first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 40) [0022, 0028-29, 0041];
a second system (Fig. 1 shows second system 210) configured to supply electric power from the sub-power supply (Fig. 1 shows second power supply 20) to the load (Fig. 1 shows first load group 100 and second load group 110) via the second switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 41) [0031]; and
an inter-system switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 43) coupled between the first system (Fig. 1 shows first system 200) and the second system (Fig. 1 shows second system 210) [0044],
wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to: in response to the ignition switch being turned off, turn off the inter-system switch (when the start switch 130 is turned off the switch 43 is also turned off) [0124]; and
in response to the ignition switch being turned on, turn on the inter-system switch when turning on the first switch (in normal state when the vehicle is running, the switch 43 is turned on) [0056, 0071].
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi teaches further comprising a load switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 42) coupled between a connection wiring (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring) and each of a plurality of loads (Fig. 1 shows first load 101 to fifth load 112), the connection wiring connecting the first switch and the second switch (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring connecting switch 40 i.e. first switch and switch 41 i.e. second switch), wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to, when a ground fault is detected, specify an occurrence point of the ground fault, and turn off a switch closest to the occurrence point of the ground fault among the first switch, the second switch, and the load switch (when a ground fault is detected the switch 42 is turned off) [0056].
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi teaches further comprising a load switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 42) coupled between a connection wiring (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring) and each of a plurality of loads (Fig. 1 shows first load 101 to fifth load 112), the connection wiring connecting the first switch and the second switch (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring connecting switch 40 i.e. first switch and switch 41 i.e. second switch), wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to, when a ground fault is detected, specify an occurrence point of the ground fault, and turn off a switch closest to the occurrence point of the ground fault among the first switch, the second switch, and the load switch (when a ground fault is detected the switch 42 is turned off) [0056].
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi teaches further comprising a load switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 42) coupled between a connection wiring (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring) and each of a plurality of loads (Fig. 1 shows first load 101 to fifth load 112), the connection wiring connecting the first switch and the second switch (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring connecting switch 40 i.e. first switch and switch 41 i.e. second switch), wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to, when a ground fault is detected, specify an occurrence point of the ground fault, and turn off a switch closest to the occurrence point of the ground fault among the first switch, the second switch, and the load switch (when a ground fault is detected the switch 42 is turned off) [0056].
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi teaches further comprising a load switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 42) coupled between a connection wiring (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring) and each of a plurality of loads (Fig. 1 shows first load 101 to fifth load 112), the connection wiring connecting the first switch and the second switch (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring connecting switch 40 i.e. first switch and switch 41 i.e. second switch), wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to, when a ground fault is detected, specify an occurrence point of the ground fault, and turn off a switch closest to the occurrence point of the ground fault among the first switch, the second switch, and the load switch (when a ground fault is detected the switch 42 is turned off) [0056].
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi teaches further comprising a load switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 42) coupled between a connection wiring (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring) and each of a plurality of loads (Fig. 1 shows first load 101 to fifth load 112), the connection wiring connecting the first switch and the second switch (Fig. 1 shows connection wiring connecting switch 40 i.e. first switch and switch 41 i.e. second switch), wherein the controller (Fig. 1 shows control unit 60) is configured to, when a ground fault is detected, specify an occurrence point of the ground fault, and turn off a switch closest to the occurrence point of the ground fault among the first switch, the second switch, and the load switch (when a ground fault is detected the switch 42 is turned off) [0056].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are persuasive.
Applicant presents the argument that Kobayashi does not teach: turn off the second switch while the first switch is turned off.
The Examiner is in agreement with the Applicant and thereby relies on Morita reference Fig. 3 to teach the temporary timeline from t0-t1 wherein the switches SW1-4 are turned off when the ignition is on as taught in paragraphs [0078-79].
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836