DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-13, drawn to a method for recovering gold, classified in C25C1/20.
II. Claims 14-20, drawn to an electrode and electrolytic system, classified in C25C7/02.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case, the apparatus of invention II is capable of being used for e.g., water purification, a process materially different than the recovery of gold complexes recited in invention I.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
the inventions have acquired separate statuses in the art in view of their different statutory categories;
the inventions have acquired separate statuses in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries);
the prior art applicable to one invention would likely not be applicable to another invention; and/or
the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues (i.e., under 35 U.S.C. § 101 and/or 112).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Atty. Mindy Rittner on October 5th, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-13. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Specification
The use of the term Teflon®, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: para. 57 uses the trademark Teflon® without indicating it is a term used in commerce e.g., TEFLON or Teflon®.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatton (WO 2020/047032 A1) in view of Gadikota (WO 2024/097961 A1) and as evidenced by e.g., Fogarasi et al. (“Copper recovery and gold enrichment from waste printed circuit boards by mediated electrochemical oxidation” Journal of Hazardous Materials 273 (2014) 215–221).
Regarding claim 1, Hatton teaches an electrochemical method for selective recovery (p. 1 lines 22-31) of gold (“Exemplary target species include … HAuO32-” p. 11 lines 17-25) from “metal processing” (p. 7 lines 13-26) streams, the electrochemical method comprising:
selectively electrochemically (“the first electrode can comprise … a first redox species … selective toward a target species” p. 9 lines 14-19) adsorbing (“the electrical potential can be applied such that a target species … is adsorbed on the first electrode” p. 8 lines 14-30) gold complexes (“Exemplary target species include … HAuO32-” p. 11 lines 17-25, see also p. 10 line 16 – p. 11 line 6) from a leach solution (“contacting the first electrode with a fluid source comprising a target species.” p. 9 line 32 – p. 10 line 8) onto a redox-active metallopolymer (“the first redox species can comprise a metallopolymer” p. 8 lines 14-30 and “redox-active metallopolymer electrodes” p. 28 lines 1-23); and
electrochemically releasing the gold complexes from the redox-active metallopolymer (“releasing the target species from the first electrode … by modifying the electric potential that is applied between the electrodes” p. 8 line 31 – p. 9 line 7) into a collection fluid (“discharged … into a clean electrolyte solution” p. 32 lines 10-33).
Hatton does not explicitly teach the metal processing streams are “electronic waste” or “mining” streams.
However, Gadikota teaches a method for recovering transition metals via selective electrochemical adsorption (e.g., abstract) including gold (para. 115), wherein mining streams are used as the source of the metal ions (“the one or more precursor compounds comprise … mine-tailings” para. 163).
As Hatton and Gadikota each teach methods for the selective electrochemical adsorption and recovery of transition metals, Hatton and Gadikota are analogous art to the instant invention.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, such that the metal processing stream from which the gold is recovered is specifically a stream of mine tailings, as taught by Gadikota. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Gadikota teaches mine tailings are a suitable source of transition metals for recovery by electrochemical adsorption. Simple substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(B)). Furthermore, use of a material known in the art as suitable for a purpose (i.e., mine tailings as a source of metals for electrochemical recovery by selective adsorption) establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2144.07).
Furthermore, the invention as claimed differs from Hatton only in that the gold is recovered from specific subgenera (i.e., “electronic waste” and “mining” streams) within the genus taught by Hatton (i.e., “metal processing” streams). A recited species or subgenus may be rendered prima facie obvious by a recited genus based on the factors enumerated in MPEP § 2144.08.
In the instant case, it is considered that there are no material physical or chemical differences between the “metal processing” streams recited by Hatton and the recited “electronic waste” and “mining” streams. Furthermore, it is considered that the overall skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art is high i.e., person or persons holding a Ph.D. in chemistry or a related field, as evidenced by Hatton and Gadikota.
Furthermore, as evidenced by Gadikota, it is known in the art that mining waste streams may comprise gold complexes and, as evidenced by e.g., Fogarasi (see abstract and § 1 para. 1), it is considered that a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that electronic waste streams may comprise gold complexes.
It is therefore further considered that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use electronic waste or mining streams as the “metal processing” streams in Hatton, because these are obvious subgenera within the genus of “metal processing” streams.
Regarding claim 2, Hatton further teaches the gold complexes comprise anionic gold species (“Exemplary target species include … HAuO32-” p. 11 lines 17-25).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 1 obvious, as described above.
Modified Hatton further teaches, via Gadikota, the solution from which the gold complexes are recovered is a mining stream (“the one or more precursor compounds comprise … mine-tailings” para. 163).
Furthermore, Hatton’s teaching of a “metal processing” stream (p. 7 lines 13-26) is considered to render obvious use of a leach solution1 obtained from electronic waste or mining streams, for the same reasons detailed in claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 4, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 1 obvious, as described above.
Hatton further teaches the leach solution includes other competing ions in addition to the gold complexes (“the fluid source can comprise other competing non-target cations or anions” p. 24 lines 12-16).
Modified Hatton does not explicitly teach the other competing ions are other metal complexes.
However, Hatton teaches, in a separate embodiment wherein the target metal is vanadium, the leach solution includes other metal complexes (“Competing anions that may be relevant in vanadium leeching include but are not limited … AlO2-, … CrO42-, FeO42-, MnO42-” p. 52 lines 1-16 and Fig. 26).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, such that the other competing ions are other metal complexes. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Hatton teaches the method is designed to selectively remove a target metal ion from a solution comprising other metal complexes. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 1 obvious, as described above.
Hatton further teaches the redox-active metallopolymer comprises polyvinylferrocene (PVF) (“the metallopolymer is polyvinylferrocene” p. 14 line 23 – p. 15 line 2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 1 obvious, as described above.
Modified Hatton does not teach the leach solution includes a dilute concentration of the gold complexes, the dilute concentration being in a range from 1-10 ppm and/or from 0.004 mM to 5 mM.
However, Hatton teaches the leach solution includes a dilute concentration of the gold complexes, the dilute concentration being in a range from 0.1-10 ppm (“the target species is at a concentration of between or equal to 10,000 ppb and 100 ppb in the fluid source” p. 11 line 31 – p. 12 line 3) and/or 0.0001 to 0.1 mM (“the target cationic species and/or anionic species is present in the fluid source in a micromolar range or in a nanomolar range. … Non-limiting examples of micromolar concentration ranges include from about 0.1 micromolar to 100 micromolar” p. 24 lines 2-11), ranges overlapping the claimed ranges. A range in the prior art overlapping a claimed range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Furthermore, Hatton teaches, in different embodiments wherein the target species comprises chromium (“Cr at 1 mM” p. 3 lines 4-5 and Fig. 2e) or arsenic (“arsenate at 1 mM” p. 3 lines 24-26 and Fig. 4c), the concentration of the target species is 1 mM, a value within the claimed range.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, such that the concentration of gold complex is 1 mM, a value within the claimed range. a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Hatton teaches 1 mM is a suitable concentration for the target species.
Regarding claim 7, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 1 obvious, as described above.
Modified Hatton does not teach, after releasing the gold complexes into the collection fluid, electrodepositing metallic gold onto a conductive substrate from the gold complexes in the collection fluid.
However, Gadikota further teaches, after the target metal species are released into the collection fluid, they may be recovered as the metal via electrodeposition onto a conductive substrate (“the method further includes, after said desorbing, electrodepositing the metal ions from the stripped solution onto a substrate,” para. 66) to achieve the predictable benefit of removing the ions from the solution (“thereby separating the metal ions from the solution, and forming a stripped solution.” para. 66).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, by adding a step of electrodepositing metallic gold onto a conductive substrate from the gold complexes in the collection fluid after releasing the gold complexes into the collection fluid. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Gadikota teaches this is a suitable means for recovering the metal ions after they are desorbed from an adsorbent. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 1 obvious, as described above.
Hatton further teaches the method is carried out in a vessel configured for fluid flow (p. 15 lines 28-32 and p. 23 lines 3-11), the vessel containing a working electrode comprising the redox-active metallopolymer (“the first electrode comprises a first redox species … the first redox species is a conductive polymer … the conductive polymer is a metallopolymer” p. 14 line 23 – p. 15 line 2), and further comprising a counter electrode in the vessel spaced apart from the working electrode (“the electrochemical system comprises a second electrode” p. 15 lines 5-13 and see Fig. 2).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatton in view of Gadikota, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Su ‘951 (US Pat. Pub. 2017/0113951 A1), Liu et al. (“Controlled synthesis of bismuth oxychloride-carbon nanofiber hybrid materials as highly efficient electrodes for rocking-chair capacitive deionization” Chem. Eng. J. 403 (2021) 126326), and Porada et al. (“Nickel Hexacyanoferrate Electrodes for Continuous Cation Intercalation Desalination of Brackish Water” Electrochimica Acta 255 (2017) 369–378).
Regarding claim 9, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 8 obvious, as described above.
Hatton further teaches the working electrode is a first electrode and the counter electrode is a second electrode (“a first electrode and a second electrode … the first electrode comprises … a first redox species” p. 9 lines 20-31).
Modified Hatton does not teach the counter electrode also includes the redox active metallopolymer.
Hatton instead teaches the counter electrode includes a second redox active species (“conductive electrode functionalized with a second redox species” p. 19 lines 1-11).
However, Su ‘951 teaches a method for the selective electrochemical adsorption of metal species from a solution using a redox-active polymer (abstract), and further teaches both the first and second electrodes may comprise the same redox species as an alternative to comprising different redox species (Fig. 59B and para. 327).
Furthermore, Liu teaches that using the same redox-active species on both the active and counter electrodes (Fig. 1) provides the predictable benefit of allowing an electrochemical adsorption system to operate in a rocking-chair mode (abstract). I.e., such that as one electrode is used to adsorb a target species, the other electrode concurrently desorbs said target species (see e.g., Fig. 1 and p. 2 col. 1 para. 2).
Porada teaches that operation of an electrochemical adsorption system in a rocking-chair mode provides the predictable benefit of allowing the system to continuously process feed (abstract).
As Su ‘951 teaches a method for the selective electrochemical adsorption of metals using a redox-active polymer, Su ‘951 is analogous art to the instant invention. As Liu and Porada teach methods for the selective electrochemical adsorption and release of species using redox-active electrodes, Liu and Porada are analogous art to the instant invention.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system used in the method of Hatton, by using the same redox active species in the counter electrode, as taught by Su ‘951 and Liu. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve the predictable benefit of allowing the system to be used in a rocking-chair mode, as taught by Liu, thereby allowing continuous operation, as taught by Porada. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success making this modification because Su ‘951 explicitly teaches this is a suitable alternative to the use of different redox materials on the working and counter electrodes. Furthermore, simple substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(B)).
Modified Hatton does not teach a cation exchange membrane (CEM) in the vessel between the first and second electrodes, the cation exchange membrane separating a first flow channel containing the first electrode from a second flow channel containing the second electrode.
However, Liu further teaches an ion exchange membrane disposed between the first and second electrodes to separate a first flow channel containing the first electrode from a second flow channel containing the second electrode is necessary to operate the electrochemical cell in the rocking-chair mode (Fig. 1),2 and further teaches that the ion exchange membrane must be a CEM when the target species is anionic (Fig. 1b).3
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, by adding a cation exchange membrane (CEM) in the vessel between the first and second electrodes, the cation exchange membrane separating a first flow channel containing the first electrode from a second flow channel containing the second electrode, as taught by Liu. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve the predictable benefit of enabling rocking-chair operation of the system, as taught by Liu, thereby allowing continuous operation, as taught by Porada. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hatton does not teach applying an oxidizing potential to the first electrode and applying a reducing potential to the second electrode, and during the application of the oxidizing and reducing potentials, flowing a leach solution through the first flow channel and flowing a collection fluid through the second flow channel, whereby gold complexes from the leach solution are adsorbed onto the redox-active metallopolymer of the first electrode and gold complexes adsorbed onto the redox-active metallopolymer of the second electrode are released into the collection fluid. I.e., modified Hatton does not teach the method is a rocking-chair method.4
However, Liu further teaches a rocking-chair method may suitably be used to remove a target ion from solution via electroadsorption (abstract and Fig. 1), which Porada teaches provides the predictable benefit of allowing the continuous use of the system by using the first and second electrodes alternately as the working and counter electrodes (abstract).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, such that the method is a rocking-chair method as taught by Liu and Porada. I.e., such that the method comprises applying an oxidizing potential to the first electrode and applying a reducing potential to the second electrode, and during the application of the oxidizing and reducing potentials, flowing a leach solution through the first flow channel and flowing a collection fluid through the second flow channel, whereby gold complexes from the leach solution are adsorbed onto the redox-active metallopolymer of the first electrode and gold complexes adsorbed onto the redox-active metallopolymer of the second electrode are released into the collection fluid. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve the predictable benefit of allowing the system to operate continuously, as taught by Porada. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 9 obvious, as described above.
Modified Hatton does not teach applying a reducing potential to the first electrode and applying an oxidizing potential to the second electrode, and during the application of the reducing and oxidizing potentials, flowing a collection fluid through the first flow channel and flowing a leach solution through the second flow channel, whereby gold complexes from the leach solution are adsorbed onto the redox-active metallopolymer of the second electrode and gold complexes adsorbed onto the redox-active metallopolymer of the first electrode are released into the collection fluid. I.e., modified Hatton does not teach the method is a rocking-chair method. 5
However, Liu further teaches a rocking-chair method may suitably be used to remove a target ion from solution via electroadsorption (abstract and Fig. 1), which Porada teaches provides the predictable benefit of allowing the continuous use of the system by using the first and second electrodes alternately as the working and counter electrodes (abstract).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, such that the method is a rocking-chair method as taught by Liu and Porada. I.e., such that the method comprises applying a reducing potential to the first electrode and applying an oxidizing potential to the second electrode, and during the application of the reducing and oxidizing potentials, flowing a collection fluid through the first flow channel and flowing a leach solution through the second flow channel, whereby gold complexes from the leach solution are adsorbed onto the redox-active metallopolymer of the second electrode and gold complexes adsorbed onto the redox-active metallopolymer of the first electrode are released into the collection fluid. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve the predictable benefit of allowing the system to operate continuously, as taught by Porada. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatton in view of Gadikota, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (US Pat. Pub. 2022/0371924 A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 1 obvious, as described above.
Modified Hatton does not teach the leach solution is recirculated for use in multiple cycles of electrochemical adsorption, and/or wherein the collection fluid is recirculated for use in multiple cycles of electrochemical release.
However, Han teaches a method for the electrochemical recovery of metals from a solution (abstract) using an electrode comprising a redox-active polymer (“a nano adsorption material including a porphyrin polymer represented by Chemical Formula 1 below.” para. 17, see also para. 49), wherein a leach solution is recirculated for use in multiple cycles of electrochemical adsorption (“In the step of adsorbing the valuable metal to the anode 10, 200 ml of a 100 ppm gold synthesis solution was brought into contact with the electrode at a rate of 50 ml/min for 24 hours using a pump.” para. 68).6
As Han teaches methods for the electrochemical recovery of gold from a solution using a redox polymer, Han is analogous art to the instant invention.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, such that the leach solution is recirculated for use in multiple cycles of electrochemical adsorption, as taught by Han. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve the predictable benefit of removing an increased amount of the gold complex from the solution. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatton in view of Gadikota, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Su ‘350 (US Pat. Pub. 2021/0403350 A1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Hatton renders the limitations of claim 1 obvious, as described above.
Modified Hatton does not teach the leach solution is continuously supplied as fresh leach solution for electrochemical adsorption and is then removed after the electrochemical adsorption as spent leach solution or tailings.
However, Su ‘350 teaches a method for the electrochemical recovery of metals (abstract) using a redox-active polymer (“removal of metal species such as mercury from aqueous solutions using a semiconducting or redox-active polymer” para. 32), wherein a leach solution is advantageously continuously supplied as fresh leach solution (“major advantages compared to traditional techniques … continuous flow processing of waste” para. 32, see also para. 39 and Fig. 1) and is removed after the electrochemical adsorption as a spent fluid (“flowing a contaminated solution 102 (FIG. 1A) and then a recovery solution 110 (FIG. 1C) through the electrochemical cell 104” para. 39 and Fig. 1, see also para. 33).
As Su ‘350 teaches a method for recovering metals from a solution using a redox-active polymer, Su ’350 is analogous art to the instant application.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Hatton, such that the leach solution is continuously supplied as fresh leach solution for electrochemical adsorption and is then removed after the electrochemical adsorption as spent leach solution or tailings, as taught by Su ‘350. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve the predictable benefit of allowing the continuous processing of waste, as taught by Su ‘350. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, or 11 of copending Application No. 18/685739 (the reference application) as published in US Pat. Pub. 2024/0352610 A1 in view of Gadikota (WO 2024/097961 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the reference application recites an electrochemical method for selective recovery of noble metals (lines 1-2), the electrochemical method comprising:
selectively electrochemically adsorbing noble metal complexes from a leach solution onto a redox-active metallopolymer (lines 3-7 and 11-14); and
electrochemically releasing the noble metal complexes from the redox-active metallopolymer into a collection fluid (lines 17-23).
Claim 1 of the reference application does not explicitly recite the noble metal and noble metal complexes are gold and gold complexes, respectively. However, the genus of noble metals comprises only 8 species i.e., Ru, Rh, Pd, Ag, Os, Ir, Pt, and Au, each of which share common properties i.e., resistance to chemical corrosion. It is therefore considered that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have at once envisioned gold from the recitation “noble metal”. Claim 1 of the reference application is therefore considered to anticipate application of the method to gold (MPEP § 2131.02(III)).
Alternatively, because the genus of noble metals comprises only 8 species, the skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art is high, and noble metals have similar chemical properties, it is considered that the claim 1 of the reference application renders the use of gold as the noble metal obvious (MPEP § 2144.08).
Claim 1 of the reference application does not recite the solution the noble metals are recovered from is an electronic waste or mining stream, but rather is a catalyst waste stream.
However, Gadikota teaches a method for recovering transition metals via selective electrochemical adsorption (e.g., abstract) including gold (para. 115), wherein mining streams are used as the source of the metal ions (“the one or more precursor compounds comprise … mine-tailings” para. 163).
As Gadikota teaches methods for the selective electrochemical adsorption and recovery of transition metals, Gadikota is analogous art to the instant invention.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method recited in claim 1 of the reference application, such that the stream from which the gold is recovered is specifically a stream of mine tailings, as taught by Gadikota. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Gadikota teaches mine tailings are a suitable source of transition metals for recovery by electrochemical adsorption. Simple substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2143(I)(B)). Furthermore, use of a material known in the art as suitable for a purpose (i.e., mine tailings as a source of metals for electrochemical recovery by selective adsorption) establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2144.07).
Thus, the limitations of claim 1 are rendered obvious by claim 1 of the reference application in view of Gadikota. Therefore, a rejection on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting is warranted.
Regarding claim 2, claim 11 of the reference application further recites the transition metal complexes comprise anionic species (lines 1-6).
Thus, the limitations of claim 2 are rendered obvious by claim 11 of the reference application in view of Gadikota. Therefore, a rejection on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting is warranted.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations of claim 1 are rendered obvious by modified claim 1 of the reference application.
Modified claim 1 of the reference application further recites, via Gadikota, the leach solution is obtained from electronic waste or mining streams (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Thus, the limitations of claim 3 are rendered obvious by claim 1 of the reference application in view of Gadikota. Therefore, a rejection on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting is warranted.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations of claim 1 are rendered obvious by modified claim 1 of the reference application.
Claim 5 of the reference application further recites the redox-active metallopolymer comprises polyvinylferrocene (PVF), polyferrocenyl silane (PFS), and/or poly(2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyl ferrocenecarboxylate) (PFCMA) (lines 1-4).
Thus, the limitations of claim 5 are rendered obvious by claim 5 of the reference application in view of Gadikota. Therefore, a rejection on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting is warranted.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection as the application in question has not, in fact, been patented.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER R. PARENT/Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795
1 I.e., the solution from which the gold complexes are recovered.
2 See also Porada Fig. 1.
3 Note that Fig. 1 of Liu requires color for appropriate interpretation. Specifically, the color indicates an AEM is used in Fig. 1a when Na+ is the target species, and a CEM is used in Fig. 2b when Cl- is the target species.
4 As evidenced by Porada § 3.2. para. 1 and p. 370 bridging para., the cumulative limitations recited describe rocking-chair operation.
5 As evidenced by Porada § 3.2. para. 1 and p. 370 bridging para., the cumulative limitations recited describe rocking-chair operation.
6 As the total volume of 200 mL is flowed for a duration of 24 hours at a rate of 50 mL/min, the solution is necessarily being recirculated during the adsorption.