DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 02/08/2024 for application number 18/436,619. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, IDS, and Certified Copy of Foreign Priority Application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5-9, 13-15, and 17-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7 recites, “…wherein the second clock unit is same as the clock of the third clock unit,.” and should instead read, “wherein the second clock unit is the same as the clock of the third clock unit.” (emphasis added)
Claim 5, lines 4-8 recite, “sending, by the second controller, second sensor data to the first controller, wherein the second sensor data carries a first time T1, and the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at a collection moment of the second sensor data; and converting, by the second controller, the first time T1 carried in the second sensor data into second time T2” and should instead read, “sending, by the second controller, a second sensor data to the first controller, wherein the second sensor data carries a first time T1, and the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at a collection moment of the second sensor data; and converting, by the second controller, the first time T1 carried in the second sensor data into a second time T2,” (emphasis added).
Claim 6, line 6-7 recite, “…and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receives the sensor data” and should instead read, “and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the sensor data.” (emphasis added)
Claim 7, line 4 recites, “receiving, by the first controller, first sensor data,” and should instead read, “receiving, by the first controller, a first sensor data,” (emphasis added).
Claim 8, lines 5-7 recite, “…clock unit in response to the first controller receives the first sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receives the first sensor data” and should instead read, “…clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the first sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the first sensor data.” (emphasis added)
Claim 9, lines 4-5 recite, “receiving, by the first controller, first sensor data; and adding, by the first controller, the timestamp to the first sensor data based on first time,” and should instead read, “receiving, by the first controller, a first sensor data; and adding, by the first controller, the timestamp to the first sensor data based on a first time,” (emphasis added).
Claim 13, line 2-3 recites, “…send first time T1 to the second controller in response to a trigger signal of a periodic…” and should instead read, “send a first time T1 to the second controller in response to a trigger signal of a periodic…” (emphasis added).
Claim 14, lines 2-5 recite, “obtain the second time T2 based on the first time T1, third time T3, and fourth time T4 through conversion, wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at the trigger moment, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit in response to the second controller receives the first time T1.” and should instead read, “obtain the second time T2 based on the first time T1, a third time T3, and a fourth time T4 through conversion, wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at the trigger moment, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit in response to the second controller receiving the first time T1.” (emphasis added)
Claim 15, lines 2-6 recite, “send second sensor data to the first controller, wherein the second sensor data carries first time T1, and the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at a collection moment of the second sensor data; and the first controller is configured to: convert the first time T1 carried in the second sensor data into second time T2,” and should instead read, “send a second sensor data to the first controller, wherein the second sensor data carries a first time T1, and the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at a collection moment of the second sensor data; and the first controller is configured to: convert the first time T1 carried in the second sensor data into a second time T2,” (emphasis added).
Claim 17, lines 2-5 recite, “receiving first sensor data, wherein the first sensor data carries first time T1, and the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit at a collection moment of the first sensor data; and convert the first time T1 carried in the first sensor data into second time T2,” and should instead read, “receiving a first sensor data, wherein the first sensor data carries first time T1, and the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit at a collection moment of the first sensor data; and convert the first time T1 carried in the first sensor data into a second time T2,” (emphasis added).
Claim 18, line 2 recites, “determine the second time T2 based on the first time T1, third time T3, and fourth time T4,” and should instead read, “determine the second time T2 based on the first time T1, a third time T3, and a fourth time T4,” (emphasis added).
Claim 19, line 2 recites, “receive first sensor data;” and should instead read, “receive a first sensor data;” (emphasis added).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 2-3 recite, “…wherein the first clock is the clock of the first clock unit or the clock of the third clock unit,” (emphasis added). However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as there does not appear to be any mention of a first clock unit or a third clock unit elsewhere in Claim 1 preceding the limitation. For the purposes of examination, the examiner construes “the first clock unit” and “the third clock unit” to mean “a first clock unit” and “a third clock unit” (emphasis added) as introduced in lines 3-4.
Claim 6, lines 4-7 recite, “…wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the second sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receives the sensor data.” (emphasis added) However, it is unclear whether the sensor data is the same as the second sensor data in line 5, or a different sensor data. For the purposes of examination, the examiner construes “the sensor data” to mean “the second sensor data” (emphasis added).
Claim 7, lines 4-5 recite, “…wherein the first sensor data carries the first time T1,” (emphasis added). However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as there does not appear to be any mention of a first time T1 elsewhere in Claim 7 preceding the limitation, nor in Claim 1, on which Claim 7 directly or indirectly depends. For purposes of examination, the examiner construes “the first time T1” to mean “a first time T1” (emphasis added).
Claim 11, lines 5-7 recite, “…wherein the first controller is configured to add a first timestamp to sensor data by using a first clock, and the second controller adds a second timestamp to sensor data by using the first clock,” (emphasis added). However, it is unclear whether the first controller is configured to add a first timestamp and the second controller is configured to add a second timestamp to the same sensor data, or the first controller is configured to add a respective first timestamp to its respective sensor data and the second controller is configured to add a respective second timestamp to its respective sensor data. For the purposes of examination, the examiner construes “wherein the first controller is configured to add a first timestamp to sensor data by using a first clock, and the second controller adds a second timestamp to sensor data by using the first clock,” to mean “wherein the first controller is configured to add a respective first timestamp to its respective sensor data by using a first clock, and the second controller is configured to add a respective second timestamp to its respective sensor data by using the first clock” (emphasis added).
Claim 16, lines 3-6 recite, “…wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the second sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the sensor data.” (emphasis added). However, it is unclear whether the sensor data is the same as the second sensor data in line 4, or a different sensor data. For the purposes of examination, the examiner construes “the sensor data” to mean “the second sensor data” (emphasis added).
Claim 18, lines 3-5 recite, “…by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the first sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller in response to the first sensor data.” (emphasis added) However, it is unclear if the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller responding to the first sensor data, or in response to the first controller receiving the first sensor data. For purposes of examination, the examiner construes “in response to the first controller in response to the first sensor data” to mean “in response to the first controller receiving the first sensor data.” (emphasis added)
Claim 20, lines 1-6 recite, “…wherein the first controller is configured to: synchronize the clock of the first clock unit to the clock of the second clock unit based on a preset synchronization periodicity; and add the first timestamp to sensor data by using the first clock; and the second controller is configured to: add the first timestamp to the sensor data by using the first clock,” (emphasis added). However, it is unclear whether the second controller can also add the same first timestamp the first controller can add aside from the second timestamp in Claim 11 to sensor data, or the first controller is configured to add the respective first timestamp to its respective sensor data by using the first clock; and the second controller is configured to add the respective second timestamp to its respective sensor data by using the first clock. For the purposes of examination, the examiner construes “wherein the first controller is configured to: synchronize the clock of the first clock unit to the clock of the second clock unit based on a preset synchronization periodicity; and add the first timestamp to sensor data by using the first clock; and the second controller is configured to: add the first timestamp to the sensor data by using the first clock,” to mean “wherein the first controller is configured to add the respective first timestamp to its respective sensor data by using the first clock; and the second controller is configured to add the respective second timestamp to its respective sensor data by using the first clock” (emphasis added).
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 depend on Claims 1 and 11, respectively, but do not appear to provide any additional clarification as to the first and second controllers adding respective timestamps to their respective sensor data, and are rejected accordingly .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9-10, 11, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by HARIHARAN et al., US 11,451,931 B1.
Regarding Claim 1, HARIHARAN discloses:
A method, comprising: adding, by a first controller of a control system and a second controller of a control system, a timestamp to sensor data by using a first clock (C5:L51-53 and C13:L65-C14:L1-2 disclose a clock synchronization method (i.e. a method), comprising: adding, by a computing device 202 (i.e. a first controller) of a sensor synchronization environment (i.e. a control system) and an accessory device 212 (i.e. a second controller) of a sensor synchronization environment, C13:L26-30 discloses a process 500 of synchronizing sensor data between the computing device 202 and the accessory device 212, C14:L4-5 discloses a timestamp to sensor data by using the device’s clock or the wireless clock (i.e. using the first clock)),
wherein the first clock is the clock of the first clock unit or the clock of the third clock unit (C13:L65-C14:L2 disclose timestamps added to sensor data are from a clock of the computing device’s global clock 216 (i.e. first clock is the clock of the first clock unit) or a clock of the wireless module 242 (i.e. first clock is the clock of the third clock unit)),
wherein the first controller comprises a first clock unit and a second clock unit (Fig. 2 illustrates wherein the computing device 202 comprises a device global clock 216 (i.e. a first clock unit) and a clock 228 within wireless module 226 (i.e. a second clock unit)),
wherein the second controller comprises a third clock unit (Fig. 2 illustrates wherein the accessory device 212 comprises a wireless module clock 242 (i.e. a third clock unit)),
wherein a clock of the first clock unit is different from a clock of the third clock unit (C7:L41-42 discloses that a clock of a wireless module can be separated from the device global clock and the clock times can drift from each other),
and wherein a clock of the second clock unit is the same as the clock of the third clock unit (C10:L62-63 discloses the clock 228 of wireless module 226/326 (i.e. the clock of the second clock unit) is synchronized (i.e. the same) as the clock 242 of wireless module 240/340 (i.e. the clock of the third clock unit)).
Regarding Claim 5, HARIHARAN discloses the method of Claim 1. HARIHARAN further discloses:
wherein the first clock comprises the clock of the first clock unit, and wherein the adding, by the first controller and the second controller, the timestamp to the sensor data by using the first clock comprises: sending, by the second controller, second sensor data to the first controller, wherein the second sensor data carries a first time T1 (C13:L65-C14:L2 discloses wherein timestamps added to sensor data are from a computing device clock domain (i.e. first clock is the clock of the first clock unit); C11:L3-7, C12:L7-13, and Fig. 3 disclose sending, by the accessory device (i.e. second controller), sensor data from the sensor module 332 (i.e. second sensor data) to the computing device (i.e. first controller) through path 352, wherein the sensor data from the sensor module 332 carries a timestamp applying offset 358 (i.e. first time T1)),
and the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at a collection moment of the second sensor data (C12:L7-13 discloses the timestamp applying offset 358 (i.e. first time T1) is indicated by the clock of the wireless clock (i.e. the clock of the third clock unit) when the sensor data is generated (i.e. at a collection moment) from the accessory device 312 (i.e. second sensor data)),
and converting, by the first controller, the first time T1 carried in the second sensor data into the second time T2 (C14:L31-38 discloses translating (i.e. converting), by the computing device (i.e. the first controller), the timestamp carried in the sensor data from the accessory device 312 (i.e. first time T1) into a timestamp from the computing device global clock 216 (i.e. second time T2). Data can be translated between the computing device clock and the wireless clocks using time offset 356, and data can be translated between the accessory device clock and the wireless clock using time offset 358).
wherein the second time T2 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit at the collection moment of the second sensor data (C14:L31-38 discloses wherein the timestamp from the computing device global clock 216 (i.e. second time T2) is indicated by the clock of the computing device clock (i.e. the clock of the first clock unit) when the sensor data is generated (i.e. at the collection moment) from the sensor module 332 (i.e. the second sensor data). Only the timestamp would be translated from the accessory clock time to the computing clock time, the event of the timestamp would remain the same).
Regarding Claim 7, HARIHARAN discloses the method of Claim 1. HARIHARAN further discloses:
wherein the first clock comprises the clock of the third clock unit (C13:L65-C14:L2 discloses timestamps added to sensor data are from the wireless clock 242 of wireless module 240 (i.e. the first clock comprises the clock of the third clock unit)),
and wherein the adding, by the first controller and the second controller, the timestamp to sensor data by using the first clock comprises: receiving, by the first controller, first sensor data, wherein the first sensor data carries a first time T1 (C6:L39-43 discloses receiving, by the computing device 202, sensor data generated by sensor module 218 (i.e. a first sensor data), wherein the sensor data generated by sensor module 218 carries a timestamp (i.e. a first time T1)),
and wherein the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit at a collection moment of the first sensor data (C6:L39-43 discloses wherein the timestamp (i.e. first time T1) is indicated by the computing device global clock 216 (i.e. the clock of the first clock unit) at a time associated with collecting (i.e. a collection moment) the sensor data);
and converting, by the first controller, the first time T1 carried in the first sensor data into a second time T2 (C14:L31-38 discloses translating (i.e. converting), by the computing device (i.e. the first controller), the timestamp (i.e. first time T1) into a timestamp from the wireless clock 242 (i.e. second time T2) using time offset 356. Data can be translated between the computing device clock and the wireless clocks using time offset 356),
wherein the second time T2 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at the collection moment of the first sensor data (C11:L7-13 wherein the timestamp from the wireless clock 242 (i.e. the second time T2) is indicated by the wireless clock 242 at the collection moment of the sensor data).
Regarding Claim 9, HARIHARAN discloses the method according to Claim 1. HARIHARAN further discloses:
wherein the first clock comprises the clock of the third clock unit (C13:L65-C14:L2 discloses timestamps added to sensor data are from the wireless clock 242 of wireless module 240 (i.e. the first clock comprises the clock of the third clock unit)),
and adding, by the first controller and the second controller, the time stamp to sensor data by using the first clock comprises: receiving, by the first controller, first sensor data (C12:L19-22 discloses receiving, by the computing device 202 (i.e. the first controller), sensor data generated by sensor module 218 (i.e. first sensor data));
and adding, by the first controller, the timestamp to the first sensor data based on a first time (C12:L19-22 adding, by the computing device 202 (i.e. first controller), the timestamp to the sensor data generated by sensor module 218 (i.e. first sensor data) based on a timestamp of the clock 228 of the wireless module 226 (i.e. a first time)),
wherein the first time is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the first sensor data (C12:L19-22 discloses wherein the timestamp of the wireless clock 228 of the wireless module 226 (i.e. first time) is indicated by the clock of the wireless clock 228 (i.e. the clock of the second clock unit) in response to the computing device 202 (i.e. first controller) receiving the sensor data generated by sensor module 218 (i.e. first sensor data). The timestamp of clock is obtained by using timing offset 356, to adjust the timestamp to the time of the wireless clock 228).
Regarding Claim 10, HARIHARAN discloses the method of Claim 1. HARIHARAN further discloses:
wherein the first clock comprises the clock of the third clock unit (C13:L65-C14:L2 discloses timestamps added to sensor data are from the clock 242of the wireless module 240 (i.e. the first clock comprises the clock of the third clock unit)),
and adding, by the first controller and the second controller, the timestamp to sensor data by using the first clock comprises: synchronizing, by the first controller, the clock of the first clock unit to the clock of the second clock unit based on a preset synchronization periodicity (C11:L20-41 discloses synchronizing, by the computing device 202 (i.e. first controller) the computing device global clock 216 (i.e. the clock of the first clock unit) to the clock 228 in the wireless module 226 (i.e. the clock of the second clock unit) based on a periodic global clock correction (i.e. preset synchronization periodicity));
and adding, by both the first controller and the second controller, the timestamp to the sensor data by using the first clock (C11:L59-52 discloses adding, by both the computing device 202 and accessory device 212, the timestamp to the sensor data by using the wireless clock domain (i.e. the first clock)).
Regarding Claim 11, HARIHARAN discloses:
A system, the system comprising: a first controller and a second controller (C5:L51-58, Fig. 2 illustrates a sensor synchronization environment (i.e. system), the sensor synchronization environment comprising: a computing device 202 (i.e. a first controller) and an accessory device (i.e. a second controller) linked together via wireless communication link 206),
wherein the first controller comprises a first clock unit and a second clock unit (Fig. 2 illustrates wherein the computing device 202 comprises a device global clock 216 (i.e. a first clock unit) and a wireless module 226 (i.e. a second clock unit)),
and the second controller comprises a third clock unit (Fig. 2 illustrates wherein the accessory device 212 comprises a wireless module clock 240 (i.e. a third clock unit));
and a clock of the second clock unit is the same as the clock of the third clock unit (C10:L62-63 discloses the clock 228 of wireless module 226/326 (i.e. the clock of the second clock unit) is synchronized (i.e. the same) as the clock 242 of wireless module 240/340 (i.e. the clock of the third clock unit)),
wherein the first controller is configured to add a first timestamp to sensor data by using a first clock, and the second controller adds a second timestamp to sensor data by using the first clock (C13:L65-C4:L2 discloses that the sensor data generated and timestamped by its respective devices (i.e. first controller adding a respective first timestamp to its respective sensor data and second controller adding a respective second timestamp to its respective sensor data) can rely on the other device's clock or the wireless clock (i.e. using the first clock),
wherein the first clock comprises the clock of the first clock unit or the clock of the third clock unit (C13:L65-C14:L2 discloses timestamps added to sensor data are from a computing device global clock 216 (i.e. first clock is the clock of the first clock unit) or the wireless clock 242 (i.e. first clock is the clock of the third clock unit)).
Regarding Claim 15, HARIHARAN discloses the system of Claim 11. The remainder of Claim 15 recite limitations similar to those Claim 5, and is rejected using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, HARIHARAN discloses the system of Claim 11. The remainder of Claim 17 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 7, and is rejected using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Claim 19, HARIHARAN discloses the system of Claim 11. The remainder of Claim 19 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 9, and is rejected using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, HARIHARAN discloses the system of Claim 11. The remainder of Claim 20 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 10, and is rejected using similar teachings and rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARIHARAN, in view of ABDULLAH et al., US 2019/0097744 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, HARIHARAN discloses the method of Claim 1. HARIHARAN further discloses:
wherein the first clock comprises the clock of the first clock unit (C13:L65-C14:L2 discloses timestamps added to sensor data are from a computing device clock 216 (i.e. first clock is the clock of the first clock unit)),
and adding, by both the first controller and the second controller, the timestamp to the sensor data by using the first clock (C12:L31-30 discloses adding, by both the computing device (i.e. first controller) and the accessory device (i.e. second controller), the timestamp to the sensor data using the computing device clock domain (i.e. first clock)).
HARIHARAN does not explicitly disclose synchronizing, by the second controller, the clock of the third clock unit to the clock of the first clock unit.
However, ABDULLAH teaches synchronizing, by the second controller, the clock of the third clock unit to the clock of the first clock unit ([0034] teaches synchronizing, by the slave network device (i.e. the second controller) the slave clock (i.e. the clock of the third clock unit) to the master clock (i.e. clock of the first clock unit)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of HARIHARAN and ABDULLAH before him, to incorporate ABDULLAH’s synchronization between a master and slave clock with HARIHARAN’s method of synchronizing using a chosen clock to reduce synchronization error (ABDULLAH [0042]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARIHARAN and ABDULLAH, further in view of COYLE US 2006/0173952 A1.
Regarding Claim 3, HARIHARAN and ABDULLAH disclose the method of Claim 1. ABDULLAH further teaches:
wherein the synchronizing, by the second controller, the clock of the third clock unit to the clock of the first clock unit comprises: sending, by the first controller, a first time T1 to the second controller in response to a trigger signal of a periodic pulse in each periodicity ([0034] teaches wherein the synchronizing, by the slave network device (i.e. the second controller) the slave clock (i.e. the clock of the third clock unit) to the master clock (i.e. clock of the first clock unit) comprises: [0054] teaches sending, by the master network device (i.e. the first controller), a transmission of timing packet (i.e. first time T1) to the slave network device (i.e. second controller) in response to a periodical schedule (i.e. trigger signal of a periodic pulse in each periodicity)),
While ABDULLAH does teach the converting, by the second controller in the periodicity, a time indicated by the clock of the third clock unit ([0050], [0042] adjusting (i.e. converting), by the slave network device (i.e. the second controller) in the periodicity, a time of the slave clock (i.e. clock of the third clock unit), ABDULLAH does not explicitly teach converting a time indicated by the clock of the third clock unit into a second time T2.
HARIHARAN and ABDULLAH do not explicitly teach: wherein the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit at a trigger moment of the trigger signal; wherein the second time T2 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the second controller receiving the first time T1.
However, COYLE teaches the limitations: wherein the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit at a trigger moment of the trigger signal ([0019] teaches wherein the transmit timestamp (i.e. first time T1) is indicated by the clock of the local processor (i.e. clock of the first clock unit) at a moment of sending the message (i.e. trigger moment));
converting, a time indicated by the clock of the third clock unit into a second time T2 ([0020] teaches calculating (i.e. converting) a time indicated by the clock of the remote processor (i.e. third clock unit) into a local timestamp (i.e. second time T2)),
wherein the second time T2 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the second controller receiving the first time T1 ([0020] teaches wherein the local timestamp (i.e. second time T2) is indicated by the clock of the local processor (i.e. clock of the first clock unit) in response to the remote processor (i.e. second controller) receiving the transmit timestamp (i.e. first time T1)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of HARIHARAN, ABDULLAH, and COYLE before him, to incorporate COYLE’s method of converting timestamps with HARIHARAN and ABDULLAH’s method of clock synchronization to pass timestamp information between devices with independent clocks (COYLE [0005]).
Regarding Claim 4, HARIHARAN, ABDULLAH, and COYLE teach the method of Claim 3. COYLE further teaches:
wherein the converting, by the second controller in the periodicity, the time indicated by the clock of the third clock unit into the second time T2 comprises: obtaining, by the second controller, the second time T2 based on the first time T1, a third time T3, and a fourth time T4 through conversion ([0020] teaches obtaining a local timestamp (i.e. second time T2) based on a transmit timestamp (i.e. first time T1), an originate timestamp (i.e. third time T3), and a receive timestamp (i.e. fourth time T4) through calculation (i.e. conversion)),
wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at the trigger moment, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit in response to the second controller receiving the first time T1 ([0022] teaches wherein the originate timestamp (i.e. third time T3) is indicated by the clock of the remote processor (i.e. clock of the third clock unit) at the time the local processor's transmit timestamp (i.e. the trigger moment, first time T1), and the receive timestamp (i.e. fourth time T4) is indicated by the clock of the remote processor (i.e. clock of the third clock unit) in response to receiving the local processor's transmit timestamp (i.e. the first time T1, the trigger moment)).
Claims 6, 8, 12, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARIHARAN, in view of COYLE.
Regarding Claim 6, HARIHARAN teaches the method according to Claim 5. HARIHARAN does not explicitly teach:
wherein the converting, by the first controller, the first time T1 carried in the second sensor data into the second time T2 comprises: obtaining, by the first controller, the second time T2 based on the first time T1, a third time T3, and a fourth time T4 through conversion,
wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the second sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receives the sensor data
However, COYLE does teach wherein the converting, by the first controller, the first time T1 carried in the second sensor data into the second time T2 comprises: obtaining, by the first controller, the second time T2 based on the first time T1, a third time T3, and a fourth time T4 through conversion ([0020] teaches the method of obtaining, a local timestamp (i.e. second time T2) based on the remote event timestamp (i.e. first time T1), a transmit timestamp (i.e. third time T3), and an originate timestamp (i.e. fourth time T4) through calculation (i.e. conversion)),
wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the second sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receives the sensor data ([0022] teaches wherein the transmit timestamp (i.e. third time T3) is indicated by the clock of the local processor (i.e. clock of the first clock unit), and the originate timestamp (i.e. fourth time T4) is indicated by the clock of the remote processor (i.e. second controller)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of HARIHARAN and COYLE before him, to incorporate COYLE’s method of converting timestamps to HARIHARAN’s method of clock synchronization using a chosen clock to synchronize time between independent clocks (COYLE [0005]).
Regarding Claim 8, HARIHARAN teaches the method according to Claim 7. HARIHARAN does not explicitly teach:
wherein the converting, by the first controller, the first time T1 carried in the first sensor data into the second time T2 comprises: determining, by the first controller, the second time T2 based on the first time T1, a third time T3, and a fourth time T4,
wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the first controller receives the first sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receives the first sensor data.
However, COYLE does teach wherein the converting, by the first controller, the first time T1 carried in the first sensor data into the second time T2 comprises: determining, by the first controller, the second time T2 based on the first time T1, a third time T3, and a fourth time T4 ([0020] teaches the method of determining, a local timestamp (i.e. second time T2) based on the remote event timestamp (i.e. first time T1), an originate timestamp (i.e. third time T3), and a transmit timestamp (i.e. fourth time T4) through calculation (i.e. conversion). The remote event being the collection moment of the first sensor data),
wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the first controller receives the first sensor data, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receives the first sensor data ([0022] teaches wherein the originate timestamp (i.e. third time T3) is indicated by the clock of remote processor (i.e. clock of the first clock unit), and the transmit timestamp (i.e. fourth time T4) is indicated by the clock of the local processor (i.e. clock of the second clock unit). The second clock unit is the same as third clock unit, therefore the clock of the third clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the first sensor data would be the same as the clock of the second clock unit in response to the first controller receiving the first sensor data).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of HARIHARAN and COYLE before him, to incorporate COYLE’s method of converting timestamps to HARIHARAN’s method of clock synchronization using a chosen clock to synchronize time between independent clocks (COYLE [0005]).
Regarding Claim 12, HARIHARAN discloses the system of Claim 11. HARIHARAN further discloses:
Wherein the first controller is configured to: add the first timestamp to the sensor data by using the first clock (C13:L65-C4:L1-2 discloses that the sensor data generated and timestamped (i.e. the first timestamp) by its respective devices (i.e. first controller) can rely on the other device's clock or the wireless clock (i.e. using the first clock));
And the second controller is configured to: add the second timestamp to the sensor data by using the first clock (C13:L65-C4:L1-2 discloses that the sensor data generated and timestamped (i.e. the second timestamp) by its respective devices (i.e. second controller) can rely on the other device's clock or the wireless clock (i.e. using the first clock)),
Wherein the first clock comprises the clock of the first clock unit (C13:L65-C14:L2 discloses timestamps added to sensor data are from a computing device clock domain (i.e. first clock is the clock of the first clock unit)).
While HARIHARAN discloses the structure of the computing device (i.e. the first controller), HARIHARAN does not explicitly teach wherein the first controller is configured to: synchronize the clock of the third clock unit to the clock of the first clock unit.
However, COYLE teaches wherein the first controller is configured to: synchronize the clock of the third clock unit to the clock of the first clock unit ([0017] teaches wherein the local processor (i.e. first controller) is configured to: calculate a local timestamp that corresponds to the remote event timestamp, i.e. localize the remote time of the remote processor (the clock of the third clock unit) to the local time of the local processor (clock of the first clock unit)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of HARIHARAN and COYLE before him, to incorporate COYLE’s method of converting time to HARIHARAN’s method of clock synchronization using a chosen clock to synchronize time between independent clocks (COYLE [0005]).
Regarding Claim 16, HARIHARAN discloses the system in Claim 15. The remainder of Claim 16 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 6, and is rejected using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding Claim 18, HARIHARAN discloses the system in Claim 17. The remainder of Claim 18 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 8, and is rejected using similar teachings and rationale.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARIHARAN and COYLE, further in view of ABDULLAH.
Regarding Claim 13, HARIHARAN and COYLE disclose the system of Claim 12. COYLE further teaches:
wherein the first time T1 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit at a trigger moment of the trigger signal ([0019] teaches wherein the transmit timestamp (i.e. first time T1) is indicated by the clock of the local processor (i.e. clock of the first clock unit) at a moment of sending the message (i.e. trigger moment)
wherein the second time T2 is indicated by the clock of the first clock unit in response to the second controller receiving the first time T1 ([0020] teaches wherein the local timestamp (i.e. second time T2) is indicated by the clock of the local processor (i.e. clock of the first clock unit) in response to the remote processor (i.e. second controller) receiving the transmit timestamp (i.e. first time T1)).
While HARIHARAN and COYLE disclose the structure and COYLE teaches converting a time indicated by the clock of the third clock unit into second time T2 ([0020] teaches calculating (i.e. converting) a time indicated by the clock of the remote processor (i.e. third clock unit) into a local timestamp (i.e. second time T2)), the combination of references do not explicitly teach wherein the first controller configured to: send first time T1 to the second controller in response to a trigger signal of a periodic pulse in each periodicity; the second controller configured to: convert, in the periodicity, a time indicated by the clock of the third clock unit into second time T2, specifically the first controller configured to send first time T1 in a periodicity and the second controller configured to convert based on the periodicity.
However, ABDULLAH teaches wherein the first controller is configured to: send first time T1 to the second controller in response to a trigger signal of a periodic pulse in each periodicity ([0054] teaches sending, by the master network device (i.e. the first controller), a transmission of timing packet (i.e. first time T1) to the slave network device (i.e. second controller) in response to a periodical schedule (i.e. trigger signal of a periodic pulse in each periodicity));
the second controller configured to: convert, in the periodicity, a time indicated by the clock of the third clock unit into second time T2 ([0050], [0042] adjusting, in the periodicity, a time of the slave clock (i.e. clock of the third clock unit) into a time based on the timing packet forwarding delay (i.e. a second time T2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of HARIHARAN, COYLE, and ABDULLAH before him, to incorporate ABDULLAH’s periodical synchronization method between a master and slave clock with HARIHARAN and COYLE’s method of converting timestamps using a chosen clock to reduce synchronization error (ABDULLAH [0042]).
Regarding Claim 14, HARIHARAN, COYLE, and ABDULLAH disclose the system of Claim 13. COYLE further teaches:
wherein the converting, by the second controller in the periodicity, the time indicated by the clock of the third clock unit into the second time T2 comprises: obtaining, by the second controller, the second time T2 based on the first time T1, a third time T3, and a fourth time T4 through conversion ([0020] teaches obtaining a local timestamp (i.e. second time T2) based on a transmit timestamp (i.e. first time T1), an originate timestamp (i.e. third time T3), and a receive timestamp (i.e. fourth time T4) through calculation (i.e. conversion)),
wherein the third time T3 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit at the trigger moment, and the fourth time T4 is indicated by the clock of the third clock unit in response to the second controller receiving the first time T1 ([0022] teaches wherein the originate timestamp (i.e. third time T3) is indicated by the clock of the remote processor (i.e. clock of the third clock unit) at the time the local processor's transmit timestamp (i.e. the trigger moment, first time T1), and the receive timestamp (i.e. fourth time T4) is indicated by the clock of the remote processor (i.e. clock of the third clock unit) in response to receiving the local processor's transmit timestamp (i.e. the first time T1, the trigger moment)).
Conclusion
/L.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2175
/ANDREW J JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2175