Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
1232
“Lens Assembly 1232” appears to be --Lens Assembly 1222--. The examiner will proceed as such;
1231
“Light filter 1231” appears to be –Light filter 1221--. The examiner will proceed as such.
Specification
The specification submitted on 02/08/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.71. Accordingly, the specification is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Onda et al. (US 20230400556 A1, “Onda”).
Regarding claim 20, Onda teaches, a transceiver optical system, comprising:
a first emitter optical system comprising a first light source configured to transmit a first transmit signal (Onda, Para [0052], Fig 1, where light projector 22 is a part of projection optical system 26 to transmit projection beam PB);
a first receiver optical system configured to receive a first echo signal comprising a target echo signal (Onda, Para [0059], Fig 1, where the reflected beam comes from the projection beam PB),
wherein the target echo signal is based on a reflection of the first transmit signal by an object (Onda, Para [0059], Fig 1, where the reflected beam comes from the projection beam PB after reflecting off the target)
wherein a first optical axis of the first emitter optical system and a second optical axis of the first receiver optical system have a first included angle (Onda, Para [0065], Fig 1, where receiver 45 receives reflected beam RB on the reception optical axis ROA (second optical axis), on an incline IA ,where the transmitting optical axis (first optical axis) also lies on the z-axis (ROA)),
wherein the first included angle is greater than 0 degrees (Onda, Para [0065], Fig 1, where receiver 45 receives reflected beam RB on the reception optical axis ROA (second optical axis), on an incline IA , where the incline is an obtuse angle with respect to the reception optical axis), and
wherein the first receiver optical system further comprises a lens assembly configured to focus the target echo signal (Para [0072], Fig 5, where the optical system 43 with aperture 442 is the lens assembly narrowing the reflected beam RB at angle theta).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda in view of Okada et al. (US 20220035009 A1, "Okada”).
Regarding Claim 1, Onda teaches, a transceiver optical system, comprising:
a first emitter optical system comprising a first light source configured to transmit a first transmit signal (Onda, Para [0052], Fig 1, where light projector 22 is a part of projection optical system 26 to transmit projection beam PB);
a first receiver optical system configured to receive a first echo signal comprising a target echo signal, wherein the target echo signal is based on a reflection of the first transmit signal from an object, wherein an a first optical axis of the first emitter optical system and a second optical axis of the first receiver optical system have a first included angle, and wherein the first included angle is greater than 0 degrees; and (Onda, Para [0065], Fig 1, where receiver 45 receives reflected beam RB on the reception optical axis ROA (second optical axis), on an incline IA ,where the transmitting optical axis (first optical axis) also lies on the z-axis (ROA)).
a detector comprising a first pixel region and a second pixel region (Onda, Para [0066], Fig 6, where there are multiple regions are separated by reception elements 461 and therefore has at least a first and second region).
However, Onda does not teach, wherein the first pixel region and the second pixel region are configured to present different light spots.
On the other hand, Okada teaches the presenting of light spots per the detection of light on different areas of a detector (Okada, Para [0083], Fig 11, where spots SA can be shown as 33a3 and 33a8 as multiple region showing spots)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the transceiver optical system of Onda in view of Okada, by using switching elements for multi spot detection of reflected light for more efficient scanning if different directions of light (Okada [0085]).
Regarding claim 2, Onda in view of Okada teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 1, wherein the first pixel region and the second pixel region do not overlap (Okada, Para [0083], Fig 11, where spots SA can be shown as 33a3 and 33a8 and are separate spots).
Regarding claim 3, Onda in view of Okada teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 1, wherein the first pixel region and the second pixel region partially overlap (Onda, Para [0066], Fig 11, where reception elements 461 can be bundled for each pixel to therefore overlap different regions for an output).
Regarding claim 5, Onda in view of Okada teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 1, wherein the first included angle is not less than an angular resolution of a lidar to which the transceiver optical system belongs (Onda, Para [0035], Fig 1, where the inclination of the reception surface can suppress the image forming blur by being inclined around the first reference axis and therefore maintain the angular resolution).
Regarding claim 13, Onda in view of Okada teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 1, further comprising:
a second emitter optical system comprising a second light source configured to transmit a second transmit signal, wherein the second light source is the same as or different from the first light source (Okada, [Para [0047], Fig 1, where radiation unit 10 functions as both the first and second beam source, and receives light from directions d1 and d2 as two different echo signals); and/or
a second receiver optical system configured to receive a second echo signal, wherein the second echo signal is the same as or different from the first echo signal (Okada, [Para [0047], Fig 1, where radiation unit 10 functions as both the first and second beam source, and receives light from directions d1 and d2 as two different echo signals).
Regarding claim 14, Onda in view of Okada teaches, a lidar, comprising:
a transceiver optical system, comprising:
a first emitter optical system comprising a first light source configured to transmit a first transmit signal (Onda, Para [0052], Fig 1, where light projector 22 is a part of projection optical system 26 to transmit projection beam PB); and
a first receiver optical system configured to receive a first echo signal comprising a target echo signal, wherein the target echo signal is based on a reflection of the first transmit signal from an object, wherein a first an optical axis of the first emitter optical system and a second an optical axis of the first receiver optical system have a first included angle, and wherein the first included angle is greater than 0 degrees ((Onda, Para [0065], Fig 1, where receiver 45 receives reflected beam RB on the reception optical axis ROA (second optical axis), on an incline IA ,where the transmitting optical axis (first optical axis) also lies on the z-axis (ROA)); and
a detector comprising a first pixel region and a second pixel region (Onda, Para [0066], Fig 6, where there are multiple regions are separated by reception elements 461 and therefore has at least a first and second region),
However Onda does not teach
On the other hand, Okada teaches the presenting of light spots per the detection of light on different areas of a detector (Okada, Para [0083], Fig 11, where spots SA can be shown as 33a3 and 33a8 as multiple region showing spots)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the transceiver optical system of Onda in view of Okada, by using switching elements for multi spot detection of reflected light for more efficient scanning if different directions of light (Okada [0085]).
Regarding claim 15, Onda in view of Okada teaches the lidar of claim 14, wherein the first light source is a linear light source (Onda, Para [0051], Fig 1, where the projection beam PB is a line shape toward the detection area DA).
Regarding claim 16, Onda in view of Okada teaches the lidar of claim 14, comprising a scanning mechanism, wherein and the scanning mechanism comprises one or more of a multi-sided rotating mirror, a swing mirror, a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) scanning mirror, or a prism (Okada, Para [0040], Fig 1, where the scanner 20 may use any of a MEMS, Galvano, or polygon mirror).
Regarding claim 17, Onda in view of Okada teaches the lidar of claim 14, wherein the first pixel region and the second pixel region do not overlap (Okada, Para [0083], Fig 11, where spots SA can be shown as 33a3 and 33a8 and are separate spots).
Regarding claim 18, Onda in view of Okada teaches the lidar of claim 17, wherein the first pixel region and the second pixel region partially overlap (Onda, Para [0066], Fig 11, where reception elements 461 can be bundled for each pixel to therefore overlap different regions for an output).
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda in view of Okada and Fan (CN 109246340 B, “Fan”).
Regarding claim 4, Onda in view of Okada teaches the transceiver optical system according to of claim 1.
However, Onda in view of Okada does not teach wherein the first pixel region is configured to present a first light spot corresponding to the target echo signal, and wherein the second pixel region is controlled configured to present a second light spot corresponding to a stray light signal.
On the other hand, Fan teaches the division of light beams on different angles to different spots on a detecting surface (Fan, [0052], Fig 6, where after going through lens group and aperture 341, the imaging beams are passed onto different positions on photosensitive surface
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the transceiver optical system of Onda in view of Okada and Fan, by dividing the incident beams, including ambient (Okada, Para [0073], Fig 11) and signal light, into thin beams that may be detected on different spots SA on a photosensitive surface (Okada, Para [0083], Fig 11) to increase the field of view for scanning (Fan, Para [0052]).
Regarding claim 19, Onda in view of Okada teaches the lidar of claim 17.
However, Onda in view of Okada does not teach wherein the first pixel region is configured to present a first light spot corresponding to the target echo signal, and wherein the second pixel region is configured to present a second light spot corresponding to a stray light signal.
On the other hand, Fan teaches the division of light beams on different angles to different spots on a detecting surface (Fan, [0052], Fig 6, where after going through lens group and aperture 341, the imaging beams are passed onto different positions on photosensitive surface
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar of Onda in view of Okada and Fan, by dividing the incident beams, including ambient (Okada, Para [0073], Fig 11) and signal light, into thin beams that may be detected on different spots SA on a photosensitive surface (Okada, Para [0083], Fig 11) to increase the field of view for scanning (Fan, Para [0052]).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda in view of Okada and Buser et al. (US 20200264284 A1, “Buser”).
Regarding claim 6, Onda in view of Okada teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 5,wherein the first receiver optical system comprises at least one light filter (Onda, Para [0118], Fig 25, where light filter 1500 may be disposed between lenses in the reception unit and optical system 42) configured to:
perform filtering on the first echo signal (Onda, Para [0118], Fig 25, where light filter 1500 may be disposed between lenses in the reception unit and optical system 42 and the projection beam and filter both are in the near infrared spectrum as disclosed in Para [0042]); and
output the target echo signal corresponding to the first transmit signal (Onda, Para [0059], Fig 1, where the reflected beam comes from the projection beam PB),
However, Onda in view of Okada does not teach wherein a normal direction of the at least one light filter and the second optical axis have a second included angle, and wherein the second included angle is greater than 0 degrees.
On the other hand Buser teaches a tilted filter changing the incidence angle of incoming light (Buser, Para [0054], Fig 4, where the tilted optical filter 32 is tilted by about 9 degrees).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the transceiver optical system of Onda in view of Okada and Buser by including an angled filter in reference to a receiving optical axis to transmit useful light and improve the signal to noise ratio (Buser Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Onda in view of Okada and Buser teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 6, wherein the second included angle is not less than the angular resolution (Buser, Para [0055], Fig 4, where the signal to noise angle from the tilted optical filter 32 is improved and therefore the resolution of the transmitted image is not decreased)
Regarding claim 8, Onda in view of Okada and Buser teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 6, wherein the at least one light filter comprises one or more of a wedge-shaped light filter, a rectangular light filter, a square light filter, a circular light filter, or a polygonal light filter (Buser, Para [0048], Fig 4, where the optical filter 32 is flat and planar as described in Para [0024]. Because it is also without curves, it is therefore either polygonal, rectangular or square).
Regarding claim 9, Onda in view of Okada and Buser teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 6, wherein the first receiver optical system further comprises a lens assembly (Onda, Para [0072], Fig 5, where the optical system 43 with aperture 442 is the lens assembly) and at least one first diaphragm, wherein the at least one first diaphragm is located at one or more of the following locations: before the at least one light filter, between the at least one light filter and the lens assembly, between at least two adjacent lenses of the lens assembly, or between the lens assembly and the detector (Buser, Para [0042], Fig 4, where the spherical lens 30 is both a concave and convex diagram from the direction of incoming light in between lens 26 and 32 as shown in the figure), and wherein the lens assembly is configured to focus the target echo signal to the first pixel region (Onda, Para [0072], Fig 5, where the optical system 43 with aperture 442 is the lens assembly narrowing the reflected beam RB at angle theta).
Regarding claim 10, Onda in view of Okada and Buser teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 9, wherein an inner surface of the at least one first diaphragm is of a concave structure or a convex structure (Buser, Para [0042], Fig 4, where the spherical lens 30 is both a concave and convex diagram from the direction of incoming light).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda in view of Okada, Buser and Hansson et al. (WO 2019099166 A1, “Hansson”)
Regarding claim 11, Onda in view of Okada and Buser teaches the transceiver optical system of claim 10.
However, Onda in view of Okada and Buser does not teach further comprising a second diaphragm, wherein and the second diaphragm is connected to a protective layer or a photosensitive image plane of the detector.
On the other hand, Hansson teaches the connection of a diaphragm to a mask that lets in signal light and therefore a protected layer for a detector (Hansson, Para [0067], Fig 13A, where beam splitter 602 is a second diaphragm cube to receive light connected to mask 624 on the focal plane as described in Para [0042] to receive signal light).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the transceiver optical system of Onda in view of Okada, Buser and Hansson to attach a diaphragm to a mask to block a significant about of light and increase dynamic range (Hansson, Para [0042]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda in view of Okada, Buser, Hansson and Gimpel (CN 110806568 A, Gimpel”).
Regarding claim 12, Onda in view of Okada, Buser and Hansson teach the transceiver optical system of claim 11.
However, Onda in view of Okada, Buser and Hansson do not teach wherein of the inner surface of the at least one first diaphragm, a first surface of the second diaphragm and that faces the detector, or a second surface of the second diaphragm and that backs onto the detector are covered by a matted material, are anodic oxidized, are coated, or are electrophoretic.
On the other hand, Gimpel teaches a dielectric coating of a diaphragm to block foreign light (Gimpel, Para [0057], Fig 2, where filter 30 has a dielectric coating).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the transceiver optical system of Onda in view of Okada, Buser, Hansson, and Gimpel by applying a filter like coating to a diaphragm for the reduction of foreign light (Gimpel, Para [0017]).
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645