DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 02/08/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/08/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 4 and 17 line 4 “by current passing through” should be “by the current passing through”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Park US 2024/0008182.
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7) a busbar assembly for delivering current to a plurality of inverters (Modular power electronics converters, see fig. 5a and 5b), the busbar assembly comprising: a plurality of busbars (Dc+/-), configured to receive current from a current source (producing the DC signal) and to output current to the plurality of inverters (see fig. 5a); a plurality of spacers positioned between the plurality of busbars (spacers see fig. 5c); and a plurality of inverter connectors (at dc+1/DC-1), each inverter connector being coupled to one of the plurality of busbars (DC busbars), wherein each of the plurality of spacers and the plurality of inverter connectors is formed of a conductive material (par. 99 mentions that the spacers are conductive and for the connector see par. 107 and 143 ). (For example: Par. 107-110 and 119-223)
Regarding Claim 5, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7) wherein the plurality of busbars (DC busbars), the plurality of spacers (see fig. 5c), and each inverter connector (DC connector of Dc busbar) are brazed together to form the busbar assembly (see fig. 5b). (For example: Par. 44, 53, 68 and 119)
Regarding Claims 6 and 19, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7)wherein spacers (Fig.5c), of the plurality of spacers, have a same length, a same width, and a same height as each other (see fig. 5c, spacer area). (For example: Par. 107-110 and 119-223)
Regarding Claim 14, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7) a busbar and inverter assembly (Modular power electronics converter structure, see fig. 5a and 5b), comprising: a busbar assembly (see fig. 5c) comprising: a plurality of busbars (Dc busbar), configured to receive current from a current source (producing DC power ) and to output current (at AC terminals); a plurality of spacers (spacer at fig. 5c) positioned between the plurality of busbars (DC busbars); and a plurality of inverter connectors (DC busbar connector receiving the DC power), each inverter connector being coupled to one of the plurality of busbars (Fig. 5c), each of the plurality of spacers and the plurality of connectors being formed of a conductive material (par. 99 mentions that the spacers are conductive and for the connector see par. 107 and 143 ) ; and a plurality of inverters (see fig. 5a), arranged in parallel and directly connected to the plurality of inverter connectors and configured to receive the current output by the plurality of busbars (see fig. 5a-5b). (For example: Par. 107-110 and 119-223)
Regarding Claim 18, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7) wherein the plurality of busbars (DC busbars), the plurality of spacers (see fig. 5c), and each inverter connector (DC connector of Dc busbar) are brazed together to form the busbar assembly (see fig. 5b) that is connected to the plurality of inverters (see Fig. 5b). (For example: Par. 44, 53, 68 and 119)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Woody CN 101901638.
Regarding Claims 2 and 15, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7) the apparatus.
Park does not teach wherein the plurality of busbars includes a first busbar, a second busbar, and a third busbar, and wherein a length of the third busbar is greater than a length of the second busbar, and the length of the second busbar is greater than a length of the first busbar.
Woody teaches (Figure 2) wherein the plurality of busbars includes a first busbar, a second busbar, and a third busbar, (106-164) and wherein a length of the third busbar is greater than a length of the second busbar (164 and 162), and the length of the second busbar is greater than a length of the first busbar (162 and 160). (For example: Par. 56-61)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Park to include wherein the plurality of busbars includes a first busbar, a second busbar, and a third busbar, and wherein a length of the third busbar is greater than a length of the second busbar, and the length of the second busbar is greater than a length of the first busbar, as taught by Woody to reduce heat sink or cooling unit area, which results in additional components, cost is increased and additional space needed.
Regarding Claims 3 and 16, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7)wherein the plurality of spacers (see fig. 5c) includes a first layer of spacers (above 50 and 52), including two or more spacers (at least 2), between the first busbar and the second busbar (DC busbar between 50-52), and a second layer of spacers (above 52 and 54, see fig. 5c), including two or more spacers between the second busbar and the third busbar (busbars between 52-54, see fig. 5c). (For example: Par. 107-110 and 119-223)
Regarding Claims 4 and 17, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7) further comprising a plurality of openings (space between s1-s8 and spacers, see figure below) in between adjacent spacers of the plurality of spacers (spacers) and in between adjacent busbars of the plurality of busbars (DC busbar), the plurality of openings allowing for dissipation of heat generated by current passing through the busbar assembly (par. 105 and 110). (For example: Par. 107-110 and 119-223)
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Frank US 2024/0206103.
Regarding Claims 7 and 20, Park teaches (Figures 1 and 5-7) wherein the conductive material for the conductors is copper. (For example: Par. 107-110 and 143)
Park does not teach wherein the conductive material for the spacers is copper.
Frank teaches (figures 1-5) wherein the conductive material for the spacers is copper. (Par. 29)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Park to include wherein the plurality of busbars includes a first busbar, a second busbar, and a third busbar, and wherein a length of the third busbar is greater than a length of the second busbar, and the length of the second busbar is greater than a length of the first busbar, as taught by Woody to reduce heat sink or cooling unit area, which results in additional components, cost is increased and additional space needed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 are allowed.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
Claim 8; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…a plurality of busbars (DC busbar in fig. 5c) including: a first busbar having a first length; a second busbar having a second length that is greater than the first length; and a third busbar having a third length that is greater than the second length; a plurality of spacers forming: a first spacer layer, including two or more spacers, of the plurality of spacers, positioned between the first busbar and the second busbar; and a second spacer layer, including a number of spacers that is greater than a number of spacers of the first spacer layer, of the plurality of spacers, positioned between the second busbar and the third busbar; and a plurality of inverter connectors, each inverter connector being coupled to one of the plurality of busbars, wherein each spacer of the first spacer layer and the second spacer layer and the plurality of connectors is formed of a conductive material.”
These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838