DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2024 and 09/08/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 02/08/2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 15-20 in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Claims 21-34 are directed towards a different invention, i.e. “a dental impression system”, which comprises additional elements not required by the elected invention, such as “a mold base and a mold top”, or “wherein the corresponding molded edge of the mold top is shaped as a negative space of the molded edge of the mold base”, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Divjak (US 5520539 A).
Regarding claim 15, Divjak discloses an apparatus for producing dental impressions (Figure 1, Abstract), the apparatus comprising: a base (1) comprising: an inner surface (3) that is shaped based on a gum of a patient mouth (since it is place on a patients jaw, see col 3, lines 25-30); and a first recess (first recess formed where the jaw A rest, as shown in Figure 2) that is defined on an outer surface based on at least one tooth of the patient mouth (col 3, lines 25-30); and a top (2) comprising: a second recess (6) having at least one aperture (Annotated Figure 1, below), wherein: the first recess and the second recess collectively form a cavity (cavity shown in Figure 2, where the impression material is received) while the base and the top are mated (Figure 2); and the cavity is configured to receive wax via the at least one aperture (the cavity has all the necessary structures and shapes to be configured to receive wax via the at least one aperture).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1. Annotated Figure 1.)]
Regarding claim 18, Divjak discloses wherein: the gum is of an upper jaw of the patient mouth, and the at least one tooth is of a lower jaw of the patient mouth (since the apparatus is for a partially toothless jaw or a toothless jaw, col 1, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 20, Divjak discloses wherein the first recess and the second recess are U-shaped (as shown in Figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Divjak as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Davis (US 20250114172 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 17 the claimed phrases “the base and the top are additively- manufactured” and “the base and the top are additively- manufactured” are being treated as a product-by-process limitation and a product-by-process claim is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 16, Divjak fails to disclose wherein the base and the top are additively- manufactured.
Davis discloses an apparatus for producing dental impressions (Abstract) wherein the (130) base and the top (120) are additively- manufactured (3D printing [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Divjak’s apparatus for producing dental impressions in order to make it additively- manufactured, since such modification would be a case of use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 17, Divjak and Davis disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Davis discloses wherein: the base and the top are additively-manufactured as a single component (3D printed [0049]); and the top is configured to detach from the base by removing at least one sacrificial coupling (The Examiner notes that the device created by the modification, above and being 3D printed, has all the necessary structures to be configured to detach from the base by removing at least one sacrificial coupling).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Divjak as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Mayweather (US 6318997 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Divjak fails to disclose the specific material of the base and the top; therefore, it fails to disclose “wherein the base and the top comprise a material having a higher melting point than the wax”.
Mayweather discloses an impression tray and its casting material (Abstract), wherein the tray is made of plastic (col 2, lines 56-60) and the casting material is wax (col 2, line 65 to col 3, line 2). Therefore, Mayweather discloses wherein the tray comprise a material having a higher melting point than the wax. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Divjak’s base and the top in order to make them of a material having a higher melting point than the wax; since such modification would guarantee the tray’s functionality, being plastic a well know material for this type of device (col 2, lines 59-60).
Conclusion
/LUIS RUIZ MARTIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772