Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and species c in the reply filed on 6/11/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 3-12, 18-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/11/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar (US 2015/0147495 A1).
Kumar teaches a method for applying a coating to the internal surface of a tubular member [0024]. The coating comprises a bonding layer (i.e., a sublayer) such as pure chromium [0015] followed by a hydrophobic layer of diamond like carbon doped with silicon [0010-0013] formed by PECVD [0018]. The PECVD precursors include a silicon dopant precursor (tetramethylsilane) and C2H2 (acetylene) [0019].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 2015/0147495 A1) in view of Azzini (US 2022/0364636 A1) OR Dekempeneer (US 2008/0220257 A1).
Claim 1:
Kumar is discussed above but does not teach a DLC sublayer. However, Azzini teaches an undoped DLC sublayer as an alternative to a chromium sublayer [0043] and Dekempeneer teaches an undoped DLC sublayer for a different DLC superposed layer [0013-0037]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Kumar and substitute the chromium sublayer with an undoped DLC sublayer because both Azzini and Dekempeneer teach it is suitable to do so when forming a multilayer coating.
Claim 2:
Kumar teaches the coating is less than about 15 microns [0023].
Claims 13-14:
Kumar teaches the PECVD precursors include a silicon dopant precursor (tetramethylsilane) and C2H2 (acetylene) [0019]. It is clear that an undoped DLC layer would be deposited using C2H2 alone, without the doping gas.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 2015/0147495 A1) in view of Azzini (US 2022/0364636 A1) OR Dekempeneer (US 2008/0220257 A1) in view of O (JP 2003113470 A) in view of Steinmuller (US 2012/0051192 A1).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach the inclusion of nitrogen to alter the sp2/sp3 ratio. However, O teaches a method for coating a substrate with a DLC layer having a gradient of sp2 rich phase near the surface of the substrate graded to a sp3 rich phase near the outer surface (Fig. 1). Additionally, Steinmuller teaches the mechanism for controlling sp2 vs. sp3 includes nitrogen adding [0058]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further grade the DLC layer in the manner taught by O by controlling the nitrogen content in the manner taught by Steinmuller. O states this approach allows the DLC layer to be smoothly formed on substrates other than silicon (abstract).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 2015/0147495 A1) in view of Azzini (US 2022/0364636 A1) OR Dekempeneer (US 2008/0220257 A1) in view of Sung (US 2012/0164454 A1).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach an intermediate layer having less silicon dopant relative to the hydrophobic layer. However, Sung teaches a method for forming a DLC multilayer onto the surface of a substrate where the hydrophilic dopant can be graded from a concentration from about 0% to 40% and the gradient can be patterned vertically to achieve a desired function, property, or characteristic [0051]. This vertical patterning in the context of a dopant gradient is the formation of a series of layers having different dopant concentration rather than a traditional continuous gradient. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further apply the hydrophobic layer as a series of layers with adjusted dopant concentration to form a vertical patterning of different dopant concentration. Setting one layer to be less than 50% of a superposed layer falls under achieving a desired function, property, or characteristic.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759